Two 4-bedroom adjacent Gulf front homes-Sleeps up to 20, SandBeach/Pools/Kayaks!
Rent My Island
What makes this House unique
This place is great for large groups. The 8 bedrooms are split between 2 side by side homes that each have a living room, kitchen, dining room, swimming pool, 100' dock, sandy shoreline, great view, laundry room and more...
Please consider the following guidelines when booking this property:
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Both Houses were nice.
A large group of my family stayed a week. Property was easy to find. The description of both houses was accurate. The houses were Clean, and we were overall pleased with both rentals. Great location, Plenty of marine Life all around docks day and night. We only had a couple of problems. But the Property Management staff was quick to solve most of them . Only problem that was not fixed was a dryer not working, But we managed by using the other houses dryer. Lots of Great restaurants close by, Turtle Hospital and the Aquarium is pretty cool as well. Key West wasn't a bad drive for a day trip either. If we return to keys with a large group again I will be trying to stay here! Thanks for a Great week!!
Thank you for the taking the time to give a review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time In Marathon and in the houses. We are sorry we couldn't get the one dryer repaired in time before you and your family departed but are happy to hear you were able to use the other one. The dryer has since been replaced after repair man could fix so no other issue with dryer. Curious if you had a chance to spot our manatee or dolphin buddies at the end of the dock? If not, I'm sure they will keep an eye out the next time you get a chance to stop by and visit. You and your family were great guests and we hope to see you all again soon! Enjoy the rest of your summer and thank you!
~Rent My Island Team
We all had a great time
Everything was exactly as advertised. I was very pleased with the accommodations. We had no problems. The weather was great, too. We had 15 people in our party, and everyone had a great time. The people of Marathon were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed swimming, kayaking, fishing , and snorkeling. The water was clear. I would visit again. And it’s still in the good ole USA.
Thank you for the review David! We really enjoyed having you and your family as our guests! Thank you for the helpful ideas for future guest and we look forward to you being our special guests the next time you come to Marathon.
Rent My Island Team
Great environment to enjoy Marathon and the Key's
We rented both homes with 15 adults for a week instead of our annual cruise. Some of us had been to Marathon but our newbie's loved the area, restaurants and central access in the Keys. The houses worked perfectly for group events or a little private "chillin". Rent boats if that's your thing and enjoy the area by water and be sure to go to the Island Fish Co. for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Other recommended spots include the Sunset Grill, No Name Pub, Sparky's and the Stuffed Pig. If you want to charter a fishing trip there are a number of great Captains so we went out and caught Monday's dinner with Pablo of Slamtime Charters. Great vacation and great hosts!
Thank you for the kind words Kevin! And also thanks for letting others know about some of your favorite spots to check out, that is such a huge help for "newbies". And we agree you hit it on the head with your suggestions. Those are our favorites spots in the area too! We really enjoyed you and your family staying at the houses and hope to see you on your next trip to Marathon!
Rent My Island Team
Great time- everything went well.
The property was very clean and organized. The photos represent the property well. They were very easy to work with and communication was great
Thank you so much for the kind words! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your self and hope to see you again soon! Have a great rest of your week and thank you for taking the time to write a review!
Rent My Island Team
Beautiful Homes in perfect spot!
Both of the houses were perfect for our very large group. Plenty of space on the patios and in the pools for everyone to hang out. The docks were perfect for renting a boat, fishing, wildlife watching. We had two manatees come right up to the dock, say hello, then go on their way.
All of the beds were extremely comfortable and everything was clean, with the exception of the freezer which had clearly been used for bait and/or fish and had a distinctive smell, but not much can be done about that. The kitchen was stocked with bare essentials like spices, foil, bags, etc. We were unsure of what kind of food items (non-perishable, or refrigerated condiments) could be left, which led to a lot of waste. Suggestion would be to ask owners in advance or the church across the street if they take donations. Anything that was not in order (one of the houses was missing their beach towels) was taken care of very very quickly.
There was plenty to do nearby including fun tiki bars (Sunset Grille and Sparkys were our favs) and there is a bus stop a half a block away for a day trip down to KW, for those who may not want to drive ($8 round trip). Close proximity (a few miles) from the grocery store, liquor store, and Kmart and lots of fun places along the way to stop and shop.
One downfall would be the proximity to a large house next door allowed for echoing voices back into the street/neighborhood. Luckily there were very few late nights for us, but if your group is loud, you may want to consider keeping evening fun at the blue house which is surrounded by privacy fences and water. Neighbor complaints are not fun while on vacation, trust me.
I would avoid getting the larger “suites” option with the third house due to its ragged nature (though that should not deter you from these homes—they are separate owners and fabulous). We would definitely stay here again, just with a smaller group to avoid the third house.
Thank you so much for the kind words! It was our pleasure to have you and your family be our guests for your vacation and hope to see you for your next one in Florida. Have a great rest of your week!
Rent My Island Team
This had to have been the most disappointing Home Away stay I have every experienced. We rented the two homes for my sister and her family, my parents (who were celebrating their 50th wedding anniversary) and my family (10 people total). We arrived to the houses being smoke-filled. Clearly the people who had been living in the house before us had been chain-smoking. The mother-in-law suite was so bad you couldn't walk into it after having the windows open for 3 days of our stay. Two-thirds of the lamps had missing light bulbs - the previous tenants allegedly took them according to the owner. The smoke detectors were either missing or non-functional. The bathroom in one of the homes smelled so bad of bleach we had to call the cleaning crew back out. While they insisted on the phone that no bleach is ever used, when they got to the house, they admitted that it was bleach and that the smell was overpowering. There was also no showerhead in the bathroom - they put one in once we complained - but of course, this raised the question - was the shower ever cleaned because had it been, someone should have noticed the showerhead was missing. Doors were missing to the laundry room and blinds were broken in the sun room. The fan in the kitchen didn't work. There was a huge load of dirty laundry in the washing machine full of gross towels, underwear and socks. The floors were grimy - not like you get when at the beach, I grew up in FL - I understand sand on tile. No, these floors felt like they were covered in grease. The two houses combined barely had enough silver wear and dishes for the 10 of us, not sure what you would do if you had the 20 they advertise. None of this was due to the hurricane. It has to do with not maintaining the property properly. The owner then kept $35 for an alleged missing towel set - we demanded to know which ones - we never got a response, nor our money. I don't know many towel sets that cost $35! All of their towels were cheap and thin, like from K-Mart. They refunded us 1/8 of the rent for not being able to use the mother-in-law suite, but due to all of the problems in this place, we felt cheated as we raised the issues as soon as we arrived, many of which were never addressed. DO NOT RENT this home. We paid almost $12,000 for one week - this place wasn't worth $120. I would rate this "0" stars if it were an option!
Good afternoon, we are saddened to hear you didn't enjoy your time in Marathon. We pride ourselves on having clean vacation ready homes for our renters, so this all comes to a shock to us. In doing this for over 20 years this is the first time I have had to respond to a review like this.
We have a strict No Smoking policy in our homes and did not detect any smoke smell but due to your claims that one room was completely unusable we refunded you over $1000.00 . You then called upset that the cleaning detergents used in the bathroom were too strong and so we sent our cleaner back to the property immediately to re-clean the bathroom. We like to use LED light bulbs on our properties, and unfortunately our previous guests took a few and because we clean during the day we were unaware there were any lights missing during the turnover process so we quickly and happily brought over the 4 needing to be replaced. There was an older smoke detector taken down due to us hard-wiring one into the home less than 2ft away that we feel is more safe than the battery operated ones you buy at stores for a couple dollars. We do apologize for the shower head not being placed back on after they cleaned the nozzles, but we were happy to take care of that right when you called. There was a small crack in one blind in a back bedroom that was a bit too high for our cleaner to see when she was dusting and was since replaced. The kitchen ceiling fan works by a pull chain and switch, so we will ensure guests are aware when entering the home for future renters. When you and your group arrived a bit earlier than expected our property manager and our cleaner did inform you and your guests of the New Towels being in the dryer still and you said that was fine and would take care of it (also no socks or undergarments were in there). The floors were freshly washed and seeing as your group arrived a bit earlier than expected Im sure there was a small amount of dampness on the floor. The towels were brand new along with the Christmas Decor the property manager had put out for you and your family to make your stay more special during the holiday and so when a set went missing we unfortunately had to charge for that. Again we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay and hope you have a good rest of your week. Any questions please call the owner Bob
Some nearby places to see would include the Dolphin Research Center, the Turtle Hospital, the Marathon Museum, party boating, Crane Point, Sombrero Beach, Bahia Honda State Park and Beach, the Key Deer, and much more...