Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon

FOLKESTONE COTTAGE in Bar Harbor w/ 5 Star Reviews near Acadia

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 1,850 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

This lovely light-filled Cape surrounded by a sprawling lawn is situated away from the road on a pretty 2-acre lot. Newly painted interiors and quiet, but spacious setting about 8 minutes from Bar Harbor's busy village and 6 minutes to the Park Visitor Center and Park Loop Road. Folkestone Cottage is just one-half mile from the quieter village of Town Hill where you'll find a few restaurants, a bakery, a charming country store with ice cream window, and a ball field with playground.

Open floor plan with Living Room and TV, Dining Area for six, and Kitchen with island seating for two. Back deck with furnishings and gas grill overlooks a large lawn that wraps around the house. First floor half Bathroom with laundry and first floor Master with Queen includes a private Bathroom with Jacuzzi tub and separate shower. The second floor offers one bedroom with Queen bed and a second bedroom with wall-mounted TV, a set of Twins and a King made from twins. These second floor bedrooms share a recently updated Bathroom off the hallway with combined tub/shower. Free nationwide telephone service, Wireless Internet, Two cable TVs, CD/DVD, VCR. D/W, M/W, W/D, Gas Grill. Games and Movies. Baby Furnishings.

Keywords: vacation rental, rental cottage, rental home, maine rental cottage, acadia rental, bar harbor vacation rental, mount desert island cottage rental, acadia national park, kayaking, hiking, mountain biking, swimming, snow shoeing, cross country skiing, xc ski

More Details

Owner
Jeff & Lynn Zaman
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
December 19, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Out of the many times that we’ve visited this island and stayed in many different homes, we enjoyed your home the most.
Jul 2003
  • 1 of 14

Amenities

Town Hill Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1850 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Min. age of primary renter: 23
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Private Master Bath - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Master bath offers whirlpool tub & separate shower
    Shared 2nd Floor Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Half Bath - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • 1st Floor Master w/ Queen - Master offers private Bath w/separate shower & whirlpool tub
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2), Baby Cribs (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Two cable TVs. Free local and domestic long distance phone service. Free wireless high-speed Internet connectivity.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
FOLKESTONE COTTAGE in Bar Harbor w/ 5 Star Reviews near Acadia
average rating of 4.88 based on 39 reviews
5

Wonderful vacation home

  • 5 of 5

We loved our time in the Folkestone Cottage near Bar Harbor! It was very comfortable and clean. We were able to return after long days of hiking in beautiful Acadia NP, cook a quick dinner, and relax together playing games and watching movies! Thank you for making your home available to us.

  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great time at a great house

  • 5 of 5

We had a great week long stay at the cottage. The house was well equipped for our family of 6 (4 adults and 2 4 year olds) and we were easily able to cook several meals in the house. As mentioned the house is close to a VERY nice playground if you're looking to get the kids out to run off some energy. I think that was their favorite part of the week! The house is also close enough to Acadia that it is very easy to come and go to the park throughout the week.

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
West Lafayette, IN
4

Very comfortable, charming home. Great Location.

  • 4 of 5

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Folkstone cottage. Updated, nicely decorated home tucked back away from the road surrounded by beautiful woods. The cottage had all the essentials you'd need (cleaning supplies, all kitchen items, even spices!). Master bedroom and bath lovely with tile and nice shower and jet bath. The only problem is the master bed was only a "full" size bed. There's plenty of room for a queen, or better yet a king bed. This is what we would expect in a master bedroom. The two upstairs bedrooms were nice too. One had a king and (2) twin beds, very adequate. The 2nd bedroom very nice. We didn't use it, so not sure if queen or full size. All rooms had great closets, plenty of room. Overall, we loved the place, the location, almost everything about it, but, we would like to convey that the mattresses were not comfortable at all and the pillows were even worse. They were flat and used up and all need to be replaced.

Also, need to let you know that upon arrival one of the first things we had to do is grab up the kitchen and bathroom rugs and wash them as they were very dirty. I would further like to say that we did wash and dry the towels, washed a comforter that was dirty on a twin bed that we hadn't used but noticed it was stained, we then washed all the sheets, ran the dishwasher and cleaned up in general throughout. We did these tasks and don't feel bad about doing it but will say, we found it odd to ask guests on vacation to do the work your cleaning crew should do. Please know, we loved this house and it is not our intent to be negative, but these are things you need to know. The place is wonderful and we would stay there again in a heartbeat! Thanks for allowing us to enjoy your beautifull place.

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were surprised by negative comments (the first ever after 15 summer seasons renting our cottage), but feedback is helpful nonetheless. I need to point out, however, that both the master bedroom on the first floor and the second bedroom upstairs have QUEEN beds with brand new queen sheets purchased personally. We do not have any full-size beds in the house. Any chance you can edit this one part of your comments? Also, all comforters and quilts as well as rugs have been recently laundered as part of a midseason task list and several pillows are recent purchases as we trade a few out each year, but to show we care about comfort, the larger beds now have brand new pillows and the others will be available for those who like more fluff. Lastly, know that we only ask tenants to wash their dishes and remove their personal food and trash so as to respectfully leave the house in tidy condition. Starting one load of laundry gives the cleaner a head start, but all else is taken care of after tenants depart. Thanks again for leaving a review. We hope you enjoyed your time here and a safe trip home.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The house was perfect for our family

  • 5 of 5

The property was clean and everything we needed was there. It was convenient to Acadia, Bar Harbor and everything else we wanted to do.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The house was clean, tastefully decorated, well cared for on a lovely site

  • 5 of 5

I would definitely recommend this cottage to others. Easy access to all of MDI. Spacious common areas and bedrooms also generously sized. The owners were responsive and accommodating as our arrival plans shifted a bit. It was a very positive stay, so grateful that they welcomed our four legged family member too!

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Beautiful property in a great location

  • 4 of 5

We stayed at Folkestone Cottage for the second time for our family vacation. We love the location and the house is clean and well equipped. The location in Town Hill is far enough from Bar Harbor so you have no worries when the cruise ships come in. But most important is it is a short ride to town when you want to go!! Also Acadia National Park is on the way to town, the main reason we go! If you haven't been to Mount Desert Island or are a returning visitor like we are you should consider a stay here. There are no worries about other people making noise like in motels because there are no other people. It is truly your vacation home when you stay. I will be back again

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Bangor International (BGR)
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $150 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning $135 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.0%

Published weekly rate assumes a Saturday to Saturday 7-night stay. Nightly rates apply if arriving and/or departing on a day other than Saturday (unless it fits perfectly with other bookings). Rate includes cable TV, free wireless Internet, domestic long distance, linens, towels, and many kitchen and bathroom supplies. Rates are based on occupancy and pets discussed. Please be honest about the number of people and pets in your party. Owner has the right to withhold security deposit without recourse if maximum occupancy stated on the lease is exceeded.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund