Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Peace, Comfort, Beautiful Beach, Magic & Wi-Fi!

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms , 2 Baths, (Sleeps 7)

Recently updated as of the end of August 2016: : New carpet in the living room and a few pieces of new furniture make this wonderful home even better.

All the comforts of home is this tried and tested beautifully furnished beach house.

High Speed WIFI so you can keep in touch with the outside world!

Come and find out why so many of our guests return year after year. The kitchen is fully equipped, with everything you can think of. In addition we have digital cable, DVD player, picnic table, landscaping and under-house patio, children's playground on corner, and enclosed wet weather entrance.


Comfortable, clean and beautifully decorated family, beach house in quiet residential neighborhood. The property is less than a two minute walk from the beach. Restaurant, lounge, and convenience store are all a minute away.

Bedroom one is equipped with a European pillow top queen bed, Bedroom two also has a European pillow top queen bed, and upstairs there is a large bedroom with a brand new twin bed and a comfy Queen; and ocean view balcony. There is a queen sleeper in the living room; modern appliances, and all the conveniences of home in the kitchen.

WE PROVIDE LINENS, feather or synthetic pillows to choose from; games for children, chairs to take to the beach . We keep our Non-Smoking home immaculate for you to enjoy. Well-behaved pets are welcome.

Topsail Island is a low-key, family island with an exquisite beach. Visit the unique Sea Turtle Hospital, the museum which shows the military history of Operation Bumblebee and the petrified shark's teeth found all over the island, rent 4-seater bicycles, take a boat-tour and see where Dawson's Creek was filmed, catch the plentiful fish, canoe through the marshlands, and best of all, swim in the ocean and relax on the clean, uncrowded, white sand beach! Sunrises and sunsets are spectacular, as is the abundance and variety of birds.

North Shore Country Club's excellent golf course is open to the public and just off the north end of the island.

There is even an old time roller rink in Topsail Beach!

Visit historic Poplar Grove Plantation nearby, Tour Wilmington and the retired US Battleship North Carolina.

Keywords: Beach House

More Details

Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 3, 2017

About The Owner

Our family spent many summers staying in other people's homes on Topsail Island, until one year our dream came true. Now we love to share our home with others....and want you to feel at home while you are here. Welcome to Easy Street!

Why The Owner chose Topsail Island

We love the Island. It is quiet, residential and simple. The beaches are magnificent and the ocean is very friendly most of the time. Water temperature is in the 80s in the summer and early fall, so you can float to your heart's content!

What makes this house unique

We are very close to the beach, a small grocery store, children's playground and even public rest room, if needed...

Guestbook comments from the owner


Once again we totally enjoyed ourselves at Merlin's place. We spent a long weekend there Oct 19-22nd..the weather was unusually warm and we actually got a sunburn. We always feel as if we are "coming home" when we rent Merlins place. It's such a relaxing place to stay. Kathy McGinn
Jan 2008
  • 1 of 2


Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Wilmington, NC
Nearest Golf
9 Miles
North Shore Country Club - Sneads Ferry

Beach, Day Spa, Go-carts, Water Park, Canoeing, Free Youth group activities for teens in summer, Roller Skating, Jet-ski lessons


Surf City House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View ...
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , large bathroom includes washer and dryer
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Beautiful and spacious upstairs room with ocean view balcony
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Brand new European pillow top mattress
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Brand new European pillow top mattress here too!
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 queen , Queen sleeper sofa in living room
  • Queen size Beds (1) Two comfortable queen sized beds on first floor. Queen and single bed upstairs , Queen sleeper sofa in living room
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • 3 beach chairs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
3 Cable TVs, Expanded Cable, ceiling fans, Wet Weather entrance, Well-behaved pets are welcome, play ground


Exceptional! 5/5 -
(70 traveler reviews)

95% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Peace, Comfort, Beautiful Beach, Magic & Wi-Fi!
average rating of 4.957143 based on 72 reviews

Great location - close to beach!

  • 4 of 5

Unit is very much as described. We had a small dog so it was nice to have a place to stay with her. Very close to beach and public access! Great location to run in the morning. Very close to shops, restaurants, etc. We like going to Mambo's for breakfast. Very friendly. We went for a long weekend in the fall. Weather was great! Owners are very responsive.

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Jennifer. Glad things worked well for you. Come again sometime! Best, Merlin
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Morrisville, NC

Great beach rental experience!!

  • 5 of 5

I would highly recommend staying at Merlin's Magic. The owner's gave a very accurate portrayal of the house. The property was well maintained with everything in working order. The kitchen was well equipped and the layout was perfect for our gathering of six adults.

I really appreciated the professional way in which the owners communicated with us. They were prompt and thorough with all of their communications. That's a big deal for me as I rented from others and it was like pulling teeth to get them to communicate with me. You can tell that the owners take renting their property very seriously and professionally. Well done.

The location was also great. In less than a minute walk, you were on the beach. We also followed the owners' recommendation about restaurants - we ate a late lunch on Saturday at Macdaddy's Grill. We all enjoyed a nice meal outside on their deck.

If you want a vacation rental where the property is exactly as described and you want to deal with nice professional people, then Merlin's Magic is your answer.

Thanks for a great experience!

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Joel, Thanks so much for your kind words! We are glad you guys had a great experience staying with us at Merlin's Magic, hope to see you again next summer! Merlin
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Our needs were more than met!

  • 5 of 5

We were more than pleased with the accommodations at Merlin's Magic. I think I slept better than I ever have away from home (and that's a huge accomplishment for me). We loved the location, and I appreciated that the washer/dryer were inside the house. We stayed at another cottage on the island last year and those appliances were under the deck. Not fun in the rain. Merlin's place had everything we needed. We took things that we ended up not needing because there were so many supplies that we could've left ours at home -- paper towels, toilet tissue, detergent, and everything else. It was great to be able to SEE the ocean and hear it! I didn't find anything in disrepair. While it's true that new living room furniture would be nice, what's there is adequate. We have old-school TVs at home and no cable, so it was a treat to have it on vacation. We enjoyed the deck downstairs, and I enjoyed the one upstairs. I had no trouble with the bathroom off the kitchen and thought the shower head worked just fine -- plenty of pressure and it didn't scald me. The washer/dryer work efficiently and do a thorough job. My one suggestion: a couple of new stoppers for the bathroom sinks, just for rinsing out swimsuits. It would have helped me, anyway; no one else reading this review might care about that. I thought this was a superb find, all the way around. Communication from the owners was fast and friendly. I don't think we could have asked for more. We loved Max's Pizza, Sears Landing, and Patio Playground for food.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words, I am glad your family enjoyed your stay with us! It's a beautiful time of year to be at the beach. We would love to have you come stay with us again next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 4 of 5

My family and I stayed in Merlin's Magic mid July. If I leave a review, I try to be as honest as possible so that the next new renter will not be surprised. In Merlin's Magic, the kitchen and dining area are spacious, which is nice. The upstairs bedroom is very hot during the day which made it very difficult to stay upstairs during the day. With the AC running all day, it cooled off at night. I wish I had known this beforehand. The oscillating fan upstairs was broken. However, the owners immediately told us to purchase a new one and they would reimburse us. The 2 downstairs bedrooms were sufficient. It was nice and cool during the day and at night downstairs. The location is great with a short walk to the beach. The furniture needs to be updated and they need new linens for the beds. Flat screen tv in living room. Old style tv in one bedroom downstairs and in upstairs bedroom. No tv in 2nd bedroom downstairs. The owners are great and do all they can to accommodate your needs. Overall we had a great time. Love the island and will definitely visit again. If you don't mind the fact that this place needs a little updating, then its' the one for you!

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Tammy, thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. I appreciate your kind words and was glad to be able to help, when needed! I am headed down to the beach in two weeks and will have a look at what needs updating. There are already new sheets there as of today. Unfortunately you had a very hot week and I am sorry that you were not able to spend day time upstairs. Glad the rest of the house stayed nice and cool. Thanks again and very best wishes, Merlin
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Wonderful Location

  • 5 of 5

First of all I want to say the owner is wonderful to deal with. She was very accommodating. The location is amazing. It is one block off from the beach and public pier! There is a big playground about a block away too. Also, there are a few restaurants and bars in walking distance. Surf City is a great place to be. There weren't many people there, so it was very relaxing not having a big crowd on the beach and at restaurants. I was there for work and still enjoyed the city and beach after my work day was done.

Back to the rental: There is a great porch to sit on and listen to the waves at the house and there is even a balcony upstairs. You can hear the waves while you lay in bed too. The best thing at the house was having the front door open while listening to the waves and getting a nice breeze. My dog enjoyed laying on the top of the stairs on the porch. The weather was so perfect while I was down there that I didn't have to use the air conditioning. The only thing is that it is a little out dated if you are looking for "new or modern." I didn't mind it, but a few things need to be fixed. The shower head in the main bathroom near the bedrooms is not very functional. It is a hand sprayer with no way to make it stay up without holding it. Another thing is that the carpet is stained and has runs around the house, especially the living room. But, it didn't take away from my stay too much. I know some people that I know would complain about these things, but I don't mind it. I would definitely stay here again due to location and the owner. Those two things override the things that need to be fixed. If the shower head is fixed it will make it more convenient to use the shower in between the bedrooms, instead of the one off of the kitchen. Bottom Line Up Front: I recommend staying here if you aren't looking for outrageous prices and a great location!!!!!

  • Submitted: May 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your kind words Andi. Glad you all enjoyed your visit. The shower is fixed, the carpet cleaned and the homey feeling is still there! All good wishes, hope you can come again soon! - Merlin
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
North Haven CT

Short But Sweet

  • 5 of 5

We were so lucky to have found this place. The house was great and the location was too! Our only regret was that our visit wasn't long enough. Hope to be back again soon. Thanks so much Merlin for letting us stay in your lovely home and enjoy the NC hospitality and beautiful weather.

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Pet Fee $100
departure cleaning $95
Tax Rate 12.5%

Your security deposit is not cashed and will be torn up after your stay if it is not needed for anything.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties