Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

WATERFRONT> Pontoon, Kayaks, Row boat, Hot Tub, Fire wood, Cleaning INCLUDED!!

Bedrooms 3
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Cottage, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 3 Baths, Sleeps 12 (6 adults & 6 kids)

GREAT FAMILY OR COUPLES RETREAT, GIRLS WEEKEND OR GUYS HUNTING OR FISHING TRIP!! Enjoy boating, fishing, swimming, kayaking, shopping, reading, snowmobiling, 4-wheeling, relaxing in the hot tub, making smores over the campfire or whatever your heart desires! This very cozy cottage has something to offer everyone! Enjoy over 100 foot of waterfront with your own dock! Family board games, X-box, horseshoes and more! This serene get-away is nestled on Indian Lake an 'all-sports' 80 acre (no public access lake) -very light boat traffic! We have that up-north feel yet are only 15 minutes from the Tanger Oulets in West Branch! Enjoy a walk to the local ice-cream parlor 'Two-Scoops' or 'The Camp Restaurant' as well as many of the other amenities this area has to offer! Whatever you are looking forward too you're sure to find it here!!

Keywords: Gladwin, West Branch, Romantic, get-a-way, Retreat, Cabin, cottage, waterfront, hunting, fishing, ORV, ATV trails, family, girls weekend, couples, outlets, shopping, serene, relaxing, relax, large, spacious, luxury, rustic, lake, hunt, fish, snowmobiling, ice-fishing, Romantic, boating, all-sports, water sports included

More Details

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
January 15, 2018

About Racquel

Our family has lived in lower Michigan our entire lives and love the outdoors! What better way to experience the outdoors then to bring it inside! Our busy schedules make it that much more important to have a place to unwind & relax! We love to travel but our favorite destination is still our up-north cottage! We have made so many great memories here and hope you will too!!

Racquel purchased this cottage in 2005

Why Racquel chose Gladwin

Our family loves the outdoors and loves water sports which makes this location the perfect place for us! My husband and son like to hunt and with state land just up the road it is very convienent for that while my daughter and I prefer to go to Tanger Outlets shopping or pamphering ourselves at one of the local spas! We enjoy 4-wheeling on the ORV trails close by as well as snowmobiling! This location has it all!

What makes this cottage unique

Everything outdoors is 'all in one place'!


Gladwin Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Must have knowledge of as well as have driven boats in the past in order to use the pontoon. Boater's safety preferred! Counter clockwise on lake.
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Loft - 1 sleep sofa /futon , This room is a loft which is open to the lower level.
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , 1 baby crib , 1 bunk bed , 2 floor cushions /mats also available in large bonus room
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Futon (1), Single Beds (2), Bunk-beds (1), floor cushions/mats (2), Pack N Play (1)
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Boat
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
Our cottage offers many extras!! (Pontoon boat, kayaks, wood for bon-fire, life vest, games, hammock, hot tub propane tanks, grill and much more!) You WON'T be disappointed! *Please read our reviews!!** Pontoon requires a minimum age of 25 to operate. Driver must provide a valid driver's license!


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(36 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
5% Complete
WATERFRONT> Pontoon, Kayaks, Row boat, Hot Tub, Fire wood, Cleaning INCLUDED!!
average rating of 4.5833335 based on 36 reviews

We had a great week! Fun place to be with the family!

  • 5 of 5

The Lake house was great for our family of 10! Fun time out on the lake in the pontoon. Fishing wasn't as good this year on the lake but still caught a 20" Pike; 3 Catfish and several Sunfish.

This was our 3rd year there and we enjoyed every minute of this relaxing hide-away.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Great having you back!! Thanks for sharing your experience with others. We look forward to hosting you again next year! Racquel
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

The house itself was nice but the amenities questionable. Kitchen utensils, dinnerware, etc. terrible, beds upstairs with horrible mattresses, towels in all bthrooms should be replaced ( towels kept in our garage for cleaning our cars are in better condition!) Blankets ripped. Washing machine was dirty. And the worst was the surrounding area which one does not see in the pictures displayed on the internet. Old dilapidated homes all around - not a pretty sight. We certainly expected a more pleasant place for our family to gather. Herb & Lou Ann Paterra Would never return to Gladwin

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Herb & Lou Ann, Thank you for your feedback. We apologize that you did not have a pleasant stay. It is a top priority for us to make sure every guest enjoys themselves and we try our best to make this happen. Of course we prefer positive feedback but we also appreciate candid feedback as it helps us make improvements where needed. I was not aware of many of the issues you mentioned here as they were not brought to my attention when we spoke while you were there. Generally we address issues as they occur to ensure your happiness and comfort. We were not able to do this as they were not brought to our attention. The only issue you called about was the grill's propane tank and how to operate the pontoon, both of which we handled the best we could with our housekeeper being out of town dealing with a medical issue with her son. We recently did an evaluation of the home and did not see any issues with pots, pans, plates, silverware etc. They all seem to be in good condition and plentiful. Please advise if you have a specific complaint here that can be fixed. A couple of the allergy free blankets had tares. This tends to happen when you wash them due to the material they are made of. We will be replacing these at the end of this rental season. Due to the hard water we have noticed the towels are not as soft as they would be otherwise but there are plenty of them and they are still functional for their purpose. We have asked housekeeping to increase the fabric Softner but that doesn't seem to be enough to fix the problem. We are looking into this. We do advertise that it is very common to find older homes and newer homes on lakes up north. This is very common and happens on most lakes, not just ours. (We definitely have the nicest place on our lake.) We did give you a heads up that our neighbor's shed had blown down and he was notified of the problem. We can't be responsible for neighbors properties unfortunately :(. It is my understanding he has since cleaned up the debris and it should be much better now. Unfortunately there still remains some homes around us in need of repairs and attention and we hope over time these property owners will care about their homes as much we do. Thanks again for your feedback. We will do our best to continue to make improvements! P.S. It was great hearing from your son Jeff about what a wonderful time he had at our place the week you were all there!! The positive feedback was greatly appreciated!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Family Reunion

  • 4 of 5

We had a very good time while staying in Gladwin, the Home was beautiful and had just about everything we needed while we stayed there. It was big enough for our whole family to relax and enjoy the summer days and nights, along with the Pontoon to use on the lake. Just a few little changes could be made and we think it could make a big difference. We did have some issues which were taken care of right away..The owner did a great job if we had a problem. I would stay here again and highly recommend this to others. The price is right and the location is great to get to other points of intrest in the area.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and for any feedback you provide us to make improvements for future guests! I have contacted you with the cell number you provided during your stay with us. We strive for 100% guest satisfaction so your feedback is important to us! Thank you! Can't wait to have you back again! Racquel
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely get away

  • 5 of 5

Located between west branch and Gladwin. Nice

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Relaxing fun

  • 5 of 5

Had everything we needed even more than we had thought. We're halfway between Gladwynne and Westbranch so we went shopping a lot. Even went to the movies in Westbranch

  • Submitted: May 31, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

This place is beyond charming! This is the second time we stayed and it did not disappoint!

  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Our cottage offers many extras!! Pontoon boat ($99 insurance fee required), kayaks, hot tub, wood for bon-fire, life vest, games, hammock and more! You WON'T be disappointed! *Please read our reviews!!** Water toys are available from Memorial weekend through November 1st with weekly rentals. After November 1st they must be winterized. Holiday rates quoted separately.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $99

Any reservation where use of PONTOON is included the renter will need to submit a valid driver's license for each person who will be driving it. There will be a total $99 insurance fee for all pontoon rental reservations.
*Additional fees apply for Holidays and parties of over 8 persons*

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties