Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Splendid Alii Drive Oceanview Apt

Bedrooms 2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

Apartment, 2 Bedrooms , 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

All the comfort of your home away from home. Spacious lanai to enjoy oceanview meals and relaxation. Walk to Magic Sands for swmming, sunning and body-surfing or if snorkeling, paddle-boarding and surfing are your preference, visit Kahalu'u (Turtle) Beach, also nearby on Alii Drive.

Master Bedroom with kingsize bed and ample closet space. Adjacent guest bedroom with queensize bed. Full bath & shower. Bright and airy living room with cable TV. Fully-equipped kitchen. Clothes washer & dryer on premises. Single dedicated parking space. Free wireless Internet. Towels and linens provided.

Keywords: Upper floor of island-style house with 5-min walk to Magic Sands Beach

More Details

Peter Mertvago
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, french, russian
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
November 15, 2017

About Peter Mertvago

Retired and living in Hawaii; languages: French, Russian;

also some Spanish, Italian & German.

Peter Mertvago purchased this apartment in 1999


Kailua-Kona Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 12:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Maximum occupancy of 4 adults must be consistent with 2-person per bedroom sleeping arrangement in 1 queen and 1 king bed.
  • Two children above age 10 may be accommodated in shared guest room in a queen bed.
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Master bedroom: 1 King size bed ( made up of 2 twin beds) Guest bedroom: 1 Queen size bed Living room: 1 convertible sofa
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


3.7/5 -
(3 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
33% Complete
Splendid Alii Drive Oceanview Apt
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 3 reviews


  • 1 of 5

I found this property on VRBO and requested to rent it thinking it would be clean and we would be comfortable using it, well when we arrived I was not happy with the odor that we were greeted with, then to make matters even worse when the owner gave us a walk through I was disgusted with the dirty bathroom, tub had a ring around it but that wasn't all there was used soap in the soap trays and in the sink soap tray as well. USED SOAP!!! Ya like I wanted to touch that one. The toilet had black stains and the towels looked like rags. There was even used toilet paper in the garbage. Made me wonder if the sheets were clean, was not going to chance it!!! Pillow case color was dirty brown with drool marks on it. Ummm Ya not going to stay there. Then the kitchen, fridge had an odor and the top was horrible it had a very think layer of dirt on top. Sink was gross and the fan did not work. There was no way I was going to even attempt staying there. I would have had to take my week and CLEAN in order for us to stay there. We were also told we had to be quiet when we were there because the tenant slept during the day because he worked nights. Like I go to Hawaii to be quiet, I think not! Just wasn't pleased with the look of any of this condo. I was also puzzled that there were tons of personal items there and I was nervous that if we broke anything we would be responsible for it. (Example China that was in low cupboards) I had our small grandkids staying there and did not want to have to watch them every minute while there. After we discussed our frustrations with the owner he said he would REFUND 100% of my money a week went by and I called him again and then he REFUSED to refund our money that we paid. I remind you WE DID NOT STAY THERE AND RETURNED HIS KEYS THAT NIGHT..... I would not recommend this owner at all or any of his properties. I have my credit card company backing me up and we are waiting for his response but we have ALL paperwork from him stating he was refunding our money so we are not to concerned. We just want others to be aware of this creep. IT WAS HORRIBLE VERY HORRIBLE! I went to Hawaii to enjoy life not make misery there.

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Suspicious Renters: Aborted stay after arrival, demanded refund violating agreement with owner's policy, posting a negative review in which every statement can be disproven by material evidence or witness testimony. Reserved for three, but arrived as four; no dissatisfaction with premises during walk-thru. Apartment cleaned 24 hrs prior to arrival by housekeeping services employed since owner began rentals thru VRBO in 2012. Owner personally inspected premises 30 min before greeting guests, dispensed new soap, etc. Renter's remarks on cleanliness - total fabrications. The fan concern was corrected during walk-thru by adjusting speed dial. Cupboards with china/ kitchenware at standard height above counters (website photos); no personal items unintended for guests' use present on premises. Fresh clean towels arranged separately for beach and home use. House rules signed by guests prior to arrival clearly stated no LOUD noise from 9pm - 7am (normal for Hawaii). At walk-thru no comment regarding cleanliness of premises upon accepting keys. Only noticeable change in guests' otherwise smiling demeanor occurred when they were informed about a permanent tenant on the floor below (website describes rental having its own private entrance and comprising the entire upper floor of a 2-floor residential house) and also that there were 2 exterior security cameras to protect against illegal parking in driveway and trespassers on property. This of course meant that they (and their guests) would not have full run of the property unnoticed. Owner, on Christmas morning, called to inquire about the "issue" texted but not specified the night before so as to remedy the problem but instead was given a rude tirade of the "frustrations" falsely alleged in the review, and was prevented from speaking directly to the registered guest. Owner then did what was necessary to re-possess keys and secure rental property for the arrival of the next party due in 6 days. A stay-termination email was sent to the guest but any statement about a refund - if made - was done so UNDER DURESS to obtain key return and deter possible unlawful behavior of perceived dishonest guests, who clearly remain free to pursue this matter in the appropriate jurisdiction. Owner's refund policy (listed by VRBO as moderate) is designed, inter alia, to deter travelers from making many bookings and upon arrival to select which to keep and which to cancel and get illegitimate refunds by intimidation or slander.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great stay. Easy hosts.

  • 5 of 5

Kids shared the small room and we took the master. Plenty of space for the family. Great setting and very short walk to the best beach in the area. On Alii which is the water front drive. Great peaceful setting.

Peter was a great host. Did his best to make our stay an enjoyable one

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2013
  • Stayed: March 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Salem, Oregon USA


  • 5 of 5

Thanks, Peter, for letting us enjoy your great house! What a fabulous location, & wonderful ocean view! Amazing sunsets every night! We really enjoyed the laid back comfort of the apartment, & you are a kind & gracious host! The close proximity to all the attractions (beaches, parks, shops, restaurants, & all sorts of activities!) on Alli Drive is such an added bonus! We will definitely recommend your place to others, & hope to return ourselves SOON!

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2013
  • Stayed: February 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Hapuna Golf Course
Number 3 Restaurant
Lunch Restaurant
Cafe Hapuna
Three Frogs Cafe
Hapuna Beach State Park
Hot Malasadas Truck
Pu'ukohola Heiau National Historic Site
Aloha Deli
Breakfast Restaurant
al Vicolo
Italian Restaurant
Seafood Bar and Grill
Bar & Grill
Cafe Pesto - Kawaihae
Family Restaurant
Anuenue Ice Cream & Shave Ice
Kawaihae Kitchen
Asian Restaurant
Kohala Burger & Taco
Hamburger Restaurant
Hale Kai Restaurant
Brown's Beach House Restaurant
Seafood Restaurant
Waikoloa Restaurant & Bar
Under the Bodhi Tree
Vegetarian Restaurant
The Blue Room Brasserie
French Restaurant
Juice 101
Juice Shop
Kimo Bean Coffee Co
Coffee Shop
Hawaiian Restaurant
Island Lava Java Waikoloa
Racha Thai
Thai Restaurant
Pueo's Osteria, LLC
Italian Restaurant
Bay Terrace
Buffet Restaurant
Ocean Bar & Grill
Lunch Restaurant
Shiono at Mauna Lani
Sushi Restaurant
Napua at Mauna Lani Beach Club
Hawaiian Restaurant
Dona & Toni's
Italian Restaurant
Waikoloa Coffee Co
Coffee Shop
Honolulu Coffee
Coffee Shop
Island Fish & Chips
Seafood Restaurant
Daylight Mind Coffee Company
Kings' Shops
A-Bay's Island Grill
Pacific Rim Restaurant
Ippy's Hawaiian BBQ
Barbecue Restaurant
Lemongrass Express Waikoloa
Asian Restaurant
Paradise Pizza & Grill
Pizza Restaurant
Hawaiian Fish N Chips
Seafood Restaurant
Charley's Thai Cuisine
Thai Restaurant
Pizza Restaurant
Merriman's Big Island
American Restaurant
Red Water Cafe
American Restaurant
Hawaiian Style Cafe
Hawaiian Restaurant
Waimea Coffee Company
Coffee Shop
JoJo's Avenue - Shaved Ice & Treats
Hina Rae’s Sugarshack
Paniolo Country Inn
Parker Ranch Center
Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Damage Insurance $59
Damage Deposit $300

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.