About the property
- House2528 sqft
- Half Baths0
- Minimum Stay3 - 8 nights
Beautifully decorated Luxury Waterfront home (sleeps 8)
Private wooded 4 bedroom and 2 bath waterfront luxury home available for your vacation year-round, participating or attending IronMan, the Annual Arts in the Heart festival, the annual Westobou festival (both in historic downtown Augusta, GA and of course for Masters 2019. Getting away from it all means rest, relaxation and outdoor recreation and this home offers that in spades. Basketball, Foosball, darts, horseshoes or fishing until your heart's content; it's all here for you to enjoy. Along with more room to relax, more privacy and a 24/7 kitchen. This home is a far superior choice to a hotel.
The base rate is for 4 people, but this home will accommodate a maximum of 8 overnight guests. The owner makes this home available to select GUESTS WHO DESIRE A PEACEFUL GETAWAY AND NO GATHERINGS OF ANY KIND ARE PERMITTED. NO MORE THAN 8 PRE-APPROVED PERSONS MAY BE ON THIS PROPERTY THROUGHOUT YOUR STAY, so PLEASE DO NOT request to book this property if you are seeking a venue for ANY kind of gathering or event as this will not be permitted.
Fall in love with the decor in this newly renovated 4 bedroom home. Gorgeous first floor master suite boasts a king bed, custom-built furniture, large flat screen TV, tiled dual head shower plus claw foot soaking tub. Gourmet kitchen with granite counters, stainless steel appliances, casual dining space and breakfast bar opens to the living room with fireplace and 60 inch flat screen smart TV. Privacy is enhanced with three bedrooms located on the opposite side of the home from the master.
After spending a day on the water, enjoy a cocktail, cook your catch of the day, enjoy a fine cut of meat from the local butcher while dining al fresco on the spacious new covered deck with outdoor kitchen containing built-in grill, prep area and sink. You will love sitting on the lakeside dock as the water ebbs and flows, or looking up at the stars and hearing the frogs singing you a good night lullaby from the large covered deck.
This secluded home is set in nearly 3 wooded acres. There is ample parking for your boat and a boat ramp just up the road. We are located just 4 miles from Wildwood Park.
The home is located an easy 20-25 minute drive from the Augusta National and quaint, downtown Augusta. Just 10-15 minutes from Evans where you can find an abundance of popular restaurants and shopping.
(The base rate is for 2 people. There is a charge/person for each additional overnight guest or daytime visitor.)
Stay 6 nights, get the 7th night FREE!!! (lowest priced night discounted)
Contact the Property Manager to book your stay!
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within a few hours
- Calendar last updated:
- May 21, 2018
About Lora Rutland
Check out our FaceBook page for specials/deals/attractions! https://www.facebook.com/Chigoe at Thurmond
Lora Rutland purchased this House in 2011
Why Lora Rutland chose Columbia County
Augusta and the surrounding areas do not offer a lot of choice when it comes to luxury overnight accommodations. Many have fallen in love with this home and find it a great alternative to a hotel. If you are looking for a romantic getaway or have business or an event in Augusta or the surrounding CSRA, we know you will enjoy making this your home away from home. Stay during your trip to Augusta, GA for one of the many Clarks Hill fishing tournaments, the annual IronMan race, the Drive Chip & Putt annual golf tournament, Masters 2019 and the very FIRST Women's Amateur Golf Tournament in 2019 @ the Augusta National Golf Course.
What makes this House unique
Thurmond Lake (also known as Clarks Hill Lake) is the southeast's largest and most popular public recreational lake. The lake is large, deep, clear and is considered Georgia’s Fresh Water Coast. Thurmond Lake is 120 miles long, encompasses 71,100 acres of water and has 1,200 miles of shoreline. The state record for largest striped bass was caught at Thurmond Lake and weighed in at 55 pounds and 12 ounces. Many of the national fishing tournaments like the Oakley Big Bass Tournament and the Big Bass Tour take place just 4 miles up the road at Wildwood Park. In the heat of the summer, swimming, sailing, canoeing, kayaking, and rafting can cool off the body and lift the spirits. This property’s deep water dock offers the perfect perch from which to cast a fishing pole or cast off in an inner tube. Enjoy all four seasons: this lakeside property is the perfect cure to the winter blahs. Use it to melt the stresses of everyday life or as an adventure playground. Or do both!
Local Services & Businesses
Sports & Adventure Activities
Check-in: 3:00 PM
Check-out: 12:00 AM
Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Beautiful house!! Well equipped for all your needs
Very serine and beautiful property. We have gone back for a second stay...love the house and Lora makes sure you are comfortable she is both dependable and reliable..great for a family togetherness as it is a large and spacious well cared for house. Beautiful gardens..love the rural feeling
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for a safe haven while escaping Savannah during the Hurricane. Making each and every guest feel safe and comfortable is what I strive for. Thank you for the kind words in your review.
The property exceeded my expectations.
The pictures did not do the property justice. The view was amazing!
Lora Rutland was simply amazing and accommodated all of our needs. She made this a memorable experience and because of her and this beautiful property, Ee will always use Home Away.
Thanks Vanessa, your kind words make accommodating each and every guest worth each and every effort put forth to make your stay the memorable experience it was. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Really shabby, the glamour shots truly hide the numerous flaws.
It lists 3 bathrooms but the upstairs was locked so we only had 2 bathrooms. The kitchen tile was severely cracked & damaged in many places( by the fridge a tile actually moved when anyone stepped on it.)When we went to get a mug out, it was missing a handle. The fireplace had a larger than quarter-sized burgundy paint-stain. The bar stools had obviously been previously broken and glued back together. All the beds were very high & quite difficult for my elderly parents to get into. In the master bathroom the towel stand had rusted. The 3hooks in the wall had been damaged & were almost falling out of the wall. There was a hippie looking neighbor that was stalking the property & the dock. He was very unkempt and made me afraid for the safety of my children. Prior to leaving, I had to take all the trash out from the outdoor kitchen, indoor kitchen, & the bathrooms. I also had to strip the bed sheets off and deposit them in the bathrooms. We ran out of toilet tissue. The kitchen trash an was the size of the bathroom trash can. I would not return or advise anyone to vacation here. The lake dock is very far away from the house & was barely usable due to the water level. There is only one rocking chair on the deck & it was very uncomfortable. The washer is very low end and had oxy clean left in it from the previous renter which damaged a blanket we washed. The stopper for the tub in the master bathroom leaked water so you have to keep refilling the tub during use. The showers in the master are wide open, no glass enclosure, so you feel a breeze as you shower. Truly a disappointment for my parents 50th anniversary getaway. The dart board in the garage had a golf cart in front blocking it. I would not recommend staying here. We will never return. The temperature was remotely controlled so when we awoke sweating we discovered was up to 79 degrees in the house.
We truly regret that you were not satisfied with your stay at our property, We tried our best to accommodate your needs after realizing following your arrival that you planned to bring 25 more people in addition to the seven that we had been informed about. It also came to our attention that you intended to host an unauthorized event on our property. These things are clearly prohibited in our Agreement, and it appeared to be your intention to do this without our knowledge. Rather than insisting that you and your guests leave the property, our option to levy an additional charge has brought retaliation - you stole items from the home that have been documented in a police report - and this unfounded review.
Obviously, our many 4 and 5 star reviews more realistically reflect our guest's experience when staying with us. Our photos accurately document the property, in which we take tremendous pride. We certainly appreciate our guests' decision to stay with us and are clear about our expectations for how our property may be used before accepting a booking.To maintain our standards we allow only a limited number of people on the property at any time, and unfortunately our choice to make a very significant exception for you following your arrival did not achieve a good result.
The gentleman you referred to is an older neighbor who walks down the property line to the lakefront, as do other local residents. We encourage all guests to contact us during their stay if they have any concerns at all.
Beautiful house on a great property. Quite and calm. Amazing outdoor space.
We stayed here for a week in early June. This is a great house for a nice retreat. The outdoor living space is awesome w/ covered deck with fans to keep the air moving and comfortable, even when it was a bit warm.
The roads on this 'peninsula' of the lake were very quite for cycling and the surrounding area was lined with nice rolling hills in the woods for great riding as well.
The kitchen is well stocked. The house was very clean and well kept. The outdoor space was also very well maintained.
Thank you for the kind words in your review. The outdoor space of this property is a favorite for many and we are so glad that you enjoyed it as well. We look forward to having you return anytime the roads for cycling are calling your name.
The property is beautiful and quiet. The house was perfect with all amenities. The property manager Lora met us there and was extremely friendly and easy to work with. Looking forward to returning
Thank you for the kind words in your review. Guests like you make my job "easy" and I am always happy to meet my guests. We look forward to having you return as well.
Wonderful time at a beautiful property.
The property is fantastic. Sitting outside in the covered deck, you see and hear the beauty of nature. The birds sing and play while you enjoy a drink, barbeque a steak, or play horse shoes in the back yard. The house is lovely. We enjoyed playing darts in the game room and basketball outside. The property is close to Evans, GA. We had all we needed close by. We rented a boat for the day on Clark Hill Lake and took in some local golf. Highly recommend this property to all.
What a great review! We are so glad you enjoyed all that the Property offered and even enjoyed Clarks Hill Lake via boat.
This home sits approximately 20 minutes from Augusta National Golf Course - home of The Masters Golf Tournament and from the quaint and historical downtown Augusta. There are many golf courses in this area both public and private. Augusta has many great antique shops and boutique shopping at Surrey Center. Downtown Augusta has many great local pubs with live music plus great theaters. Evans, which is about 10 miles from the house, provides many great restaurants, shopping plus a large outdoor amphitheater that has concerts and festivals year round. This home sits within minutes of Lake Thurmond and 4 miles from Wildwood Park. At Lake Thurmond there are many activities like jet skiing, boating & fresh water fishing. There are local stables where you can go horseback riding. There are off road ATV parks nearby. The Savannah River provided plenty of outdoor entertainment with hiking, canoeing / kayaking, or biking.
Rates & Availability
Additional information about rental rates
Rates start at $195/night for 2 guests (3 night minimum). Rates increase by $55 per person/per night over 2 guests. $300 refundable deposit + $69 non refundable damage insurance fee. Summer special -- stay 6 nights & get the 7th night FREE! Stay 6 nights, get the 7th night FREE! Pets considered on an individual basis. Pet addendum, fee and deposit required. Contact us for Masters Week pricing and availability.