Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Grand Canyon gateway. Oasis in the Woods Summer Winter Cabin. Private sledhill

Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

This Perfect mountain retreat has Two large master bedrooms with king size beds, hard wood floors throughout as well as Roomy Great room with 20' ceilings. All views are forest and mountains. Extremely quiet and set up to entertain multiple families. During the summer walk out the front door 50 yards to national forest trail heads and world class mountain biking. In the winter A private sled hill and outdoor Fireplace to roast marshmallows. Enjoy 8 person jacuzzi anytime of the year. Solid redwood decking 1000sq feet overlooking Beautiful treetop views WATCH FOR ELK:) Two smaller rooms with queen beds share a full bath perfect for couples or kids

Completely self contained

Keywords: Luxury Cabin in the woods Multi Family

walking distance from Mountain Biking/Hiking Private Sled Hill

Grand Canyon

Gateway to the Grand Canyon.

More Details

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 16, 2017

About The Owner

I built my dream home in 2006 and cannot wait to share it with you. We love Flagstaff. My wife, and daughters encourage you to share a warm outdoor experience in a great house

The Owner purchased this house in 2006


Flagstaff House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Mobile Phone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Catering Available
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Video Games
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • jetted tub
Leisure Activities:
  • horseshoes
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
Property is on National Forest Green Belt and Backs 100,000 treed acres of amazing (seasonal)creekside hiking. Tons of elk, Private horshoe pit/ Jacuzzi, Outdoor fireplace


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(48 traveler reviews)

77% Complete
12% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
6% Complete
Grand Canyon gateway. Oasis in the Woods Summer Winter Cabin. Private sledhill
average rating of 4.5208335 based on 48 reviews
Hindsville, AR

Beautiful relaxing atmosphere on a quiet street.

  • 5 of 5

This stay is one of the best I have had renting thru HomeAway. Dominic is prompt answering emails. Every detail she gives is accurate. The house is very well equpped/stocked making it easy to prepare meals and relax no matter what your activity plans are. My husband and I met 3 of our adult children and 2 grandchildren for a trip to the Grand Canyon. The house is well stocked so we could grill dinners and prepare breakfasts. There is even toys for the kids to use and horse shoes set up in the back yard. The hot tub was nice. Plenty of space to spread out and not feel like you are cramped. The deck was wonderful to relax on.

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are happy your stay was nice and jealous we were not sharing the beautiful monsoons.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Renter Beware

  • 1 of 5

Buyer Beware

After this experience, we have decided to stick with hotels. No more VRBO for us. The “booking with confidence” guarantee is worthless as it does not provide recourse due to a lack of cleanliness or in the case of misrepresentation. Once the owner has your money, which you pay upfront before seeing the property, you might as well kiss it goodbye if the property is not what you are expecting.

The photos for this property were taken when the property was new, 10 years ago. The decking needs refinishing, the wooden surfaces in the home have water stains and the marble table has chunks of stone missing. The carpet is worn, the walls are scuffed and the windows are dirty. Rather than a luxury rental, the home is shabby.

We arrived during a heat wave and the house has no air conditioning. It was 85 degrees inside the home at 10pm. The sliding glass door does not have a screen and the fan was not working upstairs. We tried grilling our steaks outside but the grill was filthy and the tank ran out of propane. When I asked the owner by text about the propane, he indicated that it was the tenant’s responsibility to refill the tanks. He also said he would get the grill cleaned but offered no solution while we were staying there. To top off an already disappointing experience, when I went to take a shower the next morning, there was no bath soap or shampoo. At 7am, I had to drive 10 miles back to town to buy supplies.

When we checked out after the first night of our two night stay, the owner did not offer compensation for any inconvenience. At least if we book with a hotel, the basics are provided and the furnishings won’t look like they come from a yard sale.

The only positive to this property is that it has a well-stocked kitchen.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We agree, On July 7 I took my crew up to the property and did a thorough renovation. Deck remodel and re stain. New grill. All interior repair and new paint. Only one room has carpet. The other 2000 sq ft is hardwood flooring. • of homes in flagstaff have no AC we keep the windows open to allow the cool air in the morning. Then seal it up around 9 to trap it;) Usually our renters are enjoying the miles of forest trails outside the front door. Sorry about the heat wave. But it was still 49 in the evenings. What I heard was the windows were dirty (daily monsoons) the coffee table had a chip, The grill was dirty, and the carpet seemed worn out.. we don't get many complaints, but I always provide my cell and encourage our guests to open a dialogue at any time. You have chosen to be malicious rather than constructive. I think that speaks volumes about your character. As I indicated in our text dialogue I would credit you for the 1/2 day you elected to leave early. However your desire to rant rather than negotiate has diminished that possibility. To our future guests...enjoy the newly renovated property Owner
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great place to stay, beautiful home!

  • 5 of 5

Nice place to stay. Lots of room. Will definitely return.

  • Submitted: May 29, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great place to getaway from the hustle and bustle. Beautiful home and surroundings!

  • 5 of 5

Terrific place to stay with friends and family! This place was well equipped with all your kitchen needs and then some. The outdoors was so relaxing and the hot tub was perfect for a late night soak before bed. The view of the pines and the wildlife present was just beautiful. Spacious area, for entertaining a large group of friends, in the kitchen/dining/living room area was perfect for our social gatherings. I look forward to staying here again in the near future. I had a few questions and I was very impressed at how promptly the owner responded. If you want a quick getaway with the girls or enjoy R/R with your family, I highly recommend this home. Clean home, clean beds, and plenty of dishes. You won't regret it!

  • Submitted: May 15, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great Weekend Away!

  • 5 of 5

Perfect place for four adults and four kids all under the age of 6. The sledding hill in back was great and the place had everything we needed. Thank You for sharing your place with us.

  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Perfect home

  • 5 of 5

Home was fully outfitted, the sled hill was incredible. Snowed every day.

We had family dinner 15 guests no issues.

Loved it

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $160
Damage Deposit $300

Christmas will range from 350-400 per night

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Canceled bookings will not receive a refund