Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

2 bedrooms & large loft -Large living room -Wrap around Deck -Pets Ok -Free WiFi

Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Space 976 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps 4-10)

Nestled in the mountains, we are surrounded by tall, fragrant pines… perfect for bringing the family together in this spacious yet cozy cabin with huge loft.

There are 2 bedrooms, each with a Queen bed, and a Cal-King bed and 4 Twins in the loft. The loft also has a separate video/Xbox area plus many games and puzzles and is a great place to keep kids of all ages entertained (baby gate available for stairs). We have free WiFi, a full kitchen, large living room with comfy couches, wood-burning fireplace, and dining table which seats 6 comfortably (8 if you squeeze in) which is perfect for dining together or playing games with the whole family. Additionally we have 3 stools at the kitchen counter. There is a large TV in the living room that has hook ups for a laptop or iPad. The wrap-around deck is brand new, pet- and child-friendly, and has a gas BBQ and tables and chairs so you can enjoy the beautiful surrounding trees.

On a special note, our cleaner uses only green, environmentally-friendly products (without adding cost or sacrificing cleanliness) so we can provide a healthier environment for your family and for the beautiful Sierras you’ve come to experience. The house is also up-to-date with smoke alarms and a carbon monoxide detector for your family’s protection.


-- “The cabin was roomy and comfortable. The upstairs loft was great for the kids. They had plenty of room to play and watch movies.” ~Shari, Rohnert Park CA

-- “It is very clean and well kept up. The decorations and small touches are very warm and comfortable, lots of cute touches. You'll immediately feel right at home here.” ~Gary, Vallejo CA

-- “This is a great cabin… with open windows allowing plenty of sun light and views [of the surrounding trees]... This must be the best valued cabin in Arnold!' ~Bill, Manteca CA

-- “Terri & Tim were honest & great to deal with… Look forward to going back with friends next year!” ~Eric, Scotts Valley CA

-- “I live in the SF Bay Area and the drive to Arnold is shorter and much less stressful than the drive to Tahoe. This will definitely be our new winter escape and looking forward to going in the other seasons as well.”

~Kingsley, Palo Alto CA

(For more comments, see our Traveler Reviews)


Many guests have said that our video gave them an accurate idea of what our home is like. To see the video, please click the video tab at the top above the picture of our house. Or simply visit our website at ArnoldVacation(dot)com (substitute a real “.” for “(dot)”). You can also scroll down this VRBO page and click our website link (after the large blue 'View Calendar' button but before 'Owner's Profile'). We have a lot of great information on our website - including phone numbers and links to area attractions - and we keep our calendar updated so please feel free to take a look.


For summertime fun, it’s just a short trip (less than ½ mile) down the hill to Fly-In Lake, complete with a small sandy beach and floating raft for swimming and playing (and don’t forget to watch the geese “fly in” at dusk!). Nearby is an 18-hole golf course as well as the Blue Lake Springs Recreation Center where your family is welcome to use our Owner’s Pass to enjoy the swimming pool, tennis courts, basketball, ping pong, bocce courts, volleyball and outdoor movies shown during the warm summer nights. With our pass, the Rec Center is $8/person or $25/family per day and $45/person or $125/family per week.

In the winter months, Bear Valley ski resort, just a 25-minute drive to the east, is known as a family-friendly, affordable resort, which offers excellent downhill and cross-country skiing for all skill levels, as well as other popular winter activities such as are sledding, snowshoeing, snowboarding and snowmobiling. (And don't forget mountain biking and hiking in the summer!)

Not to be missed in any season is Big Trees State Park where you can experience the Giant Sequoia Redwoods standing 150 feet tall and 30 feet across. With great nature and hiking trails perfect for all ages, this park is less than a 10-minute drive away and a great opportunity to see some of California’s true gems.

Fishing, boating and other water activities abound in one of the many lakes, streams and rivers including the Stanislaus River, Alpine Lake (our favorite!), Mokelumne River, Bear Creek, Rattlesnake Creek, New Melones Lake, Mosquito Lake, Union & Utica Reservoirs, New Spicer Reservoir and many others.

And don’t forget a visit to the nearby Gold Rush towns of Murphys (quaint downtown with shops & restaurants) and Colombia (preserved 1850’s main street, carriage rides, old-time photos, panning for gold) as well as many award-winning wineries and tasting rooms, three golf courses, or three of the area’s breathtaking caverns (California, Mercer and Moaning) which are open for exploring and tours.

Phone numbers and website links to many of the above attractions are on our website at ArnoldVacation(dot)com - Things To Do In The Area page.

We always enjoy ourselves so much when we’re in this area and know your family will too. Re-connect, have fun, and make yourselves at home!

Keywords: Mountain Home, large wrap-around deck, families, pets, wifi, cabin, trees

More Details

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 21, 2017

About The Owner

Tim, originally from Santa Rosa and making trips to Arnold since he was a boy, purchased the cabin in 1999 and it quickly became the location for family gatherings and lots of fun all year round. Terri joined the family in 2004 and instantly fell in love with the area as well. Unfortunately we now live in southern California and are unable to get to our “home away from home” as often as we’d like… So we’ve opened it up for friends and family to enjoy. And now we invite our “new friends” from VRBO - you are welcome anytime!

The Owner purchased this cabin in 1999

Why The Owner chose Gold Country & High Sierra

Fresh air, tall redwoods, hiking, skiing, rivers and lakes, caverns... and great wine tasting in quaint Gold Rush towns. Need we say more!

What makes this cabin unique

Relaxing outdoors on the large deck with trees all around, or inside on the comfy couches with a big fire. Add some hot chocolate or glass of wine... Heaven!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Had a great time. Thanks! (from our feedback form)
Jun 2011
  • 1 of 1


Arnold Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 976 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Loft - 1 king , 4 twin/ single
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 baby crib , Portable crib in closet
  • King size beds (1) Cal King, Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (4), Baby Cribs (1)
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Stereo
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
Xbox with games


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(73 traveler reviews)

2 bedrooms & large loft -Large living room -Wrap around Deck -Pets Ok -Free WiFi
average rating of 4.657534 based on 74 reviews

Bats! Hope you don't have any issues, the owner will not help.

  • 1 of 5

We arrived at the property the first day, and a bat started flying around the house about 9:00 PM. Right over the area we're our children were sleeping. We contacted the property owner, and they expected us to try and get rid of it ourselves, and stay in the property. Droppings on the fireplace and urine stains in the rafters indicate this has been an ongoing infestation. Their solution, call over a cleaning lady in the morning, and blame us for letting it in. We ended up leaving the property the next morning for the safety of our family, and they refuse to offer any refund - none. Beware of a lack of any responsibility as a property owner if you chose to stay here.

  • Submitted: Jul 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: In 7 years of renting out our home we have only received 4 and 5 star reviews and so this review is VERY upsetting to me and I take it to heart. We received a call from this guest around 10:15 PM the first night and we all agreed because of the late hour, they would stay in the bedrooms and close the doors. The NEXT MORNING we called Pest Control who basically laughed at the idea of "just 1 bat" and said they only come out if there is an infestation of multiple bats. So then we had Ginger, our cleaner, go over with a pole and net to try to get it out. Meanwhile, I called VRBO customer care to see if they could help find the family another place to stay that night. VRBO told me their service fee covers emergencies like this (they were actually very nice) and to have the guest call them with case number 08153115 and they would find alternate accommodations for them until the bat flies out. I understand this family felt traumatized by the bat, especially with little kids, but how they can say we didn't try to do anything baffles me. (Call VRBO directly and reference the case number above and they will confirm this!) Additionally, we offered a 2-night refund and were told via text "Sorry but this is not acceptable". Also I NEVER blamed them for letting the bat in. They said it looked like the bat had been there "for days" and I said I didn't think that was the case since we had people check out that morning after being there several days with no reports of a bat, and then Ginger cleaned that afternoon and there were no droppings on the fireplace... so my guess is that it flew in around dusk, probably as you were bringing your luggage in (at 6 PM) because that is the time of day when they become active. Then I said (and this is verbatim) "Regardless, it doesn't matter when or how the bat got in. The bat got in and we need to get it out." Ahhh, this is so frustrating for me... I'm sorry this family had to go through this experience. But I don't understand why they said we wouldn't help and refused to offer any refund. Regardless, I wish them well and if they're reading this, our offer of a 2-night refund still stands if you want it. By the way, for those who are interested and are still reading, Pest Control said to close all the windows but leave a door open so the bat can feel the breeze and find it's way out. We had Ginger leave our slider open and the bat was gone the next morning.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Just what we needed

  • 5 of 5

Cabin was very nice. location was just what we needed on our short get away. Our fur babies felt at home with us. Will be booking again with family this time.

  • Submitted: May 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great relaxing time with a view!

  • 3 of 5

I loved this cabin, nothing fancy but I wasn't looking for that. The location was great, and the deck was everything I had hoped for! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

We had a great time. However the small beds up stairs need a good cleaning. My kids would not sleep.

  • 4 of 5

There is alot of dust and cob webbs. Beds up stairs in need of cleaning. Bed clothing and under them. Other than that the cabin appeared to be clean at first glance, after awhile you notice the dust and web's. On another note we had a great time. Plenty of room and entertainment. We would definitely come again. Thank you for the hospitality

  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Had a blast. Great place for family and friends to spend a weekend.

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed ourselves. It's a nice, cozy cabin that fit what we needed. We would and hope to be back soon.

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Yes . . . but . . .

  • 4 of 5

Things that needed attention: the kitchen faucet leaked badly - waffle make did not heat up . . . things were generally older and more worn than we expected . . . BUT we had a great time and the weather was wonderful - four inches of snow overnight!

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for letting us know about the things that need attention. We're heading up in a few weeks and will make sure to get it fixed. Glad you had a great time!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Point of Interest
Golf Course - Sequoia Woods Country Club
Nearest Point of Interest
Lake with sandy beach, swimming raft, fishing
Nearest Point of Interest
Recreation Center - pool, tennis, basketball, pingpong, etc.
Nearest Point of Interest
Big Trees Market - large grocery store, deli, organic foods
Nearest Point of Interest
State Park - giant sequoia redwoods (250’ tall, 30’ across)
Nearest Point of Interest
Lake - playground, beach, swimming, BBQ, fishing

Nearby: Fly-In Lake (small lake with sandy beach, swimming, fishing); Community Recreation Center - $8/person or $25/family with owner's pass (pool, tennis, basketball, bocce ball, volleyball, ping pong, outdoor movies); Sequoia Woods 18-hole golf course (open 10 months/year)

Please visit our website for a full list of area attractions, phone numbers and website links.


Rates & Availability

Arnold Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Summer 2017
Jul 6 2017 - Aug 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
Labor Day 2017
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
2 night minimum stay
End Summer 2017
Sep 5 2017 - Oct 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
Fall 2017
Nov 1 2017 - Nov 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
Thanksgiving 2017
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
Nov 27 2017 - Dec 14 2017
2 night minimum stay
Holidays 2017
Dec 15 2017 - Jan 3 2018
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $115

$115/night in the Summer (April 1-Oct 31)
$130/night in the Winter (Nov 1 - March 31)

Holiday Rates:
$130 July 3-5, Memorial/Labor Day weekends (Fri-Mon)
$160 Thanksgiving (Wed-Sun) and Christmas/New Years (Dec 16-Jan 3)

$100 Cleaning Fee
($125 for parties over 8 because we have to launder more bed sheets)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner