Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

August & Sept. Special $90 nite $650 wk. 15 min to Key West!!WiFi gated resort

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 780 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 28 nights

Overview

About the property

24Hr Gated Community With Heated Olympic Pool, Jacuzzi, Tennis Courts

Cudjoe Key,(Mile Marker 23) we're 5 Star Rated, Venture Out Resort, 701 Spanish Main, #624 is located, 20 miles to Key West, a popular tourist spot, Bahia Honda State Park, which is a beautiful beach with Kayaking & snorkeling; Looe Key world famous reef and fishing, plenty of sunshine. Halfway between historic Key West and Marathon. See lots of sites or relax by the pool or lounge around at our fully furnished comfortable home.

Affordable, Colorful, Tropical vacation home with new AC unit. The living room nicely decorated with tropical flare, has a flat screen TV with DVD, Directv W/DVR, two sofas, one is a queen size Futon and comfortable bamboo chair.

Spacious Dining area conveniently located to kitchen has a wood dining table and chairs. Kitchen is spacious with side by side water and ice dispensing refrigerator, lots of cabinets, counter space and a dishwasher to keep the chef happy.

Master bedroom has a queen size bed with TV, Guest bedroom also has a queen size bed with TV/DVD, One bath with tub & shower; Beautiful private area out back for sunning, reading and just enjoying being in Florida! Gas 3 burner infrared gas grill for you use. Private outdoor dining too.

All floors are Pergo or Tile. This property has new Central Air, Brand New 2015 Washer/Dryer and ceiling fans for your additional comfort.

We have several great restaurants, Square Grouper Restaurant is only a mile away and Boondocks Bar & Grill which has music nitely is several miles up U S 1; Many more restaurants....to many to mention. Bike Trails on Hwy. 1,Bahia Honda State Park is a 10 minute ride and offers beautiful sandy beaches, kayaking, snorkeling, snack bar, gift shop and plenty of picnic sites. Key West is only 20 miles south and offers fantastic options for all kinds of activates including, sunset cruises, parasailing, Famous Mallory Sq. Entertainers, lots of live music, and the best night life in the Keys.

Home is in a gated community, 24 hour Security Guard, convenience store, large shared heated pool with ocean view, kiddy pool, hot tub, tennis courts, Recreation Center with pool table, ping pong, library, basketball courts, bocce ball, boat ramp, large power washer for boats and trailer, tiki hut with BBQ, and much more.

More Details

Owner
Genell Sims
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 7, 2017

About Genell Sims

My husband and I fulfilled a life long dream of buying a place in the keys! We've traveled there for vacations with our 4 sons for over 30 yrs and our dream came true in 2011. We've been improving our place a little each year and it's so comfortable and homey. We enjoy scuba diving, snorkeling, people watching, fishing, and just hanging out listening to various bands. We would like to share our home with others and have tried to make it reasonable. I've worked all my life as office manager and retail manager...looking forward to enjoying my golden yrs. my husband worked for CSX Railroad for over 30 yrs so he is enjoying retirement also. Hope you all come visit our home!

Genell Sims purchased this house in 2011

Why Genell Sims chose Cudjoe Key

Relaxing, comfortable, 24 hr. Security Guard Gated Resort and close to a variety of activities. AT & T WiFi in home.

What makes this house unique

Wireless Internet! Heated pool, jacuzzi, tennis courts, swim in ocean, on site marina with convenience store. infrared 3 burner gas grill. lounge chairs. 2 bikes for you use. Central location to fishing, historic Key West site seeing, parks and much more.

Guestbook comments from the owner

By Dale Davis (Holiday florida and Niagara Falls New York)

I had a slight problem booking the place but owner genell was extremely helpful. My son. Just got back from his fifth tour in the desert and wanted to come for a visit. I thought it would be nice to show his new wife the keys. She is from Germany. The place was clean and homey nothing fancy but a great location in a well managed mobile community nice pool close to key west locked community on the water. We had our pets and there were no restrictions and a small fee. We decided to,stay an extra day and genell contacted the real estate agent and everything was taken care of seamlessly. It happened to be the week of the aweful snow storm in buffalo and the kids are from Niagara falls so they were thrilled to be in the warm weather. There were plenty of instructions for us when we got there so we were able to find everything we needed. Thank you again Genell and family for sharing your home with us
Nov 2014
  • 1 of 1

Map

Bahia Honda State Park
"Most beautiful beach in the keys! All natural and pristine!"
The Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum
No Name Pub
"Great restaurant! You will see endangered Key Deer on your way, they are so cute!"
Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Key west, EYW
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Square Grouper 1 mile wharf bar & grill 2 miles
Nearest Train
20 Miles
Conch Train Historic Key West
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
US 1
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Square Grouper
Nearest Beach
10 Miles
Bahia Honda State park Beach
Car: recommended

Halfway between Marathon and Key West. Location is mile marker 23.

Amenities

Cudjoe Key House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 780 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Resort ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Shower/bath, toilet, sink with cabinet
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Flat screen TV
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , TV/DVD
    Futon/living rm - 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • 1 bicycles
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • library
  • marina
  • recreation center
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

69% Complete
15% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
August & Sept. Special $90 nite $650 wk. 15 min to Key West!!WiFi gated resort
average rating of 4.3846154 based on 14 reviews
5

Great location, very cute clean house, the resort has good amenities.

  • 5 of 5

The House was very clean and it had everything we needed. A/C worked well which was important in mid-July. The resort is great the kids loved the pool, the store on-site had all the basics and was convenient. The location in Cudjoe Key was perfect for us, about 30 minutes to Key West or up to Marathon. This worked out great as we visited each of them a few times during our stay. Overall we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay at this price for a week of vacation, thanks!

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! Really appreciate your review, we really try very hard to make our home comfortable and strive to upgrade contents regularly. I really love the marina store for little things needed. So happy you had a great vacation! Thanks again, God Bless!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful place¡

  • 5 of 5

had never been to Keys so didn't know what to expect, The rental process was very easy, Dolberry Realty was a pleasure to deal with. From the time we entered Venture Out we felt welcome. Arriving at the home was a pleasant surprise. The inside is very roomy and was very comfortable for our party of two adults and two boys. It is very clean and well equipped to cook which was cheaper then eating out every night, the beds was very comfortable and house was cool from time we arrived until we left, new washer and dryer was great addition, bath house is next door which was very, very nice!The outdoor area has a grill, patio table and chairs. In back are two lounge chairs. My wife enjoyed this area for peaceful reading. The place is well kept. The pool and rec center are open until 11. There is a nice area along the sea wall with chairs where we sat and watched the boats. This is a very family friendly place. It would be a great place for several families to meet and vacation together.

We liked Paradise pizza delivery, If you go to Key West, Fogarty's on Duval is great! Most of the time we stayed in and cooked our own meals.

The resort is close to Bahia Honda, For a nice relaxing beach day with the family, Bahia Honda is the best. We went to Key West to a beach, Samathers Beach which was fun.

If scuba diving go to Looe Key, or fishing is on the agenda, research before booking,

Overall, this is a great place for a family or a couple. There is something for everyone. A short drive will satisfy the sun lovers, the fishermen, the divers, the shoppers and the partiers.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for great review, our visitors comfort is very important to us. Thanks for mentioning Bahia Honda Beach this is our favorite! Smathers beach is great for people watching too. Glad your visit was success and hope you visit again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Clean ,cute and comfy . Perfect for 2-4 people willing to share a small bathroom.

  • 4 of 5

Colorful, Keysie décor and art throughout the home were cheerful and welcoming.

Spacious 2 door refrigerator and full size stackable washer and dryer were much appreciated.

The beds were very comfortable and enjoyed having ceiling fans to keep cool. The only negative about the location of this particular unit was the noisy road behind it . Cars, motorcycles and trucks speed by making it difficult to fall asleep. Liked having the use of the bikes even though we had to put air in the tires . We love coming to Venture Out for mini season . Close to Key West, Looe Key Reef and a great number of amazing local restaurants.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review, happy you enjoyed our home! we try hard to make our home comfortable for everyone, the street periodically get noisy, we occasionally use the portable fans to mask it. The bikes we have serviced when we are there but it's hard to keep up from long distance, glad you were able to use them! I will have property manager check them. Thank you again and God Bless!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Good value

  • 3 of 5

We didn't have high expectations going into the stay, as the saying goes, you get what you pay for. Overall, it met expectations based on price. The good...the bath house literally right next door was a lifesaver. We didn't use the bathroom in unit, it was so super tiny. The kitchen was fine as far as having cooking supplies, eating utensils (they were worn out as previous reviewer noted) but worked. New coffee pot and microwave. The washer and dryer were great, a must have. The tvs worked well, good channels, newer models. The bikes were a nice surprise...we didn't know about them & when we arrived they were locked w/ a chain...it took a day but then we noticed the bike key hanging and although the tires were flat, Venture Out had a place my husband was able to air them up. The bikes are out in the elements at all times and a bit rusty but they did the trick to get our teens to the pool because they can't drive yet and it is too far to walk.The bad...unit got extremely hot in late afternoons and didn't cool until night time...they do have several plug-in floor fans which are a help and if you're busy and just sleeping there, it is fine. The bed in master was horrific, it sags and you end up in the middle so 2 people on it just won't work. Luckily we were a party of 4 & my husband used the futon. The staff at Venture Out were very nice and the grounds are well kept and patrolled. It was conveniently located close to Marathon & Key West without being right "there" with tourists. Overall, this listing and it's pics represent what you get. Would we go back? Maybe!??

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for review, we strive to update items in home, new washer dryer couple years old, new TV''s, the firm mattress in master was purchased last year at Sears so shouldn't sag, the bikes are old but have them serviced at Big Pine bike shop every year when we're there upgrading, maintenance and repairs. The new AC unit was installed with additional ductwork last winter while we were there and had serviced last month. Paula Dean pots and pans are fairly new but with use I'm sure shows some wear. We take our guests comfort seriously and resolve any issues immediately. Our resort staff is great and are dedicated to keeping resort safe and secure. Thank you, wish you and family the best, God bless!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Grand Island, FL
1

You get what you pay for!

  • 1 of 5

This was not our first choice, we rented 8 months out and the rental was sold so we had to rent on the fly. We had several families with us and attending a wedding. The trailer was extremely hot during the day, AC would not keeping up with the demand of the Florida heat. The trailer itself is dated and has a smell. The mattress' are old/brown. The kitchen cabinets have a horrible smell and we had to wash all the dishes before using due to a sticky feel, some flatware was rusted.

We stay in the Keys several times a year and have stayed in Venture Out on couple of occasions. We love the area and the atmosphere but had the worst experience this year due to the rental. The owners resolution was " if they don't like it they can vacate the rental." Money was not an issue but time was due to being last minute. Sweating while getting ready for a formal event was insane. NEVER would I recommend this property !

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay, to address your issues, this past winter we installed a new larger AC unit and ran additional duct work, we've had multiple visitors before and after your visit with no complaints but will have hvac service inspect unit. We also purchased a new mattress in one bedroom this past winter and the other mattress is couple years old but will have management inspect and make recommendation. The kitchen is fully equipped and have never received complaints but will have manager inspect utensils and dishes. We try very hard to make our home comfortable, yes it is not new but we continually make improvements. Our guests comfort is important to us which I feel our reviews reflect that, we will meet with cleaning and management to correct.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice community, close to key west

  • 4 of 5

Great time, everyone was friendly, plenty of space, lots of activities

  • Submitted: May 31, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy you enjoyed your stay! Appreciate the review and hope you consider our home if you return to the keys. Thank you,!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Security Dep. Protection $45 + Tax
Process $40 + Tax
Pet Fee $100 + Tax
Cleaning Fee $115 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.5%

Christmas, New Years, Lobster Week and Mini Lobster Week are slightly higher and may require a 7 night minimum stay.
Venture Out Resort Fee of $53.75 payable upon check-in (cash or check only). This is for 24 hr security gate personnel, Olympic swim pool, jacuzzi, tennis courts, bocce ball, basketball, recreation center, billiards, ping pong, library, on site store, etc.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties