Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Secluded, Charming Home on Hurricane Mt in Keene. Pets Welcome!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

This cute home is located in the heart of the Adirondacks, about 20 minutes from Lake Placid. A great place to getaway if you want some peace and quiet - no neighbors to be seen, just the mountains across the road. Located on 2.4 acres, there is plenty of room to wander and explore. Situated on Hurricane Mt, it's a great place to relax after a day of hiking, skiing, shopping or doing nothing on the large deck overlooking the view!


Property Manager
Forrest Crooks
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 14, 2017

Amenities

Keene House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • The downstairs bathroom, located next to the bedrooms, has a tub with shower and toilet. The upstairs bathroom has a shower and toilet.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
  • There are a total of three bedrooms. Two bedrooms have queen beds and the third bedroom has two twin beds. Each bedroom has a dresser and a closet.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Wood Deck
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
There is a large deck on the front of the house and a small porch on the back with a grill, recycling bins and chairs. There is a full laundry room - washer and dryer with iron and ironing board as well.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

91% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
Secluded, Charming Home on Hurricane Mt in Keene. Pets Welcome!
average rating of 4.7826085 based on 23 reviews
new york, NY
5

All around excellent!

  • 5 of 5

We LOVED our stay in Keene! The house is an excellent place to stay - it is clean, spacious, and has everything you would need to be comfortable - clean linens, nice towels, nice kitchen, etc. The deck is an awesome place to hang out in evening as the sun sets or to wake up with a nice cup of coffee. There are windows in every room that have great views of the secluded area. Forrest was always available for questions and was more than accommodating. We also enjoyed the hammock and fire pit located on the property. Just a short drive to Lake Placid, Elizabethtown and Wilmington. We will definitely stay here again if we are in the area!

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location with easy access to the high peaks!

  • 5 of 5

We found this home to be perfect for our needs. It is on a quiet road but is close to food, coffee, and of course, great hiking! We loved being able to travel with our dog as well! Forrest was a great host and responded to all of our questions prior to our arrival.

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pennsylvania
5

Third time's a charm!

  • 5 of 5

This is the third time our family has stayed at Forrest's place on Hurricane Mtn. We love the location right between Keene and Keene Valley. Awesome hiking trails right within 10 minutes. The house is secluded, super clean and has a well equipped kitchen. Beds are very comfortable. We love the open floor plan of the upper level! Thanks for another great week Forrest.

  • Submitted: May 29, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
State College, Pennsylvania
5

High Peaks, High Five

  • 5 of 5

Forrest deserves a lot of credit for creating an inviting atmosphere at this well-stocked cabin with comfortable furniture, books, and games. Every step of the way, she had helpful answers to questions before and during our two-week stay.

We really enjoyed our daily hikes on nearby mountains. Meals at the ADK Café and Baxter Tavern & Grille were wonderful as were area stores. We also liked to relax at home, read books and enjoy one another's company.

We had every type of weather imaginable: blue sky with crisp air highlighting fall foliage at its peak, rain, and a light dusting of snow. We look forward to returning next year and doing it all over again. Everything was perfect! Thank you Forrest!

  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

What a lovely place!

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect for us. Comfortable, clean, well-equipped, on a beautiful treed lot. Very bright, big windows, wonderful view. The road is really quiet, and there are a lot of trails within a very short driving distance. Ideal location for serious (my partner) and not so serious (me) hikers.

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New Carlisle, OH
1

Nice but has a rodent problem

  • 1 of 5

When I first arrived I found the rental home a very pleasant and beautiful location. It wasn't until later that we discovered a rodent problem which got worse as our one week stay progressed. First we found rodent droppings in the kitchen drawers which we cleaned up. Then some food was partially eaten. So we moved our food off the floor. The last day we found 3 mice in the trash can inside the cabinet. After that we put all our food in our cars and put all the trash in the trash can outside. This only caused the mice to move to the living room in search of food. When we complained to the owner she only said she never had this problem before and after we left she blamed the problem on us being messy! I will never stay here again!

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Laurel, After reading this review I now understand how mice may have been inclined to come in. I never thought to ask you if you were keeping food on the floor; that is something I definitely would have advised against in any situation as the house is on the base of a mountain in the middle of the woods. You stated that I said that I have never had this problem before and that is incorrect. The book in the house that welcomes renters and gives ideas/hints about the house and area states: "You will want to put all of your food in the fridge or cupboards as you are in the woods and mice will be in to share your food if it is lying around!" Those directions are left out for all to see upon entering the house. You even emailed me a question about something on that page on your first night there. I did contact two groups of renters who had stayed before you and neither had any problems with mice. The woman who cleans said that both parties left the house in very good condition. When the cleaning woman went up to clean after your group it was a very different story. She sent me pictures of garbage bags hanging from my cupboards, food and dirty dishes in the sink and remains of food on the counter. All of this would bring in mice. This is why I suggested that the mice were attracted by the food left out and would not be refunding you money like you asked. And my biggest question was why I was never contacted about this problem until your last night there? I would have immediately called in an exterminator to come and find out what was going on. You had emailed me that you didn't see any mice the first few days but as time went on, it became a problem, which also indicated to me that it was an issue with all the food/garbage around the house. Because I was concerned about having a potential rodent issue, I called an exterminator who came in two days after you all left. He did not find an issue. He stated that yes, he did catch three mice but did not see any evidence that this was a problem that had been ongoing. He also suggested that this was probably due to garbage being left out. I am sorry that you had this issue, as it is certainly not a pleasant issue, but I do wish that I had been contacted immediately so I could have sent someone to the house to take care of it as soon as it started.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Located in the heart of the ADK's, there is plenty of outside activities to do. Numerous hikes just miles from the house, Lake Placid is 20 min away with lots of shops and sightseeing as well. The AuSable River is about 5 min away with lots of fishing and swimming.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Damage Insurance $59

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties