Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Lake Michigan Ground Level Homestead Beachfront! Kid Friendly

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

I am very responsive by email.

When using the rate system if you want a summer week make sure you use SATURDAY to SATURDAY dates. We only rent by the week starting in early June and ending late August. Starting the 19th of August we rent by the day.

This year we upgraded the dining furniture, easy chair and the washer to an LG front loader and accompanying dryer. Two Smart TV's will allow streaming movies on the big screen with your own Netflix account. We've upgraded to a bottom freezer fridge, flat cooktop/oven, ultra quiet dishwasher and 3 flatscreen TV'S!

The beach home you've dreamed about is right here.  Come enjoy the 'most beautiful place in America'!  Walk 150 STEPS right onto the sugar sand, private beach from the back porch of this 1100 sq. ft. condo.  It is tastefully decorated with 2 comfortable sized bedrooms and 2 baths situated right on SLEEPING BEAR BAY AT THE HOMESTEAD RESORT in Glen Arbor.

Being on the GROUND LEVEL offers a lot more comfort and ease.  Watch your young children play right outside the back porch.  Come and go to the beach much more easily from the back porch.  The beach will be much more inviting if getting there isn't such a chore.  

The beach area at SOUTH BEACH is premium.  Unlike some other areas, it is wide and the sand is smooth.  It is private so you will feel you have the place to yourself!

Take in THE VIEW through 25 ft wall of windows in the common area overlooking Sleeping Bear Bay and South Manitou Island. This is one of the best views because there are few trees to block it.  Or enjoy the Lake Michigan breezes on the porch while you watch the amazing sunsets.  Make a cozy fire in the fireplace and roast marshmallows. Or visit Leelanau Observatory, a 5 min walk up the beach, to gaze at the stars.

The enclosed master bedroom boasts a KING SIZED BED and an en-suite OVERSIZED MASTER BATHROOM with jacuzzi/shower tub.  You won't be tripping over each other.  In addition, there is a large dresser and two mirrored closets.  A bay window of 3 separate windows gives lots of light.  

The other bedroom has TWO TWIN BEDS, a mirrored closet, a dresser, a desk and a large window.  All rooms contain a high powered ceiling fan, a Tv with cable and wi-fi.  Strong breezes off the lake keep you cool on warmer days.  The 2ND SEPARATE 3/4 BATHROOM contains a sink, toilet and shower.

If you're cooking don't worry. You wont be left out.  The kitchen is 'COOK AND LOOK'', which means you will be able to enjoy the fantastic view too.  This is one of our favorite aspects of the condo.  The full kitchen is stocked with any basic utensil or appliance you need, including an stainless steel upgraded fridge with bottom freezer, ultra quiet stainless dishwasher, ice maker, blender and baking pans.  A grocery store, Anderson's, in town is minutes away.  If you're not into cooking there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance or a short car ride to the quaint town of Glen Arbor.  Our favorite restaurant is La Becasse in Burdickville.  French food to die for!

Just to be clear, there is no grill at the condo itself. In addition, there are no pool privileges. They cannot be purchased either. You have access to all Homestead amenities except the pool, the restaurant at the main pool and the tennis courts. There are free tennis courts in town. There is a great new YMCA with a pool in Traverse City.

The main living room has a QUEEN PULL-OUT COUCH, a love seat and a cozy chair that you will find difficult to leave.  For your entertainment there is a cabled tv, stereo, cd player, wi-fi, wood burning fireplace and a 2 MIRRORED WALLS that will reflect the light and great view.

The town of GLEN ARBOR is the Mayberry of Michigan.  Lots of shop owners are willing to get to know you.  There are restaurants to suit any taste and budget.  The kids can play in the park and mom can shop to her heart's content.  Dad can hang out at Art's Tavern to watch the game.  When you're all done stop at The Cherry Republic for a BoomChukkaLukka and post your pic on their wall!

After you've feasted enjoy the many trails on the SLEEPING BEAR NATIONAL LAKESHORE.  Pierce Stocking Drive will take your breath away. Hike, kayak, canoe, tube or bike.  Kayak/canoe/bike rentals right in town. Tennis courts, too! Or visit some of the neighboring towns like Empire, Cedar or Leeland. You will not run out of things to do!  

Why this condo?  Well the view is unmatched, it's spacious, well appointed, ground level, professionally cleaned and worth the trip.  I look forward to responsible renters that will also appreciate what this condo and the area has to offer.  

No Homestead beach club pool privileges or grill. You must be at least 21 years old to rent. Send me your drivers license pic when you inquire for fastest response.

Frequently Asked Questions:

Can I bring my dog? Sorry, we cannot accommodate any pets.

Are there Homestead pool privileges? No. They cannot be purchased either.

Is there access to other Homestead amenities? You can access all amenities and restaurants except the one at the beach pool and the tennis courts.

Is there a grill at the condo? No. You may bring a gas grill only.

Golf courses and tennis courts? There are a few golf courses in the area. Free tennis courts are in the town of Glen Arbor.

Can I host my wedding at the beach of your condo? Sorry, we cannot accommodate weddings or parties of any kind.

Keywords: Glen arbor lake Michigan beachfront ground level walk out kid friendly condo full kitchen king bed homestead 2 bath 2 bed dining room great view porch laundry sleeping bear bay accessible swets Christian kids

More Details

Owner
Allison Swets
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
August 18, 2017

About Allison Swets

We are a Christian, Michigan family who has fallen in love with Leelanau County and Lake Michigan. We have been traveling to the area for 17 years and finally decided it was time to put down stakes.  We have 3 children, 2 of which have special needs and we welcome inquiries about how we can accommodate your loved one with special needs.

Allison Swets purchased this condo in 2011

Why Allison Swets chose Sleeping Bear Dunes

We decided to buy this condo in this area because we just love it here.  The Homestead is a great established resort with the best campus feel.  You almost feel you are at camp.  Glen Arbor is the friendliest little town where you can walk to and the local artists are happy to tell you about their creations.  One week in the town and you'll know why this place is special.  In addition, we have always found Leelanau County to be the most beautiful place ever and not just because it was voted so by Good Morning America, although we're not complaining.  The views from the condo, the beach, Pierce Stocking Drive will Intoxicate you with its beauty.  You will leave feeling refreshed and wanting to come back year after year.  We did!

What makes this condo unique

While staying at our property you'll enjoy a spacious, well appointed home away from home.  Although we are just a phone call away we also have a team of people ready to help should you get locked out or experience any emergency related to your stay.  But the best benefit is having a beautiful place to relax, unwind and get away from day to day worries and let the beauty of Lake Michigan and its sweet water and waves refresh your soul and ready you for your real world responsibilities.  

Guestbook comments from the owner

We stayed at the condo with our children and grandchildren and had the most wonderful time. The condo was clean and roomy enough for all of us. We never felt like we were crowded. Having two bathrooms, two bedrooms a full living room, kitchen and dining area makes it plenty roomy. Even though it was winter the views were magnificent and walking on the beach was very enjoyable. Definitely will be coming back!
Dec 2011
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Glen Arbor Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront
  • Monument View ...
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1) Pull-out in living room, Twin or Single Beds (1) Two twins in second bedroom., Baby Cribs (1) Port-a-crib
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility ...
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Oversized master bath, ground level, view of South Manitou Island, beach chairs/umbrella, full size laundry, tv/cable in every room, port-a-crib, NO GRILL.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(30 traveler reviews)

86% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Lake Michigan Ground Level Homestead Beachfront! Kid Friendly
average rating of 4.766667 based on 31 reviews
5

Beautiful.

  • 5 of 5

We loved the condo and found it met our heartfelt expectations....

  • Submitted: May 18, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Matt, for your simple yet inspiring review. I am glad we could accommodate you at the last minute for a quick getaway. It's the perfect place to leave your everyday life behind and let the awesome view of the lake refresh your soul. We hope to have you back real soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very Good Experience

  • 4 of 5

Had a very nice time. Everything was as we expected. The unit was very clean and orderly when we arrived. The only little glitch was the lock box in the front never opened.Had to go in the back to get the key. Had beautiful weather.

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, Joe! I'm glad you had a nice time and that we could accommodate you. We will be changing the lock box to make it easier to enter the condo. Hope you'll stay with us again sometime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Condo on Lake Michigan at Sleeping Bear Dunes

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our 4 night stay in Allison's clean and spacious condo right on the beach in Glen Arbor, Michigan. It was warm and cozy and had everything we needed. The bed was comfy, the shower in the master was wonderful and the area of the condo was very quiet at this time of the year. We happened to hit at peak Fall colors and the cute small towns around were in the midst of Fall Festivals, so they were teeming with people and activity. If you are planning on a dinner reservation, call a couple of days ahead. We had a hard time getting in on the weekend. We came home with some great art and we really talked to lots of friendly people in the shops all around the area.

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Caledonia, MI
5

Another Stay, Another Home Run!

  • 5 of 5

We've been staying at this beautiful condo now for several years, and we love it so much we keep coming back! Every year it keeps getting better and better. With updated furniture, including a super cozy king size bed, our stay was exactly what we needed - relaxing and refreshing. The condo is big enough to comfortably accommodate our family of six, but also cozy enough for us to have had a great tenth anniversary getaway. We count down the days until the next adventure up north, and we look forward to staying at SouthBeach 55 once again. Highly recommended!

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Mike, Thank you for your thoughtful review. It is always a pleasure to hear that my guests enjoy our place and the beautiful creation of Lake Michigan. I am glad you like the updates of the furniture and found the accommodations satisfactory. We strive to make each experience smooth so the our place becomes a haven from our regular lives. We hope you will continue to think of us for your vacation plans.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
1

Beach Rental at The Homestead in Glen Arbor

  • 1 of 5

This condo was the dirtiest rental that I've ever come across in the 16 years renting vacations homes at The Homestead. It was very disappointing to see the lack of attention to detail. The condo was not clean. Hairs were found in both bathrooms. Dead bugs and dirt on the floors, with spider webs in the corners. Beds were not comfortable and bedding was poor quality. Owner promised to give a partial refund due to the condition of the condo, but she never sent the refund check that she promised. Then she never responded to the emails that I sent to her when following up. Do Not Rent This Condo.

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Lisa, In the 5 years of happy renters you are by far the most difficult case I've had. Upon your first call of dissatisfaction I had my cleaning lady in within 20 minutes to clean again. Upon offering you a FULL REFUND to leave the property you decided to stay. Upon offering you half day's refund to resolve the issue you agreed. In good faith I REFUNDED DOUBLE the agreed amount. Incredulously, you kept the refund and still left a poor review. I responded immediately to every email, phone call and dissatisfaction you had. I tried to resolve this issue several times in several ways. My only conclusion is that nothing would have satisfied your disgruntlement. I am sorry we could not come to a mutually satisfactory agreement. My future renters should know that all issues will be resolved to their satisfaction within reason.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 2
4

Comfy, just what we needed

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I and our 2.5 year old daughter stayed here for 3 nights, and it was very comfortable and quiet. It is very spacious - the hallway in is nice and wide and the bedrooms are huge. Beds were very comfy and ceiling fans were quiet. I LOVED the full wall of windows and doorwalls overlooking Lake Michigan - gorgeous views and breeze. You have a fabulous view from the living room, kitchen and dining room. The deck is protected from the wind as it is nestled under a porch, which is nice, and there is the lower decking for sunbathing in the sun. There were several beach chairs provided in the laundry room. The kitchen is small, hard to fit more than 1 person in there at a time, except to open the fridge, but I had lots of prep space and it came with tons of utensils, pots/pans, small appliances - I was impressed. Much more than the ususl rental property. Dishwasher very quiet - bonus. I wish it had a grill, but we brought our grill pan so no biggie.

I particularly appreciated little touches - well stocked laundry room, soap, paper towel, TP, even cleaning supplies. There was a pack n play and even a kiddie toilet seat cover my daughter loved, we didn't have to use ours. The jetted master bath tub was awesome, daughter loved that for bathtime. Water pressure was excellent. There were tons of bath towels, clean, huge and very soft. The bathrooms are huge - you could fit a pack n play in the master bath with room to spare and fit multiple people getting ready at the same time. Pnp would also fit in the master bedroom easily if you are traveling with a baby and have either older kids or guests in the second bedroom.

Couches very comfy and TV worked great. Loved the huge coffee table to play games, perfect toddler height. Only thing I would change inside is update the paint/wallpaper, it is a bit dated but the furniture is nice and comfy and easy to clean - kid friendly. Couches very comfy, hubby fell asleep more than once on one. You can tell it is cared for and the owner wants people to have a great time. Property owner was great to work with also, all instructions were correct and we would recommend it and definitely come back.

ps. The community is nice to walk through, there is a trail down further by the river with a few bridges and we walked multiple times along the beach. Shoreline is rocky so recommend water shoes, at least at low tide.

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Karen, for your kind and thoughtful response. I am very glad you had a nice time and that the accommodations suited your needs. We do try to think of all the things a family with children might need when vacationing at the beach. While we probably don't think of everything we do like to include things like beach chairs, baskets for picnics, life jackets and lanyards to keep keys safe. We hope you will come back and enjoy our place. We agree about the wallpaper and do hope to update it soon but in the meantime, I'm sure you'll agree, that the lake view is the best wallpaper ever!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Traverse City
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Homestead Resort
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Nona's
Nearest Ski
1 Miles
Homestead Resort
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Lake Michigan

Travel to South or North Manitou Islands, wide sugar sand beach, easy trip to Traverse City where there is an airport.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Glen Arbor Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer post 4th
Jul 8 2017 - Aug 18 2017
7 night minimum stay
$3,200
 
 
End of summer
Aug 19 2017 - Aug 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$470
 
 
Labor Day
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$566
 
 
Memorial Day 2018
May 25 2018 - May 27 2018
3 night minimum stay
$500
$1,500
 
 
Summer pre 4th 2018
Jun 2 2018 - Jun 29 2018
7 night minimum stay
$3,300
 
 
July 4th Week 2018
Jun 30 2018 - Jul 6 2018
6 night minimum stay
$3,750
 
 
Summer post 4th 2018
Jul 7 2018 - Aug 17 2018
7 night minimum stay
$3,300
 
 
Daily Aug 2018
Aug 18 2018 - Aug 30 2018
3 night minimum stay
$480
 
 
Labor Day 2018
Aug 31 2018 - Sep 2 2018
3 night minimum stay
$583
$1,750
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$260
 

Additional information about rental rates

50% due to hold and 50%, 30 days before arrival only possible if you are renting a full summer week. Otherwise the full payment is due to hold dates. Higher rates will apply for holiday and spring break days.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable