Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Luxury Lakefront Log Home on the Waupaca Chain O' Lakes

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8 plus futon)

Custom Built luxury lakefront log home located on the shores of Limekiln lake offers a private dock and full access to the 22 crystal clear spring fed Chain O' Lakes. Indoor and outdoor wood burning fireplaces. Enjoy endless year round recreation for the entire family. Hop in your boat, canoe or watercraft to dinner, entertainment, mini golfing or a secret fishing hole.

Keywords: Waterfront, Log home

Mary Burke
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 22, 2018

About Mary Burke

Currently building green homes with smart technology

Mary Burke purchased this house in 2011

Why Mary Burke chose Waupaca

Conveniently located close to Chicago, Milwaukee, and twin cities. Family has spent 10+ years vacationing on the chain

What makes this house unique

Access to all of the 22 lakes, luxury home with all the modern amenities with keeping the north woods experience


Waupaca House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 26
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen , Main Floor
    Loft - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Top floor
    Guest Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Main floor
    Guest Room 2 - 2 bunk bed , Twin / twin - main floor
  • Queen size Beds (1), Bunk Beds (1)
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Outdoor fireplace, Fire pit with seating for 8


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

62% Complete
25% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Luxury Lakefront Log Home on the Waupaca Chain O' Lakes
average rating of 4.5 based on 8 reviews

Beautiful Home away from home.

  • 4 of 5

House is beautiful, perfect for two families of 4. Just wish lake attached was "swimmable". Also would suggest dresser drawers to put your clothes in, in each bedroom. Also need 2-4 towel racks-on the walls, not over door, for each bathroom, and a garbage can in guest bathroom. The bed mattresses need to be replaced in all rooms. Just a few things to make it perfect !! If I could move this house to Dake, Miner, or Beasley, it would be perfection....The upstairs loft has so much potential, two bedrooms, and a bathroom.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 3 of 5

We rent "luxury" lake homes throughout Wisconsin once or twice a summer and have reasonable expectations. On paper this is one of the best rentals on the Chain O' Lakes. Unfortunately, several issues arose that made this five star property feel less than that.

The biggest issue for us was the water depth and lake bottom. Swimming is out of the question. The bottom is covered in a smelly muck. My daughter had to be pulled out when she became stuck. There was only a foot to a foot and and a half of water at the end of the dock. We brought our boat and were unable to dock it, having to use the public launch eveytime we wanted to go boating. A pontoon can get in there but not much else. We did kayak and paddle board with success as long as we didn't get stuck in the muck.

The maintenance and cleanliness of the house was also not what it should have been at this price point. The property looked great as we drove up to the house but upon reaching the front door we noticed weeds/saplings growing out of all of the rain gutters. Upon entering, the place looked great but once settled we found many issues. There was a lot of black mold on the ceiling and floor of the master shower, burnt out/missing light bulbs, missing/broken light fixtures, worn/damaged living room furniture, a loose pantry door, uncovered receptacles, a broken master bathroom rain shower head, and sagging in the guest shower floor. The kitchen was understocked for a family who likes to cook. The bunk room also can only be used for pre-teens and under because the mattresses aren't near quality (I found that out the hard way). Now a few of these things would be reasonable to accept but all together it disappointed. I let the property manager know our feelings and gave her the list so hopefully this is resolved going forward. She offered to come to the house but we were leaving early because of bad weather. She told me she would speak to the owner.

If the owner/property manager address the housekeeping and maintenance issues I whole heartedly recommend this rental to anyone who can work with the swimming and docking situations. The house is beautiful and the Sonos system is a real plus.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great house with all the bells . Great location on the chain. Quiet.

  • 5 of 5

Great house, plenty of room for large family, has all the amenities ,quiet,on a. No wake lake. Water too shallow for swimming but nice dock for boat.

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chicago, IL

Gorgeous Home

  • 5 of 5

We spent a 3 day weekend with friends to attend a wedding in the area. The home is gorgeous. It was very clean and spacious. The large loft area was great for inflatable beds for additional guests.

The owner was very nice and met us at the house to show us around. He also owns the log cabin next door, which would make the property ideal for large multi-family reunions.

  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2015
  • Stayed: June 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
Missoula, MT

Beautiful house, beds not so great

  • 4 of 5

We had 8 adults for a week and enjoyed our stay. Our adult children really enjoyed the outstanding Wi-Fi system which even played on the wonderful covered front deck . We rented the pontoon boat, a must. Our biggest complaint would be the beds, they were not comfortable, especially the bunks and the loft futon is almost unusable for an adult, we bought a inflatable after a few days but there are no curtains in the loft so sleeping was iffy, would be ok for kids who sleep soundly. The kitchen was not well stocked for cooking, this is definitely a "man's" world. The location was great and the owner very friendly. The beach was muddy so you really need the boat. We would stay there again but bring a lot more of our own items.

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2014
  • Stayed: July 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the feedback, we always look for ways to improve. As far as the bunk beds we will look at ways to make them more comfortable but have never had any complaints. Based on your feedback we have just added new pots and pans and silverware, due to the mysterious disappearance before your stay ( I am glad they where able provide you a back up). These homes are very new only three years old and since no boats had gone through the shoreline is still soft and continues to improve. As with most of the chain property and the beautiful waters we also highly recommend pontoon boat. We look forward to seeing you in the future and thanks for the feedback.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Beautiful Home

  • 5 of 5

This home was absolutely beautiful. We had a very nice vacation. The owner stopped by to introduce himself and make sure all was good. They were kind enough to rent us their pontoon boat which was so much nicer than renting from one of the rental places. Thank you for a memorable and enjoyable family vacation.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2012
  • Stayed: July 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0





Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100

3% Fee if using credit card, checks or cash preferred

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties