Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beach Bungalow on Playa Tambor

Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Bungalow, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 1.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 6)

This affordable rustic beach bungalow is octagon shaped with a tropical hardwood deck that overlooks a coconut tree lined yard and bay. Tie a hammock between two trees and spend the afternoon reading a book in the shade. Our bungalow is perfect for those who wish to escape TV, traffic and polluted air. We do have air conditioning. 6 people maximum. Main floor is an open floor plan with 1 queen bed. Private bathroom on the main floor. Small kitchen with appliances. Ladder up to loft. 2 queen beds in loft. Having a car is recommended. Activities such as surfing, hiking, zip lines, river rafting and fishing nearby. 1 week maximum stay.

NOTE: Our neighbor is a dog lover and has rescue dogs from the area.

We do not provide a washer and dryer for guest use. Guests can have clothes washed in town.

Keywords: Beach front, cabin, bungalow, house, casita, water front, Playa Tambor, Pochote, Tambor, Costa Rica, house on the beach, beach house, Cental America, safe, casa, Puntarenas, affordable house rental

More Details

Member since: 2005
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
March 13, 2018


Paquera Bungalow Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • bungalow
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Air Conditioning
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1)
  • Deck / Patio
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • rafting
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

72% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
9% Complete
Beach Bungalow on Playa Tambor
average rating of 4.2727275 based on 11 reviews

Beautiful off the beaten path beach house!!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I loved this little house. We wanted a place on the beach away from tourist areas and this house was perfect!! We started and ended our day in the hammocks. We spent almost every day reading on the beach and swimming in the bay.

I think some beach chairs would have been great but we "toughed" it out with some beach towels.

The AC cools the house in the evenings. The dark wood and curtains make it feel cave-like which was great for sleeping.

We will be back!

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Silent nights sleep

  • 5 of 5

Very secluded. The outside shower was great. Took a dip in the ocean every morning then showered out side with soap, shampoo and conditioner in the nice warm air. Totally relaxing. The memory foam mattress was sure nice too. I have seen all the advertisements but never slept on one.

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Nice house but terrible location

  • 1 of 5

BARKING DOGS - the next door neighbor has 9 dogs. They bark 24/7. If you like to be woken up 5 or 6 times a night, this is your place! The 1st night the neighbor came over to say hello and we instantly had 9 dogs on our porch. Later that night one jumped the fence and knocked some dishes off the outside table, scared us to death. The house is really fun, but being totally un-insulated, made the dogs sound like they were barking in the same room. We left 2 days early, just so we could get a full night sleep. Renter beware!

  • Submitted: May 19, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Just so reader know, we built a fence around the property and also another gate to get up to the deck so if the both of the gates are closed, dogs will stay out. The location of the house is near a rural community but we are located on the beach.
Did you find this review helpful?
8 1
Exshaw Alberta

Nice basic beach house

  • 5 of 5

The property care takers were really friendly and helpful. The house is well equipped and was clean. The beach is really nice and great for swimming, it is very calm waters in Pochote. You have neighbors on either side, but they are friendly. The house does have a few bugs and lizards inside ( pretty normal for the area ) and the AC is not very effective with the house not being insulated. For the price this place was a great value and we will stay there again!

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Beautiful view, but serious plumbing problems

  • 2 of 5

So let me start with this- the view is absolutely incredible. It was completely breath-taking.... And the hammocks out front really make things that much better! The locals were friendly and even the man next door- while a bit obnoxious- was friendly!

Now, the house itself is made out of wood and beautiful as well. Unfortunately when we showed up, the 2nd floor bathroom flooded and it SOAKED the 1st floor. The person that let us in obviously didn't know and he didn't speak English anyway.

Also, the air conditioning leaks A LOT of water. Luckily we only used it at night so it wasn't a huge inconvenience.

On a plus- there is WIFI!

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: All of those issues have been dealt with. Also, so the public knows, we have an English speaking property manager there who deals with our customers and she lives nearby. The person who does our lawn and maintenance does not. Our property manager usually is there to welcome people but she must have had him there on the day you arrived. I am sorry that happened while you were there.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Experience Island Life

  • 5 of 5

We experienced an amazing week at this remote location. We were able to relax, be away from all of the touristy areas but still close enough that we traveled to them for day visits and had all the privacy and fresh food we wanted. Neisy and Regino were awesome on directing and helping us if we had any issues or questions. Regino brought us fresh fish, lobster, mangos and other things and really helped us live out the experience. We made friends with the neighbor, and he allowed us to use his kayak to go out in the ocean and explore the empty mountain/beach right around the point. We snorkeled out there and absolutely loved it. We will definitely be back in the future!

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0


Nearest Airport
4 Miles
Nearest Ferry
15 Miles
Nearest Beach
Right in front of the house
Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $50
Damage Insurance $59

We do not rent for more that 1 week at a time. 3-7 day stays are available.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties