Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Secluded Cabin with Tall Trees with Large Deck & Hot Tub close to Ski Apache

Sleeps15
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Space 2,700 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3 Baths, (Sleeps 12)

Welcome to Tall Timber Hideaway – large deck with hot tub – surrounded by trees – a great home to relax, hike to the lake, watch the wildlife or enjoy the games in the loft. 1 – king master suite, attached bath, cable TV, ceiling fan 1 – second king master suite, attached bath, cable TV, ceiling fan 1 – queen bedroom, ceiling fan 1 – queen bedroom, ceiling fan 1 – alcove with twin beds and 3 full Bathrooms.

Great room – large open area with wood burning fireplace, cable TV/DVD, sofa sleeper and dining area – dining table accommodates 6 Game room with pool table

Fully equipped kitchen with bar that accommodates 3. Private Beds for adults is 4, and two twins..

Room for kids to bunk on air mattresses, but you would have to bring them.

Hot Tub

Air-conditioned

Large deck surrounded by trees with soft mountain view

Propane Grill

Chains recommended in winter weather conditions

Tall Timber Hideaway is a non-smoking home and pets are not permitted.

Accommodates 12

Rates subject to change during holidays & special events.

To receive immediate rate information and bookings, Please make an inquiry!/ Keywords: Hot Tub, Kitchen, Outstanding 3 level home surrounded by woods & a soft mountain view. A great home to relax, hike, golf or enjoy wildlife. 1 mile to Ski Run Road & 1 mile to Alto Lake. 15 minutes to shopping & restaurants

More Details

Property Manager
Tracy Wilson
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 18, 2018

About Tracy Wilson

We are from Lubbock Tx, and enjoy our second home in Alto when we can get away. We love sharing our home with the VRBO renters.

Tracy Wilson purchased this house in 2006

Why Tracy Wilson chose Alto

We loved this property because it is secluded and has tall trees. We also loved the old German style to the cabin. There are some unique features in the house including the iron lamp in the middle of the living room.

Sitting on the porch is a favorite past time. We also loved how close it was to Ruidoso without being in the middle of the city. We can golf, shop, and eat out all in the same day.

What makes this house unique

It is Secluded and near Alto Country Club

Guestbook comments from the manager

We booked our trip looking for a relaxing get a away. This place was perfect. It was tucked away in the tall pines, but only a few minutes from town by drive and we could get what we needed or eat out. The cabin has a great feel inside and the kitchen was perfect for the meals we cooked at the house. We will definitely be back next year again.
Jun 2017
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Alto House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 15
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • There are 2 masters with attached baths.. One bath on main floor near kitchen.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 15
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2), sofa sleeper
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
Notes:
This is a great house for a couple families to enjoy. We look forward to making your stay great.

Reviews

Good! 3.8/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

38% Complete
33% Complete
5% Complete
11% Complete
11% Complete
Secluded Cabin with Tall Trees with Large Deck & Hot Tub close to Ski Apache
average rating of 3.7777777 based on 20 reviews
5

Amazing weekend getaway

  • 5 of 5

Stress free weekend with great friends. Thankful for this cabin who could hold all of our sweet friends and make us feel at home in the mountains! Can’t wait to be back!

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying.. Glad you had a great time. I look forward to having you back.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Ruined our Family Trip, received 1 star strictly for the location to area attractions

  • 1 of 5

Scheduled to check out 1 Jan but left by 10 am on 30 Dec because family was not happy staying in this house. If we could have found other lodging for group of 15, we would have left the first night. This home ruined the last portion of our family vacation. Carpets were filthy and stained; our kids did not want our grandkids crawling or playing on the floors. Lower level was dirty and cold, so sons moved the queen bed to the main level and was going to sleep there. When they picked up the mattress there was an open condom wrapper there which appeared to be used but no one was going to touch it. Also tried to open the lower level door and the door knob came off. Upper level bedroom had poop spots on the wall across from the sink area and the bedroom smelled like crap. Sink faucets cold barely turns on, it leaks and was dirty. Bathroom curtain was a towel. All our kids refused to sleep on the beds or use the towels, so we went to Wal-Mart and purchased 5 air mattresses, sheets, towels, Lysol, Clorox wipes and candles. Main floor living room you feel like you are going to fall through the floor because there are some weak spots. Brick in front of the fireplace was filthy because one of my daughters sat down and when she got up she was covered in dirty ashes. Purple chairs had multiple tears and one had a stain that I don't even want to think about what it could be. One of the barstools has a stain that resembles a man's body part. Toilet seat in the main level bath is loose and leans. Multiple areas on the balcony that had rotted wood of which one was covered up with a board of some type, but the other was not. None of the driveway lights worked. For a remodeled kitchen it still had issues. Refrigerator leans to the left and you know this because the door automatically shuts, same goes for the dryer door in the main bath. Large hole in the ceiling at the light fixture, stove top was dirty. Deck stairs are not lit and dangerous at night. Deck gate would not close to the stairs to keep the kids safe. Slept with the window open and on the last morning we woke to the smell of raw sewage in both main level bedrooms. Left-hand side blind has a missing slat plus it is broke and does not raise and lower properly. Right sink faucet sprays water all over the place. Towels still in the dryer when we arrived. Refused to allow our grandkids to use hot tub due to past reviews. If looking for a clean and nicely working home to stay in this is not it. Jones Family

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Traveler, I am sorry to hear about your stay. That is definetly not the result we hope for. However, I do want to address and somewhat even defend our property. Let me respond to each item you listed. The carpets are stained, but not filthy. We have a cleaning service and they are shampooed every two months and they were two months ago. They are on schedule to be replaced. We actually had the deck, carpets, and external paint all contracted to be replaced but the contractor failed to do the work for 3 months, took our money and then committed suicide. We lost $13,000 that we paid down to have the work done. Not your problem, but it did hinder getting the deck and carpet replaced, and paint redone. The deck has issues, but we had a crew come and stabilize the deck until we can replace it. The cabin all leans to the north. It is not unsafe. There was a 4 week rain that sank the front 1/3 of the cabin 1.5 inches. We have had engineers out to look at the issue and it can be corrected, but is not unsafe. That was going to be done with the deck replacement. I sent all of your cleaning problems to our cleaning company and are reviewing each one. I can say that the stain is not poop and no feces were found in the room. All bedding is washed before each guest visit. I have no idea of the other trash or items. I had my cleaning company send me pics of the place and didn't see the level of dirty you have described. There is no doubt that you had issues, and again I can only apologize at this point. We were never contacted, or let know about any of these issues where we could have sent out a cleaning crew to help get things in order. We did have a call from the Alto water district the week after you left about a water leak. Whether it was caused while you were there or not, plumbers were out last week to look at the damage and see what happened. Wondering if that was the smell you smelled. Your message motivates our team to make sure and work to repair the things we can, demand more from our cleaning company and check in better with our guest. We have already had a crew on site for more cleaning, a carpet company out to replace flooring.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fabulous

  • 5 of 5

Great time. This is a great place to get away!

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Quiet and Cozy

  • 4 of 5

While this house is a bit older, it makes up for it with size. The remodeled kitchen was awesome, there was plenty of room for a large group of vacationers and the game room offered plenty of space and activities for the kids/teens. Communication with the home owner was a bit lacking. For example, there was no where to put the garbage and no instructions left to offer a solution (we also called and received no answer). Aside from a couple minor plumbing issues (community restroom toilet had trouble filling, the top story shower had very little water and the hot tub could give you a little shock if you were on the outside dipping your hand in), our trip was trouble free and enjoyable. If you expect perfection, this is not the place for you, but if you want a huge house at a great price with extra amenities, this is right down your alley.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi there.. I am sorry you didnt catch us. We did travel out of the country and had a few days without service, but we did not have a voice mails. Again we are sorry about that. There should have been instructions that is sent from the VRBO hospitality to your email. I will check and make sure that system is working. We have not had anyone not get those. We did see that you had left the trash outside and the critters made quite a mess of it. None the less, Alto has a village trash area to protect any wildlife and prevent bear issues that is up by the Kokopelli golf course. Never had any issues with the hot tub, but will have our guys take a look at it. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Wonderful Retreat

  • 4 of 5

What a wonderful retreat! We spent four nights and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Plenty of room, ample supplies, convenient to Ruidoso. Spent most of our time on the deck, due for a planned makeover this fall, and which offers a beautiful view of the woods. Nice hot tub, although not all jets work and the cover is difficult to remove and replace. A bonus for us - the nearby trail head leading to one- to 2.5-mile walks near or around Alto Lake. Our peaceful commune with nature was broken only by the occasional hiker using the driveway to get to the trail head. As a long-time Ruidoso renter I was surprised to see a requirement to either buy a $59 damage insurance policy OR leave a $1,500 deposit (which says in fine print it may or may not be returned). Just something to be aware of. Would definitely recommend for multi-families - cabin has two masters.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

It was a great stay, roomy and comfortable.

  • 4 of 5

I would recommend it... great stay, enough space for about 16 people. Close to town, not far from everything.

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for staying and the great review. Again, sorry about the delay getting you in on Friday. The previous renters had left such a mess, we had to do extra cleaning. Glad you had a great time! Also, thanks for letting me know about the table. We will get it all fixed up.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Alto and Outlaw
Nearest Ski
10 Miles
Sierra Blanca
Car: necessary

Ruidoso, New Mexico offers Horse Racing Memorial Day through Labor Day.

Great Skiing at Ski Apache Thanksgiving through Easter.

Come hike in the beautiful Sacramento Mountains or fish at the area lakes.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $165
Damage Insurance $59

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Cancellations within 1 week of the rental are subject to a 50% of rental as a cancellation fee. Cancellations within 48 hours are subject to a 75% of rental fee.

Holiday Rentals are subject to a 50% of booking fee 2 months out, and 75% 1 month out, and No refund on less than 30 days from rental date. Holidays book sometimes a year in advance, and it is very hard to re-book them on short notice.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.