Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

A bit of heaven on earth on the #1 beach in Panama. Totally solar powered!

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Space 3,000 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

3000 square feet, 3 bedrooms, 2.5 baths, sleeps 6

This is one of the only solar powered rental properties on Playa Las Lajas, (possibly in Panama) no more power outages which are becoming more frequent as the economy in Panama grows. The home is totally off grid, we have a solar array, batteries and a back up generator. We have our own well including pressure system.

The house has been off the rental market for a while as we were doing some updates such as screening all the windows, replace patio doors, and last but not least converting to solar. property is now better than ever.

Close your eyes and imagine yourself laying in a hammock with the sound of waves breaking and a gentle breeze blowing through the traditional rancho, located only meters from the beach! Welcome to Casa MarAzul, this luxury home is situated on Playa Las Lajas, voted # 1 beach on the Pacific, at low tide the beach is 250 to 300 yards wide and another 150 yards to be waist deep in the ocean, excellent for swimming, even for children. Water temperature is around 89 F.

This home features tile floors through out , 2 1/2 baths, a full kitchen, washer/dryer, TV, DVD, e readers, internet, wi-fi, safe, iron/ironing board, we even have a toll free phone number so that the folks back home can stay in touch.

There is a breakfast nook, a formal dining area and informal table and chairs on the deck, all with views of the ocean. Mens' turn to cook, no problem we have a gas grill for those delicious BBQ's

We can help with all your needs from picking you up at the airport, renting a car, even arranging with a local to take you fishing.

Please check our calendar

This is not a party house, clients are limited to having 2 visitors each. Please contact us if you wish to exceed this number. Visitors may not stay over night. Failure to comply will resort in immediate, non refundable cancellation of contract.


Information package available: For more details about things to do around Casa MarAzul please log on to , or send us an email and we can send you a package.

More Details

Hailey Serracin
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 13, 2018

About Hailey Serracin

My brother and I are the owners of Casa MarAzul, we are from Alberta, Canada. I am still in Alberta, but my brother has taken up permanent residence here in Panama, he is also a business owner here in Panama.

Why Hailey Serracin chose Jobo

We choose this property because of the peaceful, and beautiful area and beach, it truly is a little piece of paradise.

What makes this house unique

The rear of the house opens up on to the terraza, from there it is a short walk to either go for a swim in the warm water of the ocean, or grab a book, and a cool beverage and sit under the thatched rancho, (which always provides a cool refreshing breeze)


Jobo House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • This is not a party house, clients are limited to 2 visitors each. Please contact us if you wish to exceed this number. Visitors may not stay over.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Resort ...
  • Rural
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Area
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Safe
  • Security System
  • Split-System Air Conditioning
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
    Bathroom 4 - outdoor shower
  • There are two outdoor showers, one near the house and one as you come off the beach, next to the rancho.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Has a queen Murphy bed and doubles as an office.
  • Master bedroom has ocean view. Master and second master have full bath, the third bedroom has a sofa bed and a murphy wall bed, can also be used as an office. All of the rooms are very bright and airy.
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gated Community
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Small Cooler
  • Terrace
  • Walkway to Water
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 2 beach chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Housekeeper
  • bay/sound
  • churches
  • festivals
  • forests
  • playground
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • volcano
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
The house is non smoking, but we do allow smoking outside, we have provided ashtrays through out the grounds, please use them. any evidence of smoking within our will incur a $250.00 cleaning surcharge The bedrooms are air conditioned, but we ask that you don't leave them run when they are not being used, turning them on in the bedrooms 1 hour before bed should be sufficient to cool the room for sleeping. Our telephone has a David phone number, if you have an unlocked smart phone you can purchase unlimited data for $15.00 for 30 days. We can arrange to pick you up at the airport in David if needed. If you have any special needs or requests please do not hesitate to ask, we want you to enjoy your vacation in our home.


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

58% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
A bit of heaven on earth on the #1 beach in Panama. Totally solar powered!
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 12 reviews

We didn't want to leave

  • 5 of 5

Casa Mar Azul is fantastic. My husband, daughter, son in law, and I enjoyed it for a month.

Dave, Greg, and Fabiola and other staff are quick to respond to inquiries and provided attention to all details.

The house is quite spacious and fully equipped. Beds are comfy, showers are great with always hot water, and we loved the new screens that allowed us to appreciate the wonderful ocean breezes. There is a security system, but we did not ever feel the need as long as we were there. Best of all the solar system eliminates the power outages that much of the development suffers from.

While the house is delightful, the outside is where we spent our time. The large veranda is a relaxing spot for morning coffee, the yard is complete with a variety of beautiful flowering shrubs and palm trees, and the rancho was our favorite location for afternoon reading in the hammocks and outstanding sunsets.

The rancho is steps from the stellar walking beach which goes forever and is almost "private" on weekdays. Not surf waves but safe and warm.

Although a vehicle is probably a necessity, there are several nearby restaurants. Most groceries and a to-die-for gelato shop are a short 10 k to Las Lajas. Fresh fish are readily available at a co-op in the next village.

This is definitely on our must return radar!

  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. It was our pleasure to have you as guests. You are always welcome at Casa MarAzul.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A great vacation place!

  • 4 of 5

What a great place to holiday at. The vacation rental was everything you could ask for. The house was well looked after, a house keeper came in every week.

The beach and ranchero was a, great place to enjoy a afternoon of relaxing in the sun and water .

The restaurant and food was great. We would not hesitate to recommended Casa Mar Azul to vacation at.

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2016
  • Stayed: February 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Unpleasant communication

  • 1 of 5

I've stayed in about 30 VRBOs and never complained or left a bad review, but this owner seemed to be trying to get a 1 star review.

Incessant power outages. The power went out multiple times every day, anywhere from a few minutes to 14 hours. But that's not what I was upset about. I was upset that the owner was vague and evasive and then flat out ignored any questions I had about the frequency of the outages.

On the first day the power went out for 7 hours, and I asked how many times and for how long there were outages in the last few week, so we could manage our expectations. After 4-5 emails, the best he could muster is "How often will the power go out? I have no idea." Of course he has an idea, but he'd rather avoid the topic. I asked several locals in the area and they all said it happens ALL THE TIME.

The owner also charged me over 20% more than the electricity I used. The charge is supposed to be based on the meter reading before I check in and after I check out. I looked at the meter when we left, and it couldn't have changed much until the caretaker arrived after our departure, since the power was out (shocker) when we left. It took 7 emails for him to admit "I am not sure when [the reading] was taken". If you are charging your guests, you might want to make it a priority to know when the readings were taken.

There was a shot glass broken in the house during our stay, so maybe he decided to pass that cost off as part of the electricity?

The ad also incorrectly said 2x per week cleaning included. No cleaning is included. No apology from the owner, but we did get one cleaning after a lot of back and forth. Looks like the ad has been updated.

Very unpleasant dealing with the owner during and after our stay. I've never had an owner flat our ignore or evade my questions. Maybe it's not my right to ask about daily power outages, material errors in the ad, and overcharges on electricity.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Anonymous, My name is Greg, I am one of the owners and as such I was BCC'd on the email exchanges and would like to offer comments regarding your concerns. As was explained to you in several emails the road between the San Felix and David (the route which our power follows) is currently being twinned and as such the power co. decides when they will move the power lines along the new route, unfortunately this is not North America, they do not warn us how long the power will be out. So as you can imagine it is very hard to give you times and periods the power will be out. They have been working on the road for several years, so yes it has been happening more frequently as they get closer to completion, but "all the time" is not a fair assessment. The over charge on the electricity was a mistake, but I can assure you that it was not because you had broken something as this was not discovered until after you had checked out. Normally when something is broken and windows are left open and fans left running after check out, we charge a much higher fee than the six dollars you were overcharged on electricity, so as you can see it was not intentional. Concerning the cleaning, you are correct the ad does say two cleanings, that is my mistake, we cut back on one cleaning and I missed changing it in the website. So you had one cleaning before you arrived and the other cleaning was arranged at our expense, so in fact you did get two cleanings, I'm sorry we couldn't have arranged it sooner, but your request came on a Sunday. We do not expect our staff to work Sundays as this is their church and family day We are sorry you felt mistreated by the owner. You failed to mention that you were to arrive at San Felix for a 4:00pm check in and yet did not arrive until 8:00 pm, normally if you do not arrive by the check in time we do not come out from David and you need to find alternate accommodations for that night. We did accommodate you and as such our staff worked an extra 3.5 hours ( that we paid for) and did not get home until midnight, my thoughts are you got very good treatment in this respect. We also paid staff to go to the house unplug the power supply backup because the noise was bothering you, and you were not even at the house, again treated well. Unfortunately response times to emails and several misunderstandings did not meet your expectations. We will stand on our reputation and our other reviews. Respectfully, Greg
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

Beautiful and Private Casa

  • 5 of 5

We were very impressed with the beauty of the house and it's proximity to the beach. We enjoyed the Ranchero (beach hut) every day and spent almost every day in the ocean. The water was warm but very refreshing. The area was very safe and we found several places to eat and drink within a 15 minute drive. Lots of things to explore in the area, but a vehicle is a must. The local markets were great for fruits and vegetables but suggest doing a big shop in a larger center. Thanks to Dave and Greg for all your advice and help in arranging and planning our itinerary.

Gary and Tracey Smith, Medicine Hat, AB Canada

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2015
  • Stayed: November 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Tracey and Gary We are pleased to have had you as our guests, and are glad you enjoyed our little piece of paradise as much as we do. Please join us again. Greg and Dave
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Best beach house ever.

  • 5 of 5

Our 3 night stay at Casa Mar Azul was by far the highlight of out 16 day Panama vacation.

The luxury provided by this 3 bedroom beach house with stone polished floors and granite counter-tops was unparalleled. The house is equipped with a modern kitchen, massive bedrooms and the individual air conditioning controls in each room ensure you stay comfortable while at the same time conserving energy.

Casa Mar Azul is located directly on what I would call the biggest and best beach in Panama. During our stay the Pacific Ocean consistently provided 1 to 2 meter waves of warm ocean water that were perfect for riding the provided boogie boards.

If cooking is not your thing Las Lajas Beach Resort is a 5 minute drive or 30 minute walk down the beach. The resort has an excellent restaurant that is open to the public. The staffs are friendly and prices are excellent.

I would defiantly recommend this vacation rental to my friends and family.

Yours truly

Gordon and Lian

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2014
  • Stayed: February 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Gordon and Lian, It was great having you as our guests, please come back anytime. Greg
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Awesome private beach, best house in development

  • 5 of 5

I stayed here with my two kids (4 and 8) and we had a wonderful time. In fact we loved it so much we stayed an extra week in the development (this house was booked for that week), and I can assure you none of the other houses have what this one has to offer. The house is very spacious and light, and the many sliding doors and windows allow you to enjoy the ocean breeze all day. You can hardly see a soul on the beach in either direction (except for Sundays), and I didn't need to worry about any rip tides while my kids played in the ocean throughout the day. The house is well maintained and clean and the owners are helpful, Dave met us at the property upon arrival and made sure we had everything we needed.

As others have mentioned, a car is highly recommended for this location (no stores are within walking distance), but that helps add to the peace and tranquility you will experience once you arrive in this little slice of heaven in Las Lajas!

  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2014
  • Stayed: January 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Andy, we are glad you had such a great time at the Casa, you will be pleased to know that we have made some changes to the doors leading to the terraza, they allow even more fresh air now! Please come again and enjoy our "little slice of heaven in Las Lajas)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Las Lajas Beach Resort
Great place to go out for a meal, lots of selection.
Coiba National Park
History Coiba separated from continental Panama about 12,000 to 18,000 years ago when sea le...
Boquete tree trek
Lots of fun, very well run, safety is paramount with this operation.
Nearest Airport
70 Kilometres
Nearest Barpub
100 Metres
Las Lajas Beach Resort, Johny Fiestas, Show Pony
Nearest Golf
110 Kilometres
2 near Boquete
Nearest Motorway
12 Kilometres
Nearest Restaurant
100 Metres
Show Pony
Nearest Beach
20 Metres
Car: recommended

Playa Las Lajas is located about one hour and a half from David, and 6 1/2 hours from Panama City, the beach is very long and shallow, thus making it very safe for swimming. Located south west of the village of Las Lajas.

There are numerous activities all within a couple of hours drive, including fishing, surfing, scuba and snorkeling, hiking, birding, coffee tours, horse back riding.

There are several restaurants nearby serving both American and Panamanian style meals.

The city of David is the second largest city in Panama, and offers a domestic airport, shopping, pubs, movies, casinos and an number of different restaurants.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Because of Panamanian credit card taxes we require the $500.00 damage deposit to be in cash on check in and it will be refunded in cash at checkout.

We can also offer different payment options for the rental, please contact us if you would like more information.

We will meet you at the house to show you around, BUT YOU MUST BE AT THE HOUSE BY 4:00 PM, to allow us to return to David in the daylight hours. If you are not at the house by 4:00 pm , you must make arrangements to stay somewhere overnight, and we will meet you the next day.

This is not a party house, clients are limited to having 2 visitors each. Please contact us if you wish to exceed this number. Visitors may not stay over night. Failure to comply will resort in immediate, non refundable cancellation of contract.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties