check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Colorado Cottage Quiet Outdoorsman Paradise , St Vrain Trail

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
Sleeps
4
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
2 nights

Description

Ward Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Centrally located riverfront mountain cottage.Nestled on a private acre right at the St Vrain trail head. Great for outdoor recreation with lots to do right out your door. After a full day of recreation or shopping , relax on the covered front porch and listen to the rolling river, cozy up inside to a fire in the wood stove, or enjoy a bonfire right off the back deck. This is the perfect location to enjoy an authentic mountain lifestyle, with views of Aspens from both bedrooms and sounds of the river to calm any stress away.

Sports activities are plentiful; enjoy: hiking , snow shoeing, mountain biking , cross country skiing or fly fishing right out the front door; all free; no ticket fee's, no driving, all access to you.

Downhill skiing in Eldora within 30 min through the charming town of Nederland. Big I-70 resorts , like Vail and Breckenridge are approx 2.5 hr. drive. Magnificent motorcycle rides, on road and off, as soon as you leave the drive way. Plenty of great destinations for the motorcycle enthusiast await. World class hiking and backpacking destinations and trails are within a 20 minute drive and include Brainard Lake, RMNP, Sawtooth, Camp Dick, and access to Colorado famous 14 teeners.

Conveniently located between Boulder, Lyons, and Estes Park,

great shopping. dining, sight seeing, and live music are all just 30 mins away. Rocky Mountain views surround you as you travel to any destination.

Gambling Vegas Style, in the historic western towns of Black Hawk and Central City, is within an hours drive.

Antique enthusiasts can find plenty of treasure in the near by towns of Idaho Springs and Georgetown.

Wild life such as Elk, Deer and an occasional Bear can be spotted throughout the area. Only 1.5 hours from Denver International Airport it's a great place to recreate, relax and rejuvinate your spirit.

Keywords: Peaceful, warm, cabin, riverside, near trails, hiking, backpacking, motorcycle, ski, snowshoe,wood stove, open views, meadow, aspens, room to camp, firepit, garage, mountains, fish, fly fishing, flyfishing, river, stream, trout, mountain biking,

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Owner
David Bevis or Rene Costa Bevis
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 14, 2016
Call Owner

About David Bevis or Rene Costa Bevis

Married couple, love the outdoors, avid motorcycle enthusiast, hikers, antique hunters and nature lovers.

David Bevis or Rene Costa Bevis purchased this cottage in 2010

Why David Bevis or Rene Costa Bevis chose Front Range

Did ya read the description...we got lucky!!!

What makes this cottage unique

The accessability of everything a mountain lifestyle has to offer. convenient restaurants with authentic local clientle, local live music, outdoor activities right out the door, magnificent riding experiences to exclusive and elusive locations. affordable skiing 30 min. away. 1.5 hr. to Denver International airport.

We Enjoy the accessibility of all that this location offers and allow yourself to B-r-e-a-t-h

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(32 traveler reviews)

Colorado Cottage Quiet Outdoorsman Paradise , St Vrain Trail
average rating of 4.46875 based on 32 reviews
Rochester, MN
5

Nice peaceful Loaction

  • 5 of 5

Loved this place. It was nice and quiet and quite spacious. Loved having a fire at night. Great place for my dog to play in the yard. Would definitely rent from again

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Berea, Ohio
5

Nice quiet location

  • 5 of 5

We had made our reservations awhile back. I had returned to the site to check out some of the pictures, and the last two people who reviewed were rather negative. I was then apprehensive about our choice. I am glad we saw for ourselves because we were very happy with the rental. The owners responded quickly and gave us a lot of good information while we were planning our trip. The home was clean and an awesome location! I saw the complaint about the cleanup before leaving. While no one loves laundry or housework, we have rented a beach house in North Carolina that had similar policy. Maybe not common but not unheard of. I highly recommend if you want a quiet place to land after hiking and enjoying all the nature Colorado has to offer then this suits the bill. We are looking forward to coming back in a few years and will book the same location.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to send a review. We certainly appreciate all comments. Our guest are very important to us and we are grateful to share our lil slice of Heaven on the Mountain.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Owners extremly Helpful

  • 5 of 5

Although I read the reviews I thought it strange that so many guest had stayed and loved it,so I gave it a shot.

So glad we did!. The owners are very helpful and gave us great recommendations and the area was beautiful and better than the pictures. I had a last minute change in amount of guest and the owners did not ask for additional fee's or mind the change in dates. We have decided to make this an annual visit and the owners have saved our dates months in advance.

  • Submitted: Jun 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

I would not recommend - Keep looking!!

  • 1 of 5

My group was very disappointed in this rental. I have used homeaway for over half a dozen vacations and this was by far the worst. The home was dirty, there were ants, and the laundry room clearly housed cats prior to our visit. We had small children and we didn't feel comfortable putting them on the floor. The internet never worked, and again, having small children in the middle of no where, made this even a bigger issue. The rug was very dirty and the vacuum provided barely picked up anything! The dishwasher was broken and they did not supply a bottle opener. This may not mean much to you, but when you grab bottles of wine to relax in the mountains near a fire, you would like to be able to open the bottle without having to go into the garage and use a nail and hammer...which is what we ended up having to do! Then on top of everything we cleaned the house very thoroughly, leaving it MUCH cleaner than when we arrived, we followed ALL house rules given, and they still withheld part of our deposit. To sum up, this house was a major disappointment and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone! Keep looking!

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
1

Stingy, Fussy Owners

  • 1 of 5

Details are below, but the bottom line is that these people are more devoted to their unreasonable rules and their own personal conveniences than to anything resembling customer service. They seem to have done no market research to see how other people operate as vacation home rental owners.

* They hold quite a stiff deposit in addition to the cost of the stay - not as a downpayment towards the cost. They take a free loan from you.

* They threaten to hold that deposit if you don't do the laundry for them and fold the laundry for the next guest. You even have to bring your own laundry soap! You have to sweep the floors. You have to tote the garbage down the mountain.

* There are several large piles of firewood on the grounds...but you aren't supposed to use any of it. They insist that you bring your own firewood. And then put the ashes in an ash can in their garage. Again, they don't seem to invest in any clean-up at all.

* Then when the new guest shows up, the folded linens from the previous guest are right where they left them. In other words, you have to make your own bed when you first show up.

* Beds are uncomfortable. Both are ridiculously high - even the adults couldn't come close to touching the floor with their feet when sitting on either bed. One bed is saggy, making for sore backs. The other is unusually hard.

* No soap in the shower; dishwasher doesn't work and looks like it hasn't in years; refrigerator opens from the wrong side given the kitchen layout - this is an easy fix they just haven't ever bothered with; all furniture is old and worn well past the homey, comfortable stage of life.

* We have a very well behaved dog that we had to pay extra for - not a refundable dog deposit, which is common, but just an extra charge. For what? They don't actually do any clean-up anyway.

* Their refund policy is no refunds within 90 days of the reservation. I've taken international trips with a better policy than that.

You have other options. My strong recommendation: skip this one.

  • Submitted: Jan 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The enormous 3 day 0 interest "loan" is actually a refundable $250 security deposit, however we do offer the option of paying a cleaning fee of $75.00 an hour , if the guest prefer to check out with no clean up responsibility. This keeps the cost to guest affordable .The decision to have the door open from the left to right is not an error,it is a convenience for loading groceries. The laundry soap is recommended because many people have mentioned detergent allergies so we thought it best to remind guest to bring what they use. As for the garbage, yes we are aware it is an inconvenience, unfortunately after the big flood many of the garbage dumpsters that floated down the road became a danger and are sparingly allowed in our area. We do however have a location we suggest to our guest that is just up the road. The refund deposit does state that it can be held for 90 days however we do return the deposit 24hrs after the property manager releases the house, after doing a walk through. Again to assure the next guest is welcomed to a clean and tidy home. As for the linen, I stay in many VRBO locations and I am always grateful that I get the opportunity to see the mattress condition I will be sleeping on. This is a service to insure that each guest has the confidence the linen is clean and the mattress is as well.Reviews like this are unfair and vicious. My Husband and I employ local community services, volunteer when we come for our own vacations and are respected for the standards we set for this adorable cabin. We often recommend other spots if an inquiring guest needs a bigger home and we are always available to help. As for the firewood...it is wet in Dec. my husband cuts it every July, we simply don't want anyone to suffer from being SMOKED OUT! I understand "things happen" but this review is distorted and needed to have a detailed response...safe travels everyone
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Stay

  • 5 of 5

My son and I came up in the fall to see the foliage and explore the Rockies for the first time. We were very impressed with the cabin. It was very-well stocked and everything was just where you would expect it to be. The cabin was clean. The front porch has a nice sitting area.It was also very convenient to the trail system. I would highly recommend this beautiful cabin.

  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
65 Miles
Denver International
Nearest Barpub
56 Miles
Millsite Inn
Nearest Golf
20 Miles
Longmont, Boulder, and Estes Park
Nearest Restaurant
4.8 Miles
Jamestown Merc
Nearest Ski
18 Miles
Eldora Ski Area, Nederland, CO
Car: necessary

Any of the following are either immediately available at the property or are within a short drive. Downhilla nd cross country skiing at Eldora Ski Area, Nederland, Fly Fishing, Gambling, Hot Springs , highway and dual sport motorcycle touring, wading/ swimming, great hiking, backpacking, camping.

Jamestown Merc is a great local spot for breakfast or dinner and live music and is only 5 miles away. Other great restaurants nearby include Morrocco's in Ward and The Gold Hill Inn in Gold Hill

Photos

Rates & Availability

Ward Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter
Nov 1 2016 - Dec 20 2016
2 night minimum stay
$155
$925
 
 
Winter Holiday
Dec 21 2016 - Jan 3 2017
2 night minimum stay
$185
$1,260
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$175
$1,125
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25
Refundable damage deposit $250
Cleaning service fee $65

The rates are based on a two person occupancy. All additional guest are subject to an additional fee of
$25.00 per person per night.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Ward Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Room to move and offers shower and bath tub combination.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Double Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Stereo
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties