Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful Cozy Log Cabin with Huge Views and Privacy.

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 6)

We hope that you enjoy our cozy mountain cabin. It is the perfect getaway mountain retreat. You will enjoy huge views of the Mt Sneffels range along with great sunsets off the deck to the west. The cabin sits on 1 acre of land and has comfy furniture and ample beds (twin, double, & queen) in this rustic retreat.

The cabin lies 2000' above the town of Ridgway. It is a 15 min. 8 mile drive to town on a beautiful well maintained dirt road. If you want to enjoy the beauty and attractions that this part of Colorado is known for then this is the place to stay.

Keywords: house, cabin, mountains, views, privacy, home, single family,

More Details

Owner
Virginia (Ginny) Petrie
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
August 15, 2017

About Virginia (Ginny) Petrie

I currently live and work in Telluride Colorado. I have been in the area for 10 years and actually lived in the cabin for 3 of those years.

Virginia (Ginny) Petrie purchased this cabin in 2001

Why Virginia (Ginny) Petrie chose Ridgway

Its an amazing place and location graced with clean air, peaceful vibes yet close enough to town to get supplies and see the sights.

What makes this cabin unique

The best thing about the cabin is how peaceful and quiet it is. I live in Telluride but it doesn't hold a candle to the peaceful tranquility of our cabin in Ridgway.

Amenities

Elk Meadows Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 - comode and sink in small bath off kitchen
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 bunk bed , Lower bunk is a double & full bath is off this room.
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Up the ladder to the loft & stunning views of Mt Sneffels.
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Couch makes into a bed. Comfy linens are there too.
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(39 traveler reviews)

84% Complete
7% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
Beautiful Cozy Log Cabin with Huge Views and Privacy.
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 39 reviews
5

Peaceful with a beautiful view!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 4 arrived late Saturday night. We found the cabin to be just as described and more than adequate for our stay. We enjoyed having coffee and breakfast on the deck in the evening it provided great viewing of the stars. We loved having washer and dryer so we didn't go home with tons of dirty laundry! The cabin was very clean. We mostly only cooked breakfast at the cabin but found everything in the kitchen more than adequate to prepare any meal. Definitely recommend this cozy cabin!

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Oh my, you make me want to ditch my work and head west for you have , in essence, described what I love most about the cabin...early morning coffee & that surprising night sky we never get to see when in town! Thanks for sharing
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful location and amazing views!!

  • 5 of 5

Lovely, quaint cabin with spectacular views! Great location for adventures in Ouray as well as the mountains!!

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Austin,Texas
4

Beautiful cabin

  • 4 of 5

The cabin was perfect. If you want quiet and just to unwind, this is the place. We saw deer, coyote and black bear! Hummingbirds were fun to watch as they enjoyed our own feeder we brought. Thank you Ginny for allowing us to stay at cabin. Will be back!

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Quiet Solitude with a beautiful view

  • 5 of 5

We loved this quiet retreat. It was a great location for the hiking we enjoyed. The view of Mt. Sneffels is quite stunning. Had a great time!

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Cabin with Perfect Views!

  • 5 of 5

Ginny Petrie is the perfect property owner. She was extremely helpful from the start with reservations through checkout.

You can't get to the cabin using GPS. The directions Ginny gave us were spot on.

We walked in the door to a perfectly clean and well stocked cabin with gorgeous views of the Sneffles Mountain Range.

Not counting the 15-20 minute drive from the cabin to Hwy. 550, it only took 15 minutes to get to Ouray where we spent most of our time.

We really only had one complaint and it had nothing to do with the cabin. After turning off of S. Amelia we faced a very gravelly road 6-7 miles up the mountain to get to the cabin. Our Jeep was covered in white dust upon arrival and after multiple trips the rear fenders were pitted with a couple of 6mm chips on the driver's side. The county definitely needs to find the funds to pave these roads.

All in all we would stay here again and hope to return in a couple of years.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kings words, I really enjoy sharing my cabin with you. And regarding the roads, the only paved roads in all of Ridgway until 2016 were state highways (Rt 62 & 550). Seriously, we have hitching rails on the Main Street and they're not for nostalgia, I've seen horses tied there. And ranchers off load stock right from semis onto open range up in the mountains. Paving is not high on the list for the people who make their living off the land. Ouray county folks seem to take pride in the coating of dust they have on their vehicles. The livestock is well cared for, the trucks, not so much! Hope to have you back soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A wonderful cozy base from which to explore southwestern CO and all it has to offer.

  • 5 of 5

The cabin is very comfortable with a spectacular view from the front deck. I loved sleeping in the loft, some of my best sleep ever! The beds were comfy, plenty of blankets. Since it's 8 mi up a dirt road (recently scraped), we planned our trips up & down carefully so everything seemed more planned yet adventurous. We had eveything we needed and the owner is a dream to deal with.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes County Rt 5 is an adventure! I've seen all kinds of wildlife & wild flowers on the trek, also once about a thousand sheep were off loaded from 2 semis to graze. Believe me that stopped traffic, but it was a once in a life time experience that I loved. Thanks for staying and enjoying this little bit of peace Ginny
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Montrose Regional (MTJ)
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
Ridgway or Telluride
Nearest Train
120 Miles
Amtrak at Grand Junction Colorado
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
Rt 550
Nearest Restaurant
6 Miles
Ridgway
Nearest Ski
45 Miles
Telluride Colorado
Car: necessary

ridgway chamber has a very good website. Check that out. Also you can call me direct for specific inquiries. 440-477-0416 EST

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Damage Insurance $59
Damage Deposit $500

Know that this little cabin is in high elevation & faces south. Hydrate before you come out. Tap water is excellent! Please don't bring bottled water. Throw away plastics are a pox on the environment. Electric heat warms in winter NO FIRES IN or ON THIS PROPERTY, ever! Thermal blinds control heat from sun year round. Most important, put your feet up, enjoy the peace of the place & relax! Ahh!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Canceled bookings will not receive a refund