Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Oceanfront Beach House - Great Fishing & Golfing, Shelling.

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 13)

Enjoy the beautiful beaches of North Carolina year round. Rent our oceanfront, beach house completed in 2001, professionally decorated, water views from every room, well equipped kitchen, one open and one covered deck.

We're on the point of Oak Island which is a beachcomber's paradise and a sea turtle sanctuary. Great golf - 35 courses in the area. Excellent fishing - a marina - with free public boat launch ramp within a mile on the Intercoastal Waterway.

The quaint, historic village of Southport is nearby where you can browse fine shops and art galleries. Exceptional dining abounds or select fresh seafood from the local fish markets and dine in at the Southern Cross overlooking the ocean.

Keywords: Beach House - Bedrooms: 2 with queens, 1 with single & double, 1 with 2 sets of bunks, media room - trundle bed (2 twins).

More Details

Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 2, 2017


Long Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 13
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • CD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • Outdoor Grill
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

81% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
9% Complete
Oceanfront Beach House - Great Fishing & Golfing, Shelling.
average rating of 4.3636365 based on 11 reviews

Beautiful Beach House and Super Nice Owners

  • 5 of 5

Extremely nice and helpful owners. Property is clean and well maintained. Beautifully decorated. Plenty of room for a large family or several families. The views from the upstairs of the beach and the inlet are stunning. It is nice to have the master bedroom upstairs and the three other bedrooms downstairs, plus a second living area with a day bed and trundle bed. Plenty of privacy plus plenty of areas to entertain. The bathrooms are spacious and the counters are large. The kitchen is well stocked and there are plenty of eating spaces. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Submitted: May 13, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Midland, NC

Amazing house with fantastic views

  • 5 of 5

The house was absolutely perfect! We all loved the floor plan with the bedrooms on the lower level and open living space upstairs. You can see the waterway from the kitchen and the views from the decks are great. The owners are great to work with and answered any questions I had. We are definitely going to return to the Souther Cross!

  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 5 of 5

The weather was perfect! The house was wonderful! Our combined families of 4 had plenty of room and couldn't have asked for nicer accommodations. We are already pulling out our calendars to start planning next year's escape to OKI.

  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Amazing Time in OKI at the Southern Cross!

  • 5 of 5

We had another wonderful trip to the Southern Cross! We have been here several times and always are so happy to return! As always, house was super clean upon arrival. The weather was wonderful and we had perfect sunsets each night! We enjoyed walks on the beach with our new daughter who absolutely loved the beach. Fresh seafood from Haag's Seafood, great lunch at Provision's in Southport, and of course our favorite, Thai by the Sea. The Southern Cross has always been the perfect place for our family to vacation and we are already looking forward to our next trip to make even more memories! Thanks so much for making your beach home feel like our home for a week!

  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Not worth it at any price point!

  • 1 of 5

We’ve been to Oak Island many times and frequently use VRBO. We booked the property in June at the last minute at a reduced rate for a family of 3. The experience was overall unpleasant for us, here’s why:

• Roach friends in the kitchen a few mornings when we woke up.

• One day it rained and the window to the game room leaked and left a large pool of standing water on the floor. Two days later, when the owner responded, he wasn’t surprised and indicated it has been a problem since the house was built.

• Refrigerator was dirty at check-in and the home didn’t appear to be professionally cleaned

• Downstairs bathtub did not drain properly

• Odd handwritten notes appear throughout the house by the owner to take down the flag in high winds, shower notes, kitchen sink notes.

The owner falsely accused us of burning the countertops. The owner gave us permission to bring our dog and kept $100 of the security deposit because he claimed there was a pile of poop on the porch to clean up.

Life is too short. We will not return and recommend you look elsewhere.

  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: In response to the less than glowing review of the Southern Cross, we want to present the facts. We gave permission for one dog - they brought two. We kept $100 of their security deposit for the additional dog and clean up. When guests arrive and get settled in, we call to make sure all is well. Any problems are addressed immediately. Also we leave our cell number so that we can be contacted. We were not made aware of any of these problems until we did not return $100 of their security deposit. We think this prompted the negative review. We are sorry they failed to enjoy our lovely beach house right on the ocean.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2
Raleigh, NC

Southern Cross: an extended family's vacation reunion

  • 5 of 5

The annual reunion of our extended family found the perfect place to gather at "The Southern Cross". It was clean, modern, and accommodated our family of children, grandchildren, and grandfather. Beds for all and ample BATHROOMS. The views can not be beat with full ocean front on the beach side and beautiful views of the intracoastal waterway and marsh from the rear. The reverse layout with the master (for grandpa) and large living room space on the top floor allowed the family to gather for meals and conversation while the other bedrooms and an ample media room on the lower level provided a secondary retreat for separate activities. Dual full length porches on the beach side (one at each level) added further to the spaciousness of the home. The owners were courteous and attentive to our needs. Being there during the end of August gave us an opportunity to watch out for turtle hatchings at numerous nests along the shoreline. No baby turtles this time during our short stay, but next year is another opportunity. We loved our stay there and look forward to a chance to vacation at the Southern Cross.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Deposit $200

Pay by check.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties