Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Relax and be Captivated by the Views from this Ocean Front Home

Bedrooms 3
Space 2,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

3 Bedrooms, 3 Full Bathrooms, Sleeps 10

Seadance on the Lost Coast at Shelter Cove

Relaxing Ocean Front, Whale Watch, Fish, Golf, Tide Pool

This 2800sf oceanfront home, located on the California coast North of San Francisco and the wine country, offers spectacular ocean views, soothing ocean sounds, awesome sunsets, excellent wave and aquatic viewing and an opportunity to unplug from everyday life.

The living room/dining areas as wells as the ocean side patio are each nearly 1000 sq ft and perfect for an intimate wedding, reception, anniversary or other significant events in life.

Flying enthusiasts will enjoy the convenience of the local airstrip, golfers can experience coastal golfing, fishermen can seek adventure with chartered fishing trips, children will enjoy tide pooling and lovers can stroll the long stretches of local beaches.

The golfing enthusiast will enjoy a round of golf on this unique golf course designed by Larry Hughs. This 9 hole, 33 par, 110-slope rating golf course starts at the Community Center at the south end of the run way and surrounds the air strip. The distance between holes ranges between 135 and 477 yards. Views of the ocean and local animal life are just a few distractions you might find while playing a round on this course. Currently this golf course is on the honor system as there is no Pro Shop available. There are three sets of clubs (two with cart) at Seadance for an impromptu round of golf.

For pilots wishing to fly their personal aircrafts to Shelter Cove, there is an airstrip for day use. Please see our website for airstrip links.

Fishermen looking for an exciting day on the Pacific currently have local charter boat operations available to help you catch a fish the size you won't need to exaggerate to your friends.

Within a short walk you can tour the Cape Mendocino Lighthouse at the Mal Coombs Park, take the stairs down to search tide pools at low tide, watch Sea Lions at Seal Rock Picnic Area, or watch Abalone divers from the balcony or back yard in the cove directly behind the house.

A short scenic drive through Shelter Cove and you can hunt for shells, the perfect rock, watch the magnificent wave’s crash on rock outcroppings, and walk down the long expanse of Black Sand Beach.

Looking for a beautiful backdrop to celebrate your wedding, reception or anniversary banquet; Seadance is suitable with 1,000 Sq Ft of open space inside as well as 1,000 Sq Ft of patio space outside.

More Details

Property Manager
Stephanie Andrews
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 17, 2017


Shelter Cove House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View
  • Mountain View
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Dialup Access
  • Fireplace
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath - toilet , shower
    Upstairs Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , Claw Foot Tub/Shower
    Downstairs Bath - toilet , shower , Double Sink
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
    Upstairs Bedroom - 2 twin/ single
    Downstairs Bedroom - 1 queen
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Pool Table
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Golf Clubs
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
  • forests
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surfing
Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer. Oceanfront. Three sets of golf clubs - Men's/Women's, and bicycle. Charter boat fishing, airstrip for small aircraft, Abalone diving, whale watching, golf clubs.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(22 traveler reviews)

Relax and be Captivated by the Views from this Ocean Front Home
average rating of 4.7727275 based on 22 reviews

beautiful, relaxing, comfortable stay

  • 4 of 5

a little difficult to get to but once you're there it's hard to beat. not luxurious but nice.

  • Submitted: Jun 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect vacation home

  • 5 of 5

We had the best stay at this breathtaking beach home. Everything you could possibly need is at the home. The only challenge is the drive to get there just be prepared for a windy longer ride. It IS worth it!!! Who knew there were beautiful black beaches here in California? Exploring the quaint town, we discovered seals and other wild life. If you are looking for place to relax and unplug, this is the place!!!

  • Submitted: May 9, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fantastic home in a beautiful setting!

  • 5 of 5

Have stayed here many times, and never been disappointed. Words can't really describe this place, it must be experienced!

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great Stay! Beautiful location....

  • 5 of 5

All the kitchenware we needed was provided and we loved the dvd/video selection for our nightly movie! Owner might consider installing downstairs blinds. We had several beautiful sunny days and we couldn't enjoy the seating area and its view next to the windows because the sun shines right into the house (and our eyes) for most of the afternoon and early evening. Otherwise, wonderful property set on the bluffs above a magnificent sea!

  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

The house and view are wonderful

  • 4 of 5

My husband and I choose to go here as a family get together with our sons and their families; that includes 5 grandkids! The space was great. the kids had plenty of room so the could spread out and do what they wanted. The games that were available helped during the evenings when the kids were looking for something to do; the pool table was great for the teens and adults. I do need to mention no wifi was kind of hard on them but I found it refreshing (LOL). The movie library saved the day when the wind was blowing hard. Just beware the drive in was some thing; so plan on staying once you're there. Overall, totally met my expectations.

The seals and sea lions were an added plus! !

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Fun and a great getaway

  • 3 of 5

Overall great house second time we have came here ! This time though the carpets weren't vaccumed I had to vaccume before I felt ok putting the baby down ! there was no soap for the dishwasher or wood for the fire pit the first time we stayed all was great and everything was stocked well !!This time not so much the propane heater down stairs didn't work was quite chilly at night !!had to run several small heaters down stairs !!

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Britney, We are so sorry to hear about the floors and have addressed this with our cleaning lady. She has done an excellent job up to this point and took this to heart. We do not usually stock wood for the fire pit, but when there is some available we bring it to the house for guests use. Other wise it is for sale at The general store or Shelter Cove Deli and campground. We would have been happy to refill the soap for your use had we known earlier in your stay . We did offer to reimburse you for what you purchased , but you declined and said you would take what you bought with you. We apologize for the inconvenience. We hope you will return and enjoy the Seadance with your adorable family . It will be clean and well stocked.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Motorway
26 Miles
Hwy 101
Car: necessary

Shelter Cove, North Coast, California, Airfield 0q5, Humbolt

Other Activities: Boating, Wildlife Viewing


Rates & Availability

Shelter Cove House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Non Refundable Turnover $150
Tax Rate 12.0%

Rental rate is per night for up to 6 persons, for reservations over 6 persons an additional $10/per person per night charge will be applied.
Maximum rental term length of 21 days.
A security deposit of $500 will be charged at booking. For large parties and events a higher security deposit may be required.
Pets are not accepted.
Turnover fee includes one can of garbage per week, additional trash per week will be deducted from deposit.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager