Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Executive Home on Bass Filled Canal -- with freshwater FISH

Bedrooms 3
Space 2,050 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 30 nights


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Detached Unit, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6-9)

Bright Airy Lake Front Home

This is a waterfront courtyard pool home with a waterfall on Valmora Lake.

This home has great views from the living room and in the kitchen. Wherever you go in the house you are looking at either the courtyard with the pool or the lake.

The cherrywood kitchen is new with cherry cabinets and granite countertops.

The pool is in the centre of the house in an enclosed courtyard and extremely private.

There is a separate Guest House with its own ensuite washroom and kitchenette. The extends the # of bedrooms to 4 (main house has 3 bedrooms / 2 washrooms). Rental rate does not include the Guest Quarters.

What I love about this home:

Private enclosed pool

Lake Front

Georgeous Sunsets

Walking distance to Publix, Liquor Store, Walgreens, PIzza, Restaurant, Chinese Food etc.

Master bedroom has sliding patio doors to both the pool area and the lake

Everywhere you look you see either the lake or the pool

Keywords: pool, lake front, fish, bungalow, 3 bedroom, shopping, WIFI, BBQ, Satellite TV, Free Long distance USA

More Details

Roy Hood
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 18, 2018

About Roy Hood

Roy is a retired pastor and I am self- employed in the IT Industry. We absolutely luv going to a warmer climate. The best part of Cape Coral is that our children do not want to do anything except stay in the pool all day. The best part for me is that from all the rooms I can keep an eye on them.

Roy Hood purchased this house in 2011

Why Roy Hood chose Burnt Store

Fishing in backyard

Proximity to Salt Water Fishing

Close to 4 famous beaches

Close to shopping

Enclosed private pool

Bright and airy house

What makes this house unique

Privacy yet close proximity to everything

Guestbook comments from the owner

perfect location, its in the subtropics so it does not cool down in the winter. The restaurants are close, shopping is close, beaches are all close enough. The house is on a lake and the pool is in a courtyard and very private.

We loved it so much we are coming back again. The owners were so nice and hospitable and checked up to make sure everything was ok.

We loved it
Mar 2014
  • 1 of 2


Burnt Store House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2050 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Master Bedroom has 1 queen bed, 2nd bedroom has 1 queen bed and 3rd bedroom has 2 twin beds
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Beach Chairs, Beach Towels


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

53% Complete
23% Complete
15% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
Executive Home on Bass Filled Canal -- with freshwater FISH
average rating of 4.1538463 based on 15 reviews

Felt like home

  • 5 of 5

This house is so comfortable that I didn't want to leave. Loved the interior courtyard with the pool and the waterfall. The house is nicely appointed and the master bed and bath are very large. Roy and his wife were very easy to deal with and always answered my emails in a timely manner.

I was there for 6 weeks with my pets due to being displaced from my house because of a flood.

They helped make a stressful situation and little less manic.

They have a great neighbor named Bernard who I 'm sure could help you with just about anything.

If I could, I would still be there

  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. You were also very easy to deal with. Come again - would love to have you.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Home was very private and had great views of lake, pool and outdoors.

  • 3 of 5

The Home had many minor issues that could easily be fixed to improve the overall impression.

  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are not aware of any issues in the house. We were not informed of anything during the renters stay. As you can see from previous reviews we get very high ratings because if there is anything - we get it resolved right away.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
miami florida


  • 5 of 5

It was very cozy and we loved it. The pool was perfect. We enjoyed it so much

  • Submitted: May 29, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Our Stay

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time at the home. It was clean, beautifully decorated, and the view was awesome. There was an issue with the water pressure being low initially but it was because of the pool guy leaving the water hose running. Roy was super helpful and supporter during this crisis and got the matter resolved in no time.

Although the pool/guest house was not included in the rental, I'd rent this home again and would definitely recommend it to my friends.

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: thank you for your kind words. Please come back again
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Needs some maintenance

  • 3 of 5

Owners were wonderful to work with. Lake location is beautiful but far from places we wanted to visit.

Broken globes around the pool landscape kept us from letting the dogs in that area. Furniture lacks comfort due to wear and tear. Had floors scrubbed and vacumned shortly after we arrived due to excess dirt.

  • Submitted: Feb 5, 2016
  • Stayed: January 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

76 degrees in home all week

  • 1 of 5

Lovely home, pool is very nice very private. Owner were very nice until I had two issues. Within 50 minutes of our stay kids took pool cover off, pool was dirty with leaves n dirt. We cleaned it, and they went swimming. I go to grocery store and get a phone calle from my oldest (23) saying her brother was bit by spider. Thy killed it, and took pictures. I sent this picture to owner asking if they new what type and if it was poisonous. Thinking if it's my home, I'd for sure seen a spider in it . She had no idea sent me all kinds of great info, was very nice and helpful. She told me she was in hospital, I apologized had no idea. Well next day heat was in 80-85 area, house was 76. We turned down to 71 in hopes it would cool off, with no luck. We keep blinds close (no view we wanted so to enjoy) windows don't open or told not too wasn't going to risk damage to it more. Well come to find out they keep the thermostat on 75 and felt it perfectly cool enough for others I was only one to every complain. I told him had I know this when i was renting home I would've never rented it. We like to be able to sleep without sweating. Master bedroom had a ceiling fan, air didn't seem to go in that area well. We bought fans for rooms spent $60 more on trying to stay comfortable. Being told how I was the only one to Complain so much to them. Ask me to go by cheap thermometer to check air coming out vents. My husband is a licensed heating and air professional. Thy even asked for him to look at it on his vacation. I finally gave up begging for repair on air, said I'd deal with it Came for pool and ocean anyway. Had no view of lake all week. I loved the home, and owners were nice until they had to spend some money to repair something that needs to be replaced. I'm sure you'll hear them say how horrible we were to deal with.. I hope you can at least listen to some of what I said here, as its true. we paid in full, and house was very nice, was just hot, 76 degrees never got below 72 from time we got there. I would've paid lights..if given option to be cooler. If you don't mind the home being 72-76 degrees this is a perfect place. My kids hated sulfur smell from water too, as this home isn't lived in I'm sure that's why water smells. Just giving heads up on this rental, if someone would've said this in a review I wouldn't have rented this home. Good Luck maybe all would've went better if the wife wasn't in hospital.. Husband wasn't the nicest to deal with, she was.

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were not notified of the sulfur smell by current renters. We will contact our water company to see if they can find the source. The last tenants just left prior to this rental and never mentioned that, so we were not aware. I personally was at the house a week or so prior to the arrival of this tenant and the house temperature was fine. I contacted the previous tenants who just left and they said that the AC was fine during their stay and the house was cool. We asked if the renters husband had any ideas of why the temp might not be going down as he worked in AC business. We did not ask him to fix but wanted to get some guidance as to what might cause the temp to stay at 75. There was no response to that. On the web there were many articles that indicate that it could be clogged filter, dirty condenser coils, thermostat etc. Unfortunately I was hospitalized and was limited to what I could do from my bed. I had no way of phoning renter. My husband tried to contact renter on several occasions and could not reach them. We asked them to purchase a cheap thermometer (which we said we would pay for) and see if the thermometer said it was 76 or if the thermometer said it has 86. A house at 76 generally does not feel hot, however everyone has their own tolerance for heat. Might have been that the thermostat was showing the wrong Temperature of 76 and in fact it was 86 . Had that been the case we would have paid the $300 to have an AC guy investigate. The renter finally said that they would just deal with it and were not going to get the thermostat. All we were trying to do is determine how severe the issue was and what we might want to have looked at by the AC people. We leave a note requesting that 1 kitchen window not be opened because most people have a problem closing it and then leave it open after they leave. In this case i would not have expected the renters to open the window when they felt that the house was too hot anyway, so not sure why that was mentioned in the review. If you read all of our reviews you will notice that when there are issues we resolve them as soon as we are able to. In this case I was limited with what i could deal with. I am sorry the tenant was not happy with their stay but I did what I could under the circumstances.
Did you find this review helpful?
11 2


Pine Island Elementary School
Bubba's Roadhouse & Saloon
Beef 'O'Brady's
Rotonda Golf & Country Club The Links Golf Course
Don Pedro Island State Park
Villa Capri
Rotonda Golf & Country Club The Links Golf Course
Nicola's Italian Kitchen
Ephesus Mediterranean Grill
Noy's Bistro and Lounge
Nearest Airport
27 Miles
FOrt Myers
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
in the mall - within walking distance
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Cape Coral Oaks
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
withing walking distance
Nearest Beach
10 Miles
Cape Coral Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Car: recommended

Disney world 2.5 hours

Clearwater Aquarium where 'Winter' the dolphin lives 2.5 hours

Edison and Fords summer homes (available for touring) 1/2 hour


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $99
Cleaning Fee $150
Tax Rate 11.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties