Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

REDUCED!!! Book NOW for July 29th week!!!!

Bedrooms 5
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

Cottage, 5 Bedrooms + Den, 5.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10-12)

SOUNDFRONT Waves. Island views and kiteboarding action is what you will enjoy seeing from the decks of this soundfront home. Even the HOT TUB on the second level porch has a view of the action. Located in the 'The Slick' of Waves' prime kiteboarding heaven, boarding and windsurfing enthusiasts will find convenient access directly from the pier sound access. Entering the first level of the home you will find a king bedroom with a semi-private bath and easy access from the pool area. The second level has three more bedrooms including two queen masters and one bedroom with 2 single beds all with their own TV. The gaming room makes for a nice little escape with large flat screen TV and play station including sleeper sofa. Just down the hall is the convenient full bath and laundry. The upper level has a master suite with king bed and TV and the great room with spectacular views of the sound, TV, BlueRay and a cozy gas fireplace to warm up to in the off season. The kitchen is FULLY equipped with a seating for 10.

Keywords: Sound front home with great views

More Details

Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
July 21, 2017

Why Lisa chose Hatteras Island

The Outer Banks is a great location to vacation with your family. We love to get away from the hussle and bussle and relax and soak up the sun! This is were we want to retire.

What makes this house unique

The house is right on the sound and the sunsets are breath taking! The ocean is a short walk to the beach.


Waves House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Waterfront ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - Top level - joining with master
    Bathroom 5 - Top level next to kitchen & den
    Bathroom 2 - Hall- middle level
    Bathroom 3 - Private bath joining bdrm #3
    Bathroom 4 - Private joining bdrm #4
    Bathroom 5 - Private, lower level
  • 5.5
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master- top level
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single , Middle level
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , Middle level- hottub off of this room with screened in porch
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , Middle level
    Bedroom 5 - 1 king , Lower level with private bath
    Den - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • King size beds (1) 2 King beds, Queen size Beds (1) 2 Queen beds, Double Beds (1) sleeper sofa, Twin or Single Beds (1) 2 twin beds, Child Beds (1) Play pen and high chair
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
screened porch, fish cleaning table, outside shower, stair tamer(remote luggage and grocery lift)


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

REDUCED!!! Book NOW for July 29th week!!!!
average rating of 4.5 based on 12 reviews

Great house and Great location!

  • 5 of 5

Great house & Great location. The house was very clean and nicely decorated. Very convenient to some really good places to eat. The Kite boarders were a lot of fun to watch! We took some great photos at sunset. We are definitely planning to rent this home again!

  • Submitted: May 21, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad your family enjoyed their stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Relaxing week on Pamlico Sound

  • 5 of 5

Comfortable and nicely furnished house with the best sunset view! Owner responds quickly and is very helpful. Local stores and restaurants are just short walks or bike rides away from this perfect location!

  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great time. House is well situated and comfortably furnished. Owner responds quickly to questions.

  • 4 of 5

This house is in a quiet location with wonderful sounds views. The beds are comfortable and the kitchen is well equipped. The pool and hot tub are great to have. This is our second stay in this home and hopefully not our last!

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Angie, I am glad your family enjoyed your vacation! Thanks for coming back. We hope you will remember us again for next year if you plan to visit Hatteras Island. Lisa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Thank you so much for a wonderful stay! Everything was exactly as promised.

We had a delightful time enjoying dear friends and would definitely return for another visit.

There were plenty of dining locations close by to choose from and beach access was really easy.

Thanks again! :)

julie, Mechanicsburg, PA

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fun in the outer banks

  • 5 of 5

Great view from the balcony of the bay. Kitchen fully stocked with everything you would need for large groups. Loved that each bedroom had its own private bath. When we had a question Lisa always responded right away with the information. She even went out of her way to send back my mothers coat she left behind at house. That's what I call great service. Would recommend.

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad you and your friends enjoyed their stay! If you ever want another little get away keep us in mind.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Absolutely filthy!! Do not deal with this owner!! Buyer beware!! We refused to stay.

  • 1 of 5

My wife, 2 boys and myself booked this place for our family vacation. We rent every summer at the OBX. We were looking for an open place about a week before our arrival date because we have not been able to get away all summer. This was open so I contacted the owner, she sent me a quote and I agreed, then signed contract. We drove 4 hours and heard from the owner by text on the way that the house was ready. It was about 5 pm when we arrived. THIS HOUSE WAS FILTHY!! Feces on a toilet, crumbs and dust on counter tops and tables, small area rugs turned over instead of washed, chips and crumbs on carpeting. My wife texted pictures to the owner and let her know it was not clean. She texted back that she would "touch base" with the cleaner. She offered no help or resolution for this awful situation. I called her cell and got her VM. I let her know it was filthy and asked for a return phone call (which I never got). We had stopped at the grocery store and bought food for the week that needed to be refrigerated and had hungry children. An hour went by and I sent her a text letting her know that we were leaving and would not be staying. She had not been in any way helpful or accommodating to work towards a resolution. She was dismissive and basically did not care. After not responding for an hour she texted back that she had been busy feeding her own hungry children!! WHAT??!! I never received the courtesy of a return phone call or conversation. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS PERSON! Our expectations of a clean place upon arrival are certainly not unreasonable. What is NOT reasonable is her expecting a family to exist in someone else' filth or clean the place ourselves. I called my CC company and told them the situation. They said they would remove the charges from our bill and handle getting the money back. Glad I didn't write a check. She's their problem at this point. After taking MANY pics, we left to find a hotel . We packed the food in ice and managed to find a hotel room. We got on the phone the next morning and a local realty company hooked us up with an AWESOME house they had open. They got their cleaning crew there that morning and when we arrived they were hard at work. This place is not only clean and sanitized(as it should be) it's gorgeous, comfortable and has all we could ask for. After such an awful start, This has turned out to be the best vacation our family has ever had!!

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I just wanted to start by saying that we have been renting our home for numerous years through VRBO/Home-Away and have had several families as repeat guest year after year for their vacation. If a guest over the past 7 years has had any problem with the home, they email me and it is taken care of within 24 hours. You did notify me that the home was not clean to your standards and I responded back within 3 minutes that I would notify the cleaner and get back to you. Saturday is the busiest change over day on the OBX. I am sorry, but the 45 minutes you gave me before you texted me that you were leaving, was NOT enough time to hear back from the cleaner and resolve the issue by sending someone out to clean those areas. Unfortunately, washing every bath mat each week is not possible during the summer period, they are shaken outside between guest and replaced if dirty. I am glad you enjoyed your vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
11 2


Nearest Ferry
45 Miles
Hatteras Island

Kiteboarding, Paddle boarding


Rates & Availability

Waves House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
May 27 2017 - Sep 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
Off Season
Sep 3 2017 - Oct 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
Oct 29 2017 - Nov 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
Christmas/New Years
Dec 21 2017 - Jan 1 2018
4 night minimum stay
Winter NO POOL
Jan 2 2018 - Mar 30 2018
3 night minimum stay
Off Season
Mar 31 2018 - May 25 2018
3 night minimum stay
May 26 2018 - Aug 31 2018
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Deposit $500
Linens & Cleaning Fee $295 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner