Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Vintage Cottage on Otsego Lake Golf Course Near Glimmerglass

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8) near Cooperstown

Just steps away from the Glimmerglass Opera Festival. At the head of Otsego Lake, a short drive away from the Dreams Park and all the museums and attractions of Cooperstown, enjoy this classic and exclusive location at a very affordable price.

Wifi, wide-screen Hi-def TV with premium cable, a great porch with barbecue: enjoy this spacious home on a large private property with family or friends. It's stocked with books, games and more.

A master suite with queen bed, and a two-twin bedroom, each with an en-suite bathroom, and a double and a single bedroom with shared en-suite bathroom, additional cot available. Full eat-in-kitchen and enormous loft-like great room with dining area, fireplace, piano and several seating areas.

Uniquely located on the only private property within the grounds of the Otsego Golf Club. There is ample outdoor room for games, parking or heading out for a hike or nature walk. The north end of the lake is a natural, protected wetlands with a wide variety of birds and other wildlife. Or take advantage of offers for golfing packages for you and your group.

Double sliding doors open onto a view of Mount Wellington and the ninth green while a stone-paved porch wraps around two sides of the house which backs directly onto woods.

High ceilings and fans keep the house cool all summer, enjoying breezes coming up from the lake, and baseboard heat and radiators warm the bedrooms and bathrooms on cooler days. Air-conditioning window units in each bedroom added in 2013.

Available mid-May through mid-September. Please check our calendar for available dates.

Keywords: Phoenix cottage, weekly rentals, Cooperstown, Glimmerglass Opera, Dream Park, Baseball, Summer Holiday Rental, Golf, Otsego Lake, Self-catering holidays, cultural tourism

More Details

Owner
Sophie Clarke
Member since: 2005
Speaks: english, italian
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
July 12, 2017

About Sophie Clarke

I am a garden designer in Spoleto Italy but I grew up on the property and went to school in Cooperstown. The beauty of the lake and hills here make it a natural garden.

Sophie Clarke purchased this cottage in 1920

Why Sophie Clarke chose Central Leatherstocking

The property has been in my family for several generations and has been used as both a summer holiday retreat and a year-round home. It is both a peaceful place to immerse oneself in nature as well as a stimulating cultural center.

What makes this cottage unique

Quiet days enjoying nature can be interspersed with world-class entertainment at the opera and visits to the fascinating museums of Cooperstown. And a stroll downhill brings you to the charms of the golf course, one of the 10 oldest in the US.

Amenities

Cooperstown Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 9:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front
  • Golf Course View
Theme:
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • One is en suite to two-twin bedroom #4, one is both en suite to queen bedroom #1 and opens to great room (two doors), one is en suite to both double #3 and single #2 bedrooms (two doors).
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 twin/ single , wardrobe, dresser and shelves
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , closet, dressers
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , large closet and dressers, additional cot available
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (3), Folding Cot (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
Immediate tee times available at Otsego Golf Club, walk just 400 feet down the hill--very reasonable rates and special offers for our guests. Enjoy lunch on the Club porch with enchanting lake views.

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

60% Complete
20% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
Vintage Cottage on Otsego Lake Golf Course Near Glimmerglass
average rating of 4.2 based on 10 reviews
5

Awesome house!

  • 5 of 5

My family and our friend's family stayed here the week of July 4th. Our boys played baseball in Cooperstown and it was magical! The house is a beautiful 20 minute scenic drive to Cooperstown Dream Park! This house is great. The kitchen is well stocked with everything you need to cook with. The beds were comfortable!

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Pamela, Thank you for staying with us at Phoenix Cottage, it was a pleasure to have you and your friends and family as guests. We hope you'll return on future trips to the area soon! best wishes, Sophie & Hyde
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great cottage retreat!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here with friends while our sons played at Cooperstown. While it was about a 20 minute drive to the Dreams Park, it was a perfect place to relax and rest each day until we had to be at the ballpark again... was nice to have a quiet place to rest. This was such a beautiful area!!! This cottage had all the amenities we needed, lots of vintage charm and plenty of room for everyone to spread out. Would highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for returning to Phoenix Cottage again this year for your visit to the area--it is always a great pleasure to have guests come stay with us year after year--we hope you'll be back again before long! very best wishes to you and your family, Hyde & Sophie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Los Angeles, CA
5

This is a MUST STAY!

  • 5 of 5

This charming cottage was perfect for our family and another family in Cooperstown for the tournament. It's a little further away than some of the other homes for rent for this purpose but by far was the best. All other players' families agreed. Situated on a golf course, the cottage (very large and roomy) is nearby the lake and the view from the property is gorgeous. Wildlife abounds (dear, fox, chipmunks galore) and the night sky exquisite. There is ample room for everyone and you'll feel like you really got away! This is a MUST STAY!

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Phoenix Cottage. We're very happy to know that you and your friends enjoyed your time here and were able to relax and take advantage of the position of the house in the countryside during your visit to Cooperstown. We hope you'll be able to return before long and send you all our best wishes until then.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lousiana
1

STAY AWAY!!!!

  • 1 of 5

The worst place I have ever stayed. Air unit out in one bedroom and it never got fixed even though we told them of the problem the first day. Bugs everywhere - in the bed, on ceiling, all over the bathroom, in the furniture. TV never worked. Did not want to even sit on the furniture - needs some serious updating.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're disheartened that any guest would be so unhappy with their holiday as to leave these comments. However, to set the record straight, we did have an electrician at the cottage within 24 hours to repair the A/C unit which is working fine. We're sorry this guest was unable to get the TV to work--it was and is working fine and we would have been happy to explain how to use it had the guest taken a moment to contact us--we have now left more detailed instructions at the cottage to help future guests so we thank this guest for bringing the need for that to our attention. We're not sure what bugs are referred to: we have screens and a regular spraying schedule both indoors and out and our house cleaners are quite conscientious but apologize if they missed anything. It is a large country cottage and there are indeed insects in the countryside--we do our best to keep them outside but midges may have gotten in if they left screen doors open in the evening with the lights on inside. The house is filled with antiques and comfortable upholstered furniture, we replace items each season as they become worn by our guests but we seek to provide classic accommodations in a traditional local summer cottage style, not a modern motel room decor. We urge guests to contact us immediately during their visit with problems or questions as we strive to ensure all our guests fully enjoy their stay at Phoenix Cottage.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Connecticut
5

Surprisingly spacious

  • 5 of 5

Surprisingly large 'cottage' in a very convenient location with lovely views. Potential problem of a very cold early fall night was remedied by the arrival of space heaters for all the bed rooms. No complaints from our Cooperstown bound wedding crew. Although we did not try, it looked as if canoe access to the lake would be difficult. However, for golf lovers, one of the country's oldest courses is just outside the door. A car is essential.

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Outstanding stay at Phoenix

  • 5 of 5

I can't say enough positive things about our stay at Phoenix cottage. We stayed there this summer for my son's trip with his baseball team to Cooperstown Dreams Park. From the moment we booked the cottage, all throughout our stay, and through departure, the owners were an absolute pleasure to deal with. Four of us dads and 3 younger siblings shared the cottage and there was plenty of room. It was a convenient 20 minute drive to CPD, and only 10 minutes to downtown Cooperstown. The kids canoed, swam in the lake, and played outside the cottage every day. The dads enjoyed cooking out every night and hanging on the covered back patio. Played golf a couple of times and really enjoyed the 9 hole classic layout. We will be back in 3 years time for my youngest son to experience CPD, and I KNOW WHERE I WILL STAY! Thank you Sophie and Hyde for sharing your home.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're so happy to hear how much your group enjoyed your stay at the cottage. We do try to make sure all our guests can relax in comfort amidst this unique natural setting and have everything they need to unwind at the end of a day at the baseball fields, visiting museums or before an evening at the opera. We'll look forward to your return visit!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
65 Miles
Albany International Airport
Nearest Golf
100 Metres
Otsego Golf Club
Nearest Train
34 Miles
Utica
Nearest Restaurant
100 Metres
Otsego Golf Club
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
Glimmerglass State Park
Car: necessary

Glimmerglass Opera 1 mile (20-minute walk), Cooperstown Dreams Park 14 miles (22-minute drive), Cooperstown 9 miles (15-minute drive).

Photos

Rates & Availability

Cooperstown Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Early Summer 2017
May 19 2017 - Jul 27 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
5 night minimum stay
$500
$1,800
$6,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
Hall of Fame 2017
Jul 28 2017 - Jul 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$1,600
$3,200
 
 
Late Summer 2017
Jul 31 2017 - Aug 31 2017
Changeover Day: Friday
5 night minimum stay
$500
$1,800
$6,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall 2017
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 16 2017
2 night minimum stay
$500
$1,800
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$500
$1,800
$6,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Final Housecleaning $150
Tax Rate 4.0%

Security deposit $250; returned within 7 days of end of rental period.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable