Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Fabulous 5 Star Mountain Home.Easy Ski.Awesome Views.4BR/3BA

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 2.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 10)

Nestled in the mountains directly facing the 10 mile range this luxurious South facing house basks in all day sunshine. Offering dramatic views of the town of Breckenridge below, as well as the entire ski area. Approximately a 5 min drive from the centre of town, 3 min drive from the ski gondola and a 5 min drive from the Jack Nicklaus golf course. Or take the free shuttle bus (stop at the bottom of our hill).

The Bothy offers the highest quality appointments, fixtures and appliances including flat screen home theatre package, Bose music system, free WIFI, heated 1 car garage and mud room for ski and outdoor equipment.

The Great Room comprises of an 8 person dining table, sociable gourmet kitchen with large island, 18 ft moss rock fireplace and a comfortable seating area, all of which is immersed in spectacular scenery.

The Hunter is a large double bedroom with patio doors opening up to the spacious deck and hot tub area.

The Cowboy is another generous double with ensuite bathroom.

The Bunk room sleeps 4.

The Master suite enjoys a spacious bathroom and dressing room.

Soak up the stars in the large 8 person hot tub and decide on tomorrows run!

Keywords: house, home, villa, lodge, chalet, cabin, bothy, retreat, haven

More Details

Owner
Horace London
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 6, 2017

About Horace London

We are a modern family who enjoy comfort and luxury.

Horace London purchased this house in 2011

Why Horace London chose Forest Hills

I enjoyed wonderful Breckenridge vacations for years before finally deciding to buy my own home. Unrivalled skiing and snow pursuits as well as blissful balmy summers really transform this charming old gold mining town into an all round great choice for everyone.

What makes this house unique

You will be spoiled for choice while staying at The Bothy. Whether you are feeling energetic or seeking to chill out there are a range of options on your doorstep. A 3 min drive will find you at the ski gondola ready to tackle the infamous '10 mile range', or relax in the hot tub on our South facing deck and marvel at the mountains and ski runs spread out on a platter in front of you.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had the best stay at The Bothy! It made our first family vacation here to CO cozy and relaxing. Your home is absolutely beautiful, perfect location and very clean. We REALLY hit the jackpot with your baby crib and high chair accommodations for Peter. Sleeping in a real bed and not a pack 'n play makes such a difference! We look forward to our next trip to beautiful and inviting Breckenridge and The Bothy. Many Thanks!
May 2015
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Forest Hills House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 (Master) - toilet , tub , shower , Large deep bath, separate shower, twin sinks
    Bathroom 2 (Cowboy room) - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , Ensuite to the Cowboy room, shower over bath
    Bathroom 1 (Powder room) - toilet , shower , Hand hammered copper sink, large shower cubicle
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 (master) - 1 king , walk in closet and ensuite jacuzzi bath, twin sinks, shower
    Bedroom 2 (Cowboy room) - 1 queen , Ensuite full bath
    Bedroom 3 (The Hunter) - 1 queen , French doors lead out to deck and hot tub
    Bedroom 4 (The Bunk room) - 2 bunk bed , 2 bunks, sleeps 4 people
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Baby Cribs (1), Bunk Beds (2) Crib on site, available on request
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Large Ski/mud room attached to garage to allow storage of ski/outdoor equipment. Separate laundry room off kitchen for convenience.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Fabulous 5 Star Mountain Home.Easy Ski.Awesome Views.4BR/3BA
average rating of 4.814815 based on 28 reviews
1

Mediocre property / terrible owner - 1 Star is way too generous

  • 1 of 5

No communication from owner to property mgr of our rental - thus, when we arrived house was filthy from previous occupant, no cleaning had been done, etc. Amazing that could happen in this day/age. Thus, entire first day/evening was wasted trying to get property mgr to send over cleaning crew and then waiting for crew to complete cleaning (which left alot to be desired...).

Main bathroom shower had a previous leak which resulted in ceiling falling down in downstairs entryway- thus, property mgr advised we could not use this shower which effectively negated using the master bedroom.

House looks directly west into setting sun. No window coverings at all in those windows in kitchen / family room. Thus at least in summertime (mid-August for us) when sun is out (say 95% of the time), the kitchen/family rooms are inhabitable as the sun is blinding and temps in house given no a/c are pushing 85+ degrees. Ridiculous that a minimum investment in blinds has not been made by owner. However, if you want a sunburn / sunstroke, this is the place to go.

The owner subsequently emailed me to advise we would be issued a credit for the various inconveniences we incurred in our 1 week stay. Needless to say, owner lied and has never issued the credit. Quite the deceptive trade practice and amazing that VRBO would even accept owners of such low integrity pushing mediocre products on their website. I would suggest VRBO Legal Dept look into the reputational risk it suffers in doing business with this owner. As an aside, I am also contemplating the filing of a complaint with the Colorado Attorney General's office on this matter.

Needless to say, a renter should avoid this property/owner as there are too many other quality properties in Summit County to deal with this loser. We've rented numerous other quality houses over the years in Breckenridge and have never had any issues even close to the ineptitude, problems (and fraudulent statements) we encountered with this owner/property.

  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are deeply saddened and disappointed to read your review. We 100% hold our hands up and admit that management dropped the ball for your arrival, and the house was not cleaned in time for your early check in. We did rectify that within a couple of hours. It is also indeed true that we suffered an unavoidable leak, which did break through the ceiling in a small area at the entrance hall, approx 4ft x 4ft. These things happen, and is the very reason we all have home insurance. We are pleased to say it looks good as new now and we got to the bottom of the leak. It did not affect your use of the master suite other than you being asked politely to avoid that shower. There was a full jacuzzi tub, his and her sinks and of course WC, dressing room and bedroom at your disposal. It is unfortunate you will have had to shower in one of the other bathrooms. We apologise but it was necessary. Your term 'fraudulent statements' was troubling. We have been open and honest and responsive with you and you did receive a $300 credit via PayPal for your inconvenience of the cleaning and of course the leak. We have proof that you did receive that. You also didn't like the sunshine, it is the very reason many others return year after year. We have a ceiling fan, floor standing fans and of course the sliding doors across the great room open right up. We apologise that you found the weather too hot. We might look into a blinds system this year for the house. We feel the credit we have issued and the genuine apology is adequate for your inconvenience. We also have 27 other 5 star reviews that we urge any future renters to read..
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
4

Wonderful location, view, and house...few small things to fix

  • 4 of 5

The location of the house was great with just a 5 minute drive to downtown Breckenridge. The view from the back deck was absolutely gorgeous and you could see all of the slopes. The hot tub was fun, the gas grill was convenient for cooking, and most of the house was in excellent shape.

There were some minor annoyances with the house though. The master bathroom shower had a leak and could not be used. The property manager said they were going to get this fixed when there was an opening between guests. Also the screen doors to the back deck were broken and hard to open/close. One of the windows was also broken and was open all night which made the room very cold. You had to go outside the window and push it shut to close it.

Other than that, everything else in the house was in great shape. Overall this was a good place to stay and if those above items were addressed, it would be perfect.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful home, better view

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely perfect, my wife and I plus another couple could not have been more pleased. Just 10 minutes to Breckenridge and amazing sights.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Spring break 2017

  • 5 of 5

Great home with plenty of space. Just minutes from the slopes,Breckenridge and Frisco. Loved the privacy!

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Little Rock
5

Perfect, couldn't of been any better

  • 5 of 5

The Bothy stay was just as pictured, and described. We loved everything about our stay! Perfect view, great location, and plenty of room for 3 couples to have a perfect vacation. In fact I'm not sure there's a better view in Breckenridge than what we saw from the patio. Hot tub was a hit as well. Thanks for a great stay, it made the trip amazing!

  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Stunning!

  • 5 of 5

The Bothy was simply perfection. Beautiful views and a welcoming home. My family stayed here over the Thanksgiving holiday week and it was perfect for the 10 of us. Close proximity to downtown and the slopes, but just secluded enough to feel far removed. We will be coming back for sure! Also, Susan, the owner, of the home was so friendly and helpful in planning our vacation - she does not disappoint!

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Car: recommended

Many local gold mines offering tours, outlet shopping centre

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $750
Cleaning fee $225 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.68%

All quotes are subject to change and valid for 3 working days. Base rate quoted does not reflect rates at other peak times of the year. Always email or call for a fully comprehensive and inclusive quote.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.