Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Jay Peak: 'On the Rocks': French Mountain Cottage

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

One of the finest rentals in the Jay Peak area. Newly renovated from top to bottom.

The perfect place to relax or entertain.

Sking, snowboarding, golf & waterpark minutes away at Jay Peak

Vermont's snowmobile trail (VAST) 1/4 mile downhill

Hazen's Notch Cross-Country Sking Center 1/8 mile uphill

Kitchen, dining and living room create large open area

Enjoy the fireplace while dining, reading a book or watching TV.

Downstairs bedroom has it's own fireplace and bathroom. Bathroom includes heated floors and large marble walk-in shower

Upstairs bedroom has king size bed, 12 ft. vaulted ceilings, and french doors that open to the mountain views. This bath also has heated floors and a large limestone walk-in shower.

Enjoy the pool in the summer, or take a nap in the loggia hammock.

Take in the view, use the grill, and dine alfresco on the deck.

Keywords: Charming, relaxing, many amenities, year round, newly renovated, mountain views, pool, loggia, huge deck, marble and limestone custom showers

More Details

Owner
Laurie Gove
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 3, 2017

About Laurie Gove

We purchased this property as the former Zach's On The Rock's. We could not save the restaurant, but renovated the house and the cottage. We reside in the house so are close by to handle your every need.

Laurie Gove purchased this cottage in 2002

Amenities

Montgomery Center Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
Notes:
Marble and limestone custom showers, 2 fireplaces, 60' flat screen TV, stainless kitchen w/soapstone counters, tile and pine flooring

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(34 traveler reviews)

100% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Jay Peak: 'On the Rocks': French Mountain Cottage
average rating of 5.0 based on 34 reviews
5

More Than 5 Stars

  • 5 of 5

We were fortunate enough to have 5 glorious weeks this summer in this adorable and delightful cottage. First of all, the cottage is the perfect place for a summer or winter vacation for 4 people. Each of the bathrooms is en suite with large showers and even heated floors for winter use. The upstairs master b.r. is so special, it was an “experience” each time we walked up the spiral staircase to it; and to top it off, there is a Juliet balcony there; so when you open the door you have a perfect view of the mountains. The cottage has top-of-the-line appliances and a gas stove [a treat for us]. The beds were comfortable and the sheets soft [we are sheet snobs]. Because the living, dining area and kitchen are one large room, no one will miss out on the fun or the crackling fire in the fireplace! There is a huge back porch, overlooking the pool, the woods and the mountains beyond. It has a table seating 6, and a BBQ grill, so you can grill and enjoy your dinner outside too. Jay Peak is a few minutes up the mountain, offering more than just a water park. Take the tram up the mountain to the top and even have dinner up there on Friday nights. You are also only about 35 minutes from Canada, so remember your passports, as you will be treating yourself to a little bit of France in any of the border towns [like Sutton]. The owners of the cottage, Laurie and Les are THE perfect landlords and can answer any questions you may have. I would not hesitate to recommend On the Rocks to anyone, as you will not be disappointed. This French-style cottage is sheer heaven in the mountains of Vermont.

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Marsha. We enjoyed having you both as guests, and you inspired us to see more of Vermont. Hope our paths cross again. Les
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Cottage in the woods and a very nice town

  • 5 of 5

My girlfriend and I rented this cottage as a weekend getaway out of the city and we had a great time. The cottage is beautiful and easy to find. The town center up the street has everything you may need and everyone we talked to was extremely friendly. Sitting by the fire in the living room was a great way to spend the weekend.

Kitchen had absolutely everything you would need to cook. However there was only a convection oven/microwave and no conventional oven. There are instructions to use it, and it works well, but I don't know how cooking time are affected.

Showers are awesome. We LOVED the denim couch. Beds are very comfortable. Spectacular views. Very quiet area.

We popped into the pub across from the grocery store and were warmly greeted by their beautiful mutt they just rescued. They recommended us to the diner down the street where we had a great meal and even better conversation with the staff and many other customers. It is a very inviting town.

If you are staying here during the winter be aware that the upstairs has little to no heating. There was a small space heater, but I can not imagine it warming the room. Even after the downstairs was all warmed up and a fire was going the upstairs was still frigid. The addition of a ductless split with a heat pump for the upstairs would make it perfect. If there had been more of us this would've affected our stay, but with just the two of us we just stayed downstairs. The upstairs is gorgeous though, so it is a shame to not be able to comfortably use it.

The only other downside we experienced was that the fire plac in the bedroom was not functional, or at least not set up to be used at the time of our stay. The flew was stuffed with insulation and there was no metal grate to put logs on in the fireplace. This may just be because it is used less. It may be functional.

I would love to stay here in the summer. The backyard looks awesome, especially with the pool open I am sure. Nice back porch and a grill outside, so I am sure it would make for some really nice summer days and nights.

Would absolutely recommend this place and would love to go back.

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so sorry about the heat upstairs. As it turns out both the bathroom, and bedroom heat were off, we wish we had known it was an easy fix.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome location very private and secluded, yet close to town

  • 5 of 5

We had a beautiful vacation and enjoyed the changing of the leaves. The King bed was very comfortable and everything else was excellent. I would recommend this chalet to anyone looking for a wonderful place to stay and within easy driving to all the North East Kingdom has to offer. Thank you Laurie & Les for letting us stay at your home.

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great for getting away from everything

  • 5 of 5

The cottage is very clean and has all the conveniences. Beautiful kitchen and bathrooms. Large tv with dish for many channels. The spiral staircase is very cool and 2nd floor is very private. A little hard to get suitcase up though. Good trails at Anderson farm in walking distance.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great vacation rental!!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had a great vacation at "On the Rocks" cottage. We enjoyed fishing on the Trout river, the indoor waterpark at Jay Peak, boating on Lake Champlain, hikes on the nearby trails and the kids had a great time in the pool! Its close proximity to Montreal made for an easy day trip. Les and Laurie were very accommodating regarding our requests. We highly recommend "On the Rocks" cottage and plan to visit again soon.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Gorgeous.....

  • 5 of 5

The property was stunning cant wait to stay again.

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Elsido, you two are welcome back anytime. Les Gove
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Burlington, Vermont
Nearest Ferry
40 Miles
Lake Champlain Islands
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Jay Peak Resort
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Belfry Restaurant
Nearest Ski
10 Miles
Jay Peak Resort
Car: necessary

Cross-country ski center up the road 1/2 mile and snowmobile trails 1 mile away

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties