Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Year Round Cozy Cabin. Top of Terry Peak. Heart of the Hills.

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Ask about our Military and State of SD employee discount!

Swoosh! Swoosh! A perfect little ski cabin - so cozy and so close to the slopes!! You will love this location! This prime location in the heart of the Northern Hills allows you access to year-round fun, and is a perfect 'home base' for your Black Hills adventures.

Newly remodeled interior. The formal bedroom has a queen bed and bunk bed, as well as a full private bathroom with tub/shower. The living area sleeps four more with a murphy bed (full bed pulls down from the wall), and a queen sofa sleeper. There is a second bathroom off the living room with a shower. If you bring little ones, we also have a pack-n-play available.

After a fun-filled day or skiing or hiking in the summer, you can prepare the perfect meal in the fully-furnished kitchen. Or grab a drink and grill steaks on the deck while you watch the deer wander through the yard!

Please note: Four-wheel drive vehicles are required for winter rentals. Terry Peak receives a lot of snow during the ski season!

Keywords: Black Hills, Cabin, Ski, Mountain, Spearfish Canyon, Waterfalls, ATV, Terry Peak, Deadwood, Lead, Chalet, House, snowboard, snowmobile, hike, South Dakota

More Details

Owner
Amber
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 21, 2017

About Amber

We have lived in South Dakota our whole lives, and the Black Hills has always been very special to us. We have three young boys and we love to travel as a family, which is why it is important to us that our cabin is accommodating to vacationers traveling with kids.

Amber purchased this cabin in 2011

Why Amber chose Black Hills

Location, location, location! This cabin is positioned on the best ski hill in the state and it is very convenient for skiing, snowmobiling, hiking, mountain biking, or anything else you want to do in the hills.

What makes this cabin unique

So close to Terry Peak! Aside from skiing, the cabin is within short driving distance to Deadwood/Lead, Sturgis,Spearfish Canyon, and lots of scenic adventures in the hills. You can go anywhere from here!

Guestbook comments from the owner

The cabin was wonderful! It worked very well for our family. The kitchen had everything we needed, and we cooked there quite a few times...The icemaker in the freezer was really nice for filling our water bottles before we headed out in the mornings.



The bathrooms were very functional, and there was a lot of storage. It was nice to have two bathrooms, one for the kids and one for us.



The bedroom worked well for the kids... It was really hot in the Hills the week we were there, but the cabin was comfortable with the air movement from the fans.



The Murphy bed in the living room was very comfortable. A couple of the kids slept in the hide-a-bed some nights, and it slept fine for them.



You did a great job remodeling the cabin!...The décor and colors are very nice, and there is a lot of storage. We’ll definitely keep this in mind for future trips!
Jul 2012
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Lead Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , off master bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , off the living room area
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 bunk bed
  • The bedroom has a queen bed and a set of bunk beds. The living room has a Murphy Bed (full), and a sofa sleeper (queen). A pack and play crib is also available.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

58% Complete
25% Complete
9% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
Year Round Cozy Cabin. Top of Terry Peak. Heart of the Hills.
average rating of 4.354839 based on 32 reviews
3

Small cabin with enough space for two families

  • 3 of 5

Proximity to ski slopes and lead is the best part. Property needs maintenance

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Cozy cabin

  • 4 of 5

Clean has everything needed

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

It really is Cozy!

  • 5 of 5

My hubby and I recently stayed at the Cozy Coyote. It is a very nice little cabin!! It is decorated with a classy 'cabiny' feel. Cute little touches making one feel like you are at home.

We planned our little get away on very late notice but Amber worked with us and was very kind about the last minutes reservations. She answered quickly when I had a couple of questions. Loved having a dishwasher!! Pretty handy with our coming and going schedule. Kitchen had several little 'gadgets' for our use. We ate very simply so didn't require much but had what we needed. Furniture in the living room was cozy so after a long day of activity it was nice to crash on the couch and veg. Nice bathroom - never used an inline hot water heater before but worked great!! It was nice after getting chilled down from being in the cold and snow to take a hot! shower. The bed was comfy and extra blankets were available for that warm sleep feeling.

We really did enjoy our stay here and would highly recommend it. It has what you need to be very comfortable and cozy!! With the niceties we people like to have. :)

Great location too! If you like skiing, Terry Peak is almost walking distance. Deadwood and Lead are just minutes away.

Cozy Coyote is really that - cozy!! No coyotes :) You will like it!

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

This place was clean but it definitely needs some updating.

  • 3 of 5

Location is great. The cabin was clean but it needs a few more things...like blinds on the windows.

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5

Rental was very clean in a lovely location. We had a wonderful time and the cabin was well prepared for our stay. Everything worked - no glitches! We felt it was a bargain and delighted that we did not stay in a hotel or motel in town. This was a far superior experience to "motel life". Would rent it again on our next trip to Terry Peak.

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
HEYWORTH, ILLINOIS
2

The key work is CABIN!

  • 2 of 5

I have been using VRBO properties for more than a decade and have never written a bad review. Our initial reaction to this one was disappointment. It in no way compares to any other rental properties I have stayed at through VRBO before. Maybe the most important word to remember is "cabin". It was ready for us at check in time, the directions provided were very clear, we received prompt responses via text when we had concerns or questions, and it was clean. Those were the positives.

The disappointing parts were as follows . . . It was very dark (dark paint, dark curtains, dark furnishings) with no real way to lighten things up. The windows are extremely old (no locks) & most won't open or shut easily or without props. There is no air conditioning, so opening the windows would be very useful. There is no screen door off kitchen to side porch, so difficult again to provide any air flow without bugs. Also, a screen door would allow for conversation between those on porch & those preparing meals in kitchen (& let in some light). The living room was satisfactory, although also very dark. There were 5 accessible channels on t.v. which was fine, we were not in the Black Hills to watch t.v. The queen bed is Ridiculous! No one can turn over without waking the other sleeper. VERY SQUEAKY! The sheets, quilts, discolored towels, etc. appeared very old. There was no cover plate on the electrical outlet in the bedroom which seems a small thing, but draws your attention to the wiring & made me question the age/safety of the wiring itself. The yard is weeds/wildflowers, which had been wacked near the house to make the appearance of a yard . . . not a big deal in my book/or in this area, just an observation. There were specific directions for the disposal of garbage at the end of the week (which we complied with) however the garbage did not look like it had been picked up for many weeks, judging from the pile at the top of the driveway. We even watched the garbage truck bypass the pile while we were there. I contacted the owner about this. She said she made a call, that they would be right there to get it. We had to check out and leave before we saw this happen. As you sit upon the porch you look out at the neighboring properties which are obviously cared for in a different manner. This seems like a fine cabin for a young family to enjoy as their own, but in my opinion it is not close to rental quality. Quite a Disappointment!

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We always appreciate input from our renters, and we would encourage all renters to let us know if any suggestions or concerns during their stay, rather than after, so we can do our best to be of service. Prospective renters will find the cabin (color scheme, bedding, yard, etc), to be exactly as pictured. As indicated in the cabin description, we do not have cable television and we do not have air conditioning (like almost every cabin in that area). We do treat it as a cabin, so the "yard" is kept in wild flower condition rather than being manicured like one in town. All renters should read the description and view the pictures in order to manage their expectations prior to staying.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Point of Interest
Cozy Coyote Cabin
Nearest Point of Interest
Terry Peak Ski Lodge

Photos

Rates & Availability

Lead Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$125
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $80
Damage Deposit $100

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Available
Unavailable