check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Spacious Mountain Home! Bring Family, Friends -- Everybody!!

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 7
Bathrooms5
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
14
Bedrooms
7
Bathrooms
5
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

House, 7 Bedrooms, 5.5 Baths, (Sleeps 14)

Secluded mountaintop retreat with space for the whole family. 7 Bedrooms / 5 1/2 Baths. Separate family rooms for adults and kids. Double decks with mountain views. This is a wonderful house for a family reunion, a group of friends, a girl's (or boy's) weekend away, or for a couple of families to share. Relax in the clean mountain air after a hard day of skiing or hiking at renowned Wintergreen mountain resort. Choose from two golf courses, a world class tennis facility (consistently ranked in the top 50 in the U.S.), skiing (or snow-tubing). Hike the Appalachian Trail, the Blue Ridge Parkway, or Skyline Drive. Visit the spa, two outdoor pools with tennis courts and picnic tables, or the nature center. Drop the kids off at the Treehouse for a day of fun activities while the adults ski or hike. Choose to visit in July or August and attend the Wintergreen Music Festival. So much to do (even without the two nearby lakes, the Shakespeare Theater, or Monticello). Or just kick back on the deck with the mountain views and a glass of wine from the local wineries.

Keywords: cabin, home, retreat, getaway

More Details

Owner
Steve
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, french, german
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 17, 2017

Why Steve chose Wintergreen

Our neighbors have a home on the Wintergreen mountain. When we visited them we loved the resort and the area so much we had to find a place here. There's so much to do and it's just a great place to hang out. Just sitting out on the deck, the cares of the world melt away. Sometimes we hardly leave the house when come to Wintergreen - it's just so relaxing.

What makes this house unique

Our home is about two minutes from the lodge with its skiing, restaurants, the outward bound center and kids treehouse.

We have guest passes that provide access to two pools (one on the mountain and one in the valley) with picnic areas. The pool in the valley also has a tennis court.

Our home is really well designed for families. We usually let the kids hang out in the lower level family room with its giant TV while the adults are in the upper family room, dining room, and kitchen. With three levels and 7 bedrooms it's easy for everyone to have their own private space when they need it but to be together in the large open floor plan when they want. It's the best of both worlds.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(22 traveler reviews)

Spacious Mountain Home! Bring Family, Friends -- Everybody!!
average rating of 4.2727275 based on 22 reviews
3

Big house, great views and location

  • 3 of 5

We stayed at the Blue Ridge Haven over NYE. The house was plenty big and a really well layed out space. There were a few things that needed to be updated (shelves in fridge, etc) and a really good spring cleaning. Otherwise the house was perfect! One other thing I will comment on, and this is at no fault of the owners, the house isn't super toddle friendly. We had 3 two year olds with us. The open backed steps and wide railings kept us on our toes, but they listen well so it was not a problem. Would stay here again but I'd leave the little kids at home.

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Good location, good views, house needs some better upkeep.

  • 3 of 5

We had a good Thanksgiving at this house which is conveniently located and it has a 1st floor master bedroom which was great for our mother who does not get around very well. The heat worked well, TV and Wi-Fi were operational and the view is very nice. The upkeep however is lacking in that there were many small items which need to be addressed: a piece of baseboard not attached with wires showing behind it, the front hall closet door was not installed, multiple windows that were stuck, sliding doors that were difficult to operate, multiple refrigerator door-shelves were cracked and some other small items that indicated some additional maintenance is needed. Moreover, the cleanliness of the house when we arrived was average and those first impressions are important. If the owner wants higher than 3 star ratings then the aforementioned issues should be addressed.

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Blue Ridge Haven provided a cozy and pleasant atmosphere for our fall reunion of old friends.

  • 5 of 5

From the initial reservation, payment and smooth arrival, Blue Ridge Haven was easy to rent . The property managers had left their card for questions which was great as water heaters needed to be reset. Although the home was older , we loved the plentiful bathrooms and cozy atmosphere. We loved the 2 floors especially the downstairs room with cable TV for those who wanted to watch football. The kitchen was functional with lots of pots for cooking, but needs more silverware and hot pads. We were blessed with great weather and loved all the outdoor furniture.

  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

7 years ago - Good. Came back and will never come again! Owner not responsive! Not recommended!!!!

  • 1 of 5

When we arrived to put items in the fridge, the fridge was warm. I turned it to the coldest setting and it never got cold during our 3 day stay. We made Jell-o shots Fri. and they still weren’t gelled on Mon., what a waste! The ice maker didn’t work. After I complained, the property managers (PM) brought ice.

There were about 10 of these nasty snake-like worm things in the basement bedroom. When I told the PM she said, "you are in the mountains, I wouldn’t be surprised if there are mice." I don’t care if I was in the mountains, these things should not be curled up on the basement floor!

There were old block TVs in the rooms that were fuzzy and one not working at all. The PM tried to fix the one that was not working and couldn’t. No batteries in the remotes.

There were spider webs in the tubs and all around the bathroom baseboard. I didn’t expect the ceiling fan to be sparling, but the dust was piled up on that and a mirror as you walk in the front door.

While we were there it rained pretty hard. A pool of water was coming in from the basement door. The PM put towels down to soak up the water. The wind was blowing pretty hard too. The screen from the deck door kept falling. After numerous times of putting it back up, we just left it down.

Saturday night it was cold, so we adjusted the temperature and noticed it was not getting any warmer. We turned all the knobs as high as they could go and it still did not get warmer. I pretty much froze Saturday night. I waited until about 7:30 the next morning to call the PM and she came to assist. She realized the circuit breaker was turned off. She turned it back on for us. I was not happy with the comment "it was on when I checked the house before you arrived." I’m saying, “Why would someone turn the circuits off so we could freeze?”

The rental of the property advertises a pool. I went to Wintergreen property management, who use to manage the property to get some information. I was informed the shuttle that picked us up the last time we stayed at the property was not available for our use since the owner no longer use them to manage the property. We were also informed we would have to pay $10 each to get in the pool. The house sleeps 14, but there were only enough passes for 8.

The beds were very uncomfortable and some didn’t have a fitted sheet.

The PMs tried to accommodate us by fixing the issues they could. My cousin left a couple of items there and the PM was nice to ship for free.

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're sorry this guest did not enjoy their stay. However, we believe this to be a 'revenge review'. The guest told us they were bringing 12 people to our home that sleeps 14. Instead, they brought 21 people. We provided a guest review indicating the situation (we have never negatively reviewed a guest before but this was egregious) and the next day this review appeared. Rather than detailing the numerous falsehoods in the review, we encourage our future guests to read all the 4 and 5 star reviews we have received and ask themselves if this guest is really credible.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
virginia beach, va
5

Great house for family reunion

  • 5 of 5

The house was perfect for 14 people. We all had plenty of room and the house is in great shape, great views and plenty of room on the deck for hanging out.

  • Submitted: May 25, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Richmond, Virginia
4

Great house for a large group.

  • 4 of 5

My tennis team of 14 stayed here for the second time in Feb 2016. It's really a great house with lots of beds and baths. House overall is in good condition with a few repairs needed, (a few kitchen chairs were broken). The driveway is a little steep and needed a few repairs as you pull in. The house has great views, hot tub would be a plus! I would definitely recommend this house. I'm sure we will stay here next year.

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Map

zipline, bull riding, game room, bunji trampoline, lakes, music festival, wine tasting, rock wall, children's activities and camps

Photos

Rates & Availability

Pedlars Edge House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Off Season
Mar 15 - Nov 15
2 night minimum stay
$500
From
$550
Fri,Sat
$2,800
 
 
Ski Season
Nov 16 - Mar 14
2 night minimum stay
$600
From
$650
Fri,Sat
$3,675
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 10.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Pedlars Edge House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Resort
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Spa
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 11 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
Bedrooms:
  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , master suite on main level
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , Master Suite on top level
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , skylight window (top level)
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , shares bathroom with bedroom 3 (top level)
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single , large bedroom on lower level with adjacent bathroom
    Bedroom 6 - 2 twin/ single , shares hallway and bath with jacuzzi tub with bedroom 7
    Bedroom 7 - 2 twin/ single , lower level
  • King size beds (2) 2 bedrooms have king beds, Twin or Single Beds (1) 5 bedrooms have twin beds
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Indoor Pool
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
The house has a large front foyer with room to store skis and coats. There is a basketball goal in the parking area.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties