Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Ocean Front Cottage Charm Relaxing Porch, Pet Friendly, Wifi

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Ocean Front House, Just remodeled the kitchen with brand new Stainless Fridge, GE Stove, Microwave and dishwasher, Big Flat Screen TV's in Every Room, Free Wi-Fi

This one-level beach cottage includes brand new high thread count (450) all cotton sheets, linens and towels... cable TV/DVD... high speed internet.. a variety of cards, & board games for your family to enjoy...all at no added cost. We have also added 2 more rocking chairs to the porch which has sun and shade along with the picnic table and 4 adirondack chairs you may never leave this spot! Also for guest use are 3 bike cruisers and 4 chairs so you won't have to haul all that beach equipment from home. We try to keep beach toys available for your use as well!!

The kitchen is well-equipped with all new plates, pots, pans and gadgets so you can can easily whip up a meal from the abundance of fresh, local seafood and produce available on the island.

The master bedroom has a king size bed where you will wake up looking out over the ocean! The second bedroom has a queen and twin bed and the 3rd has a double.

Walking distance to City Center with 5 Public Tennis Courts, skate board park, soccer/ball field, new playground, pizza place, ice cream shop, movie rentals, and T-shirt/souvenir beach shop.

A perfect get-away for families and couples any time of year! Need to de-stress and unwind, then its time for a beach vacation.

Keywords: Ocean Front, 3 Bedroom, hardwood floors & beams, huge porch partly covered, public tennis courts, skate board park, Free WiFi, Golf, Restaurants Galore, HDTV, one story, cottage charm!

More Details

Owner
Sarah Davidson
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 24, 2017

About Sarah Davidson

We are an active traveling family with 6 vacation properties for rent. This ocean front house, and another 6 houses down the street, a Townhome in Cottonwood, Utah (8 miles from Alta, Snowbird, Solitude and Brighton) and 3 Slopeside Condos in Wintergreen, Virginia. Vacation Year Round in one of our wonderful homes! We offer 10% discounts for customers who stay in two our homes in the same year. We are pet friendly because ours are apart of the family. We love to ski and play tennis as a family, but travel frequently for Sarah (Mom) who is a frequent triathlon competitor.

Sarah Davidson purchased this house in 2011

Why Sarah Davidson chose Oak Island

The View is Amazing. The ocean runs East to West so you get an Ocean Sunrise and Ocean Sunset. Conveniently located a half hour off Interstate 40.

Tennis For Free..Just 3 blocks from Free Public Tennis Courts that are in Great Shape!

For Golfers...The Oak Island Golf Club welcomes you to a coastal Carolina golfing experience. But summer vacationers to Oak Island’s vacation community in Brunswick County enjoy the relaxed atmosphere and warm southern hospitality that are hallmarks of Oak Island GC. The 18-hole, 6,720 yard George Cobb design provides an exciting adventure, round after round.

What makes this house unique

Rest, Beach, Bike, Tennis, Golf, Walks and Plenty of Night Life. Great for Families. The Wednesday Farmers market is 3 blocks away--so fun! Also in this area is a skate board park and children's playground!

We have another ocean front home 7 houses down the street if you are bringing more family and friends along--togetherness, but not too close!!

Map

There is a skateboard park .6miles from the house, playground

Amenities

Long Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , This is located in Master bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single , Middle room
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , Street side
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master faces the ocean with bathroom
  • King size beds (1), Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (1), Child Beds (1) roll away
Entertainment:
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
2 bikes, 4 beach chairs, beach toys

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(60 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
16% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
Ocean Front Cottage Charm Relaxing Porch, Pet Friendly, Wifi
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 60 reviews
5

Cottage was just as advertised.

  • 5 of 5

It was a wonderful vacation on the beach.

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Frank, Thank you for taking your time and reviewing you stay! We never want any surprises for our guests so "cottage was just as advertised" is always music to my ears! I also love hearing that you had a wonderful vacation, also our mission for all guests! This is your vacation after all and that is very important and we take that seriously. That is why we provide bikes, beach chairs and try and keep all appliances new and working great! Hope to see you come again. Take Care, Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Raleigh
5

Great beachfront cottage

  • 5 of 5

I love Oak Island, I have been visiting there for the last 8 years and this was a great place to stay. The cottage is nicely decorated and the kitchen is well stocked with pots, pans, and dishes. The best part of the house is the extended deck overlooking the ocean - what a wonderful sight to wake up to every morning. Nothing like a good cup of coffee on one of the rocking chairs to enjoy the sunrise. The location is great, easy access to Island Way, our favorite restaurant on the island, and to the Food Lion to pick up some groceries. And I so appreciate that this cottage is pet friendly, my dog loved both the beach and laying on the deck.

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Older 50's cottage, we were looking for pet friendly.

  • 4 of 5

We were a bit disappointed upon arrival but the longer we were there the more the old cottage grew on us. Perfect for pet owners. There is a lot more renovating needed but having grown up on that beach, I enjoyed the blast from the past! High tides came around sand dune during second week and flooded front stairs but public access is only two cottages up the beach so we just had to walk down street instead normal walk to beach from stairs. Not a five star property but perfectly acceptable for a vacation at the beach.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Pat, Glad the cottage grew on you. Hard not to enjoy yourself when you sit on the covered deck and listen to the ocean. We have done several projects since we purchased the house. We really listen to our renters and their feedback has driven much of what we have done. I would love to hear where your initial "disappointment" came from because I am sure that would be the next thing to get fixed on our list. Best, Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

So convenient and sweet!

  • 4 of 5

We had such a great time at this house! It was right on the beach, so it was easy to run back and forth to the house. The beds were very comfortable and we really enjoyed our stay!

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Mary, I know you enjoyed the proximity of the beach to the house. It is so close and as you say "easy to run back and forth" for forgotten items or snacks! Also great for after dinner walks on the beach as well! It is a lovely time of year to be at the beach! Glad you found us on VRBO and hope you return. Kind Regards, Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

As advertised

  • 5 of 5

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Great house and a great location.

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It sounds like you all had a great trip! So glad it suited you and your family while you had time to relax and enjoy each other and the beach! Sounds like you guys will be back! Take Care, Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Perfect for a friend reunion - right on the beach

  • 4 of 5

Just checked out today after a 5-day weekend with my gal pals (we are 3 women in our 40's) and the house was perfect for our needs. We loved that it was right on the beach! The house is not fancy but it was as described. The washing machine came in handy, the kitchen was fine for cooking basics, and the porch was the perfect spot for watching the sun set.

Since it's late March and we had mid-70-degree weather, we would have loved to open the windows and let the perfect beach air into the house, but the windows are pretty old and would not open (or stay open). My one suggestion is to get new windows on the beach side of the house.

Overall we really enjoyed it and hope to come back!

  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Whit, I know you were really looking forward to that vacation with your friends, I'm very glad you all had a good time. We do an improvement project every spring and this spring it is new windows beach side! When you come back you'll get cool beach breezes! Take Care, Sarah
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Pet Fee $100

From March 29-October 9 this is a weekly, Saturday to Saturday rental.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties