Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Booking for 2018. Prime weeks going fast! Book now!

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Space 1,700 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights


About the property

4 bedrooms, Private pool/spa, wild horses, ocean view.

Kitchen with granite, stainless appliances and all necessary items to prepare meals. Bedrooms consist of 1 - king bedroom ; 2 queen bedrooms with memory foam mattresses,, one bunk bed with double on bottom and one additional twin bed. Office room with desk, bookcase and small sectional.. All bedrooms have fans and tv's with Direct TV in all rooms. Home comes with free wifi. Private hot tub on one of 2 wrap around decks. Private inground pool!! Fireplace in great room with large flat screen TV. DVD and CD library as well as books, games and puzzles for those rainy days. Ocean is approximately 400 yards away and you have ocean views from both decks. We are the last house before the wild life refuge. The horses come right to the house and you can sit in the hot tub and watch them graze. Direct TV with approximately 150 channels. Private area next to wildlife preserve. Wonderful place to relax and enjoy nature at its finest. You do need a 4 wheel drive vehicle to get to the property.

Keywords: Newer renovated 4 Bedroom house in the 4 wheel area of the Outer Banks. Ponies in the yard and the ocean approximately 400 yards. See the dolphins, enjoy the hot tub in a very well appointed home.

More Details

Diane Hageman
Member since: 2011
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 14, 2018

About Diane Hageman

My husband and I love the 4 wheel area of the outer banks. The horses, the ocean and the wildlife is spectacular. This is our dream vacation home and hope that you will enjoy it as much as we do.

Diane Hageman purchased this house in 2011

Why Diane Hageman chose Corolla

Our family has been coming here for years. When we retired, we found a place we loved and made it ours.

What makes this house unique

Every morning we have coffee on the decks and watch the horses go by or walk down to the ocean and watch the dolphins. It doesn't get much better than this.


Corolla House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • We reserved the right to cancel any reservation which does not comply with our rules and policies.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2.5
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , With own master bath
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , Bunk bed has double bed on bottom and twin on top.
  • King size bed (1) Has memory foam with gel top mattress., Queen size Beds (1) Both queen bedrooms have memory foam with gel top mattresses., Twin or Single Beds (1) new for 2016, a bunk bed with full bed on bottom and twin on top and a separate twin bed. Child Beds (1) pack and play, Baby Cribs (1) Has pack and play ,space saver high chair/booster seat and baby gate .
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Toys
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Bottled water is available at a charge of $15 per 5 gallon bottle. Linens are NOT provided. Linen packages are available at additional cost. Please contact owner for information. Kitchen is well appointed with microwave, coffee maker, toaster, rice cooker, slow cooker, blender, food processor, all pots, pans, dishes, glasses and silverware. Private hot tub and brand new outdoor shower. Property next to wild life preserve. See the horses right in your own yard. Beach is approximately 400 yards away. Ocean views from both wrap around decks. Gazebo in fenced yard with swing. You do need a 4 wheel drive vehicle to get to the house.


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(34 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
8% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Booking for 2018. Prime weeks going fast! Book now!
average rating of 4.852941 based on 34 reviews

Perfect spot for a family getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed here the past 3 summers and have enjoyed it tremendously. The house is beautiful and so is the scenery. We love watching the horses each day. The installment of the pool was a big plus for us! Thank you Diane for be so amazing and accommodating to us.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for being so loyal to our home! You are becoming family! Hope to see you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Had a great time staying at the Red Octopus.

  • 4 of 5

Our 1st visit of Outer Banks was a success. Red Octopus was perfect for our family. Beach was a short drive over the dunes and we did see horses almost every day! We enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere!

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect! We can't wait to come back! Thank you!

  • 5 of 5


  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you and we can't wait for you to come back! See you next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

The view was amazing. The horses came to visit often which was a wonderful added surprise. The owners were awesome and were very quick to respond to anything we needed. I would highly recommend this place to anyone!

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much! Always makes us happy when our guests have a wonderful time! Hope to see you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The Red Octopus

  • 4 of 5

Awesome location for seclusion and great location to beach. When horses were around tour buses drove by frequently. Pool was a little small but overall the house was great and would rent again. Owners were very prompt in returning correspondences.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Heidi. Very happy you had a fun vacation and hope to see you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great find

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I stayed at the Red Octopus for a week at the end of May 2017. The house is located in the 4x4 area of Carova so if you aren't down with doing a little wheelin' in the sand, you should probably look elsewhere. Don't get me wrong, you don't need a monster 4x4 rig (our Jeep handled it no sweat), but your Honda Accord is not going to make it. They do rent jeeps locally if you are so inclined. Long story short, you'll be driving on the beach for a few miles to get to the neighborhood. I would recommend accessing the neighborhood from mile marker 16.5 instead of 17 as it's much more manageable and you aren't charging up over a blind sand dune hoping another vehicle isn't coming up the other way. We usually stay in the Hatteras end of the island and found this beach area to be much easier to drive on FYI.

Once you get there, it's a super cozy place with plenty of space for everyone. The main room has a nice open kitchen with a balcony with a great view of the dunes and water (mostly dunes, but some water.....still very chill though). You can tell the owners took some pride in decorating the place to make it feel homey and not just a bunch of random stuff thrown in the house. I believe it's called character. Only thing which is a downer is the hard mineral water. If you enjoy a nice sulfur smell, you'll love it! Otherwise, spend a few bucks and get the big bottle of water and you'll be good to go. I would imagine every house out in the 4x4 area has the hard water due to being on a well so don't know if there is any way around it. Pretty minor but may be an issue for sensitive noses. The management company seems to do a pretty good job of keeping the pool, hot tub and other stuff in good working order, so no problems there. Cellphone coverage ( we had verizon) was a bit sketchy in the area but I was informed Verizon is in the process of installing a tower in the area so it should be a non-issue soon.

Otherwise, no complaints. Horses came around the house nearly every day and when I say came around the house I mean came around the house. Walking in the backyard, under the car port, hanging out by the pool...... It was crazy but very very cool. Bring your camera. If you see one that looks a little 'odd'....that's Raymond the mule. He's something of celebrity. The owners happened to be nearby and handled a couple of minor issues lickity split and were super nice people. Enjoy!

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed our home. We do care very much about it and work hard to keep it in good shape. I wish we would have known you were experiencing a sulfur smell with the water. We found on Saturday (unfortunately after you left) that a compression fitting failed and that was the reason you got the smell. A quick trip to the hardware store and a new part and it was fixed in about 15 minutes. You were wonderful renters and we hope you come back. Our best Tom and Diane Hageman
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


There are wild horse tours you can take but, the ponies come right to the front door. Why pay to see them when they come to see you!




Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $79
Tax Rate 12.75%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties