Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Charming, Historic Home W/ Ocean Views, A/C, Wrap-Around Porch

Bedrooms 7
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

House, 7 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 20) close to the beach

Enjoy the ocean views and breezes. Hear the waves crashing on the surf. Rock away your cares on the large wrap around porch. As featured on the 2011 Private Homes Tour by the esteemed Mid-Atlantic Center for the Arts, this house offers all the modern conveniences of today while retaining the historic charm that is Cape May!

Ideally located just steps from the beach and a few short blocks into town, you can park your car in one of 2 spaces behind the house, or on the meter-free street, and walk to all that Cape May has to offer.

After a day on the fabulous Queen Street Beach come home to this cozy, comfortable and well furnished home. Everything you need is provided in this generously equipped beach cottage. The two zone air conditioning and forced hot air heating systems keep you comfortable year round.

Get ready for an evening of fine dining at one of the many restaurants in town or cook like a chef at home in the gourmet kitchen.

Ready to turn in? The master bedroom has a King bed and a sitting area with it's own TV/VCR. The adjoining room- “The Rose Room” has a queen bed. Across the hall is the “Mahogany Room” and the “Green Room”, each with 2 twin beds. The Green Room has a balcony/porch with views of the Cape May skyline. Soak up some rays here in the afternoon, or just get away for some quiet time. There is a large full bathroom with a tub and shower to serve this level.

On the third floor there is a gigantic room which we refer to as the “Dorm”. The Dorm offers a king size bed, a full size bed, and 3 twins, which is perfect for the whole family with young children, or the group of kids and their “slumber party”. There is a cot in here as well, which can be moved to any room that you wish.

The “Purple Room” sports a full size brass bed and a sitting area. The “Blue Room” has a full size bed and an upholstered chair.. There is a spacious full bath on this level with a claw foot tub and a hand held shower spray.

Outside there is an additional hot and cold shower plus a dressing room with lighting, mirror, and seating.

At mealtime you can cook like a chef on the pro-series 6 burner range. The gourmet kitchen has everything you need to show off your skills. And two full size refrigerators to hold all of your groceries (and beer!). Serve up meals in the formal dining room that seats 14 at one table! Or choose from 3 more dining spots- on the porch the dining set seats 6 (or pull up extra chairs provided to seat 10!), in the breakfast room- room for 6.

Cook out on our gas or charcoal grills (we offer both), and dine at the outdoor picnic table with room for 8 (at least).

There is a “Butler's Pantry” with a sink off the dining room which we use as a “Wet Bar”. Fix cocktails like a pro. Ice buckets, blenders, smoothie machine, ice crusher, pitchers and shakers are provided for your convenience. Give us a call so we can reserve your weeks now. This house books early and quickly. Mention that you saw us on VRBO!

Keywords: ocean views, beach cottage, charming, well equipped, less than 500 feet to Queen Street Beach, short walk to town, porches, large family home, good for reunions, weddings, gourmet kitchen

More Details

Daniel Calwell
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
December 4, 2017

About Daniel Calwell

My grandfather purchased this great property in 1951. Our family has been fortunate to enjoy it ever since. I have been coming to Cape May since I was born, and we love it more and more each year.

I live in Maryland with my lovely wife of 29 years, and my golden retriever, Jolly.

The striped bass was hauled out of the ocean in May 2015, right on the Queen Street beach!

Daniel Calwell purchased this house in 1951

Why Daniel Calwell chose Historic District

I bought into the family beach house in 2000 to insure that it remain in the family for years to come. I have been coming here for over 50 years and I hope to continue that tradition. With so much to do besides the beach I never get bored. When I can't swim or fish there is always something going on, like the Jazz Festival, or historic home tours. I enjoy the nature conservancy, the museums, and the Physic Estate's changing exhibits. The dining in town is very good, too!

What makes this house unique

The wrap around porch is the perfect place to relax and unwind. The house is close to everything so I can walk to shopping, restaurants, the beach.... I don't have an ocean at my front door at home. There is nothing like throwing a line in the surf and hauling out a big striper for dinner. And when the fish aren't biting the Lobster House Seafood market is the best anywhere!


Nearest Airport
5 Miles
cape May Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Nearest Ferry
5 Miles
Cape May/Lewes Ferry
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Cape May National
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
Garden State Parkway
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Nearest Beach
0.2 Miles
Queen Street Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Washington Street Mall
Nearest Point of Interest
The Spa
Nearest Point of Interest
The Physic Estate
Nearest Point of Interest
The Lobster House and Seafood Market
Nearest Point of Interest
Nearest Point of Interest
The Cove
Car: not necessary

Cape May is the original resort and has so much more to offer than just the fabulous beaches! This place is very family friendly with so much to do in an old fashioned atmosphere. Rockwellian describes it well. It's also a very romantic place to enjoy with your special someone. You can take a horse drawn carriage to dinner, or just for a tour around town. Enjoy world class dining and shopping, historic home tours, ghost tours, Victorian architecture- the whole city is on the National Historic Register! There are Vineyard and Brewery tours, Jazz festivals , Birding (one of the top 10 birding spots in the world!), hike the nature trails thru seaside meadows, and do not forget to visit the free incredible Zoo! There are many boat charters to watch whales and dolphins, or perhaps some deep sea fishing? Visit the art galleries, cycle around town with bike and surrey rentals, or take a horse and carriage tours, explore the stress reducing art of porch sitting! Walk the promenade, check out the craft shows, cruises and eco- tours, marinas, nightlife and entertainment, casinos, concerts, theater, music.

Visit the Lobster House and make sure to check out the history as told in the many photos that line the walls in the lobby.

Swains is not just a hardware store! They have many unique housewares from glassware and serving pieces to linens and aprons and much more!

Higbee's Beach is a great place to do a little off roading bay side....shhhhh, its a secret..


Historic District House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 20
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Water View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 14 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , this bath has a hand held shower and a antique claw foot tub
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , 1st floor powder room, has a hand sink, too.
    outdoor hot/cold shower - shower , outdoor shower , amazing shower w/bench, mirror, lighting, towel bars, hooks
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower , 2nd floor, spacious full bath
  • 2.5 baths plus the amazing outdoor shower with dressing room, mirror, lighting, bench, hooks and towel bars.... The 2 full baths are very large bathrooms, plenty of room to move around to dress, etc. The powder room (1/2 bath) is off the butlers pantry on the first floor.
  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • the Rose room - 1 queen , ajoins the master bedroom, nice antique mahogany furniture.
    The Green Room - 2 twin/ single , this large room boasts its own private porch.
    The Mahogany Room - 2 twin/ single , large bedroom with antique mahogany beds and dresser.
    the Blue Room - 1 double , cozy with full size antique mahogany bed
    The Purple Room - 1 double , this is a nice room with a brass bed, and a comfy chair
    The 'Dorm' - 1 king , 1 double , 3 twin/ single , sleeps 7, Huge, great ocean view! NEW hi def flat screen TV
    MASTER - 1 king , Large room, view, hi def flat screen TV
  • all bedrooms are large, well appointed rooms, all have closets. Much of the bedding is new (mattresses, pillows, blankets and covers).
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • 8 garden chairs
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
OCEAN VIEWS! CLOSE TO EVERYTHING! sun room/ breakfast room, 2nd floor porch, wrap around porch, porch furniture, rocking chairs, WELL EQUIPPED LARGE KITCHEN WITH 6 BURNER PRO-SERIES RANGE for the chef in you, large dining capacity, multiple dining areas, amazing outdoor shower with lighting and mirror and seating, short walk into town, less than 500 feet to beach, quiet tree lined street...


3.5/5 -
(2 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
50% Complete
0% Complete
Charming, Historic Home W/ Ocean Views, A/C, Wrap-Around Porch
average rating of 3.5 based on 2 reviews

A bit disappointed....old and filthy

  • 2 of 5

I must say I was very disappointed in our stay here at this "charming historic home". There was room for all 20 of us to sleep. However, a huge question was where can everyone shower? The one available inside shower was filthy and backed up the first night. The outside shower was undesirable and creepy. Some chose to go to friends to shower. I don't know what the cleaning fee goes to but it sure isn't the bathroom. Owners you should check in to this.

Another problem was that we almost could not get the oven open to use.

Kitchen was not desirable either. And extra refrigerator didn't keep things very cold..garbage cans were full with trash and maggots.

Location was the best though.

I would not rent this ever again. I don't know what is charming about old and filthy. Owners need to invest some into this.

  • Submitted: Nov 16, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry that you were disappointed. The instructions clearly state that if the housekeeping isn't to your satisfaction that you are to call the number provided and the housekeeper would come immediately to address your concern. You did not call me or the housekeeper so we could address your issue. You called me about the clogged drain and the oven door and we sent someone right away. She fixed both issues the same day. Trash is hauled away mid-week in Cape May and so when you arrive there will be trash in the cans from the previous tenants. I called the trash haulers and attempted to get an special pick up for you but it being Sunday I could only leave a message. They returned my call on Monday and said they could not make a special pickup for you to empty the trash early and that they would come on Wednesday. You knew about the bathrooms before you signed the lease. It is clear on the listing that there are 2 full baths- one with a tub and shower and one with a tub and a hand held shower. In the 15 years that our family has been sharing our home this is the first time that we have had anyone complain about it being old and filthy. If you had followed the guidelines your concerns would have been taken care of because we care about our guests and strive to provide a positive experience. You did not inform me of a housekeeping issue so you basically denied me the opportunity to fix it. I think you are disgruntled and just lashing out because we would not allow you to bring the dog that you asked about multiple times after you signed the lease. Tenants following you may have had pet allergies. I am wondering why you rented the property in the first place since it was unsuitable for your group because you needed to bring your dog and it was clear on the listing that pets were not allowed.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

This house is home away from home!

  • 5 of 5

This is our favorite place to stay when we are in Cape May. We feel right at home in the large but cozy house. The amenities are great, and the beach, shops and restaurants are within walking distance.

  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2012
  • Stayed: November 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

clean out fee $250
security deposit $600

payable by check, 1/2 at lease signing, 1/2 30 days before occupancy

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.