Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Secluded Forest Cabin: Relaxing Mountain Retreat

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Chalet, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Max 4 adults/4 children)

Spend your Vacation or holiday in the San Bernardino mountains!!! Cozy, large 'Chalet' cabin, nicely appointed, fully furnished with wireless I-net, BBQ, wrap around porch, fully appointed kitchen, stone patio area, remote views of Lake Gregory (when foliage and breeze allows); feels secluded but within a mile of Crestline Village, 15 minutes from Lake Arrowhead, 20 from Snow Summit, 40 from Big Bear. Biking, Hiking, boating, fishing, Nature at its best with unlimited outdoor forest adventures and wildlife. Sleeps up to 8 (4 adults /4 kids): but XTRA PERSON (over 4) CHARGE APPLIES (additional persons over 4 adults 4 kids requires special request) with 2 full baths (2 bedrooms: master w/ Q, guest w/ Q Futon and KID bunks plus huge living room) with large fireplace/hearth and vaulted ceilings. Spend an economical week or getaway for the whole family near the posh resorts without the hassle and expense, with easy access to Lake Gregory, Lake Arrowhead and Big Bear Lake. Relax around the fireplace with the family, walk, bike, swim, boat, ski, snowboard, and fish around Lake Gregory - Kids will love the water slide on the Lake, or sledding in the snow. Weekly rates available at a discount. Inside pets OK with extra fee, but no fenced yard.

PLEASE REVIEW SAMPLE RENTAL AGREEMENT CAREFULLY! Property requires that you provide ALL your own bedding, towels, & paper products and that you clean the property THOROUGHLY when you leave ('turn-key ready' for the next guest) and that you dispose of your own trash upon check-out (take it with you). Also requires provision of a CREDIT (not debit) card and DL/ID (by scan & email or photo text) in lieu of damage deposit OR purchase of VRBO insurance. Please do not inquire about this property if you do not have the ability to provide all of the above.

STRICT NO PARTIES POLICY, for example property is NOT to be used as the 'Hang-out" for extra guests before or after events.

PLEASE NOTE:

While Owner/Host makes every effort to maintain property and appliances in a clean, working order, guest recognizes this is a SHARED HOME (Not a resort), and that regular cleaning, “turnover” and maintenance services are NOT provided or available. Additionally, there is no guarantee, implied or otherwise, that malfunctions in systems, appliances or property will be immediately resolved. Hosts rely on cleaning and malfunction reports by guests, and each guest is responsible for making sure the property is ready for the next guest, or that items in need of maintenance are reported to host immediately. Guests acknowledge that in the event of a failure, maintenance and/or repair may not be immediately available. Refunds and credits will be issued to guest ONLY in the event that a failure renders the property uninhabitable, evacuation is ordered due to fire, or roads are closed for ALL vehicles due to weather.

Keywords: Well appointed, all mod cons, I-Net TV, I-net with wireless, sleeps 4 adults/4 kids, near Big Bear, Lake Arrowhead, Snow Summit skiiing, lakes, boating, fishing, rock garden patio, wrap-around porch, beautiful mountain retreat

More Details

Owner
Helen Lopez
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 27, 2017

About Helen Lopez

We worked for the county 10 years and lived in this piece of paradise during the week - now retired and can't bear to give it up! We use it too, and share it when we can't - our home is El Centro and we also have vacation property in San Felipe and Rosarito Baja Mexico so we can't be everywhere all the time....Your advantage!

Helen Lopez purchased this chalet in 2005

Why Helen Lopez chose Inland Empire

It's a house that feels like a cabin - but a very well appointed one! !!

It's cheaper than most at in the area, because it's "Self Serve" so guests provide their own bedding, paper products, cleaning, and trash service. Its not for those looking for a "RESORT" vacation, it's for those who want a reasonably priced place to share and are willing to take the responsibility of day to day upkeep. Truly a "Home Away from Home"

What makes this chalet unique

Its the best deal on the mountain for this luxury property type - hands down - read our reviews we have many many return customers. If you are willing to put in the effort to do your own cleaning, and bring your own linens and paper, this is the place for you. If you treat our little house right you can come back at a discount.

Amenities

Crestline Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Rural ...
  • Ski-In
  • Ski-Out ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , attached to master BR
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Hall bathroom
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Must provide your own linens and blankets
    Living Room - Room for cots OR kids on couches (2)
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 2 child bed , KID bunks (sleeps 2 kids under 100 lbs);
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (1 set KIDS UNDER 100 lbs ONLY)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
rock garden patio, wrap around porch, all kitchen modern appliances

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(75 traveler reviews)

85% Complete
12% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Secluded Forest Cabin: Relaxing Mountain Retreat
average rating of 4.826667 based on 75 reviews
5

Comfortable cabin

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay and the cabin is very comfortable. The kitchen is well stocked and Helen goes to a lot of effort to make sure all instructions are clear throughout the cabin. Fun time!

  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks a million! Come back any time and remind me for our "friends & family" special deal!!! Welcome to our cabin's "Trusted Guest" club!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Cozy cabin in quaint town of Crestline

  • 4 of 5

Pros: The house was very nice for our family of four. It is very conveniently located, just a short drive to town and lake. The kitchen was stocked very well, and had what appeared to be a very nice BBQ, though we didn't use it. Had it not been so dreadfully hot, it would have been pleasant to sit out on the wrap around porch to enjoy the beautiful scenery. The living room and dining area is very comfy.

Cons: as the owners description states, the twin bunk bed is not for anyone over 100 lbs. I felt like I was going to break it by climbing up to put the sheets on. And the futon really shouldn't be counted on as a bed, as it is horribly uncomfortable. But my 6' son was comfortable sleeping on the couch, which he liked better anyway because that was the only room with a tv. We had some other minor mishaps due to the last guests, but nothing too dreadful. And the driveway is no joke. It's really steep and narrow, a bit scary to back down. Can't even imagine what people do in the winter time with snow on the ground.

Overall, the house was near to perfect for our little getaway. The only thing I really wish it had was AC, but that is basically because it was stifling hot during our stay. Can't win them all!

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your review. Yes, unfortunately the guests prior to you were not as respectful of the property as most all of our guests are, and (as stated in the rental agreement) since we have no regular "turnover" service, and rely on each of our guests to leave the house ready for the next ones we apologize that it was not perfect for you. We appreciate that you were flexible and tolerant, and reported the issues (garbage disposal, wrong key left, trash left outside that had been torn into by racoons) so that we were able to take care of them right away. Because we are not local, we DO have back-up plans in place, and were glad you were able to take advantage of them and not complain too much - not the same as walking into a perfect setting from the start, but with your patience and help it all worked out in the end. The bunk beds are for kids as you said, and the futon is - well - a FUTON, not a bed, about the same as most pull out couches. My 20 YO grandkid has no issues with it, but my 65 YO self would not chose to sleep on it for sure, so there it is. Thanks for staying with us, and thanks for working with us to get the "kinks" worked out. As we stated, if you come again, you have a free night on us for your troubles. It WAS very hot, not just in Crestline but everywhere in So Cal over the 4th weekend. Hardly anyone has AC in the mountains, and we do have many fans as you know. But is was a heat wave, no doubt about that. Which of course is another thing we have no control over!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5

Great place!

  • Submitted: May 16, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks! Loved you too!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
riverside ca
5

Quiet little getaway

  • 5 of 5

This cabin was perfect for our little getaway. Great location, easy to find, a short 5min drive into town and just all around great little piece of property. It sits up high so you don't really have any immediate neighbors. Kitchen has everything you might need, WiFi and direct TV. Helen the owner, gives detailed instructions on everything inside and out. Nice sized cabin and very affordable. We will stay here again :)

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You are very kind..And were great guests to boot! Hope you DO return and be sure to request the "Honored Returner" discount....
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Hidden Gem in the woods!

  • 5 of 5

Decided on a quick getaway vacation and found the perfect cabin home to do so! This very well kept property is nestled away up in the mountains a short distance from the charming Village of Crestline and just a further drive from San Bernardino. The instructions and thoroughness of the owners makes the stay effortless and the expections clear. The accommodations are exceptional and the kitchen comes fully loaded. The patio and porch is a great way to spend the evenings and brisk mornings in the trees, the wildlife seems to enjoy our company aswell. The master bedroom bed is awesome too, slept like a rock. Highly recommend this property and the price can't be beat.

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Mathew! It was a pleasure to host you, and I hope to see you back again..If so just remind me and I'll extend our "Trusted Guest" discount and the rental process will be easy as I already have verified all your information... Thanks so much for your kind words, but I have to admit I agree with all of it as regards the "cabin"...it's a great place to unwind and rejuvenate...
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

great for quiet getaway

  • 4 of 5

wonderful accommodating owner. house is perfect location, easy to the village but feels very secluded

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind words...We know what you mean, we love it as much as our guests...Please come back any time, and remind me for a "friends & family discount"!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Ontario International
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Bearclaw
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
Lake Arrowhead
Nearest Train
25 Miles
Metrolink
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
various
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
Lake Arrowhead - Snow Summit - Big Bear
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Lake Gregory
Nearest Point of Interest
Lake Arrowhead
Nearest Point of Interest
Lake Gregory
Nearest Point of Interest
Big Bear Resort Area
Car: necessary

Lake Gregory is within a mile, walkable if you are not carrying a lot of stuff. Parking at the Lake is about $10. Entrance fee to beach area, but lots of walking areas outside beach area. Beach has swimming with lifeguard), boat rentals, fishing, a water slide (separate admission tickets). Open appx Memorial Day to Labor day. Skiing & Snowboarding @ Lake Arrowhead, Big Bear and Snow Summit

Photos

Rates & Availability

Crestline Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 19 2017 - Nov 26 2017
4 night minimum stay
$125
$700
$1,800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 7 2018
4 night minimum stay
$125
$700
$1,800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
JULY 4TH
Jun 1 2018 - Jun 8 2019
4 night minimum stay
$125
$700
$1,800
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$100
From
$115
Fri,Sat
$600
$1,750
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25 + Tax
Tax Rate 7.0%

Renters must provide own bedding, towels, paper products. BBQ grill propane and firewood may be available but is not guaranteed. Must clean property thoroughly and remove all trash on departure, provide CREDIT card and ID by scan & email or pix & txt (in lieu of damage deposit) in addition to payment. NEW: NOW ACCEPTING BITCOIN/OTHER CRYPTOCURRENCY ON REQUEST;PLEASE INDICATE IN COMMENTS ON INQUIRY

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable