Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Charming Island Farm Compound with Memorable Water Views

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Charming Island Farm Compound Cottages with Harbor and Pastoral Views.

FEATURED IN COASTAL LIVING MAGAZINE! AN ISLAND GEM!

AUGUST AVAILABILITY FOR 3 (or 4, IF 4TH IS A CHILD).

If you enjoy the discovery of special out of the way places, welcome to our vacation cottages in the charming hamlet of Deer Harbor on Orcas Island. This sunny, five-acre country farm compound boasts spectacular views of the harbor and distant islands, pastures and gardens, farm animals and surrounding hillsides.

Our property offers 3 detached bedrooms as outlined below.

Your choice of accommodation and corresponding rate will be determined by the number of and configuration of bedrooms needed for your party. Only one group will be at the compound at a time, regardless of the units chosen. Once the calendar is booked for a specific set of dates, the units that are unoccupied will no longer be available. Please choose from the following:

Our one bedroom CARRIAGE HOUSE COTTAGE is hand-crafted from island timbers and exudes a feeling of warmth and comfort. Furnished from our collection of friendly antiques and collectibles, you're sure to enjoy the views from the window seat, soaking in the claw foot bathtub, or lounging in an Adirondack chair on our spacious decks. The Carriage House sleeps up to 3 in a queen and a twin.

For those who'd like to have a larger gathering of friends or family, we can sleep 4 additional people in our BUNK HOUSE. A charming accommodation with large, covered wrap around deck area, comfortable rope hammock, and ample outdoor living space. Comfortable beds, a nice bath with rain shower, cookhouse-style kitchen on the covered porch, and the same wonderful views shared by the rest of the property. 'Glamping' at its best! Sleeps up to 4 in a queen and a set of twins, enabling up to 7 guests with the Carriage House.

Just steps away yet private, an additional bedroom suite is available in the BOAT SHED. This favorite rustic, yet cozy accommodation has double bed, sitting area, bath with rain shower, and its own sunny deck with water and garden views. Sleeps up to 2. Available only as a second or third bedroom as needed with the other accommodations.

Many of our guests enjoy gathering around the rock fire pit for an evening camp fire, or engaging in a rousing game of ping pong in the pasture! Our hens are happy to provide you with fresh eggs when they're laying, and you're free to pick fresh herbs from the garden.

If it's accommodations with character you're after, beautiful gardens to roam, the sound of burros to make you smile, or a place to just sit back and feel at home, we invite you to join us for some true island-style living!

Keywords: Cottage, Bunk House and Boat Shed

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 18, 2017

About The Owner

Over the years we have collaborated on the restoration of this historic property, which includes our home, a converted dance hall, and numerous other buildings that we've built or moved onto our land in an effort to preserve what we deem as valuable. Using mostly recycled materials, and our builder/designer skills, together we have created this family farm compound that we now share with others.

Amenities

Deer Harbor Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Max. adults: 3
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only
  • Changes or cancellations must be made at least 21 days prior to arrival date for full refund. Within 21 days, refund is subject to rebooking.
  • A $30 handling fee applies to all changes and cancellations. $125 cleaning fee for stays 7 days or longer.
  • Owner's stated cancellation policy overrides any policy offered by VRBO.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Water View
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Carriage House has claw foot tub and shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , Carriage House. A small twin may also be set up for a child.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Ping Pong Table
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Charming Island Farm Compound with Memorable Water Views
average rating of 4.818182 based on 11 reviews
3

Charming but uncomfortable

  • 3 of 5

My husband and I stayed in the carriage house, and the cottage itself was adorable. It was the perfect setting for a couple wanting to get away. Unfortunately, the bed was hard as a rock. We both woke up with numb limbs and sore backs. Being mid-August it was fairly hot, but there weren't any fans provided.

Also, even though the listing stated that only one group would be in the compound at a time, there were two other parties there besides us. The owner did warn me on the phone in advance, but it was still disappointing not to have the place to ourselves. If the listing had specified as much, I wouldn't have had a problem.

Overall it was a pleasant stay, just uncomfortable.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jen, So sorry you found the bed uncomfortable! We've never had any complaints, so I guess you're used to a softer sleep. As far as others being here, I specifically informed you of the situation before you booked. Those guests had booked months in advance, before we changed the listing. We are always here for special requests, and we do have fans for our guests use. I'm sorry you didn't ask us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Enumclaw, WA
5

Great place to chill and relax!

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful find! The facilities themselves are charming, we loved the rustic decor! And the outdoor kitchen was a big hit with everyone! Of course we had beautiful weather so we were able to thoroughly enjoy the outdoor property entertaining other out of town guests with eating our meals outside! We are outdoor people so this was a great draw for us! We had some family with boats docked at Deer Harbor which was just a walk down the road!! A fun place to gather for a family reunion!

  • Submitted: Sep 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

More than words can explain!!

  • 5 of 5

Rutabaga is such a beautiful, relaxing getaway! We had a group of 6 people. My husband, two girls and myself stayed in the bunkhouse which was perfect with two twin beds and a queen bed as well as a bathroom with shower and an outdoor kitchen! If you haven't had the pleasure of using an outdoor kitchen this is your chance!! Even though we had the indoor kitchen in the cottage that my sister and her boyfriend stayed in. Having separate houses was very nice for sleeping, showering and privacy. The pictures online are beautiful but truly do not do justice for this property. We were all in awe of this place from the moment of arrival. My daughters 12 and 9 spent the first 30 mins or so taking photos of the cottage and bunkhouse. Location was wonderful with a 20 minute drive to Mount Constitution (which I highly recommend hiking to the summit). Each night we enjoyed peaceful campfires overlooking the fields, marina and water. The owners are available if you need anything. Each area is impeccably maintained and cleaned, the beds are comfortable and warm. There's not a negative thing about Rutabaga. We look forward to our next trip to the Islands and to enjoy this amazing place again.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

We will be back!

  • 5 of 5

My high school girlfriends and I stayed at Rutabaga, an absolutely charming place on Orcas Island, San Juan Islands, in Washington State. We totally enjoyed staying at the Bunk House and Boat Shed. The two buildings were filled with wonderful old artifacts from the fifties and earlier. (For the first hour we were there, I took many pictures of all the cool things!) The kitchen was on the side porch outside the Bunkhouse. There was a fire pit not far from the buildings for those who wanted to sit around the fire at night. The hosts were great! We had a very relaxing and fun time at this wonderful place.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Magical Country Summertime!

  • 5 of 5

We and one of our young grandsons stayed in the Bunkhouse during a perfect summer get away, while another part of the family, with two more young grandsons, were docked with their sailboat at the Deer Harbor Marina. The boys romped and played, and rolled in the grassy lawn, created a wonderful pirate skit to perform around the evening bonfire. Roasted marshmallows and told gentle ghost stories to top off the night. The boys loved feeding carrots to the burros, and swinging in the hammock while we cooked breakfast in the fun outdoor kitchen and grilled evening dinner - all to feast at the picnic table and chairs. We all will remember this as one of our best times ever! Thank you, Blake and Dave.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Seattle
5

a true gem!

  • 5 of 5

An amazing property with amazing host!!

We couldn't have asked for a better vacation with 4 nights at Rutabaga! Our family with a young toddler, in-laws and good friends with two younger children had the best time staying here. We also invited 5 other family to join us for BBQ on the property. The burros and chickens were also great additions to the property. A perfect countryside getaway for busy city dwellers. Garden and property were in pristine condition. Décors and everything else is rustic, raw and very tastefully done. Also a perfect location to watch July 3rd fireworks from Deer Harbor.

We definitely plan on returning. Thank you Blake and Dave for your warm hospitality! We look forward to visiting again in the near future. Thank you!!

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Bicycle and boat rentals, whale watching and sea kayak tours available at Deer Harbor Marina. Daily Kenmore Air float plane service to Deer Harbor. Other small hamlet amenities a short walk away include post office, dock store and restaurant.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 10.1%

*Summer rates:
Carriage House (sleeps 3) $250/nightly
Carriage House/Boat Shed (sleeps 5) $350/nightly
Carriage House/Bunk House (sleeps 7) $400/nightly
Carriage House/Bunk House/Boat Shed (sleeps 9) $500/nightly
Bunk House (sleeps 4) $250/nightly
Bunk House/Boat Shed (sleeps 6) $325/nightly

Changes or cancellations must be made at least 21 days prior to arrival date for full refund. Within 21 days, refund is subject to rebooking. A $30 handling fee applies to all changes and cancellations.

$125 cleaning fee for stays 7 days or longer

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties