Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Vacation "A World Away" from the normal on Bald Head Island!

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedrooms, 4.5 Baths, Sleeps 12

A World Away, located at 20 Captain Charlie's Court, is a fantastic oasis of stress-free vacationing! Located at the end of a semi-private cul-de-sac, this home boasts every amenity you need to escape the mundane world of the mainland and accomplish exactly what you come to Bald Head Island to do... RELAX!

This is a reverse floor plan vacation home, nestled in the lovely maritime forest, with great views of the Old Baldy Lighthouse from the upper deck and porch. You will also be within easy walking distance to the marina, restaurants and shops.

Located on the first floor is one of the home's two master suites as well as two more guest bedrooms, each with an en suite bathroom. The master suite on the lower level features a king bed with its own private bathroom. The first of the two guest rooms is a bunk room with two twin bunks and two double beds. The second bedroom features a queen bed. Both of these connect to an entertainment space that is equipped with a sleeper sofa (thus turning this into a possible fifth bedroom), a mini fridge, TV, games, a Sony PS2, a Wii, deck access and laundry facilities.

Upstairs is a modern, open, inviting great room featuring a cozy sitting area with fireplace. Look out the rounded living room window and see a perfect vision of the Old Baldy Lighthouse framed within. It is like living art! The updated kitchen offers sleek black granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances, and a wine rack. The dining area comfortably seats eight, with three additional seats available at the kitchen bar. Of course, you can also dine on the deck or screened porch!

There is another master bedroom and bathroom upstairs, proffering a king bed and private balcony. This master bathroom is artfully tiled and features dual sinks and a jetted tub.

Visitors to A World Away enjoy wireless internet as well as access to fishing rods and adult and youngster golf clubs. A BHI Club membership (w/ golf access) is included with the rental. For an additional fee, a Shoals Club membership may be obtained.

(2K, 1Q, 2BB with doubles and twins, 1 SS, Sleeps 12)

week only rentals Memorial through Labor Day

NOTE: TRAM SPACE IS LIMITED - PLEASE CALL TO MAKE YOUR RESERVATIONS TO AND FROM THE ISLAND WHEN BOOKING. WWP IS NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR GETTING YOU TO AND FROM YOUR RENTAL HOME. CHECK OUT IS 10AM AND CHECK IN IS 4PM.

More Details

Property Manager
Owner/Manager
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Calendar last updated:
May 28, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

This was our second time staying on the island. This house was amazing. Very clean and the floor plan was perfect for a family with smaller kids and teenagers. A gentleman came and introduced himself the first afternoon we were there and someone else stopped by later in the week and left us a note with their number in case we needed anything. We have rented beach houses at least once a year for the last 12 years and that has never happened. I was very impressed! The decor is fabulous and the kitchen was impressive. Great appliances and everything you would need! Loved this house and rental company. Will be staying in this house again and recommending Wendy Wilmot Properties!
Mar 2012
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Bald Head Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • 4.5
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • 2 King beds, 1 Queen bed, 1 Sofa Bed bed, 2 Bunk beds, 2 Full beds
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • tennis
Notes:
Bald Head Island Club Membership (w/ Golf), Shoals Club Membership (Additional Fee), 2 Golf Carts (4 & 6 seats)

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(40 traveler reviews)

Vacation "A World Away" from the normal on Bald Head Island!
average rating of 4.75 based on 42 reviews
Raleigh, NC
5

Perfect House for Kids

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The house was very clean and in great condition. The bunk bed was perfect for the three boys and the house came with lots of games, video games and toys (we couldn't get the Wii to work, but didn't need it). We loved the location which was close to the ferry and the beach. The kids loved that we could see Old Baldy in one of the portholes.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is one rental home that has been so lovingly taken care of that it is a joy to be in....glad you enjoyed it! Look forward to seeing you again on BHI! F.A. McLeod Marketing, WWP
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very relaxing

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We had a great experience at 'A World Away.' The location was very close to the marina and just a short trip to the beach. We had everything we needed in the house, as it was well stocked. Great experience!

  • Submitted: Oct 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Cammie and Charles- So happy to hear A World Away gave you a great vacation experience. Hope you return to Bald Head soon and hope when you do you will let us serve you. F.A. McLeod, Marketing, WWP
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Clemmons, NC
5

Ideallic

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

There are two properties by this name on the island. Do not be deceived. #20 Captain Charlie's Court is the REAL 'A World Away' and here's why: For starters, WWP manages this island home and does so with grace, ever attentive to renters, even during the busy weeks of July. After 12 years of vacationing at Bald Head, we finally landed on the perfect property for our family of 10. For the first time we stayed near the harbor and were able to walk or bike to restaurants and Old Baldy. The downstairs bunkroom, living space and bath comprise the perfect suite for our four grandchildren. Two master suites downstairs accommodated our married children. A real plus was the master suite on the upper level because my husband and I are always the first to rise and start the coffee, which we enjoyed on both porches as we watched the sun rise and the day unfold under the watch of Old Baldy. WWP could not have been more attentive when we needed anything at all, which only happened twice. We have rented through other companies in the past but WWP really knows the island and actually wants renters to have an excellent vacation, which we did.

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Trish and John- Your review made my day! Thank YOU! for your kind words and acknowledging how much we strive to help our guests. So glad this property worked so well for y'all.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Warrenton, VA
5

review of " A World Away"

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

fantastic week in a perfectly equipped home. Could not have been more satisfied

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Anna- So pleased that your stay was perfect! Thanks for the great review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Charlotte, NC
5

Nicely furnished home with the benefit of extra living space.

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

From the start, to phone calls with questions, all went very smoothly. I would definitely rent from Wendy Wilmot again.

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Sharon- Thanks for the great review of and, especially, your kind commendation for our team. We work hard to make your vacation super.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Fell in love with BHI

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was somewhat unhelpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Our first trip to BHI. Stayed with 3 other families. The accomodations were perfect for our group (4 adults, 6 children). The bunk beds and downstairs play area (equipped with video games) was a hit with the younger ones (ages 3-9). Perfect location. We had trouble with the management company ignoring our request to have our ice machine checked out. There were 2 ice makers (one inside the freezer and a free-standing one which was built in) and neither of them produced ice. We spent on average $20-$25/day on ice to fill coolers and drinks. They never sent anyone out to look at it and promised us someone would be there on Wed (when we called on Sat) and no show!! The WWP representative had a bit of a poor attitude, explaining we are on an island and can't just get repairs done easily. We were hoping they could just take a look to see if it was hooked up properly. Sadly, the request fell on deaf ears! Otherwise, if the ice is working- great place!

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am soooooooooooo sorry to hear about the ice situation as well as your non-satisfactory interaction with our staff. Be assured I will definitely pass this onto maintenance and all of our folks. Our quest is to assure you have a terrific stay and that we offer superior service. We fell down on this one. Since you "fell in love with BHI", I hope you return and I wish you would give us another chance to make your vacation perfect.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Something for everyone... Climb Old Baldy Lighthouse and see it all, visit the Maritime Museum, Conservancy, many activities across all ages throughout the year, stand up paddle boarding, golf cart & bike rentals, and much more! Before you book, call us at 910.470.000 to find out if there is a special package on this property and learn how you can save on your trip to Bald Head Island!!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties