Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Walk to Every Where from This Historical Home"""

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 - 8 nights


About the property

Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Historical home in the center of it all. 3 blocks from the public beach and downtown (across the street from the Charlevoix Library). First rented in 2012. Park your car and walk to the grocery store, restaurants, movie theater, beach and more!

** Please note that we do only rent Saturday to Saturday during the summer months.

*** Please also note the home does offer cable tv but does not have Internet or a landline. The public library across the street does offer free internet.

The home has master suite with a king size bed and vaulted ceilings, bathroom includes dueling tubs and a standup shower. Second bedroom has a queen size bed. Third bedroom has 2 full sized beds with a small balcony. Full bathroom also downstairs with a walk-in rain shower.

Newly remodeled kitchen opens up to a large deck and yard. Seperate dining room. Washer and dryer also!

If interested please contact us with available dates. Currently renting Saturday - Saturday. 1/2 of payment is due with a signed rental agreement immediatly in order to guarentee the dates, balance is due 45 days prior to arrival. Cancellations are 100% non-refundable. Personal damage insurance is required through VRBO and is non-refundable. $125 Cleaning Fee for any stay regardless of length.

Note: this is a 160+year old home with some quirks and many original features. If you love old homes you will appreciate this one but if you are used to something more current, this may not be for you.

Keywords: Cottage, vacation home, downtown, beach, library, ventian festival, newly renovated, retreat, attached garage, yard, 2 stories, crib

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 13, 2018

Why The Owner chose Charlevoix

I grew up spending my summers in Charlevoix, its a great family get away with a lot of acitivites.

What makes this cottage unique

Walk into town and enjoy live music at the harbor ampitheater, children love playing in the fountain in town, the newly renovated library has an outdoor area, walk to boat rental facility, skate park, and monthly festivals all make Charlevoix a great place to visit.


Charlevoix Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Upstairs Master Bathroom - tub , shower , Dualing bathtubs and stall shower
    Downstairs Full Bathroom - toilet , shower , outdoor shower , Walk in rain shower, outdoor shower off of kitchen deck
    Downstairs Bathroom - toilet , shower , outdoor shower , Walk in rain shower, outdoor shower off of kitchen deck
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , 1 baby crib , California King bed with attached mater bathroom
    Front Bedroom - 1 queen
    Great Kids Bedroom - 1 queen , 1 double , Door to upstairs balcony in this room
  • Crib is available in the Master.
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Outdoor Shower, Dual bathubs in master bathroom, walk in shower on first floor. No Wifi in the home, public library across the street has it. Charcoal grill.


Good! 3.9/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

18% Complete
72% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
Walk to Every Where from This Historical Home
average rating of 3.909091 based on 11 reviews

Cute old home with some modern updates that is close to downtown as well as the beach!

  • 4 of 5

This rental is only a few blocks from one of the few beaches in town, as well as a few blocks from the cute restaurants and stores of Charlevoix. We only used the car when visiting neighboring towns of Boyne city, Petosky and Harbor Springs which are all only about 20-30 minutes away. While the home is old, there are some modern updates. We were with our two young children as well as our parents. Although we brought some toys, there was no need to as there were some blocks, cars, and some books/puzzles there. We did have to bring towels, which we were already told by the owners. We didn't know we also had to bring toilet paper and paper towels, which was a little annoying. Other rentals have provided these, so we just figured there would be some there. So remember to bring- otherwise there is a small grocery store a few blocks away. The kitchen has plates, silverware and some pots/pans. The grill is on the smaller side, and charcoil, so when we cooked we just cooked inside. There was also no spices/comdiments- so just be prepared to bring everything you might need to cook.

The home doesn't have central air, but has window units in two of the bedrooms as well as fans. This was never a problem and our rooms were cool with these at night.

Overall a cute rental. The only real gripe we really had was something that could be expected in an old home but would have been nice to know ahead of time and that was the presence of mice during our visit, in the kitchen and living area. So, just be prepared for these visitors! Owners were informed so hopefully it is not an annoyance in the future.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Best vacation ever!!

  • 5 of 5

The house was a delight. As other guests have noted, the location is perfect. The sofa was excellent as a gathering point.

With folks ranging in age from 12 to 70, it was a blast. We feel SO lucky that you opened your home to us.

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Beverly Hills, MI, USA

Great house, great location!

  • 4 of 5

This house is great. Location is two blocks from MI beach and about three blocks from town. It's peaceful and spacious.

Two gripes:

There is a full bathroom on the lower level, but all the bedrooms are on the upper level. The upper level does have a full bathroom, but it's inside the master bedroom - so if another guest is sleeping in there, you can't really use that bathroom.

The beds were not the most comfortable - which stinks. When you go on vacation you want rest and relaxation. The relaxation is there, but the two other couples that stayed with us had issues with their bed as well.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great summer home

  • 4 of 5

Beautiful, renovated 1850s home. Tons of character and charm. Perfect location. Well equipped. We loved spending time there for home cooked meals, outdoor showers, nighttime soaks, evening smores, ukulele on the deck, family puzzles and card games, snuggles and snores.

  • Submitted: Sep 2, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Madison, WI

Charming older home with great location

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay in this charming older home. Some modern amenities along with lots of 160 year old charm. The location was spectacular. Two blocks from the beach and only a few from the quaint downtown area. Only drawbacks were the flannel sheets left out for the master bedroom. Flannel sheets and August are not a good combination. Also there were no dish towels in the kitchen as promised. We ended up buying our own paper towels and toilet paper.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi, Thank you for reviewing the home. I'm very sorry about the towels for the kitchen, as I mentioned in the previous reviews - we can't seem to hold onto towels long. Unfortunately I am told that many renters use kitchen towels to wrap fragile items or view them as disposable. I will look into the sheets as well, there should have been at least 3 sets of king sheets to choose from. Again thank you for the feedback, we will always look for ways to improve.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Beautiful Town, Great Home

  • 4 of 5

The Mason Street house is in a great location, across the street from a fantastic library, two blocks from the Main Street in Charlevoix, and 3 blocks from Lake Michigan Beach. The house is over 100 years old, but is very nicely rehabbed and was a great fit for our family that includes 3 boys between 4 and 10. They liked walking and riding their bikes to/from the beach and downtown. The house was comfortable, the beds, kitchen and bathrooms were nice.

Charlevoix is a great town and a good location for exploring other places in Northern Michigan. We went to 4th of July fireworks in Boyne City, the beach in Petoskey and took the ferry to Mackinac Island. All less than an hour away.

The only complaints are minor. Unlike most places we've rented by the beach, the house doesn't provide towels (even hand towels and wash cloths), and it's kind of a pain to bring enough towels to/from home. With kids in the summer, it would be nice to have a yard for them to play in, but this problem is mitigated by the open space at the library across the street. Lastly, while the house is close to Lake Michigan beach, which has lovely water and sunsets and the kids are fine with it, it's not the most picturesque beach because of its view toward a concrete plant a few miles away. There are lots of nice alternatives, but not in walking distance. So again, the complaints are minor and didn't interfere with us having a great week at this house.

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jeff, thank you for taking time to review our home. I'm glad you enjoyed your week and am sorry for the minor inconveniences. I wish we could resolve the towel issue but because we are private homeowners we don't have the option to stock towels in the quantities we would need. The previous summers when we did offer towels 15-20 would go missing each summer. This would require us to raise our rates as well as I would hate for a renter to come and be promised that towels were there and have nothing for them to use. We'll continue to look at solutions. Thanks! p.s. I couldn't agree more about the cement factory off in the distance at the beach but it has been there since the 1960's.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Many in town
Nearest Ferry
0.12 Miles
Beaver Island Ferry
Nearest Golf
12 Miles
Dumaglas, Boyne, Charlevoix CC
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Many in town
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
Boyne Mountain
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Ferry Beach
Car: not necessary

The house is directly across the street from the beautiful city Library. Perfect location, centered 3 blocks from the beach and 3 blocks from town. Can park your car and walk all week.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125
Property Damage Protection $79

No pets or smoking, if found the owners will terminate the agreement in which all monies paid will be forfeited. Cancellations less than 60 days prior to arrival will lose 50% deposit.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties