Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Hideout Surfside - Beautiful Views, Wifi, 2nd row

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 1,440 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 11-12)

Come experience the Hideout’s incredible views and relax to the sound of the surf and sea breeze. Enjoy the ocean and beach views from every common area in the house or walk out on our 60’ deck for breathtaking sunrises, some shade in the afternoon and unbelievable sunsets in the evening. Beach access is just steps away over a small catwalk, and is actually closer than many “beachfront” rentals.

This bright and relaxing home has 4 bedrooms and an upstairs loft perfect for kids or a single adult. The Hideout features 3 queen bedrooms and a bunk room (2 bunks) with its own 20” TV and DVD player. The huge living room, kitchen and dining areas are perfect for entertaining and socializing, all while enjoying the ocean views.

If you enjoy privacy, this is the place for you. No day trippers setting up shop in this front yard! The Hideout features a backyard large enough to set up a game of volleyball or play horseshoes while you wait for dinner to cook on the charcoal grill.

The Kitchen is fully stocked with basic appliances (microwave, oven/range, dishwasher, coffee maker, blender and toaster), utensils, glassware, cookware, and plates/bowls with plenty of extra cabinet space for food. The living room features a large sectional and a loveseat, 40 inch flat screen with HD digital antenna, DVD player and DVD library, and speaker connection for your iPhone (or any audio device with a headphone jack). There is also a laundry room with full-size washer and dryer that is available for use, as is a charcoal grill and BBQ utensils.

All bed linens and bath towels are provided at no extra charge, but not for use on the beach. Guests should provide their own beach towels and beach chairs. The Hideout is a child-friendly house with lots of space and enclosed deck with latching gates. Sorry, no pets allowed. Minimum age to rent is 25.

We hope you love the Hideout as much as we do. It is truly our “happy place”.

Keywords: Hideout, Surfside, beach, house, beachhouse, beachfront, kid-friendly

More Details

Owner
Eric Schuchardt
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 20, 2017

About Eric Schuchardt

Our family works and plays hard in Houston, so we enjoy coming to Surfside on the weekend to relax and just have fun on the beach. As soon as we cross the bridge and see the ocean, our stresses just melt away.

Eric Schuchardt purchased this house in 2010

Why Eric Schuchardt chose Gulf Coast

Our family fell in love with quaint Surfside and couldn't believe the amazing views from this house. We can relax on the porch while watching the waves and feeling the ocean breeze, and at the same time enjoying peace and quiet.

What makes this house unique

The Hideout is a perfect place for family and friends to gather with plenty of rooms and huge living areas, all overlooking the water. Kids love exploring the loft and large, gated deck. We love to cook as well, and our kitchen is large enough for multiple people to cook and barstools at the island for onlookers who like to sample!

Amenities

Surfside Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1440 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Loft - 1 twin/ single , Trundle bed ok for adult but best for child
    Bedroom 2 - 2 bunk bed , Features TV and DVD player
  • This spacious home sleeps 11 in comfortable beds and contains a single size air mattress to accommodate up to 12 guests. Portable crib is also available.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • pier fishing
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Fantastic views of beach and ocean, Wifi, HD digital antenna, outdoor shower, BBQ grill/smoker

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

59% Complete
33% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Hideout Surfside - Beautiful Views, Wifi, 2nd row
average rating of 4.4814816 based on 27 reviews
4

Summer Fun

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed this house, it was a few steps from the beach where we could walk over. It was an enjoyable vacation for my family.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

New Vacation Destination

  • 4 of 5

The place was nice (could use some updating) and provided easy access to the beach. There were a couple of reasons 5 stars weren't given for the overall rating. First, was because neither of the sliding glass doors to the patio worked. Both were taped off with a sign that said "Broken - Do Not Use." The second reason was the lack of adequate TV. The advertisement states Digital/Satellite TV, however it is simply an antenna which only shows local programming out of Houston and no cable channels. Overall my family and I enjoyed our stay here and will definitely consider this place again on a return visit.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great place

  • 4 of 5

Property manager was not aware of our arrival and house was not ready. Tammy put it in high gear and got a crew there quickly to clean and make ready. House is cute and spacious. Great location with water views but far enough that we didn't track a ton of sand in with us. I would recommend The Hideout for anyone wanting a beach house for a great value!

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

It was a great house!

  • 5 of 5

The house was just as it was described, nicely stocked with necessities, and the beach was barely a walk away. We accidentally parked at the neighbors house and the owners of this house nicely communicated with me to move our cars. We had so much fun and it was honestly one of the best weekends of my life. I would definitely recommend this home, it was perfect.

  • Submitted: May 23, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

great location and cozy place. loved it

  • 5 of 5

we had great time at this property. location is awesome and it was very cozy. Just enough for 12 people.

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
2

Not Maintained and Dirty.

  • 2 of 5

House had a good location but looks like it is not maintained/cleaned regularly. I have pictures of roaches and spider webs in the house. Apart from very dirty shower curtains, one of the 2 bathrooms had clogging in it and water was not draining properly. Oven was unusable and extremely dirty, it was heavily rusted. Seems like a very old structure which needs upgrades and cleaning. Overall i only liked the location so giving 2 stars.

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so very sorry the home didn't meet your expectations. We have the home treated regularly for pests and thoroughly cleaned after each guest. Sand and salt are of course natural factors we battle! I only wish we had an opportunity to address your concerns during your stay. We will be performing an additional check to examine and remedy any issues.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Damage Deposit $350

Violating the rental agreement (including number of permitted guests, smoking or pets) results in automatic forfeiture of the deposit. Damage to property, furnishings and excessive cleaning will result in withholding of partial or all of deposit.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties