Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Mountain Top Estate with Spectacular Views in sunny Laguna Seca area

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Space 2,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Large House, 3 Bedrooms, outdoor spa Convertible bed(s) 2.5 Baths Sleeps 6-12

Come enjoy our secluded mountain estate, complete with luxurious amenities and fantastic views. Located within Monterey Peninsula's prized sunbelt area. It may be foggy in Monterey, Carmel or Pebble Beach, but just few minutes away at your Mountain guesthouse, you'll often have sunny days.

The property is in the Corral de Tierra area conveniently located within short drive to Laguna Seca (3 minutes), Monterey, Carmel, Pebble Beach, Monterey Bay Aquarium and Pacific Grove. We are just down the road from The River Road Wine Trail -- a country drive that winds through 12 exceptional vineyards and wine-tasting rooms. A very special afternoon! Hikers and Mountain Bikers will love the Fort Ord National Monument, which runs behind our property. A trail head is just down the road from us!

The Mountain House is a 2800 sq. ft. multilevel mid century ranch set on three fenced acres, all professionally landscaped with big back and front yards, vegetable gardens and many Oak and Eucalyptus trees. Very private and gated with parking for over 10 cars. Large multi-level decks all around the house. 3 Bedrooms (our property will sleep 10-12 adults comfortably). 2.5 Baths. Gourmet Kitchen within Great room and laundry with 42 inch flat panel with DVD and stereo system, formal dining room, formal living room with built-in bar and 60 inch flat panel TV. Two wood burning fire places. One large master bedroom with king bed and two adjoining queen bedrooms with additional full bath with jetted tub. There is also an additional powder room and an outdoor kitchen with multiple wood burning grills.

Keywords: mountain, house, vacation, home, for, rental, country, retreat, private, secluded, great, views, near, in, monterey, county, off, highway, 68, by, laguna, seca, mazda, raceway, close, to, downtown, monterey, cannery, row, monterey, bay, aquarium, fisherman's, wharf, pacific, grove, carmel, carmel, valley, village, pebble, beach, salinas, available, daily, weekly, monthly,

More Details

front desk at Hotel 1110
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 18, 2017

About front desk at Hotel 1110

This property is professionally managed by a local small hotel :'Hotel 1110' in Monterey. Please don't hesitate to contact the hotel front desk for further inquiries and any other questions about our vacation home. 831-655-0515.

Why front desk at Hotel 1110 chose Central Coast

If you are a large party and appreciates seclusion with panoramic mountain and canyon views with large outdoors facilities for lounging and cooking, this place will please.

Most people know that the Monterey Bay area is famous for its natural beauty and popular events, but locals know it also has very quirky micro climates. Sunbelt properties close to the ocean, like Corral de Tierra and Carmel Valley, are prized and at a premium. Summer days can be cold and foggy in Pebble Beach or Carmel, and just a few minutes drive inland finds a warm, sunny day. A gloomy day in Salinas turns into a pocket of sunshine a few miles west where we are. The Corral de Tierra area, also known as John Steinbeck's Pastures of Heaven, is a sunny jewel.

Unlike any other vacation rentals our mountain estate has everything and is very close to all the Monterey Bay area has to offer.

What makes this house unique

Gated secured lot accommodate up to 10 cars, outdoors grilling experience, centrally located to all activities in Monterrey Peninsula... Jazz racing... Pebble Beach Concourse...Aquarium...Golf events


Corral de Tierra House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • non smoking only
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Sports teams, vendors and event planners are welcome


Good! 3.9/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

Mountain Top Estate with Spectacular Views in sunny Laguna Seca area
average rating of 3.9166667 based on 12 reviews

Nice Place, Difficult Owner

  • 2 of 5

My friends and I actually enjoyed this home during our stay. The kitchen pots and pans could be updated to accommodate 12 people if you are cooking. You can expect the ovens and stove top to take a while to heat up but luckily the outside fire pit provides another heat source for cooking. I just had to bring my own fry pan large enough to accommodate for my guests as the 8" one provided was pretty scratched up. Costco sells great pans for just a few bucks so those can easily be replaced. The surrounding area is also nice, woods and nice views off the balcony. With the woods also came some wild life. Saw a few Hawks, deer, and some rodents in the mountains. We found a few rodent droppings in the kitchen upon waking up which wasn't so pleasant. Not a big deal as I grew up near the mountains and dealt with that quite a bit so I'm used to it. The only real issue we had was after checking out, Nick claimed there was "excessive dirt and linen soiling" after we left. When asked about it he said he'd provide pictures and receipts of professional house cleaning but never did. Unfortunately I don't think this owner is being honest and only intends to keep our deposit. It's unfortunate because we really liked the house itself. very relaxing, I just wish the owner was as relaxing to deal with. I would not recommend this place to a friend at this time.

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Beautiful home!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at The Mountain House! It was the perfect place for our friends to get together for the weekend and relax. The house was just a short drive from Monterey and Carmel, but with the houses amazing views and relaxing vibe it was nice to stay in and chill. Very friendly and great service from Hotel 1110 I would definitely like to return.

  • Submitted: Jul 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
South San Francisco, CA

Great House for lots of People

  • 4 of 5

This house was great for large groups of people. It had multiple decks, an outdoor fire pit/barbeque, lots of seating, etc. The location was a little out-of-the-way but it is only about 25 min. from Monterey and 10 minutes from the nearest Starbucks. The property needs a little love and the house is an odd mix of new and old decor with a bunch of chickens/roosters thrown in. The pluses: great for lots of people, a BIG, roomy house, great outside areas, lots of parking. The minuses: the refrigerator was extremely fishy-smelling, most of the halogen lights were burnt out in the kitchen, the WiFi was sketchy at best, the shower in the hall has no water pressure, no spatulas (for the barbeque or anywhere), and at some point, the receiver must have disappeared because there are speakers but nothing connected to them.

  • Submitted: Jun 4, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
San Francisco

Great Views

  • 3 of 5

The house was really nice and plenty of room for 6 people comfortably. The air mattresses came in handy although one of them needed refilled in the middle of the night. The house had 2 nice living areas with TV's but unfortunately no ESPN, TBS, USA, TNT. We pulled out the coffee maker and started brewing but no lid for the pot so the coffee would not come through, we called to ask for another and we were told there were 2 coffee makers. They brought us a 3rd and then told us they couldn't find anything wrong with the coffee maker. The outdoor "kitchen" was not an outdoor kitchen. It is very run down, old and just looks as if no one has used or cleaned it forever. Overall, all the outdoor spaces were old and rundown and just not appealing to enjoy the great views. The house itself is nice but lacks overall care of the outside areas to fully enjoy.

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. Sorry that you could not operate the Coffee makers, but they are functioning and brand new one was provided immediately after you informed us with your trouble. We have basic "Dish" channels, guests who expect more should take that into consideration. There are no plans to upgrade the channels (over 45 ) Out door never meant to be kitchen, it has multiple fire places that are all wood and charcoal and functioning very well. We think it is rustic and well kept brick structures.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0

It was a great house!

  • 3 of 5

It was a great house. We really liked it, and frankly I really wanted to give them more than 3 stars. However, the internet did not work and there was a lot of confusion about who was responsible, which left us with no internet for our organization's conference calls supposed to happen at our retreat. Overall, it was a great place.

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank for your review Sorry about the internet issues during your stay, we did every thing possible, ATT is not a responsive or responsible organization. Because of our location on the mountain we cannot get cable and ATT is the only available venue and they know it, shame on them. Sorry about the rant, but we are very frustrated
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0


  • 4 of 5

We had a blast at the home.Our family was more than comfortable,the space was fantastic. The home has on open concept so its easy to use all the home and still feel close to one another. the home provides almost everything you can think of from seasonings, to robes to body wash, We even found electric rollers!

Lots of fun, very private, the home is gated and within a gated community so super safe, the kids were able to play in the spacious driveway without any concern.

The owners were so sweet, they are flexible and so kind. i left my ipad in the home and it was returned to me, we had no problem with the refund of our security deposit. The home was beautiful.

We were in town for my wedding, and the home made the weekend perfect. I was able to dress with ease, tons of space, the view from the back deck calmed me on one of the most frantick days in a girl's life.

Simply put this home has made it's way into our plans for the holidays.We would love to spend a week in the home, we were only there for three days and we hated to leave. The surroundings were so peaceful, the children got up each morning to see the deer in the property. Lovely!

The only reason it was not a rated a five was the heater was not working during our stay, but there are two fireplaces, a couple portable heaters, and the provided comfy warm robes kept us warm.

We will definitely return!

  • Submitted: Dec 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Carmel-Monterey Regional, San Jose International
Nearest Barpub
7 Miles
LaLa Paloza, Alvarado Brewing Company,
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Monterey (Multiple), Pebble Beach (Multiple
Nearest Train
10 Miles
Salinas Station
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
Coastal Highway 1, Highway 101
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Tarpy's, Passion Fish, Montrio, Monterey Fish Hous
Nearest Ski
100 Miles
Lake Tahoo
Nearest Beach
7 Miles
Monterey, Carmel by the sea, Pebble Beach, Dunes
Nearest Point of Interest
Laguna Seca Mazda Raceway
Nearest Point of Interest
Monterey Bay Aquarium
Nearest Point of Interest
Monterey County Fairgrounds
Nearest Point of Interest
Old Downtown Monterey
Nearest Point of Interest
Fisherman's Wharf
Nearest Point of Interest
Cannery Row
Nearest Point of Interest
Pebble Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
Nearest Point of Interest
Carmel Valley
Car: necessary

Laguna Seca Mazda Raceway events

Pebble beach Events

Carmel by the Sea Events

Jazz Festivals

Whale Watching

Salmon Fishing

Food Festivals

Wine and Food Festivals



Rates & Availability

Corral de Tierra House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Feb 15 2017 - May 24 2017
2 night minimum stay
May 25 2017 - Sep 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
Winter 2017
Oct 1 2017 - Feb 14 2018
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $150
Cleaning $150

Certain Events such as car week and Jazz festioval minimum stay and rates may change
Rate may Change during certain events, please call
30% Deposit required to guarantee reservation

Checks, Cash, Credit Cards, Square Invoicing. 30% Deposit required when make reservation

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing