Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Castaway Cove: Northside Beachfront Villa with Excellent Snorkeling!

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Space 3,000 sq ft
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedrooms, 3.5 Baths, Sleeps 10

Welcome to Castaway Cove, an oceanfront villa located in the Northside. Offering excellent snorkeling, this airy, sun-filled two-story beach home features breathtaking views from almost every room, vaulted ceilings, and an open concept design.

Enjoying a protective coral reef, Castaway Cove is perfect for snorkel and water enthusiasts. Guests can enjoy their own private pier and thatched cabana with built-in benches allowing guests to fish, lounge above the waves, or dock rented water sports equipment!

Inside the home, guests can relax across two oceanfront king suites on the main level, and 2 guest bedrooms on the upper level with king and 2 twin beds. The oceanfront living area is flooded with stuning views of the water and furnished with plush couches, a comfortable sleeper sofa (for children only) and large flat screen TV. A full modern kitchen comes equipped with modern appliances, breakfast counter and seating, plus views of the beach behind the indoor dining table with seating for 6. Guests can opt for al-fresco dining out on the elevated deck which spans the entire width of the house and comes furnished with an outdoor seating for 8, plus rocking chairs and built-in benches.

Combined with its convenient Northside location, it’s easy to see why Castaway Cove is an inviting destination and an excellent value for families and large groups. With no properties adjacent to Castaway Cove guests are assured maximum privacy and relaxation.

***Rate Details***

— 13% CI Government Occupancy Tax added to all rates

— 10% Service Fee added to all rates

— Owner requires a $500 refundable cleaning and damages deposit

***Booking Rules***

— 5 night minimum stay required

— 7 night minimum stay and full occupancy rate required over Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year's week

— Minimum 25 years or older to lease villa and must occupy the home during entire stay

— No weddings or events permitted

***Silver Thatch Guest Services***

For arrivals that have paid the guest service fee, your Silver Thatch membership includes:

— Centralized on-island guest services & welcome center

— Unlimited Use of Silver Thatch fitness center (18+ yrs.)

— Business Center Access: computers, printer & Fedex/DHL supplies

— Proprietary Silver Thatch Guest Discount Card

— Complimentary early check-in (if no check-out on same day)

— $500 of Accidental Villa Damage Protection

— Complimentary snorkel gear, pack-n-plays, booster seats, and baby gates for check out

More Details

Property Manager
Grand Cayman Villas & Condos
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a day
Calendar last updated:
April 21, 2018

About Grand Cayman Villas & Condos

Managing over 70 oceanfront villas and booking over 250 condos on Seven Mile Beach, Grand Cayman Villas & Condos offers the largest inventory of bookable vacation properties on Grand Cayman. With it's on-island hospitality company, Silver Thatch, Grand Cayman Villas & Condos has raised the bar on guest services.

A newly built welcome center was designed with the guest’s vacation needs in mind and includes a private fitness studio, and business center. Our dedicated staff is prepared to assist with charter and reservation recommendations for family dinners, snorkel safaris, or at-villa services like grocery delivery, massage treatments, private chefs, and more. In addition, guests can conveniently check-out complimentary snorkel gear, baby equipment, coolers, bluetooth speakers, Apple TVs, and other items to enhance their vacation experience.

Call or email us any time with any questions you may have and we will be happy to assist.

Amenities

North Side Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 3000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • King Suite - 1 king
    King Suite - 1 king
    King Bedroom - 1 king , Shares bathroom with Twin Bedroom
    Twin Bedroom - 2 twin/ single , Shares bathroom with King Bedroom
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay/sound
  • botanical garden
  • marina
  • reefs
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The entire island is only 22 miles wide from west to east; so you are never too far from anywhere on Grand Cayman. The homes on the oceanfront in Rum Point offer great reef protected snorkeling. The beaches usually have plenty of white sand, but also can have spots of rocky “ironshore” with natural rock formations. The closer you get to Rum Point, usually the sandier the beach as well as swimming. Either way, with the abundant marine life we have in the water, you will want to wear foot protection (pool shoes or fins). The prevailing breeze (trade winds) from the east also make flying insects less of a nuisance—many of the homes in Rum Point don’t even need a screened porch. The big draw to this area is the proximity to the “Rum Point Club”; a public beach club that offers a fantastic barefoot beach…many watersports, a restaurant, bar, grill, gift shop and pick-up beach volleyball games. (www.rumpointclub.com )

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

55% Complete
22% Complete
22% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Castaway Cove: Northside Beachfront Villa with Excellent Snorkeling!
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 9 reviews
3

Some highs some lows.

  • 3 of 5

The view was phenomenal but couldn’t really get into the water due to grasses and rocks so a pool was very much missed. The inside is large and the kitchen was very well equipped but the microwave didn’t work (so they have another one on the counter?) and the fan by the stove didn’t work (which leads to a lot of smoke and odors) and a security detector inside kept beeping. We called the management company who came out to fix the detector 5 days into our visit. The Mgmt company fee, by the way, is ridiculous. It’s supposed to give you discounts and high quality bath products. We got 3 small soaps. The pier and shack at the end were delightful and the location is our favorite

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sadly, we cannot do anything about the rough seas that have recently brought in so much sea grass and piled it up on the beach. We’ve had it cleaned repeatedly only to have it right back within a day or two. It does indeed take away from the normally beautiful view. (The last several months have been much worse than we have ever seen!) We had a major power outage after an electrical storm in November and have been working to get everything repaired...thus the extra microwave on the counter. Not our choice either, but we are doing our best to accommodate guests while we wait for the correct parts to come in. The exhaust fan was working when we were there in late January, but I will make sure that our property manager follows up on getting that fixed. I’m sorry it took so long for the security system people to correct the beeping problem. One way to get to the wonderful snorkeling without having to deal with the seaweed is to use the ladder at the end of the dock (inside the gazebo) and swim right out to the coral outcroppings. It is worth it! Thank you for your review, and we will continue to work through these issues...except the weather which we haven’t had much luck with!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5

Went with a group of friends and we loved it!

  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Private, Clean, Rum Point/North Coast Home

  • 4 of 5

Pictures are very accurate and the home has plenty of amenities, as if you were staying at a friends house. Games, books, extra chairs and everything in the kitchen. The property owners, along with Silver Thatch AND the cleaning lady Chloe, were very personable and helpful! Be aware the north side of the island has plenty of wind so snorkeling off our beach front was not possible. That was strictly due to weather though. With calm/warm weather snorkeling would be possible. Also, FYI, there is a enormous amount of seaweed on the beach, limiting space to lounge or lay out in the sand. The seaweed is piled up along the entire stretch of coast 2 feet high and litter is abundant! Again, nothing against the property, more a public service announcement for the northern part of the island.

  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately it is impossible to contain Mother Nature. Storms in early in mid-Jan came from due north, and brought in seaweed and debris. Normally the weather is from the east and the north side of the island does not have a large seaweed problem. Glad you enjoyed your stay and the home. Scott Reservations Grand Cayman Villas
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Everything was perfect.

  • 5 of 5

It was great to have a few paper products already there, plus extra pillows, beach towels, light switches were labeled and phone numbers for anything we needed. The home is very comfortable and nicely decorated with plenty of space, rooms and bathrooms for everyone.

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful house and view, great location!

  • 5 of 5

Had a great time! Would stay here again.

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
DePere
4

Great private home rental!

  • 4 of 5

Our stay was 12/28/16 - 1/4/17. Our party of 8, 2 families of 4, had a wonderful time at this home. Description of property is very accurate. Very private location. You have to have a car to stay here. The house was very clean, and was perfect for us. We loved snorkeling from their pier, and even if the water seemed a bit rough (not every day), the current conditions were not bad for swimming. Very pretty coral! The beach is not your clean white sand at a resort, but was very enjoyable. The only issue I had with the house (reason for 4 stars) is that I slept in the master suite and at night I love the windows open to listen to the ocean and you cannot open the sliders at all, they are completely caulked on the outside and the room has no windows so we had to have A/C on. I think overall weather is hit or miss, 5 of our 7 days were windy and 2 were not. The 2 that weren't were buggy and the other 5 weren't. But you are in a tropical location so bugs are to be expected. We enjoyed the deck everyday and wonderful stargazing at night. I have to say, overall the house was very nice and I would definitely recommend staying there.

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We will look into the window situation and rectify that for future guests. Thank you! Scott
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
19 Miles
Owen Roberts (GCM)
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Over The Edge
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Over The Edge
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional