check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Peaceful Country Estate with Pond, Near Madison and New Glarus

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
8
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
2 - 4 nights

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

For more photos and information about Prairie Hill Haven please visit our website

Have you ever gone on vacation only to return home feeling like you need another one because your vacation was so draining? Choosing a vacation rental that is in the country can go a long way toward helping you avoid that common scenario.

Prairie Hill is peaceful and private with beautiful views. In the early morning you can enjoy relaxing on the deck, sipping on your favorite drink and watching the fog lift from the pond as the sun rises. Don't be surprised to see geese, deer, or turkey at the pond. During the day you can watch for harriers, red tail hawks, sand hill cranes, and increasing sightings of bald eagles. Or drive 10 minutes to New Glarus (America’s Little Switzerland) to visit the wonderful shops, take a walk along the Sugar River Trail; grab a treat from the bakery or Sheri’s favorite coffee shop, The Fat Cat. New Glarus is filled with fun activities for the family. Or perhaps you’d like to drive to one of the other destinations nearby (Check the map for great locations to explore). Then drive back to Prairie Hill for an evening of rest; maybe a campfire down by the pond. Evenings here are serene and quiet with awe inspiring sunsets, and because we are away from the city lights the stars show off spectacularly on clear evenings!

Prairie Hill overlooks the scenic 25 acre property and surrounding rolling countryside. Within the 25 acres are extensive mowed 6' wide nature trails through the prairie and woods. The half-acre pond has a dock, beach, pergola, campfire pit, and is lined, aerated, and stocked with game fish.

Prairie Hill's 1000 square foot great room features a gourmet kitchen. There is ample space to cook and serve at the expansive, curved, hickory breakfast bar with 6 bar stools. Enjoy the stainless steel appliances, cookware, and dinnerware. The Dining area seats up to 8 with built-in buffet and booth. The great room also features window seats, a large leather sectional, and an entertainment center. Off of the great room you can enjoy the 12' by 32' west facing deck overlooking the pond and take in the long southwestern view. Deck furniture includes a table with 4 swivel rockers, and four lounge chairs. The lower level family room features abundant seating, 57' tv with over 200 channels, Blue Ray player, and surround sound.

The master bedroom is located in the southeast corner of the main level. The attached office with an east facing window offers additional space for any business you may need to attend to while away from home. The walk in closet allows plenty of storage for your personal items and leads to the master bathroom.

The second bedroom features a custom built, raised, king sized bed and an east facing window. The room also offers a relaxing lounge chair with ottoman and large closet.

The laundry/pantry room is located between the master bedroom and great room. It includes a guest bathroom and shower.

Prairie Hill’s lower level has two more bedrooms on the exposed, northern side. The first bedroom is a double room suite at the end of the hallway just past the lower level’s full bathroom. You’ll enjoy these cheerful adjoining rooms with cherry red bedroom set.

The fourth bedroom, with two twin size beds, has a cabin feel to it. The three large windows face west and north and offer a broad view of the prairie and pond.

Do you enjoy a daily workout? Then you’ll appreciate the gym featuring a Schwinn weight system and Life Fitness Flex Deck treadmill. There is also a TV with DVD in the gym.

Finally, you’ll have access to the two car garage during your stay at Prairie Hill.

We’ll be a call away in case you need anything.

Keywords:

More Details

Owner
Pete Hartman
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 11, 2017

About Pete Hartman

Hello, our names are Peter and Sheri Hartman.

We're proud to invite you to enjoy Prairie Hill's 25 acres of peaceful countryside while being within 15 minutes to 1 1/2 hours from many interesting destinations.

Some of our favorite pass times at Prairie Hill:

Taking a late night walk down to the pond and lying down on the dock to look at the stars while being serenaded by the crickets and frogs. Hearing the coyotes night song. Stroll along the wide trails through the woods and past the prairie's pine groves. Collecting fossils. Harvesting pumpkins from the garden. Cutting down our own Christmas trees. Enjoying a campfire by the pond (for whatever reason, we've seen very few mosquitoes during our 14 years here.) Enjoying a hot drink on the deck while the day wakes up and the fog is just leaving. Sitting in the great room with a roaring fire crackling and making the 13 foot ceiling glow while we watch a movie or play a game. Bird watching. Creating and enjoying a delicious meal together. Star gazing.

Some of our plans/dreams for Prairie Hill:

Build a workshop/barn/pottery studio (would be fun to offer classes to guests).

Build a covered deck off the front of the house.

Face the house with stone.

Prairie restoration.

Pete works as a principal in the Madison Metropolitan School District.

Sheri is an art curriculum developer for Kid's Junction.

They and their four children manage Prairie Hill.

Pete Hartman purchased this house in 1999

Why Pete Hartman chose Wisconsin

Have you ever gone on vacation only to return home feeling like you need another one because your vacation was so draining? Choosing a vacation rental that is in the country can go a long way toward helping you avoid that common scenario.

What makes this house unique

Time to Refresh... Life's current can seem to pull us along at an ever quickening pace. There comes a time when we want, and need, to slow down for a while and be refreshed. Prairie Hill Haven offers peace, wide open space with rolling hills and beautiful views, and a truly lovely and comfortable custom home to make your own during your stay.

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(51 traveler reviews)

Peaceful Country Estate with Pond, Near Madison and New Glarus
average rating of 4.980392 based on 51 reviews
North Liberty, Iowa
5

Wonderful Experience!!!

  • 5 of 5

This property is beautiful! It is much larger than expected, filled with thoughtful amenities, and was sparkling clean. We visited the property for a girls weekend away for 7. It was exactly what we needed. I can not recommend this property enough. Thank you Prairie Hill Haven...we fully intend to return!

  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfectly beautiful

  • 5 of 5

Prairie Hill was just perfect for my family in the area celebrating a grandson's wedding. Four bedrooms: me, beloved cousin from New York City, sister and brother in law from Berkeley, CA and their daughter from Portland, OR, and my nephew from Milwaukee were joined sporadically by the groom, my three daughters, and three grandchildren. We were multi-grenerational, ages 10 to 84, and the place was perfect, the weather even cooperating so that the younger were out exploring around the lake. There was nothing we lacked.

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay during UGM. Unfortunately, we did not get to enjoy the house and its surroundings as much as we would have liked. Beautiful property.

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Stunning property

  • 4 of 5

We were very impressed by this beautiful house and the bucolic surrounding countryside. The major reason that I didn't rate it five stars is the matter of the Wi Fi. Even though the home was advertised as having Wi Fi, it was spotty and almost nonexistent. This was problematic for our group, since we couldn't use our I-Pads to search for nearby places to visit or restaurants to frequent. In addition, perhaps due to the remote location of the home, cell phone usage was spotty (with one of us having AT&T as our carrier and the other utilizing Verizon service.) Lastly, this house is not really near Madison. Due to its remoteness, even getting to nearby little towns requires a good drive.

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're really sorry you had difficulty with the WI-FI. This has not been an issue with past guests so I called our internet provider to discuss the issue. It turns out they did some unscheduled work the morning of September 7. According to the provider representative, the upgrade they did was likely not completely compatible with the hardware inside the house. In the process of resolving this issue, we also ordered an upgrade from 5 Mbps download and 1 Mbps upload to 15 Mbps download and 2 Mbps upload. I realize the work by our internet provider to fix the problem you encountered as well as the upgrade were too late for your stay. If we would have known about the issue we would have done everything possible to rectify the situation immediately. Most rooms in the house are also hard wired with Cat 6 to provide a redundant option for internet access in the event something goes wrong with the WI-FI. Again, we're sorry you didn't have the ideal experience we strive to provide all of our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful property in the amazingly beautiful driftless region

  • 5 of 5

This New Glarus home gave our group of 8 a spacious gathering place and enough beds for all. The living room/kitchen/dining space are gorgeously designed (even better than the photos show) and allowed us to share conversation and laughs all the time. The kitchen is well equipped, making meal prep easy, and even had a second dishwasher. Having three bathrooms was perfect for us, and we also enjoyed sitting on the deck of the pond feeding the fish. Pete was a phone call or email away for when we had questions. One small issue for our group was that the downstairs bedrooms heard a lot of sound from the upstairs. This was only a problem because some of us stayed up later than others. Overall a wonderful stay at a wonderful property.

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful, spacious property

  • 5 of 5

Highly recommend staying here! The house was clean and roomy but the real star was the surrounding property. The pond and firepit make it a great place to relax outdoors. New Glarus is an easy, direct drive away as well. Would definitely come visit again!

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Point of Interest
Yellowstone Lake and Golf Course
Nearest Point of Interest
New Glarus
Nearest Point of Interest
Mount Horeb
Nearest Point of Interest
Madison
Nearest Point of Interest
Wiconsin Dells
Nearest Point of Interest
Monroe
Nearest Point of Interest
Mineral Point

Hunting, firearms, fireworks, and undue noise are prohibited.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Blanchardville House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter and Spring
Jan 2 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
$275
From
$350
Fri,Sat
$1,800
 
 
Summer
May 26 2017 - Sep 3 2017
4 night minimum stay
$325
From
$375
Fri,Sat
 
 
Fall
Sep 4 2017 - Oct 29 2017
2 night minimum stay
$300
From
$375
Fri,Sat
 
 
Winter 1
Oct 30 2017 - Nov 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$275
From
$350
Fri,Sat
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$375
 
 
Winter 2
Nov 26 2017 - Dec 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$275
From
$350
Fri,Sat
 
 
Christmas and New Year
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 1 2018
3 night minimum stay
$375
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$275
From
$350
Fri,Sat
$1,800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning < 3 night stay $100

We will consider stays less than the minimum number of nights during any season.
We charge a $100 cleaning fee for any stay less than three nights.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Blanchardville House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 16 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , double room suite
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • 6 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Private pond with beach and gamefish, six foot wide mowed hiking trails through woods and prairie, 25 private acres, campfire pit, 1000 square foot great room, gourmet kitchen, exercise area with weight machine and treadmill.

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers