Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Our Beach Retreat!! Come enjoy the white sandy beach at our home away from home

Bedrooms 2
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

Condo, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Come relax in style, in our beautiful two bedroom, two bath condo on Okaloosa Island... Close your eyes and rest on our beautiful white sand beaches... hear the sound of the waves pounding shore...feel the warmth of the sun on your skin. Are you relaxed?

Our privately owned condo sleeps six to eight guests. There are two queen-size beds, two bunk beds, a sleeper sofa and 2 full baths (not 1 bath and use the 1/2 baths at the pool)

Our vacation rental is steps away from the sugar white sands of Destin, Ft. Walton Beach, and the beautiful emerald green waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Don't force your family into small 1 room condo or hotel, spread out and enjoy the comfort of our condo. This is a two story vacation condo with a private master bedroom and bathroom on the upper level. Our fully-equipped kitchen has a stove, microwave, and dishwasher.

Linens are provided and the large capacity washer/dryer is located inside the condo.

There is a large flat screen 60" Smart TV/DVD in the living area, Hulu, Netflix Sling, etc are all there but you will have to have your own codes to use them. A 42" flat screen tv/dvd player in the master and a tv/vcr in the 2nd bedroom.

Wireless internet available and also beach chairs are provided. The Beach service closes at 4, so we provide our chairs, this way you can enjoy your day or afternoon at the beach without your chair being yanked!

New Lock system that gives each guest individual codes and changes upon their departure for added security and no keys to lose.

We love it and we do bring our family to enjoy the beautiful beach. We are 'hands on' owners, your not working with a property management company. We have many return guests and our weeks book up fairly quickly so please let us get you on our calendar as quickly as possible.

Family activities in the area include Big Kahuna Water Park, Gulfarium, Championship Golf Courses, Silver Sands Outlet Mall, deep sea fishing, and a variety of nearby restaurants.

Reserve early for prime vacation weeks!


More Details

Member since: 1998
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 23, 2017

About The Owner

Rex and I have been renting our properties out for over 20 years. We enjoy getting to know lots of people and have lots of return guests.

Why The Owner chose Fort Walton Beach

We had wanted to come to Gulf Shores area for several years and tried to trade out timeshare but could never 'get in' so! we ended up buying one out right. Now we can come when we want and share it with others!

What makes this condo unique

Oh, really neat places to snorkel. We can tell you where they take the dolphin boat to see the dolphins and you can snorkel right in the same place without cost. Shopping!! Eating!! Walking the beach! and seeing the beautiful sunsets. I think my favorite thing is just parking myself on the beach in the beautiful sand and reading, talking with my husband and dreaming! Love it! and you will too!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hi Penny & Rex,

We had a wonderful time staying in your rental!! I have been telling all of our friends about it and hopefully that will bring you some vacation renters!!

Met your cleaning lady (Anita) and she was so sweet!!

Will be booking another week for summer vacation come January so be on the lookout for our email thenJ

Loved the location it was truly relaxing for our family!!!

FORGOT TO WRITE IN THE BOOK before we left!!! Saw your family picture sitting on the TV and such a nice looking family!!!
Jun 2013
  • 1 of 2


Okaloosa Island Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (1) There is a queen bed in both bedrooms, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Queen sleeper sofa in the living room , Bunk Beds (1) Built in bunk beds
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • VCR
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Beach Service provided, chairs and umbrella The beach - its free!! snorkeling, jet skiing, parasailing, other water sports


Very Good! 4/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

Our Beach Retreat!! Come enjoy the white sandy beach at our home away from home
average rating of 4.0 based on 17 reviews
Nashville, Tennessee

The dirtiest place I have ever stayed. Was embarrassed that I would book such a place for my family.

  • 1 of 5

Shoes and dirty socks under our bed. Microwave had splatter food in it. Dirty underwear beside washer, sheets torn for pullout sofa with a king size blanket that was filthy. Dirty towels and wash cloths fold up for use under bathroom sink. Months of dust build up on woodwork. Coffe maker had left over used coffee grounds and dirty coffee pot. Did I mention I was not told there were no elevators, looked for another place but due to spring break every thing was full. Don't forget to take toilet paper and paper towels with you, and be prepared to pay $28. A day for 2 beach chairs a day. Pool was ice cold, make sure you know how to use a toilet plunger. I knew there was a problem when I saw the nasty plunger sitting next to the commode. I have been in the hotel business for over thirty years and never seen anything like this. I am asking for a refund, I'm sure that will not happen, but sure hope they clean this place up. No one should pay for this and have to clean the place before you unpack.

Brenda Donald

April 10, 2017

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Brenda, I am so sorry you feel this way, you should have called me right away and I would have had my cleaning lady come back over. She is new to me and I will be speaking to her the issues you have shared here. I will say that we were there in late Feb early March and I personally got down on my knees with a bucket and cleaning the baseboards. Took all the blankets and comforters to the laundrymat to be cleaned. Painted all the walls, wiped out all the kitchen cabinets and drawers, had the carpet cleaned. Pretty much did a spring clean so I'm a little confused on how you say there are dust bunnies running around. Now, if I didn't personally do this myself, I'd be a little more concerned but I have been doing this for over 30 years myself and I know the condition of that condo especially at the beginning of the season. Yes, you may have found shoes and socks under the bed but its interesting that those people called me looking for a pair of sneakers and I called my cleaning lady and she said she found socks but no shoes. I do check up on my cleaning people and just arrive to see how they have cleaned and like I said she is new so I will be doing that with her. I also had a text from the next people coming in and they had no complaints and were very pleased but I have a call into them to ask some more direct questions about the cleaning just to be sure. I do not take these complaints lightly and will get them corrected immediately. I also know from personal experience and especially when I have had a cleaning person for many years that sometimes its just the people - their complainers and no matter what you can't make them happy. For example - had this guy complain that I had no spatulas or steak knives and really ripped at me for that. I personally drove over 800 miles to check it out as I said I take this stuff seriously. Well, there is a whole big jar of spatulas next to the stove and yes there were steak knives in the top part of the drawer. He just didn't look well enough. Didn't take me long to find them. I did check with the next people coming in after you and they were very happy. I also found out you dirtied the towels, and broke my chair. I think this is a matter of you blaming me but you really did the damage. I will not be renting to you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Was kinda shocked

  • 2 of 5

The room itself was nice and not to far from the beach but once we got there it was gross bed weren't made or cleaned their was food all over the counters and we had to call the maids ourselves which they said they weren't notified of us coming g so they didn't clean the rooms and once they got there they didn't bring fresh bedding they picked up what's was used and on the floor and put it on the bed there was blood on the twin beds and bloody feminine products in the bathroom. I wouldn't mind d staying here again as long as it was cleaned. This was my first vacation out of my state and I was upset with the service of the place. But once cleaned up it was a nice stay. Needs better cleaners (not the owners fault)

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes Sorry you had to come to view it that way, In questioning my cleaning person to find out why it had not been cleaned earlier- she said she had to go to the emergency room because her heart was beating erratically or it would have been done. Glad it was all taken care of for you though and you had a good stay. I do apologize for her because she is usually very timely.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

MO Family

  • 4 of 5

Accommodation was good and steps away from the beach. A lot of things to do: snorkeling, kayaking, standup paddle boarding, etc. Rex and Penny were great to work with. Thanks again for sharing your condo.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

I paid in April for a June trip. Owner stated she would contact me prior to arrival with instructions. On the day of our trip, I still had not received any instructions. I attempted to contact the owner several times while we drove to FL, but phone went to voicemail and emails were not returned. We arrived in the evening, didn't know which unit it was, didn't have a code, and owner unavailable. We contacted Home Away and they were unable to reach owner and didn't have the current codes. Home Away put us up in a very nice hotel while we awaited the owner, (thank you Brandon!!). I kept calling and finally, a day and a half later, Penny answered her phone. She was extremely rude, offered NO apology, simply gave me the code and said the email she sent must have bounced back. She blamed the website and told me I shouldn't have used the Home Away site??!?! Home Away is who took care of us when she was unavailable! We were out 2 nights of the condo because she didn't answer her phone, and when I asked to be refunded 2 nights she was hesitant and said she would have to get to her computer and check her calendar! We packed up at the hotel and moved to the condo 2 days into our trip. Condo is very spacious, clean, and comfortable. However ad is misleading regarding beach chairs...owner states "beach chairs included, Beach service closes at 4". The owner does not pay for the beach service, beach chairs are 2 folding chairs under the bunk beds...if I had known this I would have packed my own! We still had a very enjoyable vacation, but I would NOT rent from Penny again. We have now returned home and she is refusing to refund the 2 nights we were not in the condo. We have disputed the charges with our bank. She has still offered no apology, she even told my husband we shouldn't have packed up our family to drive to a condo without obtaining the access codes! Absolutely terrible customer service.

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: All I can say is Irresponsible Guests! The check- in information was emailed on May 10th, 2016. 30 days prior to their check-in. I had spoken with Abby on the phone and instructed her that after final payment was made she would received the check in information, as was sent on May 10th. So if she didn't receive it within that week why didn't she email or call me? Now, the average person a week or so before leaving on vacation, if they didn't have the information would have contacted the person they were renting from. On the Saturday as they are driving down to Florida, apparently. they said they tried to call. I had received no calls from them Friday or Saturday morning up to 11am. Yes, I was out of cell service on Saturday at noon to Sunday at 3. Had I known I didn't have cell service I would have contacted them ahead of time to let them know this, but I didn't know it. I have been out of the country many times and have had people checking into our condos and have never had no problems. The problem is these people should have contacted us at least a week prior as they are getting things ready for their trip when they notice they didn't have any check in information and all this would have been easily avoided. That's Responsible! I don't have any way of knowing they don't have their check- in email I sent. It didn't come back to me so I assume they have it and all is good like usual. The point is there is a element of responsibility the guest has to make sure they also have the proper paperwork. They were also not out 2 nights only 1 and I will send them back for 1 nights stay. I shouldn't but I will. Ad says we provide 2 beach chairs. READ! We have been doing this a long time and have many, many return guests. I am very sorry this happened and it could have been avoided. Not saying I'm with out blame as to being out of cell reach but had they called days before it could have all been avoided and everything would have been smooth and it wouldn't have mattered if I was out of range. Live and Learn!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1

Awesome, serene, will do again

  • 5 of 5

We love the area..... This was our second trip and both times we have stayed at Sunset Cottages. 1st time a girls getaway. This time was a 1st time experience for my grandchildren to see the ocean. Both times great. Would highly recommend no matter what AGE. Commendations were everything you could ask for and more.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Tons of Spacr

  • 4 of 5

We loved the condo. Plenty of room for everyone. Short walk to the beach. I enjoyed early morning runs before the heat got too bad. Great view from the master bedroom. The beach was fabulous.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed it. We love it too, it's an awesome, quiet place and a great place to run. Hope to see you back soon!!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0



Rates & Availability

Okaloosa Island Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Late Spring
Apr 8 2017 - May 26 2017
3 night minimum stay
May 27 2017 - Jun 30 2017
7 night minimum stay
Holiday week
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 8 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
Jul 9 2017 - Aug 12 2017
7 night minimum stay
Late Summer
Aug 13 2017 - Sep 8 2017
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
Early Fall
Sep 9 2017 - Sep 15 2017
4 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest
Late Fall
Sep 16 2017 - Oct 13 2017
4 night minimum stay
Oct 14 2017 - Nov 10 2017
3 night minimum stay
Late Winter
Nov 11 2017 - Dec 31 2017
4 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Credit $30
Fee:admin $25
Cleaning Fee $125 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.0%

I have my own property damage requirement which is the same as a hotel with your credit card. Saves you money but protects us also. Good for both of us. This is a requirement.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message

You might like these similar properties