Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

3rd Floor "Gulf Front" East Corner Condo that Sleeps up to 12. Great for Kids.

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,300 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 10-12)

Rare chance to rent a beach front condo @ a Phoenix Complex that has the facility to Sleep 12 . You will have everything you want. Both indoor (heated) and outdoor pools. It has a large exercise room and

meeting/group area with TV. This condo is close to everything.!

This condo is an East Corner unit with a wrap around balcony. You have a Great view of the gulf, beach and pool from this 3rd floor condo.

The condo has a very large living area.

Keywords: Beach Front 3rd Floor East Corner Condo in a Great Phoenix IV Complex in the middle of Everything! This condo will sleep 12.

**********************OTHER CONDOS**********************

VRBO#326219...3/2 EAST CORNER CONDO ON 7TH FLOOR

@ PHOENIX II (SLEEPS UP TO 8).

VRBO#345293...3/2 EAST CORNER CONDO ON 8TH FLOOR

@ PHOENIX II (SLEEPS UP TO 8).

Note: 326219 and 345293 can be rented together for a group of

up to 16.

VRBO#395386...1/1 WEST CORNER 2ND FLOOR CONDO @

PERDIDO SKYE (SLEEPS UP TO 4 ADULTS & 2 KIDS).

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 24, 2018

About The Owner

I am from Louisiana and spend lots of time in the Perdido Key/ Orange Beach area. I Love

the Beach! I have (4) rental condos in the area.

The Owner purchased this condo in 2012

Why The Owner chose Orange Beach

Gave up Destin about 10 years ago...Too many people.

What makes this condo unique

Besides the beach, the area has Fishing, Golf and Tennis. There are many great places to eat, shop and entertain the kids.

Amenities

Orange Beach Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Bunk Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • miniature golf
  • shopping
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Two (2) Bunk Beds with Twin Top and Full Bottom Bunks Indoor Heated pool WiFi

Reviews

Good! 3.8/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

38% Complete
30% Complete
7% Complete
23% Complete
0% Complete
3rd Floor "Gulf Front" East Corner Condo that Sleeps up to 12. Great for Kids.
average rating of 3.8461537 based on 13 reviews
2

Not Happy With Condo or Mr. Miller

  • 2 of 5

Let me start by saying the Phoenix facilities and locations are fine. The common areas were clean and well maintained. Only one elevator worked all week but there were people working on them so they were trying.

Our problem was with the condo itself. Our problems started when we arrived. After taking our luggage and things we needed up to the condo the door code provided wouldn't work. We called Mr. Miller and after about 15 minutes he called back with a new code. It worked and we promptly walked in on another family. I think it scared them half to death. After excusing ourselves and apologizing we left and called Mr. Miller back. It turns out he had sent us to the wrong condo. Ours was 2 buildings away. So we had to haul everything back downstairs and move 2 buildings over. It wouldn't have been so bad except we had rented a condo on the third floor and he sent us a code to the seventh floor. I had emailed him back and asked since this was not condo we had rented if it was a comparable condo. He assured me the only difference was the kitchen table that was different than the pictures on VRBO. I feel like he should have picked up on the problem from that email. But he didn't.

After arriving we found a dirty condo. There were half used containers of food in the refrigerator, freezer and cabinets. The floors were dirty and when we turned back the sheets in the Master there was a six inch long black hair between the sheets. I realize that can happen in the laundry but it doesn't give you a lot of confidence in the cleanliness of the linens. If you look under the beds you can't hardly see from one side to the other for cobwebs. It took us three hours to clean the next morning to be able to stay there the rest of the week. We felt we should have been reimbursed some of our fees but Mr. Millers answer was he could try to get the cleaners back and graciously wouldn't charge us for it.

Other problems were no WIFI. Mr. Miller said there were plenty of other folks with WIFI on that floor and just pick a strong one. The furniture in the living room was horrible. It was worn out and faded out like it was outdoor furniture that had been brought inside. The balcony furniture was 4 bar stools and a long wooden bench to prop your feet on. There were pieces of plaster knocked out of the walls in several places. The blinds over the doors and windows were in bad condition. Overall this is by far the worst experience we've had with VRBO properties.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great place to stay!

  • 4 of 5

Nice place to stay. We enjoyed it!

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

February 2017

  • 3 of 5

The location and view is great near to various restaurants and stores. Great pools and beach is great !

But when we arrived the kitchen floor was dirty and sticky ,a dirty rag on the counter .

Linen in need of a good wash with

bleach has a funny smel. cover in master bedroom is Dirty .

Updated furniture will be perfect !!

The big tv need a appropriate tv stand!.

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very sorry that the condo did not live up to the there expectations. The condo should have been clean and that is disturbing. Had I known of the problem, cleaning would have been there immediately to correct the problem. I was never contacted by the guest at any time until this review was published. i phoned the guest twice and left messages and had no return calls. i called to check on them. I know some guest don't want to be bothered and will not respond. As to the furniture and TV I must disagree, as they are both adequate. The repairs have been reported to maintenance, except the door which was reported to the Phoenix mgmt. who will make the repair. Again, I am sorry that the condo was not clean upon there arrival.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Maybe a 2

  • 2 of 5

This condo doesn't look like it does n pictures .... it was not clean... showers wouldn't drain... needed numerous repairs I have reported them to the owner .... was very disappointed and I'm not a complainer

  • Submitted: Dec 24, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This guest rented this condo for one week. The contract rules state the guest is to immediately report problems if the condo is dirty, etc. The day prior to check out, i received a email with numerous complaints. The guest requested a refund or a free week in 2017. A legitimate complaint, a slow drain in the master tub, was repaired. A new guess checked in the day this guest checked out and had no problems with the condo. My problem with this guess is that he claims not to be a complainer, then at the last moment, complains with a request for a refund. i welcome complaints, as complaints provide me with the information to remedy the problem. This was not done in this case.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2
4

Great price, great view, large enough for easy flow, well stocked with cooking equipment, etc.

  • 4 of 5

Owner is aware and is working on a few things that need to be corrected.

Hopefully, will get to rent the unit sometime next year! Will recommend to friends.

  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Not clean

  • 2 of 5

The unit we stayed in was not clean at all. We had to come in and wipe down and sweep and mop. The furniture is old and dirty and the carpet in the bedrooms is filthy. There is plenty of room for all your guest. The beds we comfortable and the kitchen had everything you need.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I RECEIVED AN EMAIL FROM THE GUEST, COMPLAINING THAT THE CONDO WAS NOT CLEAN. MY POLICY IS TO CALL CLEANING AND HAVE THEM IMMEDIATELY GO TO THE CONDO AND RESOLVE ANY PROBLEM. I CALLED CLEANING TO RESOLVE THE PROBLEMS. I NEVER HAD ANY FURTHER CONTACT WITH THE GUEST. I ASSUMED THAT THE PROBLEMS WERE RESOLVED. MY MISTAKE WAS NOT CHECKING WITH THE GUEST TO ASSURE THE PROBLEM HAD BEEN RESOLVED. I AM SORRY FOR NOT VERIFYING THE PROBLEM HAD BEEN CORRECTED. AS A RESULT, THE GUEST WERE UPSET. I UNDERSTAND THAT. THIS HORRIBLE REVIEW WAS FILED AND THE REVIEW GREATLY EXPANDED THE PROBLEMS STATED IN THE EMAIL. I DO NOT BLAME THE GUEST, WHO WERE OBVIOUSLY VERY 0BSET THE BLAME WAS MINE FOR NOT FOLLOWING UP.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Naval Museum

Many festivals

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
CLEANING $140 + Tax

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties