Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Neptune's Retreat at Casa del Mar in proximity to all Galveston has to offer!

Bedrooms 1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, Sleeps 4

Experience a relaxing, enjoyable Galveston Island getaway in this luxurious, totally remodeled condo with new paint, lighting, fixtures, flooring, appliances and furnishings . This condo features numerous upgrades including: slate flooring, stacked slate kitchen backsplash, stainless steel kitchen appliances, granite countertops, travertine marble shower surround, art glass bathroom vessel, crown moldings throughout, custom bird's-eye maple hallway cabinetry, and custom leather full size sleeper sofa. Bedroom and living area each contain flat screen TV's with Blu-ray DVD players and unique original artwork. DVDs are furnished for your enjoyment after a day at the beach. The bedroom includes a queen size Stearns & Foster pillow top mattress and ceiling fan for added comfort. The convenient location of this condo is within walking distance of many restaurants and stores. If you should decide to dine in, you may barbeque at facilities on the property or cook in the fully equipped kitchen. Laundry facilities are located across the hallway near the elevators in this unit's building. Create fond memories while enjoying the sandy beach outside this condo or simply take advantage of this condo's ocean view by relaxing on the balcony while watching the waves as well as the activity on the seawall and fishing pier. For those who prefer swimming in a pool rather than in the Gulf of Mexico, Casa del Mar features two swimming pools, one of which is heated, and it is located outside the rear of this unit's building.

Property Manager
Ryson Vacation Rentals
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
March 18, 2018

About Ryson Vacation Rentals

Ryson Vacation Rentals


Galveston Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Downtown
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , shower
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • 1 Queen bed, 1 Sofa Bed bed
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks ...
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • swimming


3/5 -
(1 traveler review)

0% Complete
0% Complete
100% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Neptune's Retreat at Casa del Mar in proximity to all Galveston has to offer!
average rating of 3.0 based on 1 reviews
San Antonio, Texas

Extremely small and will NOT sleep 4

  • 3 of 5

First and foremost, this property will NOT sleep 4 and BARELY sleeps 2. The couch in the living area is a pullout, but if you use it there will be no space to walk around. Secondly the bathroom is so small you cannot fit two people in there comfortably to get ready. I hit my arm on the wall several times trying to use the bathroom on my own and I am a 28 year old female in great shape who does not take up a lot of room.

In terms of pricing ... you're better off renting a hotel for that price.

The real estate office that handles this property is not the best. We had a warning placed on our car for parking, before we were told we needed to sign in with the front desk, in addition to going to the real estate company. When we dropped off our keys the reception desk didn't even acknowledge our arrival and preferred to talk amongst themselves about personal matters.

The pictures of this property are also deceiving, because they make it look much larger than it really is. The living room, kitchen and extended bar to eat, are all one area and not separated. The bedroom is very small. So small that we decided to put our bags in the living room instead, because there was no room to walk in the bedroom if we had placed them on the floor.

If you have allergies or cannot stand strong scents, don't stay here. Every time we walked in the door there was an awful musky smell that we couldn't get rid of. I think it was a spray used to make the property smell good, but it did the opposite. At least for us.

The positives about this property are that it was clean, the location was right off the main street and close to the beach, the pool was not overly crowded and the remodeling looked nice.

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is unfortunate that you were not totally satisfied with this unit, as it is one of the nicest, most upgraded units in Casa del Mar. I strive to provide guests with a condo that will provide a comfortable, enjoyable stay. You had an issue with the size of the unit, but the units in Casa del Mar have approximately 465 sq. ft. (with the exception of a small number of oceanfront units directly facing Seawall Boulevard which have slightly more length in the bedroom). All units in this condo complex have the same room layout. The photos posted on VRBO are accurate and clearly show that the kitchen, table bar, and the living area are all part of a common open area, and are not separate rooms. This unit definitely sleeps four, two on the queen sized bedroom bed and two on the sleeper sofa. That the size of the bedroom and the space available for "walking around" in the living area when the sleeper sofa is extended were not to your liking does not alter the fact that the unit does sleep four. While the bathroom is not considered spacious, its size is adequate. I am a 6 foot tall individual, weighing 238 lbs. and have never had a problem with the size of the bathroom. Again, all units in the complex share this design. I, as well as management staff, have visited the condo regularly before and after your stay and have never detected the "musky" odor you mentioned. Perhaps the previous renter sprayed something with that scent which lingered, or it might have been the scent of the sea air at the time. I appreciate your favorable comments about the remodeling, location and cleanliness of the unit.
Did you find this review helpful?
16 9


Car: recommended





  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees
  • $
  • USD
  • $50 cleaning fee, $40 insurance fee
  • Monthly Offseason available - inquire for rates
  • Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
  • Pay pal and credit cards accepted.

You might like these similar properties