Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

The unique place....East Bali

Bedrooms 1
Property type villa


About the property

Villa, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2)

Sea-side, volcano-view, rice-paddies, serene, private, beach, unique, romantic

Nestled where two fresh-water rivers run into the Lembok Straights of the Indian Ocean, Our villa was selected as ARCHITECTURAL DIGEST's lead feature in the 'Exotic Homes Edition' in August 2009 for its unique design, luxurious appointments and magnificent setting. Designed by Linda Garland, built by a team of Sumatran master carpenters, the owners spared no expense in making the home environmentally friendly( built with all re-cycled wood) and seamlessly integrated into the natural setting.

In front lies the ocean and behind towers Bali's main 12,000 foot volcano, Mt. Agung, the 'sacred mother of Bali.' To the north over the terraced rice fields is the Seraya mountain range whose cooling breezes blow in most nights. Thus the property is a 360 degree experience.

The villa is actually six villas organized at the ocean's edge with 2500 square foot long house which serves as the living room/dining room house for the villas.

Villa Lumbung is based on a Sumatran rice barn design and houses one king-sized bed and its own full bathroom.

The villa is come with the friendly staff of ten people: two cooks, three house caretakers, three gardners and two night security men there all day to meet your every need, cleaning, and providing a delicious breakfast provided in the price of the villa. Lunch and dinner can be arranged for an additional amount. They are all smiles and will climb the many cocoanut trees to give you some 'ayer kalapa muda,' young cocoanut milk, or fresh-sqeezed orange juice, Bintang beer or sodas all day.

There are surf breaks nearby and surf guides can be arranged by the staff and are recommended to insure happy integration into the line-up. The local break, Pura Delam, can generate waves from two-feet to double overhead depending on the season and the swells. You can see the break from the living room/dining room house to tell what the swell is doing. It's a five minute drive away.

There is snorkeling right out front for lobster and sea life observation and excellent diving all over the area including wreck diving in nearby Tabanan. Bali is a haven for all water sports.

There are surf breaks nearby and surf guides can be arranged by the staff and are recommended to insure happy integration into the line-up. The local break, Pura Delam, can generate waves from two-feet to double overhead depending on the season and the swells. You can see the break from the living room/dining room house to tell what the swell is doing. It's a five minute drive away.

Facials and massages can be had at your villa with notice to the staff and are highly recommended and inexpensive. Also, recommended is to hire a car and driver by the week so that your freedom of movement is assured. It is NOT recommended to drive in Bali as the traffic behavior is quite wild and unpredictable. Cars and drivers are also very reasonable in cost and can be arranged before or after you hit the island.

We can arrange pick you up at Denpensar Airport and drive you the 1 1/2 hours to Villa Lunbung where your smiling staff will greet you warmly and show you to your rooms.

A ten-minute drive away is a often deserted white sand beach (Pasir Putih) about a half-mile long with lovely swimming and a few warungs serving fresh seafood and cold drinks right on the sand. Massages and crafts are also available.

East Bali may be the last refuge of the true Balinese Culture where festivals, temple ceremonies, and rice farming abound as they have done for centuries. Women in sarongs carrying temple offerings on their heads along bamboo-lined back roads are sights that will linger in one's mind long after you are back home. Many villages in the area are craft-oriented specializing in silver jewelry, weaving, ikat, fishing, and baskets, all ready to be explored.

Many local restaurants abound and both the luxurious Alila Hotel and Aman Kila Hotels are located within 45 minutes and have a number of fine, gourmet restaurants should you want a change of dining pace.

Most of all, we offer a chance at renewal, re-invigoration, romance, and recreation in uncommon amounts. Though the journey there may be long, upon arriving only the power of the destination will remain as you have successfully traveled into another world.


More Details

Barbara Lardera
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english, spanish, italian
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
November 3, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Your hotel is magnificent and your rooms are beautiful!
Apr 2017
  • 1 of 3


Gianyar Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Accommodation Type:
  • Hotel
  • Catering available
  • Breakfast - Included in Price
  • Lunch - Booking Possible
  • Dinner - Booking Possible
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • smoking allowed
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Kitchen
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • King size beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1) For extra guest in the room, Baby Cribs (1) on request
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Chauffeur
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • Babysitter
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

88% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
The unique place....East Bali
average rating of 4.888889 based on 12 reviews
Lynden, WA, USA


  • 5 of 5

The property, the villas, the views, the staff, the spa, and the food were all excellent. Staying at Villa Campuhan is a life changing experience.

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A perfect setting ...

  • 5 of 5

A perfect setting to welcome the new year. We spent 2 days at Villa Campuhan - wished we had booked for more. WOW - that summarises everything about it. From the location, the villas, the garden, the staff and the service. For us, there wasn't a need to leave the place at all. We enjoyed everything about Villa Campuhan. We can't wait to go back.

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Unbelievable honeymoon

  • 5 of 5

Villa Campuhan was gorgeous. I hesitate to write a review because we had the whole place to ourselves (perfect for our honeymoon) and I can't wait to return. The setting is beautiful and incredibly peaceful. It is remote, it is quiet, it is serene. We drove ourselves (make sure to have good directions as there are very few signs), but if you are up for the craziness of driving, it offers a lot more opportunities to explore (drive to restaurants, temples, beaches...). Dinners were delicious, even though they are expensive for Balinese food, they are well worth it.

  • Submitted: Feb 2, 2015
  • Stayed: January 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Vancouver, Canada

A luxurious, romantic and serene escape!

  • 5 of 5

We had the most amazing 4 days - the perfect end to a 3 month holiday in Australia and Bali. The accommodation was so lovely, the staff anticipated every need and the food was truly exceptional. We enjoyed the communal lounge area during rainstorms and soaked in the tepid water of the lovely infinity pool. We kind of felt like we were in a movie - so unique was the architecture. We didn't have a car - we don't recommend driving in Bali! - but it was easy to procure a driver for a wee bit of exploring. What an amazing honeymoon spot or destination wedding! Thank you!

  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2015
  • Stayed: January 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Canberra, ACT Australia


  • 5 of 5

We arrived at Villa Campuhan in the afternoon and were immediately shown to Villa Lumbung. From the moment we stepped through the gate, we wereblown away by the sheer beauty of this place. The setting is truly magical and we kept pinching ourselves to make sure we weren't dreaming. Villa Lumbung was pretty as a picture and we were quite amazed by how big it was. Perfect for the two of us. The room was beautifully decorated with windows framing the most beautiful views you could hope for. We soon went exploring and found lush, very well kept grounds, a tranquil pond, a beautiful pool a stones throw from the ocean. And then Villa Campuhan-the communal room for relaxing and meals. What a sight - no wonder it featured on the front of a magazine. From this moment on, we were in the lap of luxury but completely without pretension. We had our breakfast and dinner here each day and the view was to die for. The meals were of a very high standard - no menu for dinner, just whatever the staff bought in the local market that day. Lunch was chosen from the menu and was taken on the picnic table right beside the ocean. The staff here are absolutely terrific. As is often the case, the staff can make or break a property and here, they are a real asset. Ketut, the manager, was a pleasure to deal with and assisted us with booking a driver/guide to take us around the local area. Blakey was a great driver/guide, a very warm and friendly person, and we certainly recommend his services. The gardens were immaculately maintained and we saw many staff constantly tending to the gardens. The chefs/kitchen staff/room attendants/gardeners were all very friendly whilst maintaining a professional standard. We were completely content to spend most days by the pool. The weather was perfect and as this is the beginning of the season, only two of the villas were reserved, so we often had the place to ourselves. Everything about this property is perfect. The individual villas and the communal room were beautifully decorated and the location outstanding. Everything was spotlessly clean and well maintained. The only suggestion I would have would be to have your own transport if you want to do some sightseeing as it is a little remote (local village worth a visit too). It was about 30 minutes to Candi Dasa if you feel the need to dine out - we only did on one occasion and even though we enjoyed the meal, we couldn't wait to get back to Villa Campuhan! Thank you Barbara!

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2014
  • Stayed: April 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 4 of 5

This place is paradise. It's stunning, remote, staff are very welcoming and helpful. Like other reviewers we were the only two people staying at the time. We aren't wealthy and our stay here was a treat for my partner who's birthday it was. It's very expensive for Indonesia but if your pockets are deeper than mine you won't mind spending the extra as it's presentation and location justify a bigger cost. The chef will supply you with an evening meal for 2 people at a cost of 605,000rp (without drinks but including 21% service and tax). The meals were outstanding, just wonderful. Fresh and exciting. Again expensive for Indonesia (we were paying about half that elsewhere including wine). They have free wifi but this stops working at 6pm and comes back on around 9am so if you need to do any planning on the internet make sure you get it done early. We were told this was due to the salt air affecting the equipment but I'm not 100% sure I believe that. I've never had to sign a waiver/disclaimer to stay at a hotel before, luckily we didn't slip on a wet floor or walk into a glass door though so I have no cause to regret signing it. My biggest issue is about a taxi they arranged for me. We had been in Bali for 12 days before arriving at Villa Campuhan so we know the prices. We asked for a taxi to take us to a beach we could swim at. The drive was 15minutes and we were there 2 Hours and then driven back. Elsewhere we would have paid around 150,000rp but when we returned and tried to pay the driver he said we had to pay the hotel as they were paying him directly. Sure enough when we got the bill it was 330,000rp PLUS 21% service & tax taking it up to 400,000rp. I can't think how you can justify adding service & tax onto a taxi drive that you got someone else to do and overcharged for in the first place. On our departure day we organised our own taxi. We had the car with a driver for 8 Hours and we paid him 450,000rp including tip. This review may come across as very negative but I must say that this location is just stunning, the staff were wonderful, the food was excellent and plentiful, the room was clean and well maintained. It was like living in a fairy-tail for three days. I would almost certainly return if I found myself in Bali again. My only issues were around costs as we found ourselves not ordering too much as our budget wouldn't stretch. If you visit this place you will have some amazing memories to cherish.

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2013
  • Stayed: September 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Andrews, thank you so much for your review,I really appreciate you take the time. We take notes of all your comment about food price,transportation and wii-fi. About the wii-fi I hope you understand that we don't have any reasons to have excuse, we don't have any reasons for turn off after 6pm and turn on in the morning, sometime the wind is too strong or some other thinks happens, we still in Bali .The most important think for us is make our guest happy and I think your review and the others make us believe we do that. About the car and food price,was really very helpful your review and we already fix here and there. So I hope I can have the pleasure to have you with us again on day and I hope you going to remember Villa Campuhan in the most positive way. Thank you again Barbara
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 21.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties