Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Luxury Hunting and Fishing Cabin

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Space 1,350 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Luxury Hunting and Fishing Cabin

The rental property is a luxury 4 bedroom, 3 bath camp. It is full with all the amenities for an enjoyable stay and to let your self go (All stainless steel appliances, wet bar, leather living room set, 55” flat screen plasma tv, all new beds and bunk beds, all silverware, pots, pans, utensils, washer & dryer, and everything else for your convenience. Down stairs you have a full size kitchen with all cooking supplies, silverware, pots, pans, washer/dryer, 1000lb. ice machine and a sink. It also has a ½ bath inside the kitchen for your convenience. When staying at “The Red Speck” we will supply you with the following for your convenience.

•Crawfish or Shrimp boiling pot

•Burner

•Propane Tanks

•500lb. Ice machine

•Fish Cleaning station

•BBQ pit

•Chairs, swings, and tables for you to enjoy

•Private boat launch

•Outside radio

•Outside TV Marc Albarado

We built this camp with you in mind. We want this to be an enjoyable stay and a time for you to remember forever. At “The Red Speck”, you can leave all your worries at home and just relax.

More Details

Owner
Marc Albarado
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 23, 2017

About Marc Albarado

We are a family that lives in Baton Rouge, La. We love to fish and spend time with family and friends at the camp. It is very relaxing in the afternoon on the upper deck over looking the water.

Marc Albarado purchased this cabin in 2010

What makes this cabin unique

* Downstairs we have a full kitchen with a 1/2 bath on the inside.

* 500lb. ice machine

* Burners along with crawfish, and shrimp boiling pots and pans and anything else you need for cooking or boiling.

* Private boat launch with 3 boat slips

* Wet bar up stairs

* Downstairs you'll have access to hammocks,

swings, chairs and 2 large picnic tables, radio, fish

cleaning tables and up stairs we just built a 30' X 30'

deck over the water which you will enjoy the evening

breeze that comes down the bayou.

Guestbook comments from the owner

I would rate The Red Speck with 5 stars plus! I'm not saying this

because it is going to the owner but because it is an awesome camp and we had a fantastic stay there. We have stayed at other camps and the Red Speck is definitely a home away from home rather than a fishing camp. It was clean, spacious, comfortable, and well kept. The upper deck, downstairs area, kitchen, bathroom and large ice maker were all greatly appreciated amenities. It was nice not to have to haul everything up the steps that we were going to use downstairs to cook or fish. Having a bathroom downstairs was a luxury! In addition, there is a private boat launch, 3 boat slips and a 3 carport area which makes it nice for a larger group.



Five adults stayed for 4 nights and 5 days and we enjoyed all the extras the camp had to offer such as a large tv in the living room along with tvs in each bedroom. We thought the location was very good to get to good fishing areas especially with such a long NO WAKE ZONE in the area.



Marc the owner answered any questions or handle any problems we may have had. We really appreciated his willingness to help with giving suggestions and maps of where to fish. As I mentioned before, The Red Speck Camp is a home, not a fishing camp.



I feel Marc takes great pride in his camp and truly wants his renters to

have a good time. We all know however, you can't please all people all the time! We enjoyed our stay tremendously and wouldn't hesitate to rent The Red Speck again!



Linda
Apr 2017
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Chauvin Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1350 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Please read the rental agreement before you send in payment.
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Resort
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Shared Kitchen ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 bunk bed
    Bedroom 4 - 2 bunk bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • marina
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Outside Kitchen, fish cleaning station, boat lift, 3 boat slips, private boat launch, hammocks, swings, washer and dryer, 1 mile south of cecil lapyarouse, and 1 mile north of bayou savagne. Great night fishing off the piers, 3 car carport, get out your boat and listen to radios, watch tv, and have access to a full size kitchen to do all you're cooking, grilling, boiling, which ever your prefer. We built this camp with all the accessories for you to have. You will have the best of the best, great neighbors who love to have fun and make memories with people from out of town. 500lb. ice machine, cleaning knives, all linens, easy access to stores, restaurants, and have great access to bayou terrobonne. Your 35 minutes away from timbalier island, 30 minutes from last island, raccoon point, and some of the best speckle trout and red fishing in the world. party, relax, cook, laugh, take in the evenings breath taking view of the most beautiful site that you will ever see.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(32 traveler reviews)

Luxury Hunting and Fishing Cabin
average rating of 4.65625 based on 33 reviews
5

Very Nice Camp! Perfect for what I needed!

  • 5 of 5

We rented the camp for a Mardi Gras fishing rodeo in July. It was just what we needed. The camp was very nice and very clean. Everyone had a great time! No hassle at all getting into the camp and getting set up. Thank you very much and we will be renting it again next year!

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much. I'm glad you enjoyed your self and look forward to having you back again. My housekeeper said that you left the camp in great shape and I want to thank you for that! Respectfully, Marc Albarado
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great as usaual!

  • 5 of 5

It's always a pleasure staying at the Red Speck! We enjoyed our stay once again. Looking forward to next year!

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very Nice

  • 5 of 5

Great house with direct access to the marsh. Plenty of room with all the amenities. Will certainly stay again.

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review Jack, It's always a pleasure to hear from customers on how there stay went and my wife and I are glad that you had a good time. Hope to see you back. Respectfully, Marc
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Horrible experience

  • 1 of 5

This camp is not managed well at all. Many things were unkept and needed repairs. Open containers of food were present in the fridge when we got there. Exposed wires on ceiling fan. Outdoor furniture was broken. Washer and dryer didn't work. Wifi never worked. When problems arose, the owner was accusatory and not understanding whatsoever. Will never rent from this owner again, nor do I recommend anyone else does.

  • Submitted: May 19, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Carlton, I do agree with a couple of issues that you've had, but some them were not accurate. 1. The Wifi was working to my knowledge and the Wifi name and password is above the refrigerator on the inside of the cabinet. I checked with the Wifi company and they let me know that there were not any outages in that area. 2. We did have some outdoor furniture that was broken which after your stay ( and every other customers stay) my househeeper does a property walk through to see what is broken and or what needs to be replaced. As I'm sure that you saw there were more than enough outdoor furniture for our customers to use. We have 2 full outdoor sets of furniture up stairs on the upper deck as well as several single chairs. My housekeeper did see where 3 of the chairs were broken and we got rid of them immediately. Downstairs we have 2 hammocks, 1 large picnic table which is made out of steel and a 3" table top, 3 rocking chairs and as of my knowledge there still there and in working condition. If i am wrong about any of the furniture than I apologize. I know that broken furniture can lead to customers getting hurt and make it a point to get rid of the furniture immediately after we notice them. Again, I have had 5 stars with all my rentals and do not take it lightly when I don't see a 5 star. This issues are fixed immediately so that the future customers will not have the same issues. Obviously I'm not happy with this review but I rely on my customers to let me know what there thoughts were on the trip because without your response I will never know what I have to do to make my customers happy with there stay. Marc Albarado
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great home but we had some issues!

  • 3 of 5

This is a very comfortable, spacious, well appointed home - however, for us , it was not as perfect as it might have been.

Unfortunately we didn't receive the emailed access code to gain access until nearly 5.30 (access should have been from 4pm)

We had expected wifi but there was no wifi code.

There is an expensive cleaning fee attached to the rent but we saw no evidence of recent cleaning on our arrival. The waste bins in kitchen and bathrooms had not been emptied, there were candy papers all over the living room floor, the kitchen work surface was sticky and obviously hadn't been cleaned since last being used.

On our return I sent a message to the owner and requested a partial reimbursement of the cleaning fee to compensate for the state of the place when we arrived but heard nothing from him.

Having no direct contact details for him was real frustration as we could only communicate through the 'home away' website.. And with no wifi we were stuck!

Sorry to sound negative as it was a lovely place but our overall experience was tarnished by these irritations. When you go into someone else's home to stay it's good to feel it's been properly cleaned prior to your arrival.

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ms. Trudy, I was there the day of your arrival and saw that there was no evidence of the camp being dirty. I didn't roll my hands over the island bar so I cant give you and accurate response to that. The WiFi was in and out for a week or so and that was out of my control. As far as the cleaning fee, that was clearly stated on the rental agreement so it should of came at no surprise. There is not a fee that I try to hide to my customers and every fee is listed in the line item details as I have attached below. I'm very sorry for the issues that you had and as you can see from my previous reviews I always take great care of my camp and customers. Camp Payment Details: Respectfully, Marc Albarado Reservation Details Quote 2 nights $600.00 Cleaning Fee $130.00 Service Fee - Learn More $79.20 Including VAT tax of 20% Subtotal $809.20 Refundable Damage Deposit $250.00 Total Payment $1,059.20 Total Fees ($79.20) Payable to you $980.00
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
1

poor management

  • 1 of 5

Bad experience. rented camp thru VRBO three months in advance. Paid in full for June 22nd-26th.Was contacted 2 days prior to rental, June 20th, by email, CAMP UNAVAILABLE. water damage! It is now July 11th and NO REFUND. CANNOT CONTACT VRBO NOR OWNER. Will now file dispute thru MasterCard. Will not use VRBO again unless this is resolved

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Rusty, I apologize for the inconvenience, but I had no control for the water heater busting. I did offer you and extra night free when ever you want it. I appreciate all of my customers and take great pride in the fact that I've had 5 star in 26 of my 28 reviews. I want to make it up to you and I know that you were not interested in the extra night but if you change your mind it still stands
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1

Map

Duck hunting, and some of the best fishing in South Louisiana

Photos

Rates & Availability

Chauvin Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$285
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $130
Refundable damage deposit $250

CANCELLATIONS – The rental unit may be cancelled with (21) days written advance notice to receive full refund on the money that was collected. If cancelled after the (21) day period is up you will forfeit all the money that was paid toward the rental.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties