Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Luxury Hunting and Fishing Cabin

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Space 1,350 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Luxury Hunting and Fishing Cabin

The rental property is a luxury 4 bedroom, 3 bath camp. It is full with all the amenities for an enjoyable stay and to let your self go (All stainless steel appliances, wet bar, leather living room set, 55” flat screen plasma tv, all new beds and bunk beds, all silverware, pots, pans, utensils, washer & dryer, and everything else for your convenience. Down stairs you have a full size kitchen with all cooking supplies, silverware, pots, pans, washer/dryer, 1000lb. ice machine and a sink. It also has a ½ bath inside the kitchen for your convenience. When staying at “The Red Speck” we will supply you with the following for your convenience.

•Crawfish or Shrimp boiling pot

•Burner

•Propane Tanks

•500lb. Ice machine

•Fish Cleaning station

•BBQ pit

•Chairs, swings, and tables for you to enjoy

•Private boat launch

•Outside radio

•Outside TV Marc Albarado

We built this camp with you in mind. We want this to be an enjoyable stay and a time for you to remember forever. At “The Red Speck”, you can leave all your worries at home and just relax.

More Details

Owner
Marc Albarado
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
May 26, 2017

About Marc Albarado

We are a family that lives in Baton Rouge, La. We love to fish and spend time with family and friends at the camp. It is very relaxing in the afternoon on the upper deck over looking the water.

Marc Albarado purchased this cabin in 2010

What makes this cabin unique

* Downstairs we have a full kitchen with a 1/2 bath on the inside.

* 500lb. ice machine

* Burners along with crawfish, and shrimp boiling pots and pans and anything else you need for cooking or boiling.

* Private boat launch with 3 boat slips

* Wet bar up stairs

* Downstairs you'll have access to hammocks,

swings, chairs and 2 large picnic tables, radio, fish

cleaning tables and up stairs we just built a 30' X 30'

deck over the water which you will enjoy the evening

breeze that comes down the bayou.

Amenities

Chauvin Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 1350 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Resort
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Shared Kitchen ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 1 bunk bed
    Bedroom 4 - 2 bunk bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • marina
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Outside Kitchen, fish cleaning station, boat lift, 3 boat slips, private boat launch, hammocks, swings, washer and dryer, 1 mile south of cecil lapyarouse, and 1 mile north of bayou savagne. Great night fishing off the piers, 3 car carport, get out your boat and listen to radios, watch tv, and have access to a full size kitchen to do all you're cooking, grilling, boiling, which ever your prefer. We built this camp with all the accessories for you to have. You will have the best of the best, great neighbors who love to have fun and make memories with people from out of town. 500lb. ice machine, cleaning knives, all linens, easy access to stores, restaurants, and have great access to bayou terrobonne. Your 35 minutes away from timbalier island, 30 minutes from last island, raccoon point, and some of the best speckle trout and red fishing in the world. party, relax, cook, laugh, take in the evenings breath taking view of the most beautiful site that you will ever see.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(28 traveler reviews)

Luxury Hunting and Fishing Cabin
average rating of 4.75 based on 28 reviews
3

Great home but we had some issues!

  • 3 of 5

This is a very comfortable, spacious, well appointed home - however, for us , it was not as perfect as it might have been.

Unfortunately we didn't receive the emailed access code to gain access until nearly 5.30 (access should have been from 4pm)

We had expected wifi but there was no wifi code.

There is an expensive cleaning fee attached to the rent but we saw no evidence of recent cleaning on our arrival. The waste bins in kitchen and bathrooms had not been emptied, there were candy papers all over the living room floor, the kitchen work surface was sticky and obviously hadn't been cleaned since last being used.

On our return I sent a message to the owner and requested a partial reimbursement of the cleaning fee to compensate for the state of the place when we arrived but heard nothing from him.

Having no direct contact details for him was real frustration as we could only communicate through the 'home away' website.. And with no wifi we were stuck!

Sorry to sound negative as it was a lovely place but our overall experience was tarnished by these irritations. When you go into someone else's home to stay it's good to feel it's been properly cleaned prior to your arrival.

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

poor management

  • 1 of 5

Bad experience. rented camp thru VRBO three months in advance. Paid in full for June 22nd-26th.Was contacted 2 days prior to rental, June 20th, by email, CAMP UNAVAILABLE. water damage! It is now July 11th and NO REFUND. CANNOT CONTACT VRBO NOR OWNER. Will now file dispute thru MasterCard. Will not use VRBO again unless this is resolved

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Rusty, I apologize for the inconvenience, but I had no control for the water heater busting. I did offer you and extra night free when ever you want it. I appreciate all of my customers and take great pride in the fact that I've had 5 star in 26 of my 28 reviews. I want to make it up to you and I know that you were not interested in the extra night but if you change your mind it still stands
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
5

Family Reunion Cajun Style

  • 5 of 5

Red Speck camp was perfect for our family of 12. We had a family reunion crawfish and crab boil on the bottom deck - even with 30 of us there we had plenty of space for entertaining. The one downside is it doesn't have a lift/elevator to the main floor - my sister that came to the reunion isn't capable of going upstairs. The ground floor kitchen had been torn out and the ground floor restroom needed some updating. Overall it is a fantastic bayouside camp!! Perfect! We'll stay there again if the opportunity comes along. Thanks Marc.

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5

Our group was very impressed with the facility and fishing while visiting Cocodrie. This was our first time to visit both but thoroughly enjoyed the stay; with exception of bad weather and flooding while present. All in all, on good weather days we had a GREAT time while staying in a great facility with great fishing. Thanks!

  • Submitted: Jan 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
daytona beach, florida
5

We will be back

  • 5 of 5

GREAT AMMENITIES, Clean, plenty of space great docking facilities. The sight fishing was awesome. we left the dock at sunrise and returned at sunset.

(negatives) a big feature for us was to be the ice machine, IT DID NOT work. 8 guys and 3 boats, the ice bill ended up over $150. The range down stares totally shot.

  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so sorry about the ice machine. I tried my best to have it fixed, but they had to order 2 pieces. The pieces did come in on time, but I couldn't get anyone out there to install it in time. I am very sorry about the $150 in ice. Please send me a address and I will send you a check to reimburse you. You should not have to pay for the ice, and I am very sorry. I want everything to be perfect for you and I would be very happy to send you a check to make up for it. I'm glad that everything else was great, and I look forward to having you back in 2016.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

great family getaway

  • 5 of 5

great camp for fishing, relaxing and just enjoying the LA marsh. many extras that make it well worth the stay

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I want to thank you for the kind words in regards to "The Red Speck" camp. I'm glad you enjoyed yourself and next time you come down to cocodrie, please give me a call. Respectfully, Marc Albarado
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Duck hunting, and some of the best fishing in South Louisiana

Photos

Rates & Availability

Chauvin Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$300
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Cleaning Fee $130

CANCELLATIONS – The rental unit may be cancelled with (21) days written advance notice to receive full refund on the money that was collected. If cancelled after the (21) day period is up you will forfeit all the money that was paid toward the rental.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties