Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Great Location, Walk to Town and South Beach

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 775 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Great Location, in Katama section of Edgartown, within walking distance to South Beach, yet 1/2 mile walk to downtown Edgartown's shops, harbor, Captain's houses, restaurants, and cinema. Clean, comfortable house with two bedrooms (one queen bed and one with twin trundle beds), and lots of updated furnishings (inc. new hardwood floors, couch, area rugs, etc.). Central air conditioning, WiFi, deck with gas grille. Recent bike path runs in front of property. Left to village center, right to the beach.

Truly the best location, and on the new bike path: At the new bike path in front of the property, turn left to the village center, turn right to the beach.

Walk 1/2 mile to in-town and dine on Main St., on Edgartown harbor, or at one of many inns. Other favorites -- walk down Herring Creek to Katama Airport and breakfast on their outside deck while planes land overhead at one of the Nation's oldest grass airfields. Bring a picnic to the beach or one of the many natural reserves on Island.

Cycle to nearby bike path and venture to the beach, to downtown, along Beach Road to Oak Bluffs, around the State Forest, or, for the more serious cyclist - all the way to the cliffs at the other end of the Island.

Don't worry about parking a car in busy downtown Edgartown. A ten minute walk to Main Street brings you to a movie, dinner, or an ice cream. And if you bring or rent a kayak or canoe, you are close to Edgartown's Great Pond and the harbor.

Keywords: house

More Details

Owner
Rita Spence
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 28, 2017

About Rita Spence

I used to live at this location yearround. It was great for its convenience to downtown, to the beach, to the bike path, yet feeling of removed and less-dense development. Now, I live elsewhere, but still love the location. The house sits back off the road and its locale lets me leave my car off Island; I can use my bike, or the bus that runs in front, or take an easy walk past the llamas, on bike path, near the harbor to downtown.

Rita Spence purchased this house in 1996

Why Rita Spence chose Martha's Vineyard

Best of both worlds. Excellent access to downtown, to South Beach and the many tracts of open space, farms, and Great Ponds. Any direction you walk, run, or bike you pass along beautiful areas.

Amenities

Katama House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 775 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Oversized modern fiberglass shower, vanity sink, tile floor
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Rental is completely outfitted with modern/quiet central air conditioning, new dishes, TV, DVD/CD player, WiFi internet, patio furniture, and mix of antiques and newer furnishings (inc. all new hardwood floor, couch, area rugs,etc.). Includes quality bedding and towels for a comfortable escape. Lots of windows with combination screens and storms let in the sun and cool breezes; Rental is larger of two units on same lot. Only shared element is laundry room with new front-loading washer and dryer, but with separate entrances. 1 queen bed room and a second twin bed room (pop-up trundle). Own deck with furniture & gas grill. Combination living room/dining room/full kitchen. Modern bathroom with large shower. Bike path runs in front of the property: left to town, right to beach. Your unit includes large front and rear yard, sitting back off the road; own deck, gas grille, and plenty of tall shrubs for privacy from road.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

Great Location, Walk to Town and South Beach
average rating of 4.5 based on 10 reviews
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5

Rita's rental is in a wonderful location. Immediate access to the bike path, great for young kids. A 3-5 minute bike ride to the Edgartown Harbor just thrilled my 10 year-old daughter, as did the 3-5 minute walk to Katama Market. From the moment we entered the cottage, we noticed how clean and well-maintained it was, including obvious recent renovations. The owner was also a joy to work with as she was always quick to respond with thoughtful answers throughout the process, from reserving dates to dealing with the lease, to questions about the island. This place is a fabulous deal, in my opinion.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sanford, North Carolina
4

great value & location

  • 4 of 5

The property is in a great location, very private with lots of natural light. We had a car and it was helpful for exploring but not needed. Edgartown was our favorite area for dining and owner's recommendations were spot on. The cottage and furnishings were very clean, comfortable, and well designed; master bed was great!

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Excessive cleaning fees

  • 3 of 5

We love the island. Felt the property adequate. We were however disappointed by the cleaning policy. We were told in contract it would be extra for our family of four which we accepted, However , we left the rental in great condition as we vacuumed and washed excess towels as instructed. Rita, pleasant to work with, does have an excessive and unreasonable cleaning charge. She told our family 3 extra man hours were needed to clean up- whoa. I find this cleaning time excessive and the charge 30 an hour a bit much. If you go bring your own sheets and towels as you don't want to be told after the fact that it took an extra 3 hours to clean your sheets in a washing machine.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad Lorraine had a good stay and was surprised she felt the cleaning fees were overstated -- especially as I passed on only half of cleaning cost to tenant. I want all my renters to come into clean, comfortable space. As a result, I have excellent cleaners who charge $30/man hour; this is standard or less than other cleaners. Most tenants are very responsible. It is rare cleaners alert me to an especially messy/dirty house at turnover. And even rarer that I pass on extra cost to tenant. Fixed cleaning charge costs $130; it generally takes 2 people more than 4 hours total. Here, cleaning cost me $250, or an added 4 man hours and $120. Despite the extra work and costs, I passed on only half of total cleaning cost to the tenant. Be assured I will continue to provide well- cleaned accommodations to my tenants -- as determined by professional cleaners. And only in unusual situations, will pass on added costs to my tenants.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Great location!

  • 4 of 5

This was a great place for my wife and I to stay for a week. Rita was fantastic in communicating with us as we made the reservation, prepared for, and arrived for our visit. The cottage's location is fantastic - it's less than a mile from downtown Edgartown (walkable), and about 1.5 miles from South Beach, right on the bike/walking path. Despite being on a semi-thoroughfare, the light Martha's Vineyard traffic meant it was still very quiet, and being set back from the road, it was also quite private.

The cottage is small and has the basics.... While it has the essentials (kitchen with stove, microwave, coffeemaker, fridge, etc.....), most of the furnishings in the cottage are dated and could use updating. Everything worked, but it felt like a bit of a time machine in using the microwave and other items. Along that theme, while there is a television in the living room, it is small (I didn't measure it, but it is probably in the 22" - 26" screen size range), and doesn't have HD capability (or receive many basic cable networks, such as ESPN). We happened to visit during the Olympics and are sports buffs, so we were able to get by with basic channels, but people who are looking for more or better options might be disappointed. Similarly, most of the doors in the cottage (aside from the front door) either squeak or are ill-fitting at this point, so it's hard to get a good seal on any of them. The yard was similar to the interior - while the grass wasn't long, the bushes and trees were overgrown, particularly near the entrance to the property. The top of our Jeep Wrangler touched low-hanging branches every time we entered and exited the driveway, and it hindered visibility as we exited the driveway.

One thing that works, fantastically well, is the air conditioning. We were fortunate, as it was pretty hot during the week we visited. The control is simple and the system is quiet.

The rental rate was very fair, considering the fantastic location. We had friends staying about 3/4 of a mile away who were in a much newer, more modern accommodation, but their rental rate was also significantly higher (almost 2x). Despite what might seem like complaints about the accommodations, we were quite pleased with the overall value, and would consider staying here again if we come back to Martha's Vineyard.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

We'll Be Back!

  • 5 of 5

We loved this cottage. It was exactly the type of lodging we'd envisioned when we were planning our Martha's Vineyard vacation. The location is ideal, and the cottage is attractive, clean and comfortable with all of the modern conveniences. We loved the privacy of the deck and the convenience of being able to grill outside. Also, having laundry facilities, WiFi and excellent air conditioning were all real pluses. The owner, Rita, who happened to be staying the week we were there in the attached unit was so very gracious, helpful and pleasant. All in all, it was the perfect place for us and we hope to stay there again in the near future.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful location, charming cottage

  • 5 of 5

What a charming cottage! It could not be more convenient, right on the bike path, 1 mile to the beach and 1/2 mile to Edgartown. My husband and I spent 2 weeks here with no car. Bus system in MV is great for visits to all the other towns, supermarket, etc. Easy walk to downtown and all restaurants. Terrific owner always ready to assist in anything you need.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Dukes County Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Downtown Edgartown
Nearest Ferry
6 Miles
Oak Bluffs
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Edgartown Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Downtown Edgartown
Nearest Beach
0.8 Miles
South Beach
Car: not necessary

1/2 mile to downtown Edgartown with shops, restaurants, harbor, inns; 0.8 mile to South Beach on the Atlantic Ocean. The Katama area is valued for its location proximate to both South Beach and the village center. A bike path runs in front of the property. Left to town; right to the beach.

Located on Herring Creek Road, the 'right fork' to South Beach. (22 Herring Creek Road, Edgartown, MA 02539 to pinpoint excellent locale)

Photos

Rates & Availability

Katama House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Spring
Apr 1 2017 - Apr 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$185
$1,131
 
 
Late Spring
Apr 30 2017 - May 25 2017
3 night minimum stay
$205
$1,383
 
 
Memorial/Early summer
May 26 2017 - Jun 17 2017
3 night minimum stay
$259
$1,528
 
 
Late June
Jun 18 2017 - Jul 1 2017
5 night minimum stay
$269
$1,726
 
 
July
Jul 2 2017 - Jul 29 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,995
 
 
August
Jul 30 2017 - Aug 26 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,274
 
 
Late Summer/Labor Day
Aug 27 2017 - Sep 6 2017
5 night minimum stay
$268
$1,785
 
 
Early Fall
Sep 7 2017 - Oct 17 2017
3 night minimum stay
$248
$1,625
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $350
Cleaning - regular $130
Tax Rate 3.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties