Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Luxurious 3bd/2ba, located 4 minutes from beach and downtown Folly

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 7-8)

Quiet and luxurious home that has just become available for family vacationers. Our beach home is located just 2 blocks from the shops, restaurants and action of downtown Folly Beach and is only a 4 minute walk to the beach. It is newly renovated with gorgeous hardwood and cork floors, a modern kitchen with stainless steel appliances, quartz counter tops and a gas stove.

The master bedroom is large with a walk in closet and a huge master bath suite with comfort everywhere. The master bedroom and one sleeping area is separate from the 2 other large bedrooms enabling an additional family to stay with you on your vacation. Large open room for resting and dining.

There is a great screened porch just outside the kitchen door for relaxing breakfast and evening memories of the day. We have just remodeled the side deck with an outside seating bench. Great place for grilling and enjoying the stately shade trees that are a large part of the fully landscaped garden.

Once you arrive at our home, you really do not have to get back in your car. You can walk to the beach, to the shops, to the restaurants, and bike rentals in 5 minutes. If you want to go to Charleston, it is only a 15 minute drive to King Street.

Keywords: new listing in Folly Beach, 3 bedroom, shaded lot, screened porch, private backyard, close to town, close to the beach.

Luxurious cottage located 5 minutes from restaurants/beach

More Details

Owner
Sherry Valk
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
July 15, 2017

Why Sherry Valk chose Charleston Area

We have visited the Charleston area for the past 15 years visiting friends and fell in love with Folly Beach in 2010 on a weekend vacation. We purchased a vacation home in 2011 and have enjoyed interacting with vacationers as they rented our vacation cottage on 212 East Ashley Ave.

We have purchased this home with the understanding that we would love to live in this home one day soon.

Amenities

Folly Beach Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Near The Ocean ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , Flat screen Visio tv
    Bedroom 3 - 1 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
  • King size beds (1) Master bedroom (sleeps 2), Double Beds (1) Bedroom #2 green (sleeps 2), Twin or Single Beds (3) Bedroom #3 orange (sleeps 3)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • 2 bicycles
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

Luxurious 3bd/2ba, located 4 minutes from beach and downtown Folly
average rating of 4.76 based on 25 reviews
4

Charming little beach house on quiet street.

  • 4 of 5

The Hudson Hideaway was just as pictured. Cute little beach house that was close to the beach, shopping and restaurants. The side porch was missing its door, therefore the bugs were so bad you could not really sit out on the screened porch. There was also a crack in the living room floor that needed to be fixed and I think bugs were able to get into the house through there so bug spray is a must. However, those minor details did not hinder our time there. We had a wonderful time. Loved the bikes! Loved the town! The location is great! Would recommend to anyone going to Folly Beach.

  • Submitted: Jun 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great vacation

  • 5 of 5

The house was everything we expected and more. It is much bigger than in the pictures. The house was very neat and clean and close to the beach and downtown. The owner was great to work with, I plan to come back in the fall.

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Not the vacation we hoped for

  • 1 of 5

More cons than pros:

Cons: I stayed here with my Fiance and mother. The overall cleanliness and insects made our stay unpleasing. We had to kill 3 cockroaches and other small bugs throughout our stay. The property was hardly cleaned, despite paying $150 cleaning fee. Sweeping around beds and nightstands/dressers to find makeup container, socks, and a lot of dust; area rugs had not been vacuumed because they had dried french fries, crumbs, leaves; toilets had not been cleaned/seat wiped down. The clothes dryer did not work so the first day was spent waiting for a repair guy. I also had to clean the washer gasket because of odor and mold. The house also has a musty smell that lingered even after getting home and washing everything. The bikes are super rusty and there was no bike lock. The grill is cheap and legs fall off when you move it; but it works. After several follow ups and 6 weeks later, I finally received my security deposit for a place that was left much cleaner than it was when we got there.

Pros: Convenient beach access. Large space for families. Owner responded immediately to calls/texts.

Although we did not spend a lot of time indoors at the property, we had to spend most of it cleaning and dealing with issues. This is the 6th time I have rented a beach house and this is the only one that we were not comfortable at because of the cleanliness. I would not say this property is well-maintained.

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello, I am the owner of this beautiful beach home. This is the first bad review we have received in seven years of owning the house. I take this review very seriously and have dealt with each complaint quickly. I have informed my cleaning person that the level of cleaning is not up to our standards. I have contracted for a monthly pest service at the home. I have replaced the grill and the bikes and purchased a new lock. We visit our beach homes very regularly and take cleanliness very seriously for all our guests. As you can see from other reviews we normally receive excellent reviews. Our number one goal is for our renters to have a wonderful vacation in a clean and safe environment. Thank you, Sherry Valk
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Very nice home. Comfortable with many amenities.

  • 5 of 5

Great location. Easy walk to the beach or Center street with three kids. Enjoyed the screened in porch. We have stayed on Ashley in the past and much preferred the quiet location of this house.

  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Home away from home!

  • 5 of 5

Very nice home away from home! Easy beach access and just a short walk to restaurants and shops! Nice quiet neighborhood.

  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Nice little bungalow. Close to beach, restaurants, and shops. Reasonably close to Charleston.

  • 4 of 5

We were in the Charleston area for two graduations and a wedding and the attendant celebrations. Had adequate space and the place is located near to everything that we were there for. Would be nice to have a garbage disposal.

  • Submitted: May 13, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Point of Interest
Bert's Market
Nearest Point of Interest
To Folly Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
The Grill
Nearest Point of Interest
Taco Boy
Nearest Point of Interest
Folly Beach Pier
Nearest Point of Interest
Basketball & Tennis
Nearest Point of Interest
Bowen's Island Restuarant
Nearest Point of Interest
Children's Playground
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Folly Beach Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer
Jul 8 2017 - Aug 18 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,450
 
 
Total Eclipse Peak
Aug 19 2017 - Aug 25 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,650
 
 
Summer
Aug 26 2017 - Sep 8 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,450
 
 
Fall
Sep 9 2017 - Dec 16 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
$318
$2,050
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
$318
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Cleaning Fee $150

* Rates are subject to change during all holidays

** Rates include a tax rate of 13.5%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable