Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Sand Castle on the Beach! Ocean and Sand

Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Loft, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 12)

Picture perfect windows showcase sunsets all year long. There are magnificent views of 12 miles of beach, dunes and waterways. Everything that you could want in a beach experience is right there.

12 person hot tub with sliding gate giving the feel that it is right on the beach. Gourmet Kitchen with Viking Stove.

Large great room. Views from every room of the ocean.

Keywords: Picture perfect windows showcase sunsets all year long. There are magnificent views of 12 miles of beach, dunes and waterways. Everything that you could want in a beach experience is right there

More Details

Trish Carballar
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
November 17, 2017

Why Trish Carballar chose Oceano

We custom built and designed the home so we; and every room could enjoy the sunsets and the ocean and never have anyone build in front or to the side of the Sand Castle.

What makes this house unique

Panoramic Glass octagon shape puts you on the Beach.

Guestbook comments from the owner

as we expected, everything has been wonderful during our stay at the sand castle. Now we’re in Italy but we remember our trip with great satisfaction. The house has been better than we thought and we enjoyed it very much.

Wednesday, October 26, 2011 1:44 PM
Oct 2011
  • 1 of 1


Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Oceano County Airport 1/8 mi, San Louis Obisbo
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Old Juan's Cantina
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Pismo Muni
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Grover Beach
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Highway 1
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Burger Barn
Car: recommended

ATV RENTALS, Last house before the famous oceano dunes, Horseback riding close by. Biplane Rides right behind us great fishing, Clamming, and all surf sports, including great Paddle boarding


Oceano House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , soaker tub/shower combo
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , extra large walk in shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
  • 3
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , balcony, attached bath w/ soaker bath shower
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , pier room
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , captains room
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , queen futon
    Loft - 1 sleep sofa /futon , queen futon
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (4), Baby Cribs (1) porta crib
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • cinemas
  • library
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

58% Complete
25% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
Sand Castle on the Beach! Ocean and Sand
average rating of 4.25 based on 13 reviews

Great Beach Find

  • 4 of 5

A common theme in all reviews is this place is very dated, and I can't understand why no effort is put into doing some modest upgrades, but put that aside for a moment, and this place as incredible for a family reunion following a wedding in SLO. The main floor makes this house very special as it has a wide open floor plan, a pretty decent cook's kitchen and 200+ degrees of panoramic. One problem with central California is that the beach front can be so cold and the 5 days we were there was no exception. But with our larger than life IMAX view made us feel like we weren't missing too much by not actually sitting on the beach. When it did warm up the wrap around deck was nice for hanging too. You need to know that the beach in front of the house is highway running down to the incredible Oceano Dunes Natural Reserve. Don't worry, the traffic noise is not noticeable and we were there during 4th of July. You just need to be prepared and ready to embrace a different experience and look both ways when heading for the ocean. It made for great people watching as police chased down violators of the 15 mph speed limit and watching the gracious 4x4 trucks helping the foolish Camaro dig out of the sand. 4th of July fireworks were some of the best we have ever experienced and I'm not talking about the Pismo Pier professional fire works as they are a little far away. We were ground zero around our bond fire as the local beach campers must have spent two months pay on some amazing areal fire works, not just one camper, but all of them. Yea, I'd say we had a great time at the Sand Castle, just gotta get over the lime green and orange carpet.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Everything was lovely

  • 5 of 5

Stayed here multiple times for get-togethers with friends from out of town or special occasions. Always a blast!

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Sand Castle

  • 4 of 5

The Sand Castle in Oceano is a big, funky, old beach house with a very nautical theme. We had an awesome time staying there. The living room was big enough to accommodate the 10 of us comfortably. And the view was fantastic. We had more fun watching the parade of cars passing by on the sand by the surf. It was sort of memorizing. We also saw surfers, paddleboarders, dolphins leaping out beyond the surf and a sea otter playing in the surf. The cars were mostly gone by 10 p.m. Not that we heard them anyway. They were far enough away that we heard only the occasional rumble of a truck. We kept our sliding glass door in our bedroom open, and our sleep was never disturbed. The children could play out on the sand with out an adult accompanying them because we could see them through the living room windows. Yes, there was sand in the spa, but what do expect at the beach. The children had a lot of fun using it.

The house itself was clean on our arrival. The bedrooms were all comfortable. The refrig. in the kitchen was fantastic. It had a door that keep our wine at just the right temperature. We had two problems: the front door knob was sticking (the owner had that repaired by the next evening), and the wifi kept going out. The owner said the reason for the bad wifi was because we were the last house on the block. I wasn't happy that we had to call the owner, but Trish was very nice. I was happy that there were no issues on getting our deposit back.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

This rental came up short.

  • 3 of 5

This property has a lot of potential but missed the mark in several important respects. Most significant was the lack of hospitality or welcome. For example, after we requested additional supplies due to the house being under-stocked (in paper towels, toilet paper and trash bags), we were accused of exceeding the number of guests allowed and were told they would be "keeping an eye on us." After choosing this rental for our small family reunion and spending thousands of dollars on it, such remarks were insulting and left a bad taste in our mouths for the duration of the stay. Another significant limitation with the house was the lack of wifi. While there is a wireless modem, it is not strong enough to actually allow internet access. In addition, there were many burnt out light bulbs throughout the house and broken, unworking lamps in two of the bedrooms. While the house is otherwise nicely appointed, very comfortable and has a great view of the beach (although the beach is unusable because cars and trucks use the beach in front of the house to get to the sand dunes), the lack of hospitality and other limitations lead to this less than favorable review.

  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This guest was there for 4 days and on day one they requested for more Toilet paper and paper towels. We always leave extra supplies 1 roll of toilet paper on the roll and depending on length of stay how many under sink. For 4 nights you are left 12 rolls of tp and 2 rolls of paper towels. We always try to accommodate our guest so we delivered more . However additional people were seen at the home and they were unhappy being questioned about it. The WiFi provider AT&T we have gone round and round with them and they are claiming they have fixed it again and if not we have researched a satellite provider that We will be switching to . Pismo beach is famous for being one of the few beaches where cars are allowed to drive. There is an expansive beach before and after where cars allowed to drive as they have a limited area they are allowed so you can play comfortably on the beach away from cars.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Could be great, but definetly not as advertised

  • 1 of 5

Yes, this is a beach home, yes, it is at the edge of a beautiful state park, and yes, there are ocean views...the photos make it look great...but sadly, it isn't. This is a home that has not been taken care of in years. The last time it was decorated was in the late 1970's and the decor is dreadful. There is not one space that does not have some ornament on it. Nautical is the theme with huge plastic swordfish on the walls, and lots of dolphin statuary, shells, thatched wall hangings, all of which gets old very quickly. Decor isn't everything - I get that people have different tastes, but there is grungy shag carpeting in every room except the living room area, none of which hasn't been cleaned, the kitchen is large, but mostly full of non-essential items (there was no tin-foil, plastic wrap, or oil). The "clean" dishes were all dirty when we arrived - and the dishes in the dishwasher were dirty as well. The oven door is broken and doesn't close all the way. Best of all, the rusty grill on the patio still had the remains of other users meal...a steak I think! Everything is coated in a fine layer of sand and nothing in the main part of the house was cleaned and made ready for us (although the bedrooms had clean sheets and decent beds and the bathrooms were cleaned.) - at one point we had to actually walk out onto the ledge of the living room and clean the windows ourselves - just so we could see the ocean. You can't use the patio furniture since it is coated with sand and there is no real place to sit anyway. The hot tub is full of sand, and the small covered patio where the hot tub is, has old trash under the stairs. But, this isn't the worst part of the Sandcastle. Nowhere is it advertised that there will be 4 Wheel Drive Trucks, RV's and Dune Buggies driving out in front of the house, ON THE BEACH. It basically makes the beach into a freeway and there is no way you can swim, sun or stroll without the fear of being run over. Plus, the beach highway runs 24 hours a day - there is no let up of traffic, even at 2 o'clock in the morning, there are headlights shining in the windows as the trucks go cruising one point the police cruisers went screaming down the beach to arrest someone who was speeding down the beach at 60mph. Yes, it was Memorial Day Weekend, so I am sure there were more people than usual, but it certainly wasn't the relaxing beach weekend my family was hoping for. Try Avila Beach - much more inviting.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
9 2

A perfect stay at the beach

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at Sandcastle on the Beach was relaxing and fun. The house was perfect for our family. The hot tub was inviting throughout the stay. We were there to relax and relax we did! The kids and grandkids came and went doing various activitties. We cooked and ate together and played on the beach together. We had a lovely time!

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $750
Cleaning fee $195
Tax Rate 10.0%

Rates range from $750.00 to $850.00
subject to change
Call for Personalized Quote

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund