Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Jaw dropping Mtn View, close to all attractions, plenty of room for families

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,800 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Hugh porch with swing, birds galore, great kitchen, on 200 acres, awesome hosts

Fire place, free WiFi, outdoor grill Dog friendly, 2 dogs max, 40 Lbs max each, close to Casino, Hiking on property, biker friendly, close to everything yet private and secluded, perfect for family reunions, weddings. flat screen direct TV, humming birds, swing and rockers on huge porch.

This home is part of community of 7 homes situated on 200 acres in a park like setting. We have years of experience in offering guests a secure safe place to relax and enjoy the mountain vacation of your dreams. We are family owned and want to share our mountain homes with you.

When you arrive your host Rich and Karen will greet you to help you settle in and address all your needs as they arise. Located not far off the main highway will give you the privacy you need as well as the convenience to Bryson City and all the surrounding activities.

The view will take your breath away…no kidding! This home has a Frank Lloyd Wright feel to it that perfectly blends itself with the environment. It overlooks seven mountain ranges, is constructed from local lumber and took over two years to build. You will be amazed at the detail to design and layout. Living area has open concept with sofas and chairs to sit back and see the vast view through huge plate glass windows. Kitchen and dining blend with living space providing an entertaining environment. It does not get any better than this.

If your are bringing your dog, please check the pet box in making your reservation or your reservation may not be validated. Only 2 dog max and 40 lbs max each please.

At a Glance

- Maximum Occupancy: 10

- Bedroom 1: 1 King Bed + 1 Twin (master bedroom on first floor)

- Bedroom 2: 1 King Bed + 1 Twin

- Bedroom 3: 1 Queen Bed

- Great Room: Queen Sleeper Sofa -

-roll aways available

- 2.5 Baths

- Washer/Dryer

- Free Internet, satellite TV, DVD/VCR

- Dog Friendly , Please indicate how many pets & include the pet fee

- On site Concierge & Management

- Complimentary use of Family Pavilion

- Hiking trail on site

This home includes wood burning fireplace (wood included), huge wraparound porch

More Details

Property Manager
Mary Kraft
Member since: 2012
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 18, 2018

About Mary Kraft

Settlers Mountain was created to share the wonderful Great Smoky Mountains with friends and family. What started as a personal retreat turned into a family enterprise. Bert and Mildred Kraft loved the mountains and its local people so they settled in Bryson City and built Settlers Mountain (circa 1959). Bert, being a very industrious person with the love of architecture, built the homes on the mountain and refurbished a hand-hewn chestnut log cabin built in the 1840's, one of only five left in the area. Settlers Mountain is owned and operated by the Kraft Family and is enjoyed by five generations of Kraft’s. We welcome you to make Settlers Mountain your retreat and create a lifetime of memories.

The Kraft Family

Mary Kraft purchased this house in 1959

Why Mary Kraft chose Bryson City

This property has 200 acres and yet near to town on paved roads. Very well maintained grounds that is wooded and quiet, close to all the action the area has to offer or just sit back and relax

What makes this house unique

Viewpoint has the best view of the mountains and you will not be disappointed. Our guest are always very pleased and remark how beatifull the property and friendly the host are. Come and stay with us.

Amenities

Bryson City House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10 ...
  • Max. adults: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events allowed ...
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , located on main floor
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Located on main floor in master bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Located on second floor servicing two bedrooms
  • 2.5+
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 1 twin/ single
    Convertible bed(s) - 2 twin/ single , 2 roll aways are available
    living room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , sleeper sofa turns into queen size bed
  • All bedding including comforters are laundered between guests.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Family pavilion with fire-pit, hiking trail on property, on site staff to help you secure attraction tickets (some with discounts) and make recommendations.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

76% Complete
20% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Jaw dropping Mtn View, close to all attractions, plenty of room for families
average rating of 4.72 based on 25 reviews
5

The Perfect Mountain Get Away

  • 5 of 5

ViewPoint is the perfect mountain get away for the family! We hope to make this an annual event. Thank you Karen for making us feel at home!

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great views- Very Private

  • 5 of 5

Nice cabin with terrific view. Very quiet and private. Great location and great communication through texts regarding trash pick up and check in/out from Karen and Rich. Clean and well stocked. This is a great location for long stays. My wish list would have included a few more TV channels, a newer sofa and a hot tub, but we had an awesome time here.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Settler's Mountain and The View Point house are amazing

  • 5 of 5

We are a group of 5 corporate execs who rented the house for our yearly summer work retreat. The house was amazing for our purposes of working during the day and offered a lot of room for our daily meetings. Everyone was very comfortable and we utilized the large TV in the living room as our projector screen which worked out well. The sunrise and sunsets are amazing from the house. The house was equipped with everything to make our week stay comfortable except laundry soap but we got some at the local market. Bedrooms were very well equipped and it felt just like home. We loved the hummingbirds that visited daily. The caretakers were amazingly hospitable and offered a wealth of local tips. This is a great house to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city life and enjoy nature. Location is close to lots of activities like white water rafting (highly recommend Nantahala Rafting), the hiking at Deep Creek is amazing and just breath taking beautiful, Cherokee reservation and Bryson City is a neat little town with a lot of charm. I also highly recommend the Sunset cruise on Fontana Lake through Fontana Guides. Just a tip, if you fly in to Knoxville and get car sick easily, don't take "The Dragon's Tail" road! 315 curves in 11 miles was too much for me. Take I-40 for a better ride. I highly recommend this house and owner. We'll be back!

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Kim, Thanks for staying with us and spending the time to write a great review. I took your advice and went on the sunset cruise with captain Kyle and we had a relaxing, educational and fun adventure. It's only minutes away and our guests loved seeing the american bald eagle. Come back any time to regroup, there is a lot more to see and do.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
McKenzie, Tennessee
3

Good stay and beautiful view

  • 3 of 5

We loved the view and the large porch to sit and take in the sunsets. The location was private and quite. My biggest complaint was the beds were very very hard. Wasn’t comfortable at all. I’m not use to a firm mattress. I did move the 2nd night to the smaller bed and was better. The internet was slow and keep getting kicked off. The place could use a few updates, but the 1st thing you should consider new bedding. The king beds are hard mattess on metal rail frame. I would consider getting box springs and a pillow top mattress. The host were very nice also.

Sincerely

The Alexander family.

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Judy, Thank you for taking your time to give us a review because your comfort is important to us. We pick the middle of the road between mattresses because everyone has different needs. We make sure they are replaced if they show signs of wear and are turned regularly. We are looking into ways to improve our internet services to be faster and more reliable.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We loved the place!

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved the house. Enjoyed the stay. WiFi was very slow. Other than that, we loved everything.

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Jahira, Glad you loved your stay. Thanks for the 5 star review and feedback. Sorry about the WiFI but it is the mountains. We are working on get better reception. We look forward to seeing you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Family Weekend

  • 5 of 5

A long weekend shared with kids and grandkids. We thoroughly enjoyed Settlers Mountain! The View Point Cabin was perfect .... secluded, a great view and plenty of room for our party of 10.

  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Ashville
Nearest Barpub
7 Miles
Bryson city
Nearest Golf
16 Miles
Wittier NC
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
highway 74
Nearest Restaurant
7 Miles
Bryson city
Car: necessary

Canopy zip line

motor cycling

Great Smoky Mountains National Park - 20 min away

tubing

smokey mountain railroad

Gem mining

Jet Boats

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Pet Fee $50

- Check-In: After 3:00 pm | Check-Out: By 11:00 am
-When you arrive stop at the office which is the first house you see coming up the driveway and is clearly marked OFFICE. Our resident caretakers Rich & Karen will check you in and give you the key to your rental home. Should you need more information or help while staying on Settlers Mountain call them
- Occupancy based upon the number of beds per cabin. You can not exceed maximum occupancy without prior approval by management.
- Cleaning Fee of $100.00
- All cabins are "dog-friendly" for dogs up to 40 pounds; which must be approved by management at the time of reservation and a $50.00 pet cleaning fee will apply. If you are bringing your dog, please check the pet box in making your reservation or your reservation may not be validated.
- 50% deposit required to confirm & hold your reservation: If you cancel more than 30 days before your reservation, your deposit will be cheerfully refunded. If the reservation is canceled less than 15 days prior to your arrival date, your deposit will be forfeited.
- The balance of the reservation will be due 15 days prior to arrival: Cash, Personal Check and Major Credit Cards (Amex, Visa, MC, Discover) are accepted.
- No refunds will be issued for early departure (including weather-related issues).
- For the comfort of all our guests smoking is permitted outdoors only.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.