Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Shell Cottage on Humboldt Bay in King Salmon - Dock in Backyard! Clean & New

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 680 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, Sleeps 4

Stay and relax in our pet friendly cottage by the beach! Shell Cottage is a private cottage with located on a canal with a securely fenced front and back yard for your kids and dog. Dock access is gated and offers a slip for canoes, kayaks, and row boats if you choose to bring them. (Access is definitely tide sensitive). A public, dog-friendly beach with gentle waves is a wonderful place for walks, picnics, and sand castles.

Watch the video of the Shell Cottage Shell Cottage on YouTube

The Shell Cottage is a cute little one-bedroom home right on a canal in King Salmon, a fichining village just south of Eureka. The Master bedroom has a queen bed, little sitting area and access the back yard and canal. The living room features a large flat screen TV with cable an DVD, a cozy sitting area with queen pull-out couch, and fresh nautical charm. The dining area seats 4, there’s also a picnic table in front yard for some outdoor dining. The bathroom is spacious and features a large jetted tub with shower. There also gas barbecue in the back yard and seating by the dock and canal (See Photos).

A family of river otters frequent the area, as do sea lions and sea birds of all types. Great fishing on the jetties on either side of the beach that are within walking distance.

Shell Cottage is located across the street from Johnny's Marina and RV Park (with long term tenants in trailers as well) where you can slip your boat overnight or have extra guests stay in the RV campground with full hook-ups. Local dining is available with walking distance at famous local restaurant Gil's and also the Boathouse.

Things nearby to do include the Humboldt Bay National Wildlife Refuge (which experienced kayakers can reach by bay) the Avenue of the Giants, Sequoia Park and Zoo, Bear River and Blue Lake Casinos, Old Town Eureka, Woodley Island, and much more. A little further away we have Prairie Creek State Park (where Return of the Jedi was filmed) and Fern Canyon (where Jurassic Park was filmed). Do not forget about Humboldt Lagoons for kayaking, shelling, fishing, and swimming and Lady Bird Johnson Grove, Samoa Dunes and Samoa Cookhouse.

Eureka itself is just a few miles away with malls, Costco, and theaters and many other things you may need. The thriving arts communities in Victorian Ferndale, Arcata, and Eureka have much to offer both day and night including live shows, art exhibits, and community events. Del Arte in Blue Lake is always offering wonderful, innovative shows as well as Mad River Brewer tasting room, one of the many fine breweries in Humboldt County. Many of those same communities have Arts Alive nights one night per month. Plenty to do - come to the Shell Cottage and enjoy all we have to offer!

Any 30 day booking will be charged double the cleaning fee. If it is not automatically added in your booking, we will add the charge for you. We do this because we come in mid-stay and change your linens and do some light cleaning!

More Details

Property Manager
Heather
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english, spanish
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a day
Calendar last updated:
July 22, 2017

Amenities

Eureka House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 680 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach
General:
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • 1 Queen bed, 1 Sofa Bed bed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 4 garden chairs
Attractions:
  • cinemas
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
Notes:
Dock in backyard great for keeping kayaks, canoes, row boats, but is tide sensitive and not usable during a negative low tide.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(76 traveler reviews)

55% Complete
27% Complete
11% Complete
1% Complete
3% Complete
Shell Cottage on Humboldt Bay in King Salmon - Dock in Backyard! Clean & New
average rating of 4.2894735 based on 76 reviews
Sun Lakes, AZ
5

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The house is like new and and functions wonderfully. We have stayed there before and probably will again. We have had a couple of incidences of things being stolen but with Eureka history of homeless that's probably not unusual and partly out fault for not locking things down well. That's not the properties doing. The part we really enjoyed was its proximity to Gills Seaford Restrauant. We had a great visit with relatives and they toured us to things like Arcata's Oyster Fest.

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're so glad you love Shell Cottage! Unfortunately we cannot control all the variables of our guests stay, but we try very hard to have happy guests. If you bring bicycles with you during your stay, there is a foyer in which they can be locked up overnight. The property is very unique, with it's own dock and access to the water. Gil's Seafood Restaurant is a local gem, we're glad you enjoyed it too!Hope to have you back soon! Thank you for choosing Redwood Coast Vacation Rentals,we have 100+ properties to choose from, so please take a look when planning your next stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nice little cottage

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The place was very clean and well decorated. Everything you needed to enjoy the stay. Would stay here again.

  • Submitted: May 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: Redwood Coast Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Thank you! Shell cottage is such a nice little cottage, people love it! It's just a quick walk to the bay and 10 mins from town!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chico, CA
5

Love this cottage

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We loved our weekend at this cute cottage! Perfect location, just down the street and you have a beach, we drove1 hour south to see the Avenue of the Giants trees, amazing. Drive north to see Clam beach and Trinidad. Really good restaurants. The house was very clean and looks like new remodeling. Kitchen had everything. Only bummer it rained all weekend. Can't wait to come back so we can use the BBQ and patio.

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: Redwood Coast Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Thank you! We are so glad you loved Shell Cottage! Yes, the rain has been very bountiful this year. We look forward to your return!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Vancouver, B,C
3

Nice Cottage

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was somewhat unhappy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The cottage is well equipped and clean. The fenced backyard is great for pets. The neighbourhood is rather run down although it was quiet. There are no basic condiments supplied and you are expected to replace toilet paper. We have never experienced this in the dozen or so VRBO's we have rented. The cottage is within walking distance to some nice trails along the beach. We recommend taking the "Avenue of the Giants" drive to see the Redwoods.

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: Redwood Coast Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate all guest's feed back as helps us to continually improve guest's experience. All your recommendations are being considered. Thank you!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Tahoe City, CA, USA
5

The Coastal Getaway We Needed

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Exactly what we needed for a last minute trip. Allowed our dogs, had a perfect yard space for them to play, and the house was equipped with everything we needed. The location was great, close to the beach and not too far from anywhere we wanted to go. Would recommend as an affordable, coastal getaway that allows pets! All my one-off questions were answered right away, too.

  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: Redwood Coast Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to review. I am so pleased that you were satisfied with our accommodations. We look forward to your next visit! Jasmin
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Berkley, MI
3

Shell Cottage on Humboldt Bay

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was adequately helpful.

The vacation rental was somewhat dirty.

I was somewhat unhappy with the location.

I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

This property is charming in a convenient location, however, the floors were dirty, kitchen infested with ants and we discovered when we were getting ready for bed the 1st night that the bedding for the sofa bed was dirty and smelled like a filthy dog : /

  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: Redwood Coast Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: I am truly sorry that you had such an unsatisfactory experience at Shell Cottage. It is our goal to make people's stays as good as they can possibly be, and I am sorry that we let you down. As always, your feedback is valuable and appreciated, and will be used to correct our mistakes. As soon as you contacted us about the home needing a more thorough cleaning, we responded immediately that you would like to come over right away and reclean but you declined that. Thank you and we hope to see you again. Jasmin
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Located in the quaint fishing village of Salmon Creek - just 5 minutes south of Eureka. Surrounded by the bay and you can see the harbor entrance to the Pacific nearby - short boat ride. Also, nice fishing off the jetties that you can walk to. Great for kayaking too!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties