Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

7/7/17 - 7/15/17 AVAILABLE do to cancellation! Best Location on SML!

Bedrooms 4
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Maximize your Smith Mountain Lake experience by taking in gorgeous expansive views of the lake and Smith Mountain from the living levels of this house and the two master suites. Swim or wade with the children in your own secluded beach or enjoy a stroll or bike ride on the private community road. Conveinently located nearby is a grocery store, public boat launch, restaurant, marina and Smith Mountain Lake State Park.

Enjoy 4 bedrooms all with new Queen beds and new mattresses. Two of the bedrooms are master suites with private bathrooms. One is on the main level and the other is on the lower level. The lower level master has an adjoining room with a double bed which is great for those staying with children. The other two bedrooms are on the main level and share a bathroom. There is also a half bath in the kitchen area.

The kitchen is well equipted, bright with great views and laid out nicely for group cooking and prep. There is a deck off the kitchen with a dining table for six and a sitting area.

The lower level offers a sitting area with a 50' projection TV and table and chairs for games or dining. There is also a deck with bistro table/chairs and lounges.

This house is 100% compliant with the Bedford County regulations regarding rental properties.

Keywords: Lake house, vacation house, vacation get away

More Details

Rory Parnell
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 5, 2017


Huddleston House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Lower Level Master Suite
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Hallway Bathroom - Main Level
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Master Suite - Main Level
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , In the Kitchen / Laundry area Main Level
  • 3.5
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 1 baby crib , Lower Master - crib in room (can be taken out)
    Bedroom - 1 double , adjoins the Lower Master- great for parents with children
  • Queen size Beds (1) 4 Queen beds, Double Beds (1) 1 Double bed
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
7/7/17 - 7/15/17 AVAILABLE do to cancellation! Best Location on SML!
average rating of 4.9 based on 20 reviews

Great House!

  • 5 of 5

Thank you for the great stay! The house was even better than described and it was perfect for our 4 couples. We enjoyed the big open entertaining space in the basement and the kayaks were fun to use as well! Thanks for your flexibility and ease to work with on the whole transaction! We really enjoyed your home :)

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Everyone had an outstanding time

  • 5 of 5

We just returned home from a weekend at SML. Some of us attended the wine festival, some fished on a rented pontoon boat, some watched Virginia Tech and Tennessee win their football games on the big scene TV, some kayaked the cove, and some played on “the beach” – everyone had an outstanding time.

The house without a doubt met our high standards for cleanliness and safety – it was perfect for the 5 year old and 18 month old with us. Crib and baby gates were much appreciated. The protected cove with sandy beach were perfect for the kids to play and who doesn’t enjoy waking up to the beautiful view of the lake with the mountains in the background. The kitchen was well supplied and organized. Thank you for providing a container for recycling (something we think is important).

We would definitely recommend the home to anyone wanting to enjoy everything SML has to offer. We hope to return next year.

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you!! We try very hard to fulfill the expectations of our guests and to make their stay the best that it can be while they are at our house. Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. Everything that you have stated pleases us immensely and we will pass your comments on the cleanliness of the house to our cleaning crew who do a great job! Please come back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bear, DE

Amazing Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Enough though our vacation ended months ago, the memories of this wonderful house are still on my mind. You never know what you are getting into until you see if for yourself and the Parnell house exceeded our expectations! The pictures online do not do the house or the view justice. Since it is set further back into the cove than it's neighbors, it makes you feel as if you are the only house around; very quiet and relaxing. The beach is great for dogs and children. Plenty of room for multiple families. The owner, was quick with responses and great with accommodations. The house comes with almost everything you need in the kitchen, bathrooms, living area and downstairs bar/tv room area. We have already booked our dates for next year and cannot wait!!

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! I am so happy that you and your family had a nice vacation and that you enjoyed our home! We pride our selves in trying to make the house a place where we would like to stay with our family and we want our guest's vacation to be the best that it can be. We look forward to your visit next year and thank you for taking great care of our house! Rory
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great home, great location.

  • 5 of 5

Great, clean home on SML. We were a group of three couples and stayed very comfortably. The deck provided a great view and most of our time was spent on it while at the house. We took the basement master as we had two dogs and could keep them away from our friends during the night. This home is the perfect layout for two families, with children, vacationing together. The Parnell’s were so easy to work with and I would definitely recommend this vacation home.

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! Glad that you had a nice time and that the house worked well for the three couples. Thank you for taking care of our house and I will pass along your comments to the cleaners as to the cleanliness of it! Come back and see us!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful escape

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time. The home is lovely and doesn't feel like a typical rental. There were 3 bedrooms on the main floor and 2 in the lower level. The two downstairs rooms are connected and share a large bathroom, which works well for families with small children. There are 2 spacious seating areas--one on each floor. Having the second area downstairs was perfect when the upstairs crew was napping and the downstairs crew wanted to play. The kitchen was well-equipped. We thoroughly enjoyed our meals on the outside deck. I'd anticipated that we'd spend cocktail hour on the lower deck, but the view from the house was so gorgeous that we never felt the need to go down to the water at night. The beach area was perfect for small children and dogs--it was very flat and shallow, and there was ample comfy seating for adults who didn't want to swim. The only complaint is that our stay wasn't long enough. We'd happily return in a heartbeat! Thanks for sharing your home with us.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comprehensive review. We love sharing our home with people as nice as those in your group and we are always gratified when they are pleased and have had a nice time. I know that it was an important time for your family to be together and I am glad that it worked out. We are keeping you in our thoughts.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Awesome vacation!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I spent a week here with our children and grandchildren. The home was wonderful. Very comfortable with plenty of room. The private beach area was great for the little ones. We would definitely return to this house but we will have 10 people next year so a larger place is in order. The owner was a delight and made the experience easy and comfortable. Our English Springer, Maggie, had a great time too!

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review! We work hard to make families feel at home in our house and we value the time that they have together, so It is very enjoyable and rewarding when we know that they had a great time. Our only regret is that your family has outgrown our house! Again, thank you for your words and also for taking great care of our house! Rory
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Car: necessary

Located in Southwest Virginia in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains about 41/2 hours from Washington, DC and 21/2 hours from Raleigh, NC. Thirty minutes to both the Blue Ridge Parkway and The WWII Memorial which is located in Bedford,Va


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $110

Personal check preferred

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.