Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

7/7/17 - 7/15/17 AVAILABLE do to cancellation! Best Location on SML!

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Maximize your Smith Mountain Lake experience by taking in gorgeous expansive views of the lake and Smith Mountain from the living levels of this house and the two master suites. Swim or wade with the children in your own secluded beach or enjoy a stroll or bike ride on the private community road. Conveinently located nearby is a grocery store, public boat launch, restaurant, marina and Smith Mountain Lake State Park.

Enjoy 4 bedrooms all with new Queen beds and new mattresses. Two of the bedrooms are master suites with private bathrooms. One is on the main level and the other is on the lower level. The lower level master has an adjoining room with a double bed which is great for those staying with children. The other two bedrooms are on the main level and share a bathroom. There is also a half bath in the kitchen area.

The kitchen is well equipted, bright with great views and laid out nicely for group cooking and prep. There is a deck off the kitchen with a dining table for six and a sitting area.

The lower level offers a sitting area with a 50' projection TV and table and chairs for games or dining. There is also a deck with bistro table/chairs and lounges.

This house is 100% compliant with the Bedford County regulations regarding rental properties.

Keywords: Lake house, vacation house, vacation get away

More Details

Owner
Rory Parnell
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
September 25, 2017

Amenities

Huddleston House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Lower Level Master Suite
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Hallway Bathroom - Main Level
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Master Suite - Main Level
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , In the Kitchen / Laundry area Main Level
  • 3.5
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 1 baby crib , Lower Master - crib in room (can be taken out)
    Bedroom - 1 double , adjoins the Lower Master- great for parents with children
  • Queen size Beds (1) 4 Queen beds, Double Beds (1) 1 Double bed
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(22 traveler reviews)

86% Complete
13% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
7/7/17 - 7/15/17 AVAILABLE do to cancellation! Best Location on SML!
average rating of 4.8636365 based on 22 reviews
4

Excellent vacation home and property

  • 4 of 5

The home was just as advertised. The small beach area was perfect for our 18 month old grandson. The kayaks were great and very relaxing especially in the morning when the water was very still. The owner of the property was very accommodating and was easy to communicate with. The beds were very comfortable. I would definitely recommend this property. The only area for improvement is the landscaping around the back of the house has gotten a little out of control and needs some sprucing up.

  • Submitted: Sep 18, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to write a review! I'm always pleased to know that renters find the house comfortable and the lake a pleasurable experience! As for the back landscaping- you are right! It got somewhat neglected this season which we are remedying this fall. Our devoted groundsperson was dealing with knee surgery last spring and it got out of control!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful location

  • 5 of 5

This is a beautiful location and wonderful amenities! My husband and I really enjoyed the kayaks and views. The house was very spacious and comfortable.

  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great House!

  • 5 of 5

Thank you for the great stay! The house was even better than described and it was perfect for our 4 couples. We enjoyed the big open entertaining space in the basement and the kayaks were fun to use as well! Thanks for your flexibility and ease to work with on the whole transaction! We really enjoyed your home :)

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Everyone had an outstanding time

  • 5 of 5

We just returned home from a weekend at SML. Some of us attended the wine festival, some fished on a rented pontoon boat, some watched Virginia Tech and Tennessee win their football games on the big scene TV, some kayaked the cove, and some played on “the beach” – everyone had an outstanding time.

The house without a doubt met our high standards for cleanliness and safety – it was perfect for the 5 year old and 18 month old with us. Crib and baby gates were much appreciated. The protected cove with sandy beach were perfect for the kids to play and who doesn’t enjoy waking up to the beautiful view of the lake with the mountains in the background. The kitchen was well supplied and organized. Thank you for providing a container for recycling (something we think is important).

We would definitely recommend the home to anyone wanting to enjoy everything SML has to offer. We hope to return next year.

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you!! We try very hard to fulfill the expectations of our guests and to make their stay the best that it can be while they are at our house. Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. Everything that you have stated pleases us immensely and we will pass your comments on the cleanliness of the house to our cleaning crew who do a great job! Please come back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bear, DE
5

Amazing Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Enough though our vacation ended months ago, the memories of this wonderful house are still on my mind. You never know what you are getting into until you see if for yourself and the Parnell house exceeded our expectations! The pictures online do not do the house or the view justice. Since it is set further back into the cove than it's neighbors, it makes you feel as if you are the only house around; very quiet and relaxing. The beach is great for dogs and children. Plenty of room for multiple families. The owner, was quick with responses and great with accommodations. The house comes with almost everything you need in the kitchen, bathrooms, living area and downstairs bar/tv room area. We have already booked our dates for next year and cannot wait!!

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! I am so happy that you and your family had a nice vacation and that you enjoyed our home! We pride our selves in trying to make the house a place where we would like to stay with our family and we want our guest's vacation to be the best that it can be. We look forward to your visit next year and thank you for taking great care of our house! Rory
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Alabama
5

Great home, great location.

  • 5 of 5

Great, clean home on SML. We were a group of three couples and stayed very comfortably. The deck provided a great view and most of our time was spent on it while at the house. We took the basement master as we had two dogs and could keep them away from our friends during the night. This home is the perfect layout for two families, with children, vacationing together. The Parnell’s were so easy to work with and I would definitely recommend this vacation home.

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2015
  • Stayed: September 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! Glad that you had a nice time and that the house worked well for the three couples. Thank you for taking care of our house and I will pass along your comments to the cleaners as to the cleanliness of it! Come back and see us!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Located in Southwest Virginia in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains about 41/2 hours from Washington, DC and 21/2 hours from Raleigh, NC. Thirty minutes to both the Blue Ridge Parkway and The WWII Memorial which is located in Bedford,Va

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $110
Tax Rate 12.0%

Personal check preferred

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.