Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Windham Family Funhouse and Nature Retreat

Sleeps15
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms + Loft, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 13-15)

Beautiful five bedroom home on three acres backing up to a stream. Four bedrooms on ground level and Master Bedroom on second floor with his and her bathrooms. Basement is newly refinished gameroom with brand new pool table, foosball, ping pong, card table, darts, and a bar.

This house is ideal for a family gathering. Your kids will love this house. The property has great hiking trails that lead from the property to a small stream and the Eastkill River for summer swimming. The front yard is big enough for volleyball. There is a huge wrap-around deck with brand new hot tub, new patio furniture and a new gas grill for summer barbecues.

During the winter months, you will find yourself ten minutes from both Windham and Hunter Mountain. After a day of skiing, come back, throw some logs in the woodburning stove, and jump into the hot tub out back while the kids play downstairs in the gameroom.

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
November 17, 2017

About The Owner

property owner of the rental house

The Owner purchased this house in 1997

Why The Owner chose Jewett

Mountain Family Vacation get away

What makes this house unique

Relaxing explore nature with your family

Map

Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Albany
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Chrisman's Golf Course
Nearest Train
20 Miles
Hudson New York
Nearest Motorway
20 Miles
New York State Thruway
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Vesuvio's
Nearest Ski
6 Miles
Ski Windham
Nearest Beach
10 Miles
North Lake
Car: recommended

The Catskill Region has much too offer year round. All 4 season has activities to allow you to enjoy nature and scenery to it's fullest.

Amenities

Jewett House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 15
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 15
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 double , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single
    Loft - 1 king , 2 sleep sofa /futon , King Mattress on sleeping platform one dble futon + pull out
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • King size beds (1) Loft sleeping platform has King sized mattress, Queen size Beds (3) 1. Bedroom #1 -Master Bedroom has queen sized bed 2.Bedroom #2 -has queen bed with canopy, (1) 3. Bedroom #3- has queen bed, 4.Bedroom #4 -has 2 twins beds.5. Bedroom #5-has one twin beds ,plus a queen bed. Loft has a double futon. Sofa has pull out double bed.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 16 garden chairs
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Brand New Game room, Great Yard for Summer Fun and plenty of hiking trails adjacent to property.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(34 traveler reviews)

91% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Windham Family Funhouse and Nature Retreat
average rating of 4.7941175 based on 34 reviews
2

nice place but need maintainance work

  • 2 of 5

This is a nice comfortable house. We found rats movement inside the house. This was bit disappointing as we were scared to sleep.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Yes we did have a couple of mice not rats, at the house which scared our city renters who spent a weekend in our Mountain House which is not uncommon in the Catskill area. We immediately hired Orkin Pest Removal services to address the issue. The other problem was there was no propane in the grill on our deck which can be difficult to manage as a property owner and we always tell our guests to check it as soon as they get there and if it's empty they can refill it 24 hours a day at a store 10 minutes away in town and we will reimburse them for the cost. The following is a note the renter sent to me after the visit. Replied Hi Peter, I visited your property 40953 last weekend and it was a good trip and I like the place. Couple of my guests ( who stayed with me) had two complains: 1. They found rat movement inside the house both in 1st and 2nd floor. They were scared of it but bit disappointed. 2. Also due to low gas in cylinder and charcoal, they could not use the outside Grill for long. Please let know if we are eligible for any discount or refund. Thanks Nahid 3 weeks ago
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
new york, ny, usa
5

Comfortable house in a beautiful setting!

  • 5 of 5

We were 5 couples with kids. And we all had a great time!

The house is spacious and comfortable, with a nice open kitchen/eating area and a beautiful deck facing the woods. We went for a hike to the river, used the hot tub and played in the garden during the day and enjoyed ping-pong and Foosball tournaments at night.

The area is very quiet, no cars around and secluded, which we really enjoyed.

Communicating with Peter was super easy and there was not much we needed to ask him once we were there.

I guess that if there is anything I would recommend is to go with good friends, or family that are on the same schedule. Sleeping when everyone is chatting or playing in the basement might not be easy if you are a light sleeper. It was not a problem for us ;)

Cheers!

  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great House

  • 5 of 5

My family, friends and I all had a great 2 night trip to this house. It was big enough to fit 15 of us. We loved the space, deck, fire pit and especially the game room. We would go back there again.

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2016
  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great ski weekend

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely ski weekend at the Windham house. We were five families and there was plenty of room, it was cozy, the hot tub was fantastic and both the kids and adults enjoyed the game room. It's very close and conveniently located near the Windham ski resort. We would totally come here again!

  • Submitted: Feb 9, 2016
  • Stayed: February 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm glad you had a good time! Thanks for renting with us!!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hoboken, NJ
5

BEST HOUSE EVER!

  • 5 of 5

This was my second consecutive year renting the house and it was even better than the first. With the warm weather in December we were able to utilize not only the house to the full extent but the large front yard (with fire pit) and the outdoor deck (with hot tub and barbecue grill). The house more than comfortable slept 12 people and we all had a BLAST given the accommodations. The owner Pete was great to work with once again and was extremely helpful in retrieving some items I left behind at the house (which was greatly appreciated). If you're looking for a fantastic time in the heart of the Catskills, there's simply no better house than this.

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2015
  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Family Summer Getaway

  • 5 of 5

This was a great place for our extended family of 14 to spend time together. There were plenty of bedrooms to accommodate several married couples, children, and some singles - 5 bedrooms with closed doors as well as some mattresses and futons for those needing less privacy. There were comfortable couches for hanging out on the main floor and in the basement game room. The hot tub worked well. The deck was large and spacious - we ate dinner together each night on the deck, after cooking out on the fire pit and charcoal barbecue that were on the lawn. The kitchen and bedrooms were well stocked and clean. The game room in the basement has a good condition pool table and pingpong table, with all the balls and equipment nicely laid out. Large washer/dryer were great for our family too. The location is somewhat secluded (next door neighbor pretty close on one side) but not too far a drive from highways and easy find at night. The internet connection was very good and reliable too, as was cellphone reception. Before we came, were somewhat concerned that there was no air conditioning - but the nights were plenty cool, and opening the windows and screened doors to let in the cooler evening air, and a window fan in the loft, was all that was needed. It did get warm during the mid-day and afternoon, especially upstairs in the loft where it can be stuffy, but we were out during the day anyway, and the basement stayed cool.

For families - be aware that the upstairs loft area is a balcony with banisters that are not childproof. We had the toddlers sleep in rooms rather than out on the loft area. And the path down to the creek in the backyard is lovely but mildly challenging - don't send very little ones down by themselves or go without proper shoes. The house has a pack-and-play as well as a backpack for carrying a baby.

Peter the owner was highly responsive by email, text, and phone, and was very helpful with questions we asked or items we needed. For a rustic vacation without 'roughing it,' this is a great choice.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $150
Refundable damage deposit $500

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties