Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Charming Home with Extended Deck Patio

Bedrooms 2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 nights


About the property

2 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom House

Florida DBPR License #: DWE1621669

Copy this link to see a video of the house:


(The water feature in the video has since been removed. There is more of a yard now, which is still cute and relaxing. The 2nd bedroom looks very similar to the 1st bedroom shown in this video.)

This rental is a cozy 2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, cottage-like house with laundry room (washer and dryer included), spacious roofed-deck patio and extended open deck. The backyard has a lot of hand-crafted character throughout. Inside, the kitchen contains a microwave, a brand new gas oven, coffee maker and toaster. The cabinets are stocked with cookware, glassware, dishes and silverware. The bedrooms are furnished with brand new queen-sized beds and new dressers. The linen closet is stocked with bedding and bath towels. Wireless internet, Amazon FireStick TV, and some games are provided.

Our home is conveniently located in a residential neighborhood, 1 mile from downtown Hollywood, 4 miles from Hollywood beach (home of Jimmy Buffet's Margaritaville), less than 10 miles from Fort Lauderdale beaches, downtown Fort Lauderdale and Fort Lauderdale airport, and 10-25 miles away from several popular Miami locations, including South Beach.

Free parking is available on the property. The driveway along the side of the house can accommodate RV parking. Additional parking in the front next to the street as well. Visitors are welcome to the main house, back deck and grass area. The detached garage at the back of the property and the backyard from the front of the garage to the back fence is not accessible. Additional guests are welcome at no extra cost and pets are considered, ask for details.

More Details

Shirley Ravenna
Member since: 2016
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 16, 2018

About Shirley Ravenna

We the home owners are are high school sweethearts, both born and raised in Hollywood, FL. I, Shirley, am an ocean engineer during the day and for fun I partake in various fitness oriented activities. I was an avid rugby player for about 12 years, but recently hung up my boots and now stick to more traditional fitness routines. My husband, Noah, is a creative and artistic individual, like a Disney imagineer. He professionally built custom motorcycles for many years and for fun he plays music, paints, and is constantly building random beautiful things that capture peoples' imagination. Together we are very active individuals who enjoy recreational activities like kayaking and cycling just a much as the artsy, dining and nightlife scenes.

Shirley Ravenna purchased this house in 2009

Why Shirley Ravenna chose Little Ranches

This rental property has a charming character. It's a small solid house with a large backyard. We embraced the small house to large yard ratio and put our energy in the backyard. Instead of making our house bigger we left the inside simple, clean and basic and extending the living space to the outdoors. We expanded the deck space and covered the main deck with a wooden roof. A large avocado tree beyond the deck provides additional shade and many other native palm trees and plants that have sprouted on their own with the aid of nature add Florida foliage to the remaining land. The backyard deck is a great space to grill, watch the birds, and enjoy the breeze.

What makes this house unique

Our home is conveniently located in a residential neighborhood, 1 mile from downtown Hollywood, 4 miles from Hollywood beach (home of Jimmy Buffet's Margaritaville), less than 10 miles from Fort Lauderdale beaches, downtown Fort Lauderdale and Fort Lauderdale airport, and 10-25 miles away from several popular Miami locations, including South Beach. The main highway is less than 1 mile away making it easy to travel to your destination. And with plenty of private parking on the property there is no complication entering or leaving the house.


Little Ranches House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered
  • not suitable for children
  • non smoking only
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • wheelchair inaccessible


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

54% Complete
18% Complete
27% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Charming Home with Extended Deck Patio
average rating of 4.2727275 based on 11 reviews

OK but needs some updating!

  • 3 of 5

I would like to begin by saying that the owner, Shirley, was helpful and did address several of our major concerns after we began our stay. We booked for an extended stay of 45 nights and were a bit surprised by the condition of the home when we arrived.

When we got there the backyard deck was totally unsafe, informed Shirley, and she had a major portion of the deck replaced. Secondly, she upgraded the cable TV package for us, as we were very interested in have access to live coverage of the 2018 Olympics and live international as well as local news.

The 2 bedrooms are equipped with very good queen beds and we were provided with new bedding as well as towels, during our stay. The laundry facilities and kitchen areas are good but were lacking in some dishes/pans which we and Shirley purchased during our stay.

One of our major concerns was with the windows, especially in the bedrooms. The "Charming Home" is located in a reasonable area of Hollywood, 10 minutes drive to the beach, but there is a fair amount of neighborhood noise, especially the trains(about 1 mile away) and also neighbors going to work in the morning, so better windows are needed. The windows in the larger bedroom do not currently close properly or lock. We covered the windows with bedding in order to block out some of the noise to enable us to sleep properly.

Another big concern was furniture. The 'living area' furniture appears to be just left overs and we did not find it very functional. We did modify the location of some of the furniture, to try to suit our needs, but we would suggest, an update is really needed. The 'backyard' furniture was fine for eating or BBQ but there is not any lounging furniture. This is a shame as they feature the yard in their photo and it does have a lot of "potential".

Overall, we liked the location, near the beach, shopping, attractions, and have stayed in the area the past 3 years.

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay.

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Awesome place to stay

  • 5 of 5

I have been working throughout Florida this last month and I want to say that this is the best rental I have stayed in. It was spacious, had everything I needed, and was pet friendly. The deck was a nice place for me and my dog to sit out at night. I was happy to see the grill on the back porch and grilled ribs my first night. The owner was great to work with. I would highly recommend this rental.

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice comfortable place

  • 3 of 5

The house was totally adequate and for the most part we enjoyed our stay, The only complaint was that the place was not especially clean when we arrived. Do to the fact that my wife is very fastidious about cleanliness that was remedied, but that was not her job. That should have been taken care of prior to our arrival.

  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry to hear our place did not completely meet your expectations. Due to our new work/living situations it is not always feasible for us to prep the house between guests and we rely on our support. Your feedback is very valuable for us to better manage our support and ourselves. We did listen to your feedback when we spoke and flew to the house after your stay to do some major spring cleaning inside and out, including new landscaping and a fresh coat of paint on the deck. We hope to be in a position to do that more often in the future. You were excellent guests and we appreciate your business. Respectfully, Shirley and Noah
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Nice Place to Stay!

  • 5 of 5

This house was clean and the owners were awesome! We arrived for a girls weekend and felt at home the entire time. The place is small and a little tight for four adults, however, we spent the majority of our time outside on the huge patio! The location is close to the beach, shopping, the casino and airport. We would definitely consider this house the next time!

  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great, relaxing and convenient

  • 5 of 5

The house was exactly as described, very comfortable and convenient to the beach and shops. The owners were very helpful and welcoming. They were always there when we needed them. The outdoor space was where we spent most of our time, it's beautiful, relaxing and the pond was amazing. Big big thank you to Shirley and Noah for opening their home to us.

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Insurance $59

Payment plans can be arranged for rentals exceeding 2 weeks.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties